MY MINNesOoTA

SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION

1%t Degree Drugs Sale of 10+G Heroin/Fentanyl in 90 Days: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

Data Request

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission has a statutory charter to serve as the state’s clearinghouse and
information center for the collection, preparation, analysis, and dissemination of information on sentencing practices.!
This data request serves to fulfills this charter.?

Information Requested: Departure data for 1% Degree Drug, Sale of 10+ G Heroin or Fentanyl in 90-day period.
Offense Details:

e First-Degree Controlled Substance Crime, Sale of One or More Mixtures of 10+ G, or 40 Dosages, with Heroin or

Fentanyl in 90-day period, under Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subd. 1(3).

e Excludes attempts under Minn. Stat. § 609.17 and conspiracies under Minn. Stat. § 609.175

e Post Drug Sentencing Reform Act (DSRA), offense on or after 8/1/2016, Severity Level D8.
Analysis:

e Statewide.

e Sentenced 2019-2023.

e Dispositional departure rates by presumptive disposition and criminal history score.

e Durational departure rates by prison sentence and criminal history score.

e Most frequently cited reasons for mitigated departures.

e Prosecutorial agreement for mitigated departures.

Note on Data:

Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission (MSGC) monitoring data are person-based, meaning cases represent
persons rather than individual charges. Persons sentenced within the same county in a one-month period are generally
counted only once, based on their most serious offense. This data request was prepared by the research staff of MSGC
in fulfillment of the Commission’s statutory role as a clearinghouse and information center for information on
sentencing practices. This is not a policy document. Nothing in this request should be construed as a statement of
existing policy or recommendation of future policy on behalf of the Commission itself, or as an authoritative
interpretation of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines, Minnesota statutes, or case law.

1 See Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6.
2 Submit data requests online at https://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/contact/data-requests.jsp
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1%t Degree Drugs Sale of 10+G Heroin/Fentanyl in 90 Days: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

Dispositional Departures

Statewide, from 2019-2023, 96 people were sentenced for First-Degree Controlled Substance Crime, Sale of One or
More Mixtures of 10+ G, or 40 Dosages, with Heroin or Fentanyl in 90-day period, under Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subd.
1(3). None had a presumptive disposition of stay and all 96 (100.0%) had a presumptive disposition of commit.

Among persons with a presumptive commit/prison sentence, 51 (53.1%) were not departures and 45 (46.9%) were
mitigated dispositional departures, when the Guidelines recommended a commit/prison sentence, but the court
pronounced a stayed sentence.

The most common reasons cited? for the 45 mitigated dispositional departures were amenable to probation (30; 66.7%),
amenable to treatment (14; 31.1%), and shows remorse/accepts responsibility (9; 20.0%). The prosecutor agreed
to/recommended/ did not object to the departure in 26 (57.8%) cases, objected to the departure in 12 (26.7%) of cases,
and in 7 (15.6%) cases the position of the prosecutor was unknown.

Table 1. Dispositional Departure Rate by Criminal History Score
1st Degree Drugs Sale of 10+G Heroin/Fentanyl in 90 Days: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

Dispositional Departures °
All Presumptive Presumptive Stays °© Presumptive Commits f
Cases Disposition @ No Departures 9 Aggravated Departures ©
CHS Total Stay Commit None None (Req)® Agge Agg (Req)& Nones Mit
0 35 0 35 - - - - 11 24
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% -- -- -- -- 31.4% 68.6%
L 13 0 13 - - - - 9 4
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% - - - - 69.2% 30.8%
5 11 0 11 - - - - 5 6
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% - - - - 45.5% 54.5%
3 11 0 11 - - - - 6 5
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% -- -- -- -- 54.5% 45.5%
A 11 0 11 - - - - 7 4
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% -- -- -- -- 63.6% 36.4%
s 4 0 4 - - - - 2 2
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% - - - - 50.0% 50.0%
6 or 11 0 11 - - - - 11 0
more 100.0% 0.0% 100.0% - - - - 100.0% 0.0%
e 96 0 96 = = = = 51 45
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% - - - - 53.1% 46.9%

Source: Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission Monitoring Data. Notes: Percents refer to rows, cases within each group of defendants by criminal history score (CHS).

a. Presumptive Disposition: Guidelines recommended sentence based on offense severity and defendant CHS; either a “Stay” a stayed/non-prison sentence; or “Commit” a commit/prison sentence.

b. Dispositional Departures: when the court pronounced a sentenced that was different from the presumptive sentence provided by the Guidelines.

c. Among Presumptive Stays: Dispositional departures among only presumptive stayed sentences; only aggravated dispositional departures are possible for presumptive stays.

d. No Departures: includes “None”, no departure, and “None (Req)”, where the defendant used their right to demand/request execution of their prison sentence even when the presumptive sentence was
stay and the court pronounced a stayed sentence; for offenses on or after 8/1/2015 the Guidelines no longer deemed these cases to be departures. See Guidelines § 2.D.1.

e. Aggravated Departures: includes “Agg”, an aggravated dispositional departure, where the Court pronounced a commit sentence (prison) but the Guidelines recommended a stayed sentence (non-prison),
and “Agg (Req)” an aggravated dispositional departure, where the defendant used their right to demand/request execution of their prison sentence even when the presumptive sentence was stay and the
court pronounced a stayed sentence; for offenses before 8/1/2015 the Guidelines deemed these cases to be departures. See Guidelines § 2.D.1.

f. Among Presumptive Commits: Dispositional departures among only presumptive commit sentences; includes “None”, no departure, and “Mit”, a mitigated dispositional departure when the Court
pronounced a stayed sentence (non-prison) when the Guidelines recommended a commit sentence (prison); only mitigated dispositional departures are possible for presumptive commits.

g. The total number of defendants who received a prison sentence is a combination of presumptive stayed sentences which demanded a prison sentence, “None (Req)”, and who received an aggravated
dispositional departure, “Agg” or “Agg (Req)”, as well as presumptive commits which did not receive a mitigated departure, “None”.

3 The court may provide multiple reasons for mitigated dispositional departures; percents may not add up to 100.0%.
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1%t Degree Drugs Sale of 10+G Heroin/Fentanyl in 90 Days: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

Durational Departures

Statewide, from 2019-2023, among people sentenced for First-Degree Controlled Substance Crime, Sale of One or More
Mixtures of 10+ G, or 40 Dosages, with Heroin or Fentanyl in 90-day period, under Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subd. 1(3), in
total, 51 (53.1%) people received a prison sentence®, and 45 (46.9%) people received a non-prison sentence.

Of the people that received a non-prison sentence, 43 (95.6%) were not departures, 1 (2.2%) received an aggravated
durational departure, 1 (2.2%) received a mitigated durational departure, and none received a mitigated departure to a
misdemeanor/gross misdemeanor sentence.

Of the people that received prison, 45 (88.2%) were not departures, none received an aggravated durational departure
and 6 (11.8%) received a mitigated durational departure.

The most common reasons® cited for the 6 mitigated durational departures among prison sentences were crime less
onerous (3; 50.0%), shows remorse/accepts responsibility (2; 33.3%), and offender played minor, lesser, or passive role
(2; 33.3%). The prosecutor agreed to/recommended/ did not object to the departure in 5 (83.3%) cases and objected to
the departure in 1 (16.7%) case.

Table 2. Durational Departure Rate by Criminal History Score
1st Degree Drugs Sale of 10+G Heroin/Fentanyl in 90 Days: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

All Executed Prison Durational Departures P
Cases Sentence ? Non-Prison Sentences °© Prison Sentence ¢
CHS Total No Yes None Agg Mit Misd/GM None Agg Mit
0 35 24 11 22 1 1 0 10 0 1
100.0% 68.6% 31.4% 91.7% 4.2% 4.2% 0.0% 90.9% 0.0% 9.1%
1 13 4 9 4 0 0 0 8 0 1
100.0% 30.8% 69.2% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 88.9% 0.0% 11.1%
5 11 6 5 6 0 0 0 5 0 0
100.0% 54.5% 45.5% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0%
3 11 5 6 5 0 0 0 6 0 0
100.0% 45.5% 54.5% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0%
4 11 4 7 4 0 0 0 5 0 2
100.0% 36.4% 63.6% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 71.4% 0.0% 28.6%
5 4 2 2 2 0 0 0 1 0 1
100.0% 50.0% 50.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 50.0% 0.0% 50.0%
6 or 11 0 11 -- -- -- - 10 0 1
more 100.0% 0.0% 100.0% -- -- -- - 90.9% 0.0% 9.1%
Total 96 45 51 43 1 1 0 45 0 6
100.0% 46.9% 53.1% 95.6% 2.2% 2.2% 0.0% 88.2% 0.0% 11.8%

Source: Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission Monitoring Data. Notes: Percents refer to rows, cases within each group of defendants by criminal history score (CHS).
a. Executed Prison Sentence: the pronounced disposition from the Court, either “No,” a non-prison sentence (stayed), or “Yes,” a prison sentence (commit; regardless of the Guidelines recommendation.

b. Durational Departures: when the Court pronounced a sentence duration that is different from the recommended duration provided by the Guidelines; either more or less than the fixed duration for
presumptive stays, or outside of the duration range (15% lower and 20% higher) for presumptive commits, provided the minimum sentence is not less than one year and the maximum sentence is not more

than the statutory maximum (See section 2.C.1-2).

c. Non-Prison Sentences: among non-prison sentences, “None” the pronounced non-prison sentence length from the Court matched the length recommended by the Guidelines; “Agg” an aggravated
durational departure for a non-prison sentence when the pronounced non-prison sentence was more than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more than 20% higher than the fixed duration for a
presumptive commit sentence; “Mit” a mitigated durational departure for a non-prison sentence when the pronounced non-prison sentence was less than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more
than 15% lower than the fixed duration for a presumptive commit sentence; “Misd/GM” a mitigated durational departure where the Court imposed a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence for a
felony-level conviction, meaning up to 364 days of confinement in a local jail or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as a condition of probation.
d. Prison Sentence: Among prison sentences, “None” the pronounced prison sentence length from the Court matched the length recommended by the Guidelines; “Agg” an aggravated durational departure
for a prison sentence when the pronounced prison sentence was more than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more than 20% higher than the fixed duration for a presumptive commit sentence;
“Mit” a mitigated durational departure for a prison sentence when the pronounced prison sentence was less than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more than 15% lower than the fixed duration for

a presumptive commit sentence.

4 The total number of defendants that received a prison includes the following: persons who demanded execution of sentence where it was not considered an
aggravated dispositional departure, all aggravated dispositional departures among presumptive stays, and non-departures among presumptive commits.

5 The court may provide multiple reasons for prison sentences receiving mitigated durational departures; percents may not add up to 100.0%.
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