skip to content
Primary navigation


  • Application fee for national examination is $143.25 (includes $110.00 application fee and $33.25 Criminal Background Check fee)

  • Application fee for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) state examination is $110

  • Initial LMFT license fee is prorated, but cannot exceed $175

  • Annual renewal fee for LMFT license is $175

  • Late fee for LMFT license renewal is $100

  • Application fee for LMFT licensure by reciprocity is $252.00 (includes $220.00 application fee and $32.00 Criminal Background Check fee)

  • Fee for initial Licensed Associate Marriage and Family Therapist (LAMFT) license is $75

  • Annual renewal fee for LAMFT license is $100

  • Late fee for LAMFT renewal is $50

  • Fee for reinstatement of license is $150 (+ required renewal fees)

  • Fee for emeritus status is $125

  • Sponsor application fee for approval of a continuing education course is $60

  • Fee for license verification by mail is $10

  • Duplicate license fee (wall certificate) is $25

  • Duplicate renewal card fee is $10

  • Fee for licensee mailing list is $60

  • Fee for a rule book is $10

Fees charged by the Minnesota Board of Marriage and Family Therapy are authorized in Minnesota Statute 148B.392.

back to top