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Recommendations to the Legislature 
 

 The Legislature invites the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission to provide it, from 
time to time, with recommendations regarding changes to criminal law, criminal procedure, and 
other aspects of sentencing.29 The Commission makes the following recommendations to the 
legislature: 
 
 Recommendation One.The Commission recommends, first, that the Legislature repeal the 
mandatory minimum sentencing provisions in Chapter 152, Minnesota Statutes. This will 
complement the Commission’s proposed modifications to the Guidelines relating to sentencing 
of drug offenses and give the courts and prosecutors more discretion on the appropriate 
sentence for individual defendants.  
 
 [OR] Recommendation One. The Commission recommends, first, that the Legislature 
remove Controlled Substance Crime in the Fifth Degree – Possession from the list of offenses 
for which a subsequent controlled substance conviction will trigger a mandatory minimum 
sentence. 
 
 Discussion: The trace and small amount possession cases charged as 5th degree 
possession (not sale) are most commonly the result of addicts being caught while or 
immediately after using a controlled substance thus resulting in the trace amount of burnt 
residue in a pipe or similar. The definition of subsequent controlled substance conviction is used 
in the penalty subdivision of 1st – 5th degree controlled substance crimes. A prior trace or 5th 
degree case currently can be used to create a 4 year mandatory minimum sentence for a 
subsequent 1st degree case, 3 year mandatory minimum on a subsequent 2nd degree case, 2 
year mandatory minimum on a subsequent 3rd degree case, 1 year mandatory minimum for a 
subsequent 4th degree case and 180 days mandatory minimum on a subsequent 5th degree 
case. These mandatory prison sentences serve as a bar to participation in a drug or treatment 
court. If the model moving forward is to encourage treatment of addiction, these mandatory 
minimums are a major hindrance. 
 
 Recommended Statutory Language: Minn. Stat. § 152.01, subd. 16a, would be amended 
to read, “Subsequent controlled substance conviction. Notwithstanding section 152.18, 
subdivision 1, a ‘subsequent controlled substance conviction’ means that before commission of 
the offense for which the person is convicted under this chapter, the person received a 
disposition for a felony-level offense violation of this chapter, excluding a violation of section 
152.025, subdivision 2, under section 152.18, subdivision 1, was convicted in Minnesota of a 
felony violation of this chapter, excluding a violation of section 152.025, subdivision 2, or a 
felony-level attempt or conspiracy to violate this chapter, excluding section 152.025, subdivision 
2, or was convicted elsewhere for conduct that would have been a felony under this chapter, 
excluding section 152.025, subdivision 2, if committed in Minnesota. An earlier disposition for a 

29 Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6. 
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felony-level offense under section 152.18, subdivision 1, or an earlier conviction is not relevant if 
ten years have elapsed since discharge from sentence or stay of adjudication.” 
 
 Recommendation Two. The Commission recommends, second, that the Legislature 
reduce Controlled Substance Crime in the Fifth Degree – Possession, Minn. Stat. § 152.025, 
subd. 2, in a case involving possession of a trace amount of a controlled substance, to a gross 
misdemeanor rather than a felony. 
 
 [OR] Recommendation Two. The Commission recommends, second, that the Legislature 
amend Controlled Substance Crime in the Fifth Degree to add a to a gross misdemeanor 
offense for trace amounts of a controlled substance. 
 
 Discussion: Trace cases are prosecuted inconsistently across the state.  Some jurisdictions 
do not prosecute any trace amount cases, while other jurisdictions charge them zealously and 
impose mandatory minimum periods for subsequent offenses. This creates an onerous 
sentence for defendants who are very likely addicts and would receive no criminal intervention if 
they committed the offense in a different county. Because these are considered low-level 
offenses, few probation resources are allocated to these offenders who with frequency either fail 
on probation and are revoked or grow so frustrated with probation violations that they opt for 
execution of their sentence. These offenders are often committed to the custody of the 
Commissioner of Corrections for periods too short to allow for chemical dependency services 
within the Department of Corrections. By treating these cases as gross misdemeanors, we 
eliminate the possibility of a prison commit for a trace amount of drugs and we blunt the inequity 
across district and county lines. In fiscal year 2015, the DOC had 501 inmates serving 
sentences for 5th Degree Controlled Substance crimes. The DOC would see a decrease in 
short-term beds and supervised-release clients. County corrections programs may see an 
increase in local incarceration, though the typical 180-day mandatory minimum is already being 
served locally. 
 
 Recommended Statutory Language:  
 
 Minn. Stat. § 152.025, subd. 2 (Controlled Substance Crime in the Fifth Degree – 
Possession), subpart (1), would be amended to read, in part, “the person unlawfully possesses 
a measurable amount but less than 3 grams of one or more mixtures containing a controlled 
substance classified in Schedule I, II, III, or IV, except a small amount of marijuana … .” 
 
 A new subdivision would be added to Minn. Stat. § 152.025: 
 
 “Subd. 3. Possession of trace amounts. A person is guilty of a controlled substance crime 
in the fifth degree and if convicted may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one 
year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the person unlawfully possesses 
a trace amount but less than 3 grams of one or more mixtures containing a controlled substance 
classified in Schedule I, II, III, or IV, except a small amount of marijuana.” 
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 To retain county attorney jurisdiction, Minn. Stat. § 388.051, subd. 2(c) would be amended 
to read, “The county attorney shall prosecute failure to report physical or sexual child abuse or 
neglect as provided under section 626.556, subdivision 6, violations of fifth-degree criminal 
sexual conduct under section 609.3451, and environmental law violations under sections 
115.071, 299F.098, and 609.671, and controlled substance crime in the fifth degree, possession 
of trace amounts, as provided under section 152.025, subdivision 3.” 
 
 Recommendation Three. The Commission recommends, third, that the Legislature revise 
quantity thresholds for controlled substance crimes so that the different degrees fairly 
distinguish between major, mid-level, and low-level drug wholesalers. 
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