Skip to:

Home page image


The mission of the Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners (MBCE) is to protect the public through effective licensure and enforcement of the statutes and rules governing the practice of chiropractic to ensure a standard of competent and ethical practice in the profession.


We are currently in the renewal period. If you are getting email notices from us, DO NOT DISREGARD THEM. You are also strongly encouraged to renew as soon as possible since problems with the electronic system or internet are not accepted as an excuse for late renewal. The earlier you renew, the more likely we are to be able to help you if there is a problem. It will likely be impossible for us to assist you if you wait until the last minute. 

Chiropractic Licensure:

Doctors of Chiropractic (DC) are licensed in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and in all other United States territories and jurisdictions. Doctors of Chiropractic are also authorized to practice in most other countries of the world, and in some areas serve as the primary form of health care available to the citizens. 

Chiropractic Education:

In spite of  the myths that abound, the education of a doctor of chiropractic is very rigorous. A minimum of  an Associate in Science Degree or its equivalent is required for entry to chiropractic college. This education includes (among others) education in subjects such as chemistry (organic and inorganic,) physics, biology, anatomy and physiology. The student then enters a chiropractic college for a four year full time course leading to the doctoral degree. Colleges of Chiropractic must be accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education (or an international equivalent) which is approved by the United States Department of Education.

Purpose of Regulation (Licensure):

As a function of regulation by licensure, the public can be assured that the doctor of chiropractic has met certain standards, that he/she continues to abide by certain laws and regulations, and that these laws and regulations have been specifically designed to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public from incompetence or substandard care.