skip to content
Primary navigation

About us

Private and public sector members

Age-Friendly Minnesota is a collaborative statewide effort to make our systems and communities more inclusive of and responsive to older adults. It is part of a global movement to prepare for an aging population and ensure that older people are valued and integrated into communities at a new level.

Age-Friendly MN Council Members represent nine State Agency leadership, Greater MN representatives, Age-Friendly and faith communities, and Tribal Nations.

Governor’s Council for an Age-Friendly Minnesota

Minnesota Board on Aging (MBA)

  • Sherrie Pugh (Chair)

Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) 

  • Khatidja Dawood 

Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs (MDVA)  

  • Simone Hogan 

Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED)

  • Mike Lang

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency (MHFA)

  • Ryan Baumtrog
  • John Patterson 

Minnesota Department of Commerce (COMM)

  • Martin Fleischhacker 

Minnesota Department of Transportation (DOT)

  • Sarah Ghandour 

Metropolitan Council (Met Council)

  • Susan Vento 

Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS)

  • Natasha Merz

Community Representatives

  • Dr. Rajean Moone, Woodbury
  • Dian Lopez, Alexandria
  • Faron Jackson Sr., Cass Lake
  • Dr. Russell Pointer, Sr., Lakeville
  • Michelle Stender, Duluth
  • Sandy Vargas, Golden Valley
back to top