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Data Request 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission has a statutory charter to serve as the state’s clearinghouse and 
information center for the collection, preparation, analysis, and dissemination of information on sentencing practices.1 
This data request serves to fulfills this charter.2  
 
Information Requested: Departure rate for Damage to Property, Over $1000. 
Offense Details: 

• Damage to Property, Value over $1,000, under Minn. Stat. § 609.595 Subd 1(4). 

• Excludes attempts under Minn. Stat. § 609.17 and conspiracies under Minn. Stat. § 609.175. 

• Severity Level 2. 
Analysis: 

• Statewide. 

• Sentenced 2019-2023. 

• Dispositional departure rates by presumptive disposition and criminal history score. 

• Durational departure rates by prison sentence and criminal history score.  

• Most frequently cited reasons for mitigated departures.  

• Prosecutorial agreement for mitigated departures.  
 
Note on Data: 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission (MSGC) monitoring data are person-based, meaning cases represent 
persons rather than individual charges. Persons sentenced within the same county in a one-month period are generally 
counted only once, based on their most serious offense. This data request was prepared by the research staff of MSGC 
in fulfillment of the Commission’s statutory role as a clearinghouse and information center for information on 
sentencing practices. This is not a policy document. Nothing in this request should be construed as a statement of 
existing policy or recommendation of future policy on behalf of the Commission itself, or as an authoritative 
interpretation of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines, Minnesota statutes, or case law. 
 
  

 
1 See Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6. 
2 Submit data requests online at https://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/contact/data-requests.jsp 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/244.09#stat.244.09.6
https://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/contact/data-requests.jsp
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Dispositional Departures 
Statewide, from 2019-2023, 798 people were sentenced for Damage to Property, Value over $1,000, under Minn. Stat. § 
609.595 Subd 1(4). 690 (86.5%) had a presumptive disposition of stay and 108 (13.5%) had a presumptive disposition of 
commit.  
 

Among persons with a presumptive stay/non-prison sentence, 674 (97.7%) were not departures; 14 (2.0%) were not 
departures, but the defendant requested an executed prison sentence even when the court pronounced a stayed 
sentence3; 2 (0.3%) were aggravated dispositional departures, when the Guidelines recommended a stayed sentence, 
but the court pronounced an executed prison sentence; and none were aggravated departures where the defendant 
requested an executed prison sentence even when the court pronounced a stayed sentence4.  
 

Among persons with a presumptive commit/prison sentence, 58 (53.7%) were not departures and 50 (46.3%) were 
mitigated dispositional departures, when the Guidelines recommended a commit/prison sentence, but the court 
pronounced a stayed sentence. 
 

Table 1. Dispositional Departure Rate by Criminal History Score 
Damage to Property, Value over $1000: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023 

 
All 

Cases 
Presumptive 
Disposition a 

Dispositional Departures b 

Presumptive Stays c Presumptive Commits f 

No Departures d Aggravated Departures e   

CHS Total Stay Commit None None (Req) g Agg g Agg (Req) g None g Mit 

0 
316 316 0 315 1 0 0 -- -- 

100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 99.7% 0.3% 0.0% 0.0% -- -- 

1 
109 109 0 107 2 0 0 -- -- 

100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 98.2% 1.8% 0.0% 0.0% -- -- 

2 
90 90 0 88 1 1 0 -- -- 

100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 97.8% 1.1% 1.1% 0.0% -- -- 

3 
83 83 0 78 5 0 0 -- -- 

100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 94.0% 6.0% 0.0% 0.0% -- -- 

4 
55 55 0 51 3 1 0 -- -- 

100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 92.7% 5.5% 1.8% 0.0% -- -- 

5 
37 37 0 35 2 0 0 -- -- 

100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 94.6% 5.4% 0.0% 0.0% -- -- 

6 or 
more 

108 0 108 -- -- -- -- 58 50 

100.0% 0.0% 100.0% -- -- -- -- 53.7% 46.3% 

Total 
798 690 108 674 14 2 0 58 50 

100.0% 86.5% 13.5% 97.7% 2.0% 0.3% 0.0% 53.7% 46.3% 
Source: Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission Monitoring Data. Notes: Percents refer to rows, cases within each group of defendants by criminal history score (CHS).  
a. Presumptive Disposition: Guidelines recommended sentence based on offense severity and defendant CHS; either a “Stay” a stayed/non-prison sentence; or “Commit” a commit/prison sentence. 
b. Dispositional Departures: when the court pronounced a sentenced that was different from the presumptive sentence provided by the Guidelines. 
c. Among Presumptive Stays: Dispositional departures among only presumptive stayed sentences; only aggravated dispositional departures are possible for presumptive stays. 
d. No Departures: includes “None”, no departure, and “None (Req)”, where the defendant used their right to demand/request execution of their prison sentence even when the presumptive sentence was 
stay and the court pronounced a stayed sentence; for offenses on or after 8/1/2015 the Guidelines no longer deemed these cases to be departures. See Guidelines § 2.D.1. 
e. Aggravated Departures: includes “Agg”, an aggravated dispositional departure, where the Court pronounced a commit sentence (prison) but the Guidelines recommended a stayed sentence (non-prison), 
and “Agg (Req)” an aggravated dispositional departure, where the defendant used their right to demand/request execution of their prison sentence even when the presumptive sentence was stay and the 
court pronounced a stayed sentence; for offenses before 8/1/2015 the Guidelines deemed these cases to be departures. See Guidelines § 2.D.1. 
f. Among Presumptive Commits: Dispositional departures among only presumptive commit sentences; includes “None”, no departure, and “Mit”, a mitigated dispositional departure when the Court 
pronounced a stayed sentence (non-prison) when the Guidelines recommended a commit sentence (prison); only mitigated dispositional departures are possible for presumptive commits. 
g. The total number of defendants who received a prison sentence is a combination of presumptive stayed sentences which demanded a prison sentence, “None (Req)”, and who received an aggravated 
dispositional departure, “Agg” or “Agg (Req)”, as well as presumptive commits which did not receive a mitigated departure, “None”. 

  

 
3 Offenses committed on or after of 8/1/2015 are not considered aggravated departures, see amendments to Guidelines § 2.D.1.  
4 Offenses committed before 8/1/2015 are considered aggravated departures, see amendments to Guidelines § 2.D.1.  
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The most common reasons cited5 among the 50 mitigated dispositional departures were amenable to probation (27; 
54.0%) and amenable to treatment (24; 48.0%). 
 

Table 2. Reasons Provided for Mitigated Dispositional Departures 
Damage to Property, Value over $1000: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023 
Reasons Provided for Mitigated Dispositional Departure a Number Percent b 

Amenable to probation 27 54.0% 

Amenable to treatment 24 48.0% 

Shows remorse/accepts responsibility 8 16.0% 

Less onerous/weapon type less serious/gun not loaded 5 10.0% 

Recommended by court services 5 10.0% 

Compliance with probation/extended supervision 5 10.0% 

Drug Court-No reasons in transcript 4 8.0% 

Imposed rest. or other financial penalty/ensure paid 3 6.0% 

Mit or excuse culpability,not amount to defense 1 2.0% 

Prior convictions are old 1 2.0% 

Priors overemphasize CH/same behavioral incident 1 2.0% 

Priors occured in short period of time/crime spree 1 2.0% 

Stayed sentence as or more severe/Time already served 1 2.0% 

Prevent trauma to victim from testifying 1 2.0% 

Unknown 1 2.0% 

Total Cases 50 . 
Source: Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission Monitoring Data.  
Notes: Percents refer to the proportion of mitigated dispositional departures receiving each reason. 
a. Mitigated Dispositional Departures: When the Court pronounced a stayed sentence (non-prison) when the Guidelines recommended a commit sentence (prison); 
mitigated dispositional departures are only possible for presumptive commits. 
b. Percent: Since each sentence may receive multiple reasons, combined percents may not add up to 100.0%. 
 

 
The prosecutor agreed to/recommended/ did not object to the departure in 32 (64.0%) cases, objected to the departure 

in 6 (12.0%) cases, and in 12 (24.0%) cases the position of the prosecutor was unknown. 

  

 
5 The court may provide multiple reasons for mitigated dispositional departures; percents may not add up to 100.0%. 
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Durational Departures 

Statewide, from 2019-2023, among people sentenced for Damage to Property, Value over $1,000, under Minn. Stat. § 
609.595 Subd 1(4), in total, 74 (9.3%) people received a prison sentence6, and 724 (90.7%) people received a non-prison 
sentence.  
 

Of the people that received a non-prison sentence, 581 (80.2%) were not departures, 7 (1.0%) received an aggravated 
durational departure, 3 (0.4%) received a mitigated durational departure, and 133 (18.4%) received a mitigated 
departure to a misdemeanor/gross misdemeanor sentence.  
 

Of the people that received prison, 65 (87.8%) were not departures, none received an aggravated durational departure 
and 9 (12.2%) received a mitigated durational departure.  
 

Table 3. Durational Departure Rate by Criminal History Score 
Damage to Property, Value over $1000: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023 

 

All 
Cases 

Executed Prison 
Sentence a 

Durational Departures b 

Non-Prison Sentences c Prison Sentence d 

CHS Total No Yes None Agg Mit Misd/GM None Agg Mit 

0 
316 315 1 230 0 0 85 1 0 0 

100.0% 99.7% 0.3% 73.0% 0.0% 0.0% 27.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 

1 
109 107 2 90 1 0 16 2 0 0 

100.0% 98.2% 1.8% 84.1% 0.9% 0.0% 15.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 

2 
90 88 2 74 2 0 12 2 0 0 

100.0% 97.8% 2.2% 84.1% 2.3% 0.0% 13.6% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 

3 
83 78 5 68 1 0 9 5 0 0 

100.0% 94.0% 6.0% 87.2% 1.3% 0.0% 11.5% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 

4 
55 51 4 47 2 0 2 4 0 0 

100.0% 92.7% 7.3% 92.2% 3.9% 0.0% 3.9% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 

5 
37 35 2 29 0 2 4 2 0 0 

100.0% 94.6% 5.4% 82.9% 0.0% 5.7% 11.4% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 

6 or 
more 

108 50 58 43 1 1 5 49 0 9 

100.0% 46.3% 53.7% 86.0% 2.0% 2.0% 10.0% 84.5% 0.0% 15.5% 

Total 
798 724 74 581 7 3 133 65 0 9 

100.0% 90.7% 9.3% 80.2% 1.0% 0.4% 18.4% 87.8% 0.0% 12.2% 
Source: Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission Monitoring Data. Notes: Percents refer to rows, cases within each group of defendants by criminal history score (CHS).  
a. Executed Prison Sentence: the pronounced disposition from the Court, either “No,” a non-prison sentence (stayed), or “Yes,” a prison sentence (commit; regardless of the Guidelines recommendation). 
b. Durational Departures: when the Court pronounced a sentence duration that is different from the recommended duration provided by the Guidelines; either more or less than the fixed duration for 
presumptive stays, or outside of the duration range (15% lower and 20% higher) for presumptive commits, provided the minimum sentence is not less than one year and the maximum sentence is not more 
than the statutory maximum (See section 2.C.1-2). 
c. Non-Prison Sentences: among non-prison sentences, “None” the pronounced non-prison sentence length from the Court matched the length recommended by the Guidelines; “Agg” an aggravated 
durational departure for a non-prison sentence when the pronounced non-prison sentence was more than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more than 20% higher than the fixed duration for a 
presumptive commit sentence; “Mit” a mitigated durational departure for a non-prison sentence when the pronounced non-prison sentence was less than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more 
than 15% lower than the fixed duration for a presumptive commit sentence; “Misd/GM” a mitigated durational departure where the Court imposed a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence for a 
felony-level conviction, meaning up to 364 days of confinement in a local jail or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as a condition of probation. 
d. Prison Sentence: Among prison sentences, “None” the pronounced prison sentence length from the Court matched the length recommended by the Guidelines; “Agg” an aggravated durational departure 
for a prison sentence when the pronounced prison sentence was more than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more than 20% higher than the fixed duration for a presumptive commit sentence; 
“Mit” a mitigated durational departure for a prison sentence when the pronounced prison sentence was less than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more than 15% lower than the fixed duration for 
a presumptive commit sentence. 

 
The reasons7 cited among the 9 mitigated durational departures among prison sentences were crime less onerous (6; 
66.7%), shows remorse/accepts responsibility (3; 33.3%), amenable to probation (1; 11.1%), and inadvertent 
departure/worksheet error (1; 11.1%). The prosecutor agreed to/recommended/ did not object to the departure in 8 
(88.9%) cases, objected to the departure in none of the cases, and in 1 (11.1%) case the position of the prosecutor was 
unknown. 
 
 

 
6 The total number of defendants that received a prison includes the following: persons who demanded execution of sentence where it was not considered an 
aggravated dispositional departure, all aggravated dispositional departures among presumptive stays, and non-departures among presumptive commits.  
7 The court may provide multiple reasons for prison sentences receiving mitigated durational departures; percents may not add up to 100.0%. 


