skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Private Detectives License
Alternate Title:
Description: Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) - Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services
Subject: Private Detectives / Investigators
Protective Agents
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:16:22 PM
Modification Date: 6/19/2019 11:50:00 AM
Agency Name: Public Safety (DPS), Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS), Emergency Communication Networks, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Office of Justice Programs, State Fire Marshal, Pipeline Safety, State Highway Patrol, Capitol Security and Traffic Safety.
Agency Phone: 651-201-7000
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://dps.mn.gov
Agency Address: Public Safety, Minnesota Dept. of
445 Minnesota Street

St. Paul
MN 55101

Division Name: Private Detective and Protective Agent Services, Minnesota Board of
Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/Pages/default.aspx
Division Description:
Division Phone: 651-793-2666
651-282-6555 TTYL
Division Fax: 651-793-7065
Division URL: https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb/Pages/default.aspx
Division Address:
1430 Maryland Avenue E.

St. Paul
MN 55106 |

Audience: Hold Application URL:
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:
Rules: 7506.0100 - .2900

Statutes: 326.32 - .339

Forms: To request an application packet, send a $25 check or money order (payable to the Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services).  Be sure to state the type of application you are requesting (Private Detective or Protective Agent), and level (individual, partnership, or corporate/LLC).
Fees:
 


New License 


Reissuance


Private Detective


Private Detective

Individual  $1,000 0 to 1 Employees $   540
Partnership  $1,700 2 to 10 Employees $   710
Corporation/LLC  $1,900 11 to 25 Employees $   880
26 to 50 Employees $1,050
51 or more employees $1,220



Period of Issuance:

Two years.


Length of Determination: Can vary, please contact the board office.
Other Info:
Activity: Private Detectives / Investigators
License Detail URL:

Private Detective and Protective Agent Services, Minnesota Board of

License Holders

MN Dept. of Public Safety (DPS)

Social Media


back to top