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HOW TO APPEAL WAIVER SERVICE CUTS
AN OVERVIEW OF THE PROCESS AND YOUR RIGHTS

MINNESOTA DISABILITY LAW CENTER
February 27,2003

Recent changes to the state's funding of the MR/RC waiver have resulted in county notices of service
authorization decreases being sentto waiverrecipients inmany counties. Because many consumers are seeing
their budgets cut by 20% or more, we have prepared this brief outline on the administrative appeal process
available to challenge the propriety of those cuts. This outline of the process is intended only as a guide and
not a substitute for legal advice regarding any consumer's individual rights.

When can I appeal?

In many instances, recipients of public benefits programs have a constitutional right to challenge adverse
benefits determinations. In Minnesota, this right is codified in statute: Minnesota Statute $ 256.045.

Under this law, applicants and recipients of various social services, including MR/RC waiver services, may
file an "appeaI" whenever there has been
. a denial of application for assistance

a failure to act upon an application with reasonable promptness
. a suspension, reduction, or termination of assistance,
. or an incorrect payment of assistance.

What is an appeal?

An "appeal" is a hearing conducted by "appeals rsferees" who are employees of the Department of Human
Services (DHS). An appeal is:

An opportunity to challenge the action taken regarding your benefits
. Submit your own evidence: testimony, documents
. Confront and "cross examine" (question) the other side about the factual and legal basis for

the action it proposes to take.
An "advers arial" proceeding :

You present your case and arguments (facts and legal support) about why the action taken was
wrong. The county &/or state presents its case about why they think the action was proper.

Minnesota Disability Law Center is a project of the Legal Aid Society of Minneapolis - A United Way Agency
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' A review and decision from an "impartial" decisionmaker, someone who was not involved in the
decision to take the action you are challenging.

How do I appeal?

In waiver cases, you will typically be notified in writing of the county's intended action. This written "notice"
is required to tell you the factual basis for the proposed action and the legal grounds for it. It is also required
to inform you of your right to appeal the decision.

Whether you receive a written notice or not, you may appeal as soon as you are told of the county's intention
to reduce your benefits. Filing an appeal requires only that you submit a written request (by mail or fax) for
an appeal to DHS within 30 days of date of the notice, or 90 days if you have a legitimate excuse for frling
late. In your letter, you need only indicate that you wish to appeal. Although you may choose to describe
the nature of the dispute (that it is a reduction in your waiver services budget, for example), you do not need
to argue or prove your case in this request.

Technically, your time to appeal does not begin to run until legally "adequate" notice is provided. If you have
questions about late filing, you should seek legal advice. Send your appeal letter to:

Appeals and Regulations Division
Department of Human Services
444Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-1813
Fax number: 651 1297 -3 173.

Can I continue to get my same level of services pending appeal?

Yes. For Medical Assistance programs (including the waiver), if a hearing is requested before the date ofthe
proposed action, the services must continue until a decision is issued after the hearing. The only exception
is if the appeals division determines at the hearing that the only issue is one of federal or state law or policy.
This is not the case in the present waiver cases, because DHS has told counties to consider consumers' needs
- afact question - before making any cuts in service budgets.

If, within 10 days of the date the notice was mailed to you, you request that your benefits continue as they
were (keep the "status guo"), the county must contintre your benefits until a decision on your appeal is issued.

If the circumstances under which benefits will be continued pending the hearing are not explained in the
notice of adverse action, or if the notice of action is otherwise defective, and if the county has reduced
assistance in circumstances in which you are otherwise entitled to continue receiving assistance pending
appeal, you can ask the appeals referees to issue an order requiring that benefits be reinstated pending the
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decision in the appeal.

important note regarding repayment by ("recoupment") recipients: Federal law governing
Medical Assistance appealsprovidesthatifthe proposedtermination orreduction ofbenefits is upheld
by the hearing decision, the agency may institute recovery procedures against the applicant or
recipient to recoup the cost of services furnished while the appeal was pending. See 42 C.F.R. $
431.230(b). There is, as yet, no clear practice indicating the circumstances under which the authority
to recoup benefits paid pending appeal can or will be exercised. As amatter ofpast practice, DHS has
not sought recoupment in these circumstances.

The "effective datet' on my notice has already passed; what does this mean?

In most cases, including the present cases involving reduction in waiver budgets, the county and state are not
authorized to predate the effective date of action. Federal law requires that they issue a notice of action at
least 10 days before the proposed date of action, and that recipients be given the right to request and have a
hearing before the action becomes effective.

Important note: It is not clear what impact maintaining services during appeal might have on the
budget available after appeal should any ofthe counties' reductions be upheld. Even if the state does
not seek recoupment of services paid for during appeal,there will be a question of whether the county
will be limited to imposing the budget reduction only prospectively "(from the date of the decision
forward) or whether it may consider the money spent above the budgeted amount during the appeal,
and deduct that from the recipient's future budget. However, other than recoupment, there is no
specific authority for the state or counties to reduce your budget even more than the proposed amount
by subtracting the money spent during the appeal from your remaining total for the year. Such an
attempt would give rise to another appealable issue.

How do I prepare for my appeal?

One of the most important tasks for you is to gather information, including:
' Your own documents (service plans, CDCS budgets, medical records, school records, etc.)' Inro u"?"tl:.'""rHi"""

Applicable written guidelines/policies governing the state's "rebasing" of waiver
money allocatedto counties andthe county's ownguidelines, ifany, forcutting service
budgets
Everything the county or state intends to use at the hearing

You should ask the county and DHS for this information. If they refuse to provide it, ask the appeals referee
for an "interim order" requiring them to produce copies for you (at no charge) before the appeal date.
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You should also identiff witnesses you might need to call to support your argument the need for services and
that the cuts proposed would create hardship or threaten health and safety for the waiver recipient.

How will the appeal be conducted?

' Appeals are most often conducted by telephone conference, but you have the right request in writing
that it be in person. In-person appeals are generally advisable (easier to review documents, resolve
disputes, question the witnesses, etc.).

' Appeals are generally conducted in the county where services are provided.
' The referee will explain that the hearing will be tape-recorded and that witnesses will testiff under

oath.
. The county usually goes first to explain the action it took and why.
' In service reduction cases, the burden of proving that the action taken is warranted is on the county

(or DHS). They want to change the status quo and need to show a legitimate factual and legal basis
to do so.
' In these cases, the counties will likely try to argue that they "had to" reduce budgets because

the state is sending them less money. However, the county should be required to show why
the specific cut was necessary in your case. It also needs to show that it took steps to assess
and ensure that your basic health and safety needs can still be met under your new budget. (In
response, if that is not the case, you should be prepared to show in some detail how the cuts
will jeopardize health and safety.)

. "Closing the record." At the end ofthe hearing, you have the right to ask that the record (the evidence
- testimony and documents collected in the appeal) be closed and that no more evidence be accepted.
You also have the right to ask that the record be kept open if you need to submit other evidence in
response to the county's arguments and evidence.

What happens after the appeal hearing? How long does it take to get a decision?

. Post-hearing process: Sometimes the parties to an appeal submit written legal arguments after the
hearing. The referee will usually establish a deadline for receiving such materials. Once everything
is submitted, the referee reviews the case and then writes a recommended decision for the chief referee
to review and, if approved, to sign.

. Appeals decisions are supposed to be issued within 90 days of the date of the request for hearing. For
various reasons, appeals can take longer than this, sometimes substantially longer. There is no clear
rule or process for ensuring that appeal decisions be issued within a set time frame.

. Once completed, the decision will be mailed to you.

\ilhat if I lose?

Request for Reconsideration: Within 30 days after a decision, you may ask DHS in writing to
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reconsider it. You may also appeal the decision within 30 days to state district court or appeal a denial
of reconsideration to court within 30 days.


