Minnesota Felony Statutory Sentencing Enhancements

Highlights from 1987 to 2015
Prepared by the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission

The purpose of this list is to highlight the most significant legislation impacting felony sentences over
time. It is not intended to be exhaustive.

1087

Enhanced penalties for selling or
distributing specific amounts of a
controlled substance.

Doubled the maximum prison penalty
normally applicable to the crime of selling
types of drugs to a minor or using a minor
to sell them.

1989
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Time increased from 17 years to 30 years
before parole eligibility for life sentence.

Life without parole sentence created for
conviction of 1% degree murder following
a conviction for a heinous crime.

Sentences increased for dangerous and
career offenders.

Increased sentence for patterned sex
offenders if the court finds him/her a
danger to public safety and the offender
needs long-term treatment or supervision
based on an assessment that concludes
the offender is a patterned sex offender.
Long-term supervision when the offender
reaches mandatory release date also
required.

Penalties substantially increased for
controlled substance offenses; five
degrees created.

Statutory maximum penalty is mandatory
for second- and third-degree murder
when there is a prior conviction for a
heinous crime (40 years for second
degree and 25 years for third.)

1990

Juveniles who commit felony offenses as
part of, or subsequent to, the delinquent
act of escape from local juvenile
correctional facilities referred to adult
court.

Controlled substance law change
removed language which made selling or
possessing a certain amount of a
controlled substance a 4" degree crime,
and by doing so elevated it to a 3
degree.

19901

Increased penalties for the sale or
possession of certain  controlled
substances.

Consecutive mandatory minimum terms
of imprisonment provided for certain
drug-related offenses.

Enhanced penalties for firearms
violations in public housing, school or
park zones.

Increased penalties for furnishing
persons with dangerous weapons, for
unlawfully furnishing firearms to minors,
and for unlawful possession of pistols by
minors.

Increased penalties for crimes committed
while belonging to a gang.

19092

January 2016

Powder cocaine penalties increased to
those for crack cocaine.

Life imprisonment for certain repeat sex
offenders.

Life sentence without the possibility of
release added for 1% degree murder
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while committing forcible criminal sexual
conduct.

Patterned sex offender statute requires
judges to give at least double the
presumptive sentence for a person with
the appropriate criminal history. The
possibility of “conditional” release
halfway through the sentence is
eliminated.

A mandatory 30-year sentence is
imposed for repeat 15t or 2" degree
criminal sexual conduct convictions with
injury, force, or use of a weapon and an
aggravating factor.

A minimum departure of 2-times the
presumptive sentence required for
certain 1% time sex offenders, such as
those convicted of offenses involving
injury and an aggravating factor.

Good Time eliminated: Truth-in-
Sentencing requires two-thirds prison
and one-third supervised release. Prison
term may be increased if there are
disciplinary infractions.

Mandatory conditional release (initially
called “supervised release”) period of at
least 5-years for sex offenders and at
least 10- years for repeat sex offenders.

1993

New firearm offenses created for
shooting from a car; recklessly firing a
gun in a municipality or school; and
owning, possessing or operating a device
to convert any firearm into an automatic
weapon.

Life imprisonment without the possibility
of release for kiling a peace, or
correctional, officer.

Increased penalties for stalking or a
pattern of repeated harassment.

1994

Mandatory prison for at least that
presumed by sentencing guidelines for
three-time violent offenders.
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Felony penalty created for assaulting a
child under age 4 resulting in multiple
bruises or harm to the child’s head, eyes
or neck.

Statutory maximum doubled to 10 years
for furnishing a minor with a gun.

Certain sexual contact with a child under
age 13 are 1% degree, rather than 2"
degree, criminal sexual conduct.

Extended jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ)
created. EJJs receive stayed adult
sentence which may be imposed.

Juveniles age 16 and 17 charged with 1%
degree murder must stand trial in adult
court.

Adult court trials for 16 and 17 year-olds
if the offense is a serious or violent felony
or if the juvenile used a firearm.

Current  sexual psychopath  civil
commitment law re-codified with updated
language and new provisions relating to
sexually dangerous persons.

1995

Increased statutory maximum to 40 years
for patterned sex offenders if certain
conditions exist.

Expanded court’s ability to conclude that
a sex offender is a danger to public safety
and, therefore, eligible for patterned sex
offender sentence.

Definition of violent crime expanded.

Provisions of 2" degree murder
expanded to include persons who are
restrained under an order for protection
who unintentionally cause the death of a
person protected under the act.

1996

January 2016

Mandatory 18-month prison sentence for
felons in possession of firearms.

Mandatory jail time for certain categories
of domestic abusers.
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1997

Penalties for heroin elevated to those for
cocaine.

New 10-year mandatory prison sentence
for assaults against peace officers or
correctional employees including use of
deadly force.

Mandatory consecutive sentences for
assaults in state correctional facilities.

New aggravated 1% degree witness
tampering offense with maximum of 20
years.

1998

Felon in possession of a gun mandatory
minimum increased to 5 years.

Methamphetamine offenses are treated
the same as heroin offenses.

Life without parole for 1% degree murder
committed in the course of kidnapping.

Penalties increased for drive-by shooting
and crimes committed for benefit of a

gang.

1999

Penalties increased for
adulteration offenses.

some

New counterfeited intellectual property,
felony dishonored check, and identity
theft offenses.

Penalties increased for possession and
dissemination of pornographic works.

2000

12-year presumptive sentence for 1%
degree criminal sexual conduct.

New mandatory 1-year and 1-day prison
sentences for failing to register as sex
offenders; two-years for subsequent
offenses.

New anhydrous ammonia tampering
offense (substance used to produce
meth).

New counterfeit checks offenses.

Prepared by: MSGC

2001

New criminal sexual conduct 3 and 4™
degree  offenses by correctional
employees.

Penalties increased for possession and
dissemination of pornographic works.

Penalties increased to 40 vyears for
fleeing peace officer resulting in death.

New fraudulent drivers’ licenses and ID
card offenses.

New pet cruelty offenses.

2002

50% longer sentence for crimes
committed in furtherance of terrorism;
new 1% degree murder in furtherance of
terrorism.

7 Y2-year presumptive sentence for some
2" degree criminal sexual conduct.

New aiding an offender,
responsibility for criminal acts.

taking

New criminal damage to property of
critical public service facilities.

New criminal sexual conduct 3 and 4™
degrees offenses by special
transportation service workers.

New felony DWiI
conditional release.

including 5-year

New harassing or stalking victims under
age 18, committed with sexual or
aggressive intent.

2003

January 2016

New felony mail theft and felony identity
theft crime over $35,000.

New felony interference with emergency
communication crime.

New felony attempted manufacture of
methamphetamine crime.
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New upward sentencing departure factor
for offenders who use another’s identity
without authorization to commit a crime.

Period of time a felon convicted of a
crime of violence is prohibited from
possessing a firearm increased from 10
years to life time.

2004

New felony crime for assaults against
probation officers.

Felony assault against peace officers
expanded to include assaults resulting in
transference of bodily fluids.

2005

Mandatory life sentences for most
dangerous sex offenders; some are life
without the possibility of release.

Life without release for premeditated
first-degree murder.

Increased penalties for sale of meth and
possession of meth precursors.

Increased penalties for domestic assault
by strangulation.

Increased penalties for crimes committed
for the benefit of a gang when the victim
is a child.

New people-trafficking crime.

Increased penalties for identity theft
related to possession and dissemination
of child pornography.

Increased penalties for interference with
privacy.

Expansion of harassment and stalking
crime to include harassment through the
use of wireless and electronic
communication.

New felony for assaults on secure
treatment facility personnel
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2006

Extended “look-back” period to 10 years
for repeat domestic assault offenders.

Increased statutory maximum for labor or
sex trafficking of child-victims.

Maximum sentence 25% longer if
criminal sexual conduct is motivated by
a predatory pattern of behavior that
had criminal sexual conduct as its goal;
50% longer if repeat offender.

Consecutive sentences for felony DWI.

Expanded conditional release for sex
offenders; lifetime conditional release for
certain sex offenders.

Penalties increased for escape from
Civil Commitment, Sexually Dangerous
Persons.

2007

New domestic abuse no-contact order
felony.

Addition to criminal vehicular homicide in
which the driver knew that a defect
presented a danger to others.

New mortgage lending offenses.

2008

Increased the period in which a no-
contact order can be issued from one
year to two years; additional orders can
be granted; orders can be granted for up
to 50 years if the abuser violates prior
orders two or more times.

2009

January 2016

Definition of electronic solicitation of
children is expanded.

Behavior constituting financial
exploitation of vulnerable adult is
expanded.

Labor and sex trafficking definitions
expanded to include receiving profit or
anything of value that is derived from one
of the prohibited acts.
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Enhanced penalties for solicitation,
inducement and promotion of prostitution
if the offense is committed through
engaging in sex trafficking and there is an
aggravating factor present.

2010

The statutory maximum for possession of
a dangerous weapon on school property
is raised from two years to five years.

New criminal sexual conduct 3 and 4™
degree offenses committed by secure
treatment facility employees.

2011

New criminal penalties for sale and
possession of a controlled substance
analog, which is defined as a substance
with a chemical structure substantially
similar to the chemical structure of a
controlled substance in Schedule | or II.

Registration of predatory offenders is
amended to add criminal abuse of a
vulnerable adult to the list of offenses for
which registration is required.

Fleeing a peace officer is amended by
expanding the definition to include
whoever, in the course of fleeing in a
motor vehicle “or subsequently by other
means,” causes death or bodily injury to
any person other than the perpetrator.

Theft of moveable property is added to
the list of eligible offenses for which an
offender can be charged with
racketeering.

2012

Theft from retailer of motor fuel was
added to the theft statute. The penalty
depends on the monetary value. Theft
over $1,000 is a felony.

Prostitution  offense  definitions  for
“patron,” “prostitute,” and “prostitution”
were amended. The change to these
underlying definitions made it clear that
both prostitutes and patrons can be
charged with the offense of felony
prostitution in a school or park zone.
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The legislature established separate
non-felony penalties for patrons and
prostitutes. These changes were enacted
into law during the 2011 Special Session.

« Two neglect of vulnerable adult offenses
were created: one resulting in great
bodily harm and one resulting in
substantial bodily harm.

« The penalty for sale (for “remuneration”)
of synthetic cannabinoids was increased
from a gross misdemeanor to a felony.

. Female genital mutilation was added to
the list of qualified domestic violence-
related offenses. These offenses form
the underlying definitions that support
felony domestic assault and felony
violation of a restraining order.

. False imprisonment, unreasonable
restraint of a child, was amended to
create a second felony-level offense
when the confinement or restraint results
in demonstrable bodily harm.

2013

« A minimum “presumptive” 3-year prison
sentence for repeat sex offenders was
reinstituted.

« Several new offenses relating to
emergency telephone calls and
communications were created, including
a felony-level offense for falsely making
emergency calls when no emergency
exists that result in injury.

« Wildfire arson was expanded to add new
offenses for which the statutory
maximums are based on the number of
buildings, acres, or crop value damaged
or threatened with damage, and to
establish a new offense for intentionally
setting a fire that results in demonstrable
bodily harm.

2014

« Felony fifth-degree criminal sexual
conduct (CSC) was expanded to include
offenders with two previous convictions
for gross misdemeanor CSC, a felony
provision of indecent exposure, any first-
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thru fourth-degree CSC, and possession
or dissemination of child pornography.
The statutory maximum was increased
from five to seven years.

The crimes of violence list was expanded
to include felony fifth-degree assault,
felony domestic assault, and domestic
assault by strangulation. A person
convicted of a crime of violence is
prohibited from possessing a firearm.

The statute requiring predatory offenders
to register was amended to clarify that
offenders must register if they commit
any prostitution offense involving a
minor.

2015

Persons who are not allowed to possess
firearms are not allowed to possess
ammunition, and felons previously
convicted of a crime of violence who do
so are subject to the 5-year mandatory
minimum prison sentence under Minn.
Stat. § 609.11.

Financial Transaction Card Fraud was
amended to include trafficking of
Supplemental  Nutrition  Assistance
Program (SNAP) benefits and a new
felony for wrongful employment at a child
care center was added to the theft
penalty provisions.

Fourth-degree assault protections were
extended to employees supervising and
working directly with mentally-ill and
dangerous patients.

Fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct
(CSC 5) under Minn. Stat. § 609.3451,
subd. 1, was expanded to include
intentionally touching the body or clothing
with semen.

The prostitution statute was modified
making the hiring of an adult prostitute a
felony if the patron reasonably believes
the prostitute to be a child.
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