skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Residential Mortgage Loan Originator License / Exemption
Alternate Title:
Description:

Any company that directly, or indirectly, for compensation or gain or in the expectation of compensation or gain, solicits or offers to solicit, or accepts or offers to accept an application for a residential mortgage loan through any medium or mode of communication from a borrower, or makes a residential mortgage loan. A residential mortgage originator includes both brokers and lenders. 

A company exempt from licensure under Minn. Stat. § 58.04, subd. 1 must apply for a certificate of exemption. Companies may be exempt from licensing but the individuals originating loans may be required to be licensed per Minn. Stat. Chapter 58A

Minnesota Department of Commerce


Subject: Mortgage
Mortgage Brokers/Lenders
Mortgage Professionals
Creation Date: 9/11/2008 2:16:56 PM
Modification Date: 3/16/2010 11:56:02 AM
Agency Name: Commerce, Minnesota Department of
Agency URL: https://mn.gov/commerce/
Agency Description: The Minnesota Department of Commerce is the chief regulator for the banking, energy, insurance, real estate, securities, telecommunications industries and also operates Minnesota's Unclaimed Property.
Agency Phone: 651-539-1600
800-857-3602
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://mn.gov/commerce/
Agency Address:
85 7th Place East, Suite 500

St. Paul
MN
55101
Unit Name:
Unit URL:
Unit Description:
Unit Phone: Unit Fax: Contact person(s): mortgage.commerce@state.mn.us
Unit URL:
Audience: Hold Application URL: http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/Pages/default.aspx
Renewal URL:
Versa URL:
Requirements:


Review Mortgage Originator

Apply Renewal
Mortgage loan originator licenses licenses expire on December 31 of each year and are renewable on January 1 of each year after that date. The renewal fee is $500. Renewal is done through NMLS


Reapply
If a license was not renewed, has lapsed, or was surrendered and you would like the license activated,follow the instructions at NMLS and reapply for the license.

Out-of-state
 An out-of-state mortgage company does not need to physical presence in Minnesota; however, 
registration as a foreign corporation with the Minnesota Secretary of State may be required.


Requirements Checklist -Residential Mortgage Originator License

Requirements Checklist -Residential Mortgage Originator Exemption


Rules:
Statutes: 58A

Forms:

Go to NMLS


Fees:

Residential Mortgage Originator - $1,000

Renewal - $500

Certificate of Exemption - $100


Period of Issuance:

Mortgage loan originator licenses licenses expire on December 31 of each year and are renewable on January 1 of each year after that date.


Length of Determination: 10-30 days.
Other Info:
Activity: Mortgage Brokers and Lenders
Residential Mortgage Originator or Servicer
License Detail URL:

Mortgage Originator

Mortgage

Financial Institutions

Minnesota Department of Commerce


back to top