skip to content


The mission of the Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners (MBCE) is to protect the public through effective licensure and enforcement of the statutes and rules governing the practice of chiropractic to ensure a standard of competent and ethical practice in the profession.



As licensee's are aware, in 2009 the State of Minnesota imposed a 10% surcharge on all license fees for all professions for the purpose of developing and implementing a statewide licensing system. This fee applies to the renewal of all licenses, as well as new applications for licensure. Pursuant to statute, (M.S. 16E.22) this surcharge IS SCHEDULED TO EXPIRE AS OF JUNE 30, 2015. Accordingly, as of that date the Board will no longer be collecting this $25 fee for new applications, nor the $20 fee for renewals. All persons are advised that the Board is currently working on programming to remove the fee from the web site as of that date. Should this not be completed by that date, any surcharge fees required to get through the application process and paid after that date will be automatically refunded.

Use Of Online Services

In order to utilize the absolute strictest and up-to-date security, the following browsers may be required to use the Board's online services: Microsoft Internet Explorer versions 8.0+; Mozilla Firefox, versions 16.0+; Google Chrome; Apple Safari Versions 6.0+; Mobile Android; Mobile Firefox; Mobile Chrome; Mobile Safari. If you are unable to use the online services, please check your browser version, or consider using another computer (such as at a local library) which may have an updated browser.

Chiropractic Licensure:

Doctors of Chiropractic (DC) are licensed in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and in all other United States territories and jurisdictions. Doctors of Chiropractic are also authorized to practice in most other countries of the world, and in some areas serve as the primary form of health care available to the citizens.

Chiropractic Education:

In spite of the myths that abound, the education of a doctor of chiropractic is very rigorous. A minimum of three years undergraduate education required for entry to chiropractic college. This education includes (among others) education in subjects such as chemistry (organic and inorganic,) physics, biology, anatomy and physiology. The student then enters a chiropractic college for a four year full time course leading to the doctoral degree. Colleges of Chiropractic must be accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education (or an international equivalent) which is approved by the United States Department of Education.

Purpose of Regulation (Licensure):

As a function of regulation by licensure, the public can be assured that the doctor of chiropractic has met certain standards, that he/she continues to abide by certain laws and regulations, and that these laws and regulations have been specifically designed to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public from incompetence or substandard care.
back to top