skip to content
photo of computer keyboard, pen and a electronic tablet

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Unlicensed Individual -Electrical and Power Limited Registration
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI)
Subject: Electricians
Creation Date: 4/8/2010 1:35:20 PM
Modification Date: 8/7/2020 5:02:30 PM
Agency Name: Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Description: The agency oversees the state's programs for apprenticeship, construction codes and licensing, dual-training (PIPELINE Program), occupational safety and health, wage and hour standards, workers' compensation and youth skills training programs. The Office of Combative Sports, within the Department of Labor & Industry, ensures Minnesota's combative sporting events are conducted in a manner that minimizes injuries and ensures fair competition.
Agency Phone: 651-284-5005
800-342-5354
Agency Fax: Agency URL: http://www.dli.mn.gov
Agency Address:
443 Lafayette Road N.

St. Paul
MN 55155

Division Name: Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD)
Division URL:
Division Description:
Division Phone: Division Fax: Division URL:
Unit Name: Licensing and Certification Services
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: 651-284-5084
651-297-4198 (TYY)
Unit Fax: 651-284-5743
Contact person(s): DLI.License@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL: https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/license/Default.aspx
Renewal URL: https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/license/Default.aspx
Versa URL:
Requirements:

A registered unlicensed individual is limited to performing electrical work:

  1. within the scope of the employer's authority to perform the electrical work; and
  2. under the supervision of an individual licensed to perform the electrical work; and
  3. when the licensed and registered unlicensed individuals are employed by the same contractor or employer

NOTE: Electrical work is defined as the installing, altering, repairing, planning, or laying out of electrical wiring, apparatus, or equipment for electrical light, heat, power, technology circuits or systems, or other purposes.

Requirements and qualifications

    At least 17 years old.

    Must be registered as unlicensed individual if performing electrical work required to be performed by a licensed individual.

    Must report annual electrical work experience when renewing registration.

    Must complete two hours of continuing education on the electrical code for annual renewal of registration.

    Prohibited from performing electrical work without direct supervision.


Rules: 3800.3520

Statutes: 326B.33

Forms:

Unlicensed Individual - Electrical Registration Application / Renewal

Forms are available at Licensing - Personal Electrical License


Fees:

New registration electrical - $14

Renew registration electrical (not expired) - $19

Renew or reinstate an expired registration electrical - $24


Period of Issuance:

One year; registration expires on the last day of the month of the initial registration.


Length of Determination: One week.
Other Info:
Activity: License Detail URL:

Electricians, Electrical Installers and Elevator Constructors

Check a License

Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry (DLI)


back to top