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The following are Legislative crime bills passed into law that must be considered by the 
Commission for possible modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines.   
 
A. Amended Felony Crime Law Affecting the Guidelines. The following existing offense 

was amended by a law passed during the 2015 Legislative Session, and must be 
reviewed by the Commission. 

 
Commission Action: For the offense listed below, taking the amendments into 
consideration, the Commission must decide if the offense should be re-ranked, if there 
should be any amendments to the permissive consecutive offense list, or another other 
amendments to the Guidelines. 

 
• Fourth-Degree Assault Expanded 

 
Description: This law expands fourth-degree assault protections to employees 
supervising and working directly with mentally-ill and dangerous patients by 
amending Minn. Stat. § 609.2231, subd. 3a.  
 
Currently, paragraph 3a(b) makes certain assaults felonies, provided they are 
committed (1) by persons committed to the Minnesota Sex Offender Program 
(MSOP) (ch. 253D), (2) against caregivers and treatment providers, (3) in the MSOP 
at Moose Lake and the Minnesota Security Hospital. The act expands the definition 
of “secure treatment facility” to include the entire Minnesota Security Hospital, not 
just the MSOP. 
 
In addition, a new paragraph 3a(c) expands the crime to include assaults against 
secure treatment facility staff by persons not committed to MSOP; namely, persons 
committed as mentally ill and dangerous (§ 253B.18) and patients admitted from 
jail or prison who are ordered confined for a competency examination (§ 253B.10, 
cl. (1)). 
 
The statutory maximum is two years.  A mandatory minimum prison sentence of 
one year and one day continues to apply to the existing paragraph 3a(b), which 
applies only to persons committed to MSOP.  The mandatory minimum does not 
apply to the new paragraph 3a(c). 

 

MSGC:  2015 Legislative Laws Passed May 21, 2015     Page 1 



Effective Date:  August 1, 2015. 
 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 23 § 1; 
2014 Minn. Stat. § 609.2231, subd. 3a. 

Est. Bed Impact: 1 bed every other 
year. 

Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 

 
Guidelines Considerations: The fourth-degree assault statute creates five different 
felonies for various assaults (against peace officers; against firefighters and EMTs; 
against correctional employees, prosecutors, judges, and probation officers; against 
secure treatment facility personnel; and assaults motivated by bias). The statutory 
maximums range from one year and one day to three years. Each assault in the 
fourth degree is ranked at Severity Level 1, for which the Guidelines recommend a 
presumptive commitment sentence when an offender has a Criminal History Score 
of 6 or more.  
 
Bed Impact: In the last three years (2011-2013), 11 offenders have been sentenced 
for the existing offense under the existing paragraph 3a(b).  
 
Despite the mandatory minimum prison term, only three of the 11 offenders 
sentenced received an executed prison sentence. The average pronounced prison 
sentence was 17 months (serve two-thirds or 11 months). It is a departure from the 
Guidelines to stay execution or imposition of the sentence. It is assumed that the 
expansion of this offense will result in no more than a 50 percent increase in the 
number of offenders currently sentenced under the provisions.  
 
Because these people have already been civilly committed, it is possible that some 
portion could be found incompetent to stand trial or not guilty by reason of mental 
illness. 
 
MSGC Staff Recommendation: First, it is recommended that the Severity Level 1 
ranking in section 5 be maintained because the statutory maximum remains two 
years. Second, it is recommended that assault in the fourth degree remain on the list 
of offenses in section 6 which are eligible for permissive consecutive sentences. Third, 
it is recommended that the fourth-degree assault offense titles, as listed in Section 
5.B., be updated to reflect statutory changes to fourth degree assault enacted since 
2004.1  Fourth, it is recommended that Appendix 1 be updated to reflect the MSOP-
related mandatory minimum, as well as to clarify the general rule regarding 
executed consecutive sentencing for assaults committed by prison inmates. The 
recommended modifications to the Guidelines are listed below. 
 

1 These changes include: adding protected victims; removing the requirement of bodily harm, as the crime can be 
accomplished, in most cases, by the harmless transfer of bodily fluids; and clarifying, in a footnote, that the 
mandatory minimum table need only be referenced, in cases of assaults on secure treatment facility personnel, when 
the assault was by persons committed to MSOP. 
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Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
  

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.2231 subd. 1 Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, Peace 
Officer) 

1 

609.2231 subd. 2 Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, 
Firefighters and Emergency Medical 
Personnel) 

1 

609.2231 subd. 3 Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, 
Corrections Employee, Prosecutor, Judge, 
Probation Officer) 

1 * 

609.2231 subd. 3a Assault 4th Degree (Bodily Harm, Secure 
Treatment Facility Personnel) 

1 * 

 
* See section 2.C and Appendix 1 to determine the presumptive disposition for a felony assault committed by an 
State prison inmate serving an executed term of imprisonment or for assault on secure treatment facility 
personnel by persons committed to the Minnesota Sex Offender Program. 
 
* * * 
 
Appendix 1.  Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences Reference Table 
 
This table is for convenience when applying mandatory sentences (section 2.E) and 
presumptive sentences (section 2.C).  It is not exhaustive. 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Offense Prerequisite or 
Conditions 

Minimum 
Duration 

609.221, 
609.222, 
609.223, – 
609.2231or 
609.224 

Assault 1st through 5th 
Degree 

Committed by State 
prison inmate while 
confined (609.2232) 
Must commit during 
“Term of 
Imprisonment” 
portion of executed 
sentence 

Grid Time, 
Consecutive 
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Statute Offense Prerequisite or 
Conditions 

Minimum 
Duration 

609.2231, subd. 
3a(b) 

Assault 4th Degree Committed by person 
committed to the 
Minnesota Sex 
Offender Program 

Grid Time 

 
* * * 
 

 
B. Amended Crime Laws Not Affecting the Guidelines. Although these laws were 

amended by the 2015 Legislature, the crimes themselves were not amended. No action 
is necessary on the part of the Commission. Staff brings these changes forward for the 
Commission’s information.  

 
1. Correcting References to Murder in the First Degree under Minn. Stat.                 

§ 609.185, Paragraph (a) 
 

Description: The amendments did not substantively alter the criminal provisions. 
Several places in law omitted the reference to paragraph (a) of murder in the first 
degree which was originally inserted into the law in 2002. 2002 Minn. Laws ch. 401, 
art. 1, § 15.  
 
References were inserted into the following statutes: supervised release term 
(Minn. Stat. § 244.05); definition for child abuse crime (Minn. Stat. § 299C.61); terms 
for heinous crimes (Minn. Stat. § 609.106); murder in the second degree (Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.19); and assault in the third degree (Minn. Stat. § 609.19).  
 
 

Effective Date:  May 12, 2015 
 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 21, art 1,  
§§ 37, 66, 98-100; 2014 Minn. Stat.               
§ 244.05; § 299C.61; §§ 609.106; 19; 223. 

Est. Bed Impact: Not estimated. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
Commission Action: No action is necessary.  
 
 

2. Reporting of Maltreatment of Minors 
 

Description: The amendments did not affect the criminal provisions. The public 
policy (subdivision 1) was amended to emphasize that “the health and safety of the 
children shall be of paramount concern.” Subdivision 7 contains criminal penalties if 
a person fails to report neglect or abuse. It is a felony with a two-year statutory 
maximum if a parent, guardian, or caretaker reasonably should know that a child’s 
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health is in serious danger and the child dies because of the lack of medical care. The 
offense is unranked in the Guidelines. 
 

 
Effective Date:  March 18, 2015 
 

Reference: 2015 Minn. Laws ch. 4, § 1; 
2014 Minn. Stat. § 626.556. 

Est. Bed Impact: Not estimated. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
Commission Action: No action is necessary. 
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