MY MINNesOoTA

SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION

4th Degree CSC, Child Victim 14-16 Years Old, More than 36 Mo Older: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

Data Request

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission has a statutory charter to serve as the state’s clearinghouse and
information center for the collection, preparation, analysis, and dissemination of information on sentencing practices.!
This data request serves to fulfills this charter.?

Information Requested: Departure data for 4™ Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct with a Child Victim, Victim 14-16 Years
Old, Actor More than 36 months Older, and Actor in Current or Recent Position of Authority.
Offense Details:
e Two statutes included because Criminal Sexual Conduct offenses split into Adult Victim and Child Victims
offenses on 9/15/2021.
e Statute #1 — offense committed on or after 9/15/2021
o Fourth-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct with a Child Victim, Victim 14-16 years old, Actor More than 36
months Older, and Actor in Current or Recent Position of Authority, under Minn. Stat. § 609.345 Subd
la(b).
o Statute created on 9/15/2021.
o Severity Level F.
e Statute #2 — offense committed before 9/15/2021
o Fourth-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct with a Child Victim, Victim 13-15 years old, Actor More than 48
months Older, and Actor in Current or Recent Position of Authority, under Minn. Stat. § 609.345 Subd
1(b).
o Statute changed on 9/15/2021.
o Severity Level F.
e Excludes attempts under Minn. Stat. § 609.17 and conspiracies under Minn. Stat. § 609.175
e For both statutes, only including offenses sentenced on the Sex Offender Grid, offenses committed on or after
8/1/2006; for offenses of MS § 609.345 Subd 1(b) before 8/1/2006, had a Severity Level 4.
Analysis:
e Statewide
e Sentenced 2019-2023.
e Dispositional departure rates by presumptive disposition and criminal history score.
e Durational departure rates by prison sentence and criminal history score.
e Most frequently cited reasons for mitigated departures.
e Prosecutorial agreement for mitigated departures.
Note on Results:
e Qut of 95 sentences included in this analysis
e 90 (94.7%) were for MS § 609.345 Subd 1(b), the offense occurring before 9/15/2021.
e 5(5.3%) were for MS § 609.345 subd. 1a(b), the offense occurring on or after 9/15/2021.

Note on Data:

Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission (MSGC) monitoring data are person-based, meaning cases represent
persons rather than individual charges. Persons sentenced within the same county in a one-month period are generally
counted only once, based on their most serious offense. This data request was prepared by the research staff of MSGC
in fulfillment of the Commission’s statutory role as a clearinghouse and information center for information on
sentencing practices. This is not a policy document. Nothing in this request should be construed as a statement of
existing policy or recommendation of future policy on behalf of the Commission itself, or as an authoritative
interpretation of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines, Minnesota statutes, or case law.

1 See Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6.

2 submit data requests online at https://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/contact/data-requests.jsp
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4h Degree CSC, Child Victim 14-16 Years Old, More than 36 Mo Older: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

Dispositional Departures

Statewide, from 2019-2023, 95 people were sentenced for 4th Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct with a Child Victim,
Victim 14-16 Years Old, Actor More than 36 months Older, and Actor in Current or Recent Position of Authority, under
Minn. Stat. § 609.345 Subd 1a(b) or § 609.345 Subd 1(b). 78 (82.1%) had a presumptive disposition of stay and 17
(17.9%) had a presumptive disposition of commit.

Among persons with a presumptive stay/non-prison sentence77 (98.7%) were not departures; 1 (1.3%) was not a
departure, but the defendant requested an executed prison sentence even when the court pronounced a stayed
sentence®; none were aggravated dispositional departures, when the Guidelines recommended a stayed sentence, but
the court pronounced an executed prison sentence; and none were aggravated departures where the defendant
requested an executed prison sentence even when the court pronounced a stayed sentence®.

Among persons with a presumptive commit/prison sentence, 15 (88.2%) were not departures and 2 (11.8%) were
mitigated dispositional departures, when the Guidelines recommended a commit/prison sentence, but the court
pronounced a stayed sentence.

Table 1. Dispositional Departure Rate by Criminal History Score
4t Degree CSC, Child Victim 14-16 Years Old, More than 36 Mo Older: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

Dispositional Departures ©
All Presumptive Presumptive Stays °© Presumptive Commits f
Cases Disposition @ No Departures ¢ Aggravated Departures ©
CHS Total Stay Commit None None (Req)® Agge Agg (Req)& Nones Mit
0 62 62 0 62 0 0 0 - -
100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% - -
1 6 6 0 6 0 0 0 -- --
100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% -- --
5 10 10 0 9 1 0 0 -- --
100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 90.0% 10.0% 0.0% 0.0% - -
3 3 0 3 - - - - 3 0
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% - - - - 100.0% 0.0%
4 8 0 8 - - - - 8 0
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% -- -- -- -- 100.0% 0.0%
2 0 2 - - - - 1 1
> 100.0% 0.0% 100.0% -- -- -- -- 50.0% 50.0%
6 or 4 0 4 - - - - 3 1
more 100.0% 0.0% 100.0% - - - - 75.0% 25.0%
Total 95 78 17 77 1 0 0 15 2
100.0% 82.1% 17.9% 98.7% 1.3% 0.0% 0.0% 88.2% 11.8%

Source: Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission Monitoring Data. Notes: Percents refer to rows, cases within each group of defendants by criminal history score (CHS).

a. Presumptive Disposition: Guidelines recommended sentence based on offense severity and defendant CHS; either a “Stay” a stayed/non-prison sentence; or “Commit” a commit/prison sentence.

b. Dispositional Departures: when the court pronounced a sentenced that was different from the presumptive sentence provided by the Guidelines.

c. Among Presumptive Stays: Dispositional departures among only presumptive stayed sentences; only aggravated dispositional departures are possible for presumptive stays.

d. No Departures: includes “None”, no departure, and “None (Req)”, where the defendant used their right to demand/request execution of their prison sentence even when the presumptive sentence was
stay and the court pronounced a stayed sentence; for offenses on or after 8/1/2015 the Guidelines no longer deemed these cases to be departures. See Guidelines § 2.D.1.

e. Aggravated Departures: includes “Agg”, an aggravated dispositional departure, where the Court pronounced a commit sentence (prison) but the Guidelines recommended a stayed sentence (non-prison),
and “Agg (Req)” an aggravated dispositional departure, where the defendant used their right to demand/request execution of their prison sentence even when the presumptive sentence was stay and the
court pronounced a stayed sentence; for offenses before 8/1/2015 the Guidelines deemed these cases to be departures. See Guidelines § 2.D.1.

f. Among Presumptive Commits: Dispositional departures among only presumptive commit sentences; includes “None”, no departure, and “Mit”, a mitigated dispositional departure when the Court
pronounced a stayed sentence (non-prison) when the Guidelines recommended a commit sentence (prison); only mitigated dispositional departures are possible for presumptive commits.

g. The total number of defendants who received a prison sentence is a combination of presumptive stayed sentences which demanded a prison sentence, “None (Req)”, and who received an aggravated
dispositional departure, “Agg” or “Agg (Req)”, as well as presumptive commits which did not receive a mitigated departure, “None”.

The reasons cited®> among the 2 mitigated dispositional departures were amenable to probation (1; 50.0%%), shows
remorse/accepts responsibility (1; 50.0%), sentence appropriate/just (1; 50.0%), and to save taxpayers cost of a
trial/judicial efficiency (1; 50.%). The prosecutor agreed to/recommended/ did not object to the departure in both cases
(2; 100.0%).

3 Offenses committed on or after of 8/1/2015 are not considered aggravated departures, see amendments to Guidelines § 2.D.1.
4 Offenses committed before 8/1/2015 are considered aggravated departures, see amendments to Guidelines § 2.D.1.

5 The court may provide multiple reasons for mitigated dispositional departures; percents may not add up to 100.0%.
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4h Degree CSC, Child Victim 14-16 Years Old, More than 36 Mo Older: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

Durational Departures

Statewide, from 2019-2023, among people sentenced for 4th Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct with a Child Victim, Victim
14-16 Years Old, Actor More than 36 months Older, and Actor in Current or Recent Position of Authority, under Minn.
Stat. § 609.345 Subd 1a(b) or § 609.345 Subd 1(b), in total, 16 (16.8%) people received a prison sentence®, and 79
(83.2%) people received a non-prison sentence.

Of the people that received a non-prison sentence, 76 (96.2%) were not departures, none received an aggravated
durational departure, none received a mitigated durational departure, and 3 (3.8%) received a mitigated departure to a
misdemeanor/gross misdemeanor sentence.

Of the people that received prison, 14 (87.5%) were not departures, none received an aggravated durational departure,
and 2 (12.5%) received a mitigated durational departure.

Table 2. Durational Departure Rate by Criminal History Score
4% Degree CSC, Child Victim 14-16 Years Old, More than 36 Mo Older: Statewide, Sentenced 2019-2023

All Executed Prison Durational Departures P
Cases Sentence ? Non-Prison Sentences °© Prison Sentence ¢
CHS Total No Yes None Agg Mit Misd/GM None Agg Mit
0 62 62 0 59 0 0 3 -- -- --
100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 95.2% 0.0% 0.0% 4.8% -- -- --
1 6 6 0 6 0 0 0 -- -- --
100.0% 100.0% 0.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% -- -- --
5 10 9 1 9 0 0 0 1 0 0
100.0% 90.0% 10.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0%
3 3 0 3 -- -- -- - 3 0 0
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% -- -- -- - 100.0% 0.0% 0.0%
4 8 0 8 -- -- -- - 7 0 1
100.0% 0.0% 100.0% -- -- -- - 87.5% 0.0% 12.5%
5 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 0
100.0% 50.0% 50.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0%
6 or 4 1 3 1 0 0 0 2 0 1
more 100.0% 25.0% 75.0% 100.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 66.7% 0.0% 33.3%
Total 95 79 16 76 0 0 3 14 0 2
100.0% 83.2% 16.8% 96.2% 0.0% 0.0% 3.8% 87.5% 0.0% 12.5%

Source: Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission Monitoring Data. Notes: Percents refer to rows, cases within each group of defendants by criminal history score (CHS).

a. Executed Prison Sentence: the pronounced disposition from the Court, either “No,” a non-prison sentence (stayed), or “Yes,” a prison sentence (commit; regardless of the Guidelines recommendation).
b. Durational Departures: when the Court pronounced a sentence duration that is different from the recommended duration provided by the Guidelines; either more or less than the fixed duration for
presumptive stays, or outside of the duration range (15% lower and 20% higher) for presumptive commits, provided the minimum sentence is not less than one year and the maximum sentence is not more

than the statutory maximum (See section 2.C.1-2).

c. Non-Prison Sentences: among non-prison sentences, “None” the pronounced non-prison sentence length from the Court matched the length recommended by the Guidelines; “Agg” an aggravated
durational departure for a non-prison sentence when the pronounced non-prison sentence was more than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more than 20% higher than the fixed duration for a
presumptive commit sentence; “Mit” a mitigated durational departure for a non-prison sentence when the pronounced non-prison sentence was less than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more
than 15% lower than the fixed duration for a presumptive commit sentence; “Misd/GM” a mitigated durational departure where the Court imposed a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence for a
felony-level conviction, meaning up to 364 days of confinement in a local jail or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as a condition of probation.
d. Prison Sentence: Among prison sentences, “None” the pronounced prison sentence length from the Court matched the length recommended by the Guidelines; “Agg” an aggravated durational departure
for a prison sentence when the pronounced prison sentence was more than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more than 20% higher than the fixed duration for a presumptive commit sentence;

“Mit” a mitigated durational departure for a prison sentence when the pronounced prison sentence was less than the fixed duration for a presumptive stay or more than 15% lower than the fixed duration for
a presumptive commit sentence.

The reason’ cited among the 2 mitigated durational departures among prison sentences was to prevent trauma to the
victim from testifying (1; 50.0%) and reason unknown (1; 50.0%). The prosecutor agreed to/recommended/ did not
object to the departure in both (2; 100.0%) cases.

% The total number of defendants that received a prison includes the following: persons who demanded execution of sentence where it was not considered an
aggravated dispositional departure, all aggravated dispositional departures among presumptive stays, and non-departures among presumptive commits.

7 The court may provide multiple reasons for prison sentences receiving mitigated durational departures; percents may not add up to 100.0%.
Source: MSGC Monitoring Data
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