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244.09 MINNESOTA SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION.​


Subdivision 1. Commission; establishment. There is hereby established the Minnesota Sentencing​
Guidelines Commission which shall be comprised of 11 members.​


Subd. 2. Members. The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall consist of the following:​


(1) the chief justice of the supreme court or a designee;​


(2) one judge of the court of appeals, appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court;​


(3) one district court judge appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court;​


(4) one public defender appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the state public defender;​


(5) one county attorney appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the board of directors of​
the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;​


(6) the commissioner of corrections or a designee;​


(7) one peace officer as defined in section 626.84 appointed by the governor;​


(8) one probation officer or parole officer appointed by the governor; and​


(9) three public members appointed by the governor, one of whom shall be a victim of a crime defined​
as a felony.​


When an appointing authority selects individuals for membership on the commission, the authority shall​
make reasonable efforts to appoint qualified members of protected groups, as defined in section 43A.02,​
subdivision 33.​


One of the members shall be designated by the governor as chair of the commission.​


Subd. 3. Appointment terms. Each appointed member shall be appointed for four years and shall​
continue to serve during that time as long as the member occupies the position which made the member​
eligible for the appointment. Each member shall continue in office until a successor is duly appointed.​
Members shall be eligible for reappointment, and appointment may be made to fill an unexpired term. The​
term of any member appointed or reappointed by the governor before the first Monday in January 1991​
expires on that date. The term of any member appointed or reappointed by the governor after the first Monday​
in January 1991 is coterminous with the governor. The members of the commission shall elect any additional​
officers necessary for the efficient discharge of their duties.​


Subd. 4. Reimbursement. Each member of the commission shall be reimbursed for all reasonable​
expenses actually paid or incurred by that member in the performance of official duties in the same manner​
as other employees of the state. The public members of the commission shall be compensated at the rate of​
$50 for each day or part thereof spent on commission activities.​


Subd. 5. Promulgation of Sentencing Guidelines. The commission shall promulgate Sentencing​
Guidelines for the district court. The guidelines shall be based on reasonable offense and offender​
characteristics. The guidelines promulgated by the commission shall be advisory to the district court and​
shall establish:​


(1) the circumstances under which imprisonment of an offender is proper; and​
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(2) a presumptive, fixed sentence for offenders for whom imprisonment is proper, based on each​
appropriate combination of reasonable offense and offender characteristics. The guidelines shall provide​
for an increase of 20 percent and a decrease of 15 percent in the presumptive, fixed sentence.​


The Sentencing Guidelines promulgated by the commission may also establish appropriate sanctions​
for offenders for whom imprisonment is not proper. Any guidelines promulgated by the commission​
establishing sanctions for offenders for whom imprisonment is not proper shall make specific reference to​
noninstitutional sanctions, including but not limited to the following: payment of fines, day fines, restitution,​
community work orders, work release programs in local facilities, community based residential and​
nonresidential programs, incarceration in a local correctional facility, and probation and the conditions​
thereof.​


Although the Sentencing Guidelines are advisory to the district court, the court shall follow the procedures​
of the guidelines when it pronounces sentence in a proceeding to which the guidelines apply by operation​
of statute. Sentencing pursuant to the Sentencing Guidelines is not a right that accrues to a person convicted​
of a felony; it is a procedure based on state public policy to maintain uniformity, proportionality, rationality,​
and predictability in sentencing.​


In establishing and modifying the Sentencing Guidelines, the primary consideration of the commission​
shall be public safety. The commission shall also consider current sentencing and release practices; correctional​
resources, including but not limited to the capacities of local and state correctional facilities; and the long-term​
negative impact of the crime on the community.​


The provisions of sections 14.001 to 14.69 do not apply to the promulgation of the Sentencing Guidelines,​
and the Sentencing Guidelines, including severity levels and criminal history scores, are not subject to review​
by the legislative commission to review administrative rules. However, the commission shall adopt rules​
pursuant to sections 14.001 to 14.69 which establish procedures for the promulgation of the Sentencing​
Guidelines, including procedures for the promulgation of severity levels and criminal history scores, and​
these rules shall be subject to review by the Legislative Coordinating Commission.​


Subd. 6. Clearinghouse and information center. The commission, in addition to establishing Sentencing​
Guidelines, shall serve as a clearinghouse and information center for the collection, preparation, analysis​
and dissemination of information on state and local sentencing practices, and shall conduct ongoing research​
regarding Sentencing Guidelines, use of imprisonment and alternatives to imprisonment, plea bargaining,​
and other matters relating to the improvement of the criminal justice system. The commission shall from​
time to time make recommendations to the legislature regarding changes in the Criminal Code, criminal​
procedures, and other aspects of sentencing.​


This information shall include information regarding the impact of statutory changes to the state's criminal​
laws related to controlled substances, including those changes enacted by the legislature in Laws 2016,​
chapter 160.​


Subd. 7. Study. After the implementation of the Sentencing Guidelines promulgated by the commission,​
the commission shall study their impact and review the powers and duties of the commissioner of corrections.​


Subd. 8. Administrative services. The commissioner of corrections shall provide adequate office space​
and administrative services for the commission, and the commission shall reimburse the commissioner for​
the space and services provided. The commission may also utilize, with their consent, the services, equipment,​
personnel, information and resources of other state agencies; and may accept voluntary and uncompensated​
services, contract with individuals, public and private agencies, and request information, reports and data​
from any agency of the state, or any of its political subdivisions, to the extent authorized by law.​
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Subd. 9. Funds acceptance. When any person, corporation, the United States government, or any other​
entity offers funds to the Sentencing Guidelines Commission to carry out its purposes and duties, the​
commission may accept the offer by majority vote and upon acceptance the chair shall receive the funds​
subject to the terms of the offer, but no money shall be accepted or received as a loan nor shall any​
indebtedness be incurred except in the manner and under the limitations otherwise provided by law.​


Subd. 10. Research director. The commission may select and employ a research director who shall​
perform the duties the commission directs, including the hiring of any clerical help and other employees as​
the commission shall approve. The research director shall be in the unclassified service of the state. The​
compensation of the research director and other staff shall be established pursuant to chapter 43A. They​
shall be reimbursed for the expenses necessarily incurred in the performance of their official duties in the​
same manner as other state employees.​


Subd. 11. Modification. The commission shall meet as necessary for the purpose of modifying and​
improving the guidelines. Any modification which amends the Sentencing Guidelines grid, including severity​
levels and criminal history scores, or which would result in the reduction of any sentence or in the early​
release of any inmate, with the exception of a modification mandated or authorized by the legislature or​
relating to a crime created or amended by the legislature in the preceding session, shall be submitted to the​
legislature by January 15 of any year in which the commission wishes to make the change and shall be​
effective on August 1 of that year, unless the legislature by law provides otherwise. All other modifications​
shall take effect according to the procedural rules of the commission. On or before January 15 of each year,​
the commission shall submit a written report to the committees of the senate and the house of representatives​
with jurisdiction over criminal justice policy that identifies and explains all modifications made during the​
preceding 12 months and all proposed modifications that are being submitted to the legislature that year.​


Subd. 11a. [Repealed, 1997 c 239 art 3 s 25; 1Sp1997 c 5 s 5]​


Subd. 12. Submission of guidelines. The guidelines shall be submitted to the legislature on January 1,​
1980, and shall be effective May 1, 1980, unless the legislature provides otherwise.​


Subd. 13. Rulemaking power. The commission shall have authority to promulgate rules to carry out​
the purposes of subdivision 5.​


Subd. 14. Report on mandatory minimum sentences. The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall​
include in its annual report to the legislature a summary and analysis of reports received from county attorneys​
under section 609.11, subdivision 10.​


History: 1978 c 723 art 1 s 9; 1982 c 424 s 130; 1982 c 536 s 1-3; 1982 c 642 s 3; 1983 c 216 art 1 s​
35; 1983 c 274 s 10,18; 1983 c 299 s 24; 1984 c 589 s 3-6; 1984 c 640 s 32; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 377 s 1-3;​
1987 c 384 art 2 s 1; 1988 c 618 s 1; 1989 c 290 art 2 s 8; 1990 c 422 s 10; 1991 c 258 s 6; 1994 c 636 art​
3 s 1; art 6 s 14; 1996 c 408 art 3 s 11; 1997 c 7 art 2 s 31; art 5 s 21; 1997 c 96 s 1; 1998 c 254 art 1 s 66;​
2005 c 136 art 16 s 1,2; 2016 c 160 s 13; 2022 c 76 s 1​
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(b) As soon as practicable after an order for conditional release is entered, the agency having custody​
of the arrested person or its designee must personally deliver or mail to the alleged victim a copy of 
the​written order and written notice of the information in paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3).​


(c) Data on the victim and the notice provided by the custodial authority are private data on individuals​
as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, and are accessible only to the victim.​


Sec. 77. RULES; SOFT BODY ARMOR REIMBURSEMENT.​


The commissioner of public safety shall amend rules adopted under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.38,​
subdivision 4, to reflect the soft body armor reimbursement for public safety officers under that section.​


Sec. 78. INITIAL APPOINTMENT AND FIRST MEETING FOR THE​
GAAGIGE-MIKWENDAAGOZIWAG REWARD ADVISORY GROUP.​


The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives must appoint the first 
members​to the Gaagige-Mikwendaagoziwag reward advisory group under Minnesota Statutes, section 
299A.86,​subdivision 4, by August 15, 2023, and must convene the first meeting of the group by October 
1, 2023.​The group must elect a chair at its first meeting.​


Sec. 79. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​


(a) In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall change "reparations," "reparable," or the same or​
similar terms to "reimbursement," "reimbursable," or the same or similar terms consistent with this act. 
The​revisor shall also make other technical changes resulting from the change of term to the statutory 
language,​sentence structure, or both, if necessary to preserve the meaning of the text.​


(b) The revisor of statutes shall make necessary changes to statutory cross-references to reflect the​
changes made to Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.38, in this act.​


(c) The revisor of statutes shall make necessary changes to language, grammar, and sentence structure​
in Minnesota Statutes sections 629.06, 629.13, and 629.14 to give effect to Laws 2023, chapters 29, 
sections​8, 9, and 10; and 31, sections 12, 13, and 14.​


Sec. 80. REPEALER.​


Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 299C.80, subdivision 7; and 518B.02, subdivision 3, are repealed.​


ARTICLE 6​


SENTENCING​


Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​


Subd. 2. Members. The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall consist of the following:​


(1) the chief justice of the supreme court or a designee;​


(2) one judge of the court of appeals, appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court judge of the​
appellate court;​
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(3) one district court judge appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court Judicial Council upon​
recommendation of the Minnesota District Judges Association;​


(4) one public defender appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the state public defender;​


(5) one county attorney appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the board of directors of​
the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;​


(6) the commissioner of corrections or a designee;​


(7) one peace officer as defined in section 626.84 appointed by the governor;​


(8) one probation officer or parole supervised release officer appointed by the governor; and​


(9) one person who works for an organization that provides treatment or rehabilitative services for​
individuals convicted of felony offenses appointed by the governor;​


(10) one person who is an academic with a background in criminal justice or corrections appointed by​
the governor; and​


(11) three public members appointed by the governor, one of whom shall be a person who has been the​
victim of a crime defined as a felony or a victims' advocate, and one of whom shall be a person who has​
been formerly convicted of and discharged from a felony-level sentence.​


When an appointing authority selects individuals for membership on the commission, the authority shall​
make reasonable efforts to appoint qualified members of protected groups, as defined in section 43A.02,​
subdivision 33.​


One of the members shall be designated by the governor as chair of the commission.​


Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.09, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​


Subd. 3. Appointment terms. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), each appointed member shall​
be appointed for four years and shall continue to serve during that time as long as the member occupies the​
position which made the member eligible for the appointment. Each member shall continue in office until​
a successor is duly appointed. Members shall be eligible for reappointment, and appointment may be made​
to fill an unexpired term.​


(b) The term of any member appointed or reappointed by the governor before the first Monday in January​
1991 2027 expires on that date. The term of any member appointed or reappointed by the governor after the​
first Monday in January 1991 is coterminous with the governor. The terms of members appointed or​
reappointed by the governor to fill the vacancies that occur on the first Monday in January 2027 shall be​
staggered so that five members shall be appointed for initial terms of four years and four members shall be​
appointed for initial terms of two years.​


(c) The members of the commission shall elect any additional officers necessary for the efficient discharge​
of their duties.​


Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:​


Subd. 15. Report on sentencing adjustments. The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall include​
in its annual report to the legislature a summary and analysis of sentence adjustments issued under section​
609.133. At a minimum, the summary and analysis must include information on the counties where a​
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sentencing adjustment was granted and on the race, sex, and age of individuals who received a sentence​
adjustment.​


Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​


Subd. 2. Felony. "Felony" means a crime for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than 
one​year or more may be imposed.​


EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​


Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.03, is amended to read:​


609.03 PUNISHMENT WHEN NOT OTHERWISE FIXED.​


If a person is convicted of a crime for which no punishment is otherwise provided the person may be​
sentenced as follows:​


(1) If the crime is a felony, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not​
more than $10,000, or both; or​


(2) If the crime is a gross misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than one year 364 days or 
to​payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both; or​


(3) If the crime is a misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a 
fine​of not more than $1,000, or both; or​


(4) If the crime is other than a misdemeanor and a fine is imposed but the amount is not specified, to​
payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or to imprisonment for a specified term of not more than six​
months if the fine is not paid.​


EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to 
offenders​receiving a gross misdemeanor sentence on or after that date and retroactively to offenders who 
received a​gross misdemeanor sentence before that date.​


Sec. 6. [609.0342] MAXIMUM PUNISHMENT FOR GROSS MISDEMEANORS.​


(a) Any law of this state that provides for a maximum sentence of imprisonment of one year or is defined​
as a gross misdemeanor shall be deemed to provide for a maximum fine of $3,000 and a maximum sentence​
of imprisonment of 364 days.​


(b) Any sentence of imprisonment for one year or 365 days imposed or executed before July 1, 2023,​
shall be deemed to be a sentence of imprisonment for 364 days. A court may at any time correct or reduce​
such a sentence pursuant to rule 27.03, subdivision 9, of the Rules of Criminal Procedure and shall issue a​
corrected sentencing order upon motion of any eligible defendant.​


EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to 
offenders​receiving a gross misdemeanor sentence on or after that date and retroactively to offenders who 
received a​gross misdemeanor sentence before that date.​
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Past and Present Members of the 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission 


September 20, 2023 


The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court or a designee      Scott Swanson, from 1999 to 2001 
     George M. Scott, from 1978 to 1980      Jodie Carlson, from 2002 to 2003 
     Douglas K. Amdahl, from 1980 to 1982      Darci Bentz, from 2003 to 2011 
     Glenn E. Kelley, from 1982 to 1991      John Stuart, from 2011 to 2014 
     Sandra Gardebring, from 1991 to 1996      Cathryn Middlebrook, from 2014 to present 
     Esther Tomljanovich, from 1997 to 1999 County Attorney 
     Russell A. Anderson, from 1999 to 2005      Stephen C. Rathke, from 1978 to 1991 
     Alan Page, from 2005 to 2007             (Chair, from 1982 to 1986) 
     Helen M. Meyer, from 2007 to 2012      Richard T. Jessen, 1991 
     Christopher J. Dietzen, from 2012 to 2021             (Chair, 1991) 
            (Chair, from 2015 to 2019)      Julius E. Gernes, from 1991 to 1996 
     Gordon L. Moore III, from 2021 to present             (Chair, from 1991 to 1995) 
Judge of the Court of Appeals      Raymond Schmitz, from 1996 to 2003 
     Fred C. Norton, from 1987 to 1990      Jeffrey Edblad, from 2003 to 2016 
     R.A. Randall, from 1990 to 1994             (Chair, from 2007 to 2015) 
     Roger M. Klaphake, from 1994 to 2001      Peter Orput, from 2016 to 2020 
     Gordon W. Shumaker, from 2001 to 2011      Kyra Ladd, from 2020 to present 
     Heidi Schellhas, from 2011 to 2019 The Commissioner of Corrections or a designee 
     Michelle A. Larkin, from 2019 to present      Kenneth F. Schoen, 1978 
District Court Judge      Jack Young, from 1979 to 1982 
     Douglas K. Amdahl, from 1978 to 1980      Orville Pung, from 1982 to 1993 
     O. Russell Olson, from 1978 to 1986      Frank Wood, from 1993 to 1996 
     David E. Marsden, from 1980 to 1992      Gothriel J. La Fleur, from 1996 to 1999 
     Lawrence T. Collins, from 1986 to 1990      Sheryl Ramstad Hvass, from 1999 to 2003 
     Edward S. Wilson, from 1992 to 2002             (Chair, from 1999 to 2003) 
     Isabel Gomez, from 2002 to 2006      Joan Fabian, from 2003 to 2011 
     Edward Cleary, from 2006 to 2012      Tom Roy, from 2011 to 2019 
     Caroline Lennon, from 2012 to 2020      Paul Schnell, from 2019 to 2023 
     Kevin Mark, from 2020 to 2021      Kelly Lyn Mitchell, from 2023 to present 
     David Knutson, from 2021 to present             (Chair, from 2023 to present) 
Public Defender Peace Officer 
     William E. Falvey, from 1978 to 1991      James Trudeau, from 1982 to 1987 
     Jenny L. Walker, from 1991 to 1999      Von Thompson, from 1988 to 1991 
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     James Dege, from 1991 to 1995 Public Member 
     Scott Mattison, from 1995 to 1999      Jan I. Smaby, from 1978 to 1982 
     Bill Ingebrigtsen, from 1999 to 2000             (Chair, from 1978 to 1982) 
     Kent Wilkening, from 2000 to 2003      Barbara Andrus, from 1978 to 1986 
     Steven Borchardt, from 2003 to 2007      Daniel Cain, from 1982 to 1991 
            (Chair, from 2003 to 2007)             (Chair, from 1986 to 1991) 
     Brad Gerhardt, from 2007 to 2011      T. Williams, from 1986 to 1999 
     Paul Ford, from 2011 to 2017      Mary T. Howard, from 1990 to 2003 
     Salim Omari, from 2018 to 2021      Susan Lange, from 1991 to 1995 
     Brooke Blakey, from 2021 to 2022      Donald E. Streufert, from 1995 to 1999 
     Mohamoud Ibrahim, from 2022 to 2023      Kristine Zajac, from 1999 to 2001 
     Brian Mueller, from 2023 to present      Laurie Dudero, from 1999 to 2000 
Probation Officer or Parole/Supervised Release Officer      Connie Larson, from 2000 to 2014 
     Thomas H. Foster, from 1983 to 1991      Lorie Gildea, from 2001 to 2004 
     Stanley J. Suchta, from 1991 to 1999      Michael Williams, from 2003 to 2006 
            (Chair, from 1995 to 1999)      Robert Battle, from 2005 to 2011 
     Robert Knickerbocker, from 1999 to 2003      Kari Berman, from 2007 to 2011 
     Tracy Jenson, from 2003 to 2011      Yamy Vang, from 2011 to 2019 
     Jason Anderson, from 2011 to 2015      Sarah Walker, from 2011 to 2015 
     Valerie Estrada, from 2016 to 2023      Angela Champagne-From, from 2015 to 2019 
     Latonya Reeves, from 2023 to present      Mark Wernick, from 2015 to 2019 
Treatment or Rehabilitative Services Provider      Kelly Lyn Mitchell, from 2019 to 2023 
     Chris Crutchfield, from 2023 to present             (Chair, from 2019 to 2023) 
Academic (Criminal Justice or Corrections)      Tonja Honsey, from 2019 to 2023 
     Richard Frase, from 2023 to present      Abby Honold, from 2019 to 2021 
Chair of the Minn. Corrections Board or a designee      Brooke Morath, from 2021 to present 
     Richard T. Mulcrone, 1978      Tim Morin, from 2023 to present 
     Les Green, from 1979 to 1982      Surya Saxena, from 2023 to present 
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ANNUAL WORK CYCLE 
The timeline below illustrates the rhythm of the work, in a typical year, of the Legislature, the Commission, and MSGC staff. The timeline’s dark 
points show events and deadlines established by constitution, statute, or rule. The timeline does not illustrate special projects, Commission 
initiatives, or staff’s ongoing work supporting the Commission, Sentencing Guidelines practitioners, and the MSGC’s clearinghouse and information 
center for sentencing practices. (Rev. 9/23.) 


 JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCT NOV DEC 


Jan. 3–8: 
Legislative session begins 


(later in even years) 


Jan. 15: Annual Report 
to Legislature due, 


including any changes 
proposed for Aug. 1 


May 17–23: 
Legislative 


session ends 


May 31–June 6: 
Governor’s dead-
line to enact laws 


Early June: 
Propose Guidelines 


changes in response to 
new laws 


August 1: 
New crime laws 


typically take effect 


Late July: 
• Public hearing 
• Adopt final Guidelines 


changes 


August 1: 
Publish new 


Sentencing Guidelines 


Nov.–Jan.: 
• Finalize annual report 
• If needed, hold public hearing & act 


on additional Guidelines changes 


Aug.–Sep.: 
Finalize sentence-monitoring 
dataset from previous year 


Oct.–Jan.: 
Prepare & publish annual data 
reports on sentencing practices 


During legislative session: 
Prepare estimates of prison-bed & demographic impacts 


of felony crime bills 
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9/22/2023


Jan. 2, New Year’s Day
Jan. 16, Martin Luther King’s Birthday
Feb. 20, Presidents’ Day


May 29, Memorial Day Sep. 4, Labor Day Nov. 23 & 24, Thanksgiving
July 4, Independence Day
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State of Minnesota Executive Branch Holidays 2023


Nov. 10, Veterans Day


August – No Meeting


Dec. 25, Christmas Day


 Weekend/Holiday2023 MSGC Regular Meeting Calendar  Commission Meeting  Public Hearing


September – after 1st Sat. October November December – after 2nd Sat.


January – 2nd Thursday February – 2nd Thursday March – 2nd Thursday April – 2nd Thursday


July – 3rd & 4th ThursdayJune – after 1st TuesdayMay – after 1st Saturday
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7/28/2023


Jan. 1, New Year’s Day
Jan. 15, Martin Luther King’s Birthday
Feb. 19, Presidents’ Day


May 27, Memorial Day Aug. 13, State Primary Nov. 11, Veterans Day
Jun. 19, Juneteenth
July 4, Independence Day Nov. 5, State General Election
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State of Minnesota Executive Branch Holidays and Election Days 2024


Sep. 2, Labor Day


August – No Meeting


Nov. 28 & 29, Thanksgiving
Dec. 25, Christmas Day


 Weekend/Holiday/Election2024 MSGC Regular Meeting Calendar  Commission Meeting  Public Hearing


September – after 1st Sat. October – after 1st Mon. November – 1st Thursday December – after 2nd Sat.


January – 2nd Thursday February – 2nd Thursday March April – 2nd Thursday


July – 3rd & 4th ThursdayJune – after 1st TuesdayMay – after 1st Saturday



https://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines
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https://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines
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Meeting Rules 
Version:  1.00 
Effective Date:  05/07/2020 
Approval: Meeting Minutes of May 7, 2020 


General Rules of Order 


The rules in the most current edition of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised (RONR) govern Minnesota 
Sentencing Guidelines Commission meetings in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not 
inconsistent with the law, Minnesota Administrative Rules, any bylaws the Commission may adopt, and the 
following special rules of order. 


Special Rules of Order 


Rule 1. Agenda. The Chair sets the agenda of a regular Commission meeting. The Executive Director sends out 
the Chair’s agenda, together with any materials a Commission member has asked to be circulated to the 
Commission, to Commission members by email at least seven days before the meeting. The Commission may 
amend the agenda before adopting it at the outset of the meeting. The agenda must designate as “action” items 
those items for which a motion may be made; other items may be designated as “discussion” or “information” 
items. 


Rule 2. First-Reading Rule. A motion to modify the Sentencing Guidelines is out of order, and therefore no 
action may be taken, unless the members were notified at least seven days before the meeting that such action 
might be taken at the meeting and the Commission has discussed the modifications, or a similar or prior version 
of the proposal, at a different Commission meeting within the previous two regular meetings. 


Rule 3. Exceptions to First-Reading Rule. Rule 2 does not apply to action mandated or authorized by the 
Legislature, nor to Guidelines modifications relating to a crime created or amended by the Legislature in the 
preceding session.  


Rule 4. Small-Board Rules. RONR’s small-board rules apply, except that a motion requires a second unless it is 
subject to unanimous-consent procedure. 


Rule 5. Friendly Amendments. A motion that has not yet been acted on by the Commission may be changed 
by friendly amendment—that is, an amendment acceptable both to the original maker of the motion and its 
second—without a vote of the Commission. 
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Rule 6. Open Meeting Law. Procedures permitted or required by the Minnesota Open Meeting Law 
(Minnesota Statutes chapter 13D), such as procedures for telephonic meetings and special meetings, supersede 
RONR. 


Rule 7. Amending or Suspending Rules. A motion to amend these meeting rules or to suspend a rule of 
order requires a two-thirds vote. 


Rule 8. Public Hearings. Public hearings are governed by Minnesota Rules chapter 3000 rather than RONR. The 
Commission will take no official action at a public hearing other than such procedural action, governed by the 
presiding officer, as may be necessary to facilitate the purposes of the public hearing. No quorum is required for 
a public hearing. 


Construction 


These rules concern, and shall be strictly construed as concerning, only the internal management of the 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission. These rules do not directly affect the rights of or procedures 
available to the public. (Minn. Stat. § 14.03, subd. 3(1).)  


History  


Version Description Date 


1.00 Draft Meeting Rules approved by the Attorney General 04/29/2020 


1.00 Meeting Rules adopted by the Commission 05/09/2020 


Contact 


sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us 



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/13D

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3000/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.03#stat.14.03.3

mailto:sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us





1


CHAPTER 3000


SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION


SENTENCING GUIDELINES


3000.0100 PURPOSE AND SCOPE.
3000.0200 NOTICE OF HEARING.
3000.0300 CONDUCT OF HEARINGS.
3000.0400 RECEIPT OF WRITTEN MATERIALS.
3000.0500 HEARING RECORD.
3000.0600 AMENDMENT ADOPTION.


3000.0100 PURPOSE AND SCOPE.


The procedures contained in parts 3000.0100 to 3000.0600 govern the promulgation of the sentencing
guidelines, including any modifications of severity levels and criminal history scores.


Statutory Authority: MS s 244.09


History: 10 SR 1267


Published Electronically: May 9, 1997


3000.0200 NOTICE OF HEARING.


The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall maintain a list of all persons who have registered with
the commission for the purpose of receiving notice on proposed amendments to the sentencing guidelines.
The commission may inquire as to whether those persons on the list wish to maintain their names on the
list and may remove names for which there is a negative reply or no reply within 60 days. The commission
shall, at least 30 days before the date set for the hearing, give notice of its intention to amend the sentencing
guidelines by United States mail to all persons on its list, and by publication in the State Register. The
mailed notice and the notice in the State Register must include a copy of the proposed amendments or a
brief description of the nature and effect of the proposed changes.


Statutory Authority: MS s 244.09


History: 10 SR 1267


Published Electronically: May 9, 1997


3000.0300 CONDUCT OF HEARINGS.


Subpart 1. Proposed amendment proceedings. A hearing on proposed amendments to the
sentencing guidelines, including any modifications of severity levels and criminal history scores, must
proceed substantially in the manner specified in this part.


Subp. 2. Registration of participants. A person intending to testify regarding proposed
amendments to the sentencing guidelines shall register with the commission before testifying by writing
his or her name, address, telephone number, and the names of any individuals or associations that the
person represents in connection with the hearing on a register to be provided by the commission. Persons
may indicate to the commission in writing their desire to be informed of the date on which the proposed
amendments will be considered for adoption at a public hearing under part 3000.0600.


Copyright ©1997 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
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Subp. 3. Notice of procedures at hearing. The chair of the Sentencing Guidelines Commission
shall convene the hearing at the proper time and shall explain to all persons present the purpose of the
hearing and the procedure to be followed at the hearing. The chair of the commission shall notify all
persons present that the record will remain open for five calendar days following the hearing for receipt
of written comments concerning the proposed amendments. The commission shall give due consideration
to all comments received within the five-day comment period.


Subp. 4. Proposed amendments. The commission shall make copies of the proposed amendments
available at the hearing.


Subp. 5. Opportunity for questions. Interested persons must be given an opportunity to address
questions to the commission, its staff, or witnesses. The commission or its staff may question interested
persons making oral statements. The questioning may extend to an explanation of the purpose of intended
operation of a proposed amendment to the sentencing guidelines, or may be conducted for other purposes if
material to evaluation or formulation of the proposed amendments.


Subp. 6. Opportunity for presenting statements. Interested persons must be given an opportunity
to present oral and written statements regarding the proposed amendments to the sentencing guidelines.


Subp. 7. Record of hearing. The commission shall make an audio recording of the hearing.


Statutory Authority: MS s 244.09


History: 10 SR 1267; 17 SR 1279


Published Electronically: May 9, 1997


3000.0400 RECEIPT OF WRITTEN MATERIALS.


The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall allow written materials to be submitted and recorded in
the hearing record for a period of five calendar days after the public hearing under part 3000.0500 ends, or
for a longer period if the commission so orders.


Statutory Authority: MS s 244.09


History: 10 SR 1267


Published Electronically: May 9, 1997


3000.0500 HEARING RECORD.


The record must be closed upon the last date for receipt of written materials under part 3000.0400. The
record includes:


A. the notice of hearing as mailed;


B. a copy of the State Register containing the notice of hearing;


C. the names of persons who testify with respect to the proposed amendments to the sentencing
guidelines;


D. copies of all publications in the State Register pertaining to the proposed amendments to
the sentencing guidelines;


E. all written statements, comments, and materials received by the commission relating to the
proposed amendments to the sentencing guidelines;


Copyright ©1997 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
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F. the audio recording of the hearing under part 3000.0300; and


G. a copy of the proposed amendments to the sentencing guidelines as heard at the hearing
under part 3000.0300.


Statutory Authority: MS s 244.09


History: 10 SR 1267


Published Electronically: May 9, 1997


3000.0600 AMENDMENT ADOPTION.


Subpart 1. Adoption. After holding the hearing required under part 3000.0300 and expiration of the
written comment period under part 3000.0400, the Sentencing Guidelines Commission may, by a majority
vote of a quorum of the commission present, adopt proposed amendments to the sentencing guidelines. A
quorum means a majority of the members of the commission.


Subp. 2. Notice. The commission shall provide all persons listed with the commission under part
3000.0200 and all persons requesting notification under part 3000.0300, subpart 2, with notice of the
adoption hearing by United States mail.


Subp. 3. Effective date. All proposed amendments to the sentencing guidelines that do not have to
be submitted to the legislature are effective on the date ordered by the commission.


Statutory Authority: MS s 244.09


History: 10 SR 1267


Published Electronically: May 9, 1997


Copyright ©1997 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.







13D.01 MEETINGS MUST BE OPEN TO THE PUBLIC; EXCEPTIONS.​


Subdivision 1. In executive branch, local government. All meetings, including executive sessions,​
must be open to the public​


(a) of a state​


(1) agency,​


(2) board,​


(3) commission, or​


(4) department,​


when required or permitted by law to transact public business in a meeting;​


(b) of the governing body of a​


(1) school district however organized,​


(2) unorganized territory,​


(3) county,​


(4) statutory or home rule charter city,​


(5) town, or​


(6) other public body;​


(c) of any​


(1) committee,​


(2) subcommittee,​


(3) board,​


(4) department, or​


(5) commission,​


of a public body; and​


(d) of the governing body or a committee of:​


(1) a statewide public pension plan defined in section 356A.01, subdivision 24; or​


(2) a local public pension plan governed by sections 424A.091 to 424A.096, or chapter 354A, or Laws​
2013, chapter 111, article 5, sections 31 to 42.​


Subd. 2. Exceptions. This chapter does not apply​


(1) to meetings of the commissioner of corrections;​


(2) to a state agency, board, or commission when it is exercising quasi-judicial functions involving​
disciplinary proceedings; or​


Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​
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(3) as otherwise expressly provided by statute.​


Subd. 3. Subject of and grounds for closed meeting. Before closing a meeting, a public body shall​
state on the record the specific grounds permitting the meeting to be closed and describe the subject to be​
discussed.​


Subd. 4. Votes to be kept in journal or minutes. (a) The votes of the members of the state agency,​
board, commission, or department; or of the governing body, committee, subcommittee, board, department,​
or commission on an action taken in a meeting required by this section to be open to the public must be​
recorded in a journal or minutes.​


(b) The vote of each member must be recorded on each appropriation of money, except for payments​
of judgments, claims, and amounts fixed by statute.​


Subd. 5. Public access to journal and minutes. The journal or any minutes used to record votes of a​
meeting subject to this chapter must be open to the public during all normal business hours where records​
of the public body are kept.​


Subd. 6. Public copy of members' materials. (a) In any meeting which under subdivisions 1, 2, 4, and​
5, and section 13D.02 must be open to the public, at least one copy of any printed materials relating to the​
agenda items of the meeting prepared or distributed by or at the direction of the governing body or its​
employees and:​


(1) distributed at the meeting to all members of the governing body;​


(2) distributed before the meeting to all members; or​


(3) available in the meeting room to all members;​


shall be available in the meeting room for inspection by the public while the governing body considers their​
subject matter.​


(b) This subdivision does not apply to materials classified by law as other than public as defined in​
chapter 13, or to materials relating to the agenda items of a closed meeting held in accordance with the​
procedures in section 13D.03 or other law permitting the closing of meetings.​


History: 1957 c 773 s 1; 1967 c 462 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1973 c 654 s 15; 1973 c 680 s 1,3; 1975​
c 271 s 6; 1981 c 174 s 1; 1983 c 137 s 1; 1983 c 274 s 18; 1984 c 462 s 27; 1987 c 313 s 1; 1990 c 550 s​
2,3; 1991 c 292 art 8 s 12; 1991 c 319 s 22; 1994 c 618 art 1 s 39; 1997 c 154 s 2; 1Sp2001 c 10 art 4 s 1;​
2010 c 359 art 12 s 3; 1Sp2011 c 8 art 8 s 2,14; 2013 c 111 art 5 s 4,80; 2021 c 14 s 2,3​


Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
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13D.015 STATE ENTITY MEETINGS BY TELEPHONE OR INTERACTIVE TECHNOLOGY.​


Subdivision 1. Application. This section applies to:​


(1) a state agency, board, commission, or department, and a statewide public pension plan defined in​
section 356A.01, subdivision 24; and​


(2) a committee, subcommittee, board, department, or commission of an entity listed in clause (1).​


Subd. 2. Conditions. An entity listed in subdivision 1 may conduct a meeting governed by this section​
and section 13D.01, subdivisions 1, 2, 4, and 5, by telephone or interactive technology so long as the following​
conditions are met:​


(1) all members of the entity participating in the meeting, wherever their physical location, can hear one​
another and can hear all discussion and testimony;​


(2) members of the public present at the regular meeting location of the entity can hear all discussion​
and all votes of members of the entity and participate in testimony;​


(3) at least one member of the entity is physically present at the regular meeting location; and​


(4) all votes are conducted by roll call, so each member's vote on each issue can be identified and​
recorded.​


Subd. 3. Quorum; participation. Each member of the entity participating in a meeting by telephone​
or interactive technology is considered present at the meeting for purposes of determining a quorum and​
participating in all proceedings.​


Subd. 4. Monitoring from remote site. If telephone or interactive technology is used to conduct a​
meeting, the entity, to the extent practical, shall allow a person to monitor the meeting electronically from​
a remote location.​


Subd. 5. Notice. If telephone or interactive technology is used to conduct a regular, special, or emergency​
meeting, the entity shall provide notice of the regular meeting location, of the fact that some members may​
participate by interactive technology, and of the provisions of subdivision 4. The timing and method of​
providing notice is governed by section 13D.04. In addition, the entity must post the notice on its website​
at least ten days before any regular meeting as defined in section 13D.04, subdivision 1.​


History: 2009 c 80 s 1; 2012 c 290 s 63; 2021 c 14 s 4​
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13D.04 NOTICE OF MEETINGS.​


Subdivision 1. Regular meetings. A schedule of the regular meetings of a public body shall be kept on​
file at its primary offices. If a public body decides to hold a regular meeting at a time or place different from​
the time or place stated in its schedule of regular meetings, it shall give the same notice of the meeting that​
is provided in this section for a special meeting.​


Subd. 2. Special meetings. (a) For a special meeting, except an emergency meeting or a special meeting​
for which a notice requirement is otherwise expressly established by statute, the public body shall post​
written notice of the date, time, place, and purpose of the meeting on the principal bulletin board of the​
public body, or if the public body has no principal bulletin board, on the door of its usual meeting room.​


(b) The notice shall also be mailed or otherwise delivered to each person who has filed a written request​
for notice of special meetings with the public body. This notice shall be posted and mailed or delivered at​
least three days before the date of the meeting.​


(c) As an alternative to mailing or otherwise delivering notice to persons who have filed a written request​
for notice of special meetings, the public body may publish the notice once, at least three days before the​
meeting, in the official newspaper of the public body or, if there is none, in a qualified newspaper of general​
circulation within the area of the public body's authority.​


(d) A person filing a request for notice of special meetings may limit the request to notification of​
meetings concerning particular subjects, in which case the public body is required to send notice to that​
person only concerning special meetings involving those subjects.​


(e) A public body may establish an expiration date for requests for notices of special meetings pursuant​
to this subdivision and require refiling of the request once each year.​


(f) Not more than 60 days before the expiration date of a request for notice, the public body shall send​
notice of the refiling requirement to each person who filed during the preceding year.​


Subd. 3. Emergency meetings. (a) For an emergency meeting, the public body shall make good faith​
efforts to provide notice of the meeting to each news medium that has filed a written request for notice if​
the request includes the news medium's telephone number.​


(b) Notice of the emergency meeting shall be given by telephone or by any other method used to notify​
the members of the public body.​


(c) Notice shall be provided to each news medium which has filed a written request for notice as soon​
as reasonably practicable after notice has been given to the members.​


(d) Notice shall include the subject of the meeting. Posted or published notice of an emergency meeting​
is not required.​


(e) An "emergency" meeting is a special meeting called because of circumstances that, in the judgment​
of the public body, require immediate consideration by the public body.​


(f) If matters not directly related to the emergency are discussed or acted upon at an emergency meeting,​
the minutes of the meeting shall include a specific description of the matters.​


(g) The notice requirement of this subdivision supersedes any other statutory notice requirement for a​
special meeting that is an emergency meeting.​


Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
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Subd. 4. Recessed or continued meetings. (a) If a meeting is a recessed or continued session of a​
previous meeting, and the time and place of the meeting was established during the previous meeting and​
recorded in the minutes of that meeting, then no further published or mailed notice is necessary.​


(b) For purposes of this subdivision, the term "meeting" includes a public hearing conducted pursuant​
to chapter 429 or any other law or charter provision requiring a public hearing by a public body.​


Subd. 5. Closed meetings. The notice requirements of this section apply to closed meetings.​


Subd. 6. State agencies. For a meeting of an agency, board, commission, or department of the state​
required or permitted by law to transact public business in a meeting:​


(1) the notice requirements of this section apply only if a statute governing meetings of the agency,​
board, or commission does not contain specific reference to the method of providing notice;​


(2) all provisions of this section relating to publication are satisfied by publication in the State Register​
or posting on the website of the agency, board, commission, or department; and​


(3) a schedule of the regular meetings shall be kept on file at the primary offices or posted on the website​
of the agency, board, commission, or department.​


Subd. 7. Actual notice. If a person receives actual notice of a meeting of a public body at least 24 hours​
before the meeting, all notice requirements of this section are satisfied with respect to that person, regardless​
of the method of receipt of notice.​


History: 1957 c 773 s 1; 1967 c 462 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1973 c 654 s 15; 1973 c 680 s 1,3; 1975​
c 271 s 6; 1981 c 174 s 1; 1983 c 137 s 1; 1983 c 274 s 18; 1984 c 462 s 27; 1987 c 313 s 1; 1990 c 550 s​
2,3; 1991 c 292 art 8 s 12; 1991 c 319 s 22; 1994 c 618 art 1 s 39; 1997 c 154 s 2; 2014 c 274 s 1​


Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​
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190 Centennial Office Building, 658 Cedar St, St Paul, MN  55155              cfb.mn.gov 


Original Statement of Economic Interest for Appointed Public Officials 
Filing instructions 


(General instructions for completing the form start on page 2) 
• The statement must be received by the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board within:


14 days after undertaking the duties of office if appointment requires senate confirmation or; 
60 days after the effective date of appointment if appointment does not require senate confirmation. 


• Late fees will accrue for a statement not received by the due date.
• This form may be filed by mail to the address above, by email to cfb.eis@state.mn.us, or by fax to 651-539-1196 or 800-357-4114.


Fax filers: Keep the original and a fax confirmation notice as proof of timely filing. 
• All information on this statement is public information and may be published on the Board’s website.
• It is unlawful to use information filed with the Board for commercial purposes.
• Board staff may be reached by telephone at 651-539-1187 or 800-657-3889 or by email at cfb.eis@state.mn.us.


  Individual information    Employment information 


Name Occupation (Includes categories such as student, retired, and 
homemaker.) 


Address at which you wish to receive mail from the Board 
(You may use either a home or business address. This will not be posted to 
the Board’s website.) 


Name of employer (You may need to include your employer as a source of 
compensation on page 2. Also indicate here if self-employed or 
unemployed.)   


City, state, zip Business address (This address will be posted on the Board’s website) 


Telephone (Daytime) Business city, state, zip 


Email address 


Appointment information 


Name of agency Appointed position 


Certification 


I,  , certify that the information contained on this form, including information  
 (Print or type name)     on the schedules, is complete, true, and correct. 


Signature   Date 


Notice:  Any person who signs and certifies to be true a statement which the person knows contains false 
information or omits required information is subject to a civil penalty imposed by the Board of up to $3,000 and 
is subject to criminal prosecution for a gross misdemeanor. 


This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by calling 651-539-1180 or 
800-657-3889 or through the Minnesota Relay Service at 800-627-3529. 


Form last updated 7/2021 
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Reporting period 


 
The reporting period is the calendar month before the month with the effective date of your appointment. For example, if the 
effective date of your appointment is May 15, the reporting period is April 1 – April 30. 
 


Sources of compensation 
 
List all businesses from which you received more than $250 in compensation in any calendar month during the reporting 
period. You should include any employer listed on the first page if it is a business as described below.  
 
“Business” means an association, corporation, partnership, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, or other 
organized legal entity. An individual acting alone in the individual's own capacity, such as in the form of a sole proprietorship, 
is not a business for purposes of this statement, nor is a government agency. 
 
"Compensation" means any payment for labor or personal services as a director, officer, owner, member, partner, employer, 
or employee of a business. Compensation does not include payments that do not result from the performance of services, 
such as rental income, social security payments, unemployment compensation, workers’ compensation, pension benefits, or 
insurance benefits. 
                                                                                     - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Check each applicable box- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -   


Name of source Director Officer Owner Member Partner Employer Employee 


        


        


        


        


        
 


Business ownership 
 
If you own 25% or more of a business and received more than $250 in any month during the reporting period as an 
employee of that business, list the business or professional activity category from page 4 that best describes the main 
function of the business. 
 


Business or professional activity category (See page 4) 


 


 


 


 
 


Independent contracting 
 
If you received more than $2,500 for work as an independent contractor in the past 12 months, list the business or 
professional activity category from page 4 that best describes the nature of that work.  
 


Business or professional activity category (See page 4) 
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Securities 
 
List all businesses whose securities valued at more than $10,000 you individually or jointly held at any time during the 
reporting period. Use the definition of business from the Sources of compensation section on the previous page.  
 
 “Securities” means stocks, shares, bonds, warrants, options, pledges, notes, mortgages, annuities, debentures, leases, and 
commercial paper. “Securities” does not include shares of mutual funds, shares of exchange-traded funds, or defined benefit 
pension plans. For stocks, list the name of the business- do not list the exchange symbol, total shares, or value. 
 
For retirement accounts like IRAs or 401(k)s, list the individual investments items held through the account. For example, if 
you have an IRA managed by Charles Schwab, do not list Charles Schwab – IRA. Instead, obtain an itemized listing of the 
investments held in the IRA and report those investments which meet the definition of security and exceed $10,000 in value. 
 


Name of business in which security is held  Name of business in which security is held  


   


  


  


  


 
Real property 


 
Do not report your homestead. Report interests in all other real property located in Minnesota that you held individually or 
jointly during the reporting period. You must report the following interests: a fee simple interest (you are an owner, even if 
you owe a mortgage), a contract for deed as a buyer or seller, or a mortgage that you hold as a seller. 
 
Report an option to buy if the value of the option is more than $2,500 or if the fair market value of the optioned property is 
more than $50,000 even if the value of the option itself is $2,500 or less. For each property list the county in which the 
property is located. Also list the street address and city, or if the property does not have a street address, the section, 
township, and range where the property is located and the approximate acreage. 
 
Upon written request and for good cause shown, the Board may waive the requirement that a public official disclose the 
address of a secondary residence of the official. Contact Board staff if you want to request this waiver.  
                                                                                                                                              - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Check one - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -                


MN County Street address and city; or section, township, and range 


Own 
(Even if 
paying a 


mortgage)  


Contract for 
deed (As 
buyer or 
seller) 


Option to buy: 
Option value 
greater than 
$2,500 


Option to buy: 
Property value  
greater than 
$50,000 


Mortgage 
(Only if 
held as 
seller) 


Acreage (If 
applicable) 


        


        


        


        


 
Pari-mutuel horse racing interests 


 
Report any investment, ownership, or interest in property connected to pari-mutuel horse racing in the United States or 
Canada, including a race horse. Include direct, indirect, partial or full interests held by you or an immediate family member. 
                                  - - - - - - - Check one - - - - - - - 


 Partial interest Full interest Description of interest (Horse, stable, etc.) 


Official direct interest    


Official indirect interest    


Family interest    
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 Business and professional activity categories 
 
Use these categories for the business ownership and independent contracting categories on page 2. 
 
If you need more information to decide which category to use, please see the chart on the Internal Revenue 
Service website at https://www.irs.gov/instructions/i1040sc#idm140495537003200.  
 
Accommodation 
Administrative and Support Services 
Agriculture, Forestry, Hunting, & Fishing 
Agriculture & Forestry Support Activities 
Amusement, Gambling, & Recreation Industries 
Broadcasting (except internet) & Telecommunications (including internet service providers)  
Construction of Buildings 
Construction - Heavy and Civil Engineering 
Construction - Specialty Trade Contractors 
Credit Intermediation & Related Activities 
Data Processing Services (including internet publishing) 
Educational Services 
Food Services & Drinking Places 
Health Care - Ambulatory Health Care Services 
Health Care - Hospitals 
Health Care - Nursing & Residential Care Facilities 
Information (publishing industries except internet) 
Insurance Agents, Brokers, & Related Activities 
Manufacturing - Chemical  
Manufacturing - Food  
Manufacturing - Leather & Allied Product  
Manufacturing - Nonmetallic Mineral Product  
Manufacturing - Other 
Mining 
Motion Picture & Sound Recording 
Museums, Historical Sites, & Similar Institutions 
Performing Arts, Spectator Sports, & Related Industries 
Personal & Laundry Services 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Architectural, Engineering, & Related Services) 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Computer Systems Design & Related Services) 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Legal, Accounting, Payroll, & Tax Preparation Services) 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Specialized Design Services) 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Other) 
Real Estate 
Religious, Grantmaking, Civic, Professional, & Similar Organizations 
Rental & Leasing Services 
Repair & Maintenance Services 
Retail - Building Material & Garden Equipment & Supplies Dealers 
Retail - Clothing & Accessories Stores 
Retail - Electronic & Appliance Stores 
Retail - Food & Beverage Stores 
Retail - Furniture & Home Furnishing Stores 
Retail - Gasoline Stations 
Retail - General Merchandise Stores 
Retail - Health & Personal Care Stores 
Retail - Motor Vehicle & Parts Dealers 
Retail - Sporting Goods, Hobby, Book, & Music Stores 
Retail - Miscellaneous Store Retailers 
Retail - Nonstore Retailers 
Securities, Commodity Contracts, & Other Financial Investments & Related Activities 
Social Assistance 
Transportation 
Transportation (couriers and messengers) 
Unclassified Establishments (unable to classify) 
Utilities 
Warehousing & Storage Facilities 
Waste Management & Remediation Services 
Wholesale Trade - Merchant Wholesalers (Durable Goods) 
Wholesale Trade - Merchant Wholesalers (Nondurable Goods) 
Wholesale Electronic Markets and Agents & Brokers 



https://www.irs.gov/instructions/i1040sc#idm140495537003200





 
190 Centennial Office Building, 658 Cedar St, St Paul, MN  55155              cfb.mn.gov 
 
 
 


2022 Annual Statement of Economic Interest for Public Officials 
 


 Filing instructions 
(General instructions for completing the form start on page 2) 


 


• The statement must be received by the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board by the last Monday in January. 
• Late fees will accrue for a statement not received by the due date. 
• This form may be filed by mail to the address above, by email to cfb.eis@state.mn.us, or by fax to 651-539-1196 or 800-357-4114. 


Fax filers: Keep the original and a fax confirmation notice as proof of timely filing.  
• All information on this statement is public information and may be published on the Board’s website. 
• It is unlawful to use information filed with the Board for commercial purposes. 
• Board staff may be reached by telephone at 651-539-1187 or 800-657-3889 or by email at cfb.eis@state.mn.us. 
 


                      Individual information                                          Employment information 
 


Name Occupation 


Address at which you wish to receive mail from the Board 
(You may use either a home or business address) 
 


Name of employer (You may need to Include your employer as a source 
of compensation on page 2. Also indicate here if self-employed or 
unemployed.) 
  
 
 


City, state, zip Business address (This address will be posted on the Board’s website) 


Telephone (Daytime) Business city, state, zip 


Email address 


 


Public official information 
 


Name of agency Public official position 


 


 Certification 
 
 


I,                                                                            , certify that the information contained on this form, including information                                                   
            (Print or type name)                                  on the schedules, is complete, true, and correct.  
 
 
                                                                                                                                                                           
                                                            Signature           Date 
 


Notice:  Any person who signs and certifies to be true a statement which the person knows contains false 
information or omits required information is subject to a civil penalty imposed by the Board of up to $3,000 and 
is subject to criminal prosecution for a gross misdemeanor. 
 


This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by calling 651-539-1180 or  
800-657-3889 or through the Minnesota Relay Service at 800-627-3529. 


Form last updated 12/2022
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Reporting period 
 
The reporting period is all time served as a public official during 2022. 
 


Sources of compensation 
 
List all businesses from which you received more than $250 in compensation in any calendar month during the reporting 
period. You should include any employer listed on the first page if it is a business as described below.  
 
“Business” means an association, corporation, partnership, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, or other 
organized legal entity. An individual acting alone in the individual's own capacity, such as in the form of a sole proprietorship, 
is not a business for purposes of this statement, nor is a government agency. 
 
"Compensation" means any payment for labor or personal services as a director, officer, owner, member, partner, employer, 
or employee of a business. Compensation does not include payments that do not result from the performance of services, 
such as rental income, social security payments, unemployment compensation, workers’ compensation, pension benefits, or 
insurance benefits. 
                                                                                     - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Check each applicable box- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -   


Name of source Director Officer Owner Member Partner Employer Employee 


        


        


        
 


Business ownership 
 
If you own 25% or more of a business and received more than $250 in any month during the reporting period as an 
employee of that business, list the business or professional activity category from page 4 that best describes the main 
function of the business. 
 


Business or professional activity category (See page 4) 


 


 
 


Independent contracting 
 
If you received more than $2,500 for work as an independent contractor in the past 12 months, list the business or 
professional activity category from page 4 that best describes the nature of that work.  
 


Business or professional activity category (See page 4) 


 


 
 


Honoraria 
 
Report the sources of any honoraria worth more than $250 received during the reporting period. An honorarium is anything of 
value received for a service when there is no obligation on the part of the giver to pay. Examples of honoraria could include 
payment for speeches, presentations, or articles.   
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Securities 
 
List all businesses whose securities valued at more than $10,000 you individually or jointly held at any time during the 
reporting period. Use the definition of business from the Sources of compensation section on the previous page.  
 
 “Securities” means stocks, shares, bonds, warrants, options, pledges, notes, mortgages, annuities, debentures, leases, and 
commercial paper. “Securities” does not include shares of mutual funds, shares of exchange-traded funds, or defined benefit 
pension plans. For stocks, list the name of the business- do not list the exchange symbol, total shares, or value. 
 
For retirement accounts like IRAs or 401(k)s, list the individual investments items held through the account. For example, if 
you have an IRA managed by Charles Schwab, do not list Charles Schwab – IRA. Instead, obtain an itemized listing of the 
investments held in the IRA and report those investments which meet the definition of security and exceed $10,000 in value. 
 


Name of business in which security is held  Name of business in which security is held  


   


  


  


  


 
Real property 


 
Do not report your homestead. Report interests in all other real property located in Minnesota that you held individually or 
jointly at any time during the reporting period. You must report the following interests: a fee simple interest (you are an 
owner, even if you owe a mortgage), a contract for deed as a buyer or seller, or a mortgage that you hold as a seller. 
 
Report an option to buy if the value of the option is more than $2,500 or if the fair market value of the optioned property is 
more than $50,000 even if the value of the option itself is $2,500 or less. For each property list the county in which the 
property is located. Also list the street address and city, or if the property does not have a street address, the section, 
township, and range where the property is located and the approximate acreage. 
 
Upon written request and for good cause shown, the Board may waive the requirement that a public official disclose the 
address of a secondary residence of the official. Contact Board staff if you want to request this waiver.  
                                                                                                                                              - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Check one - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -                


MN County Street address and city; or section, township, and range 


Own 
(Even if 
paying a 


mortgage)  


Contract for 
deed (As 
buyer or 
seller) 


Option to buy: 
Option value 
greater than 
$2,500 


Option to buy: 
Property value  
greater than 
$50,000 


Mortgage 
(Only if 
held as 
seller) 


Acreage (If 
applicable) 


        


        


        


        


 
Pari-mutuel horse racing interests 


 
Report any investment, ownership, or interest in property connected to pari-mutuel horse racing in the United States or 
Canada, including a race horse. Include direct, indirect, partial or full interests held by you or an immediate family member. 
                                  - - - - - - - Check one - - - - - - - 


 Partial interest Full interest Description of interest (Horse, stable, etc.) 


Official direct interest    


Official indirect interest    


Family interest    
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 Business and professional activity categories 
 
Use these categories for the business ownership and independent contracting categories on page 2. 
 
If you need more information to decide which category to use, please see the chart on the Internal Revenue 
Service website at https://www.irs.gov/instructions/i1040sc#idm140495537003200.  
 
Accommodation 
Administrative and Support Services 
Agriculture, Forestry, Hunting, & Fishing 
Agriculture & Forestry Support Activities 
Amusement, Gambling, & Recreation Industries 
Broadcasting (except internet) & Telecommunications (including internet service providers)  
Construction of Buildings 
Construction - Heavy and Civil Engineering 
Construction - Specialty Trade Contractors 
Credit Intermediation & Related Activities 
Data Processing Services (including internet publishing) 
Educational Services 
Food Services & Drinking Places 
Health Care - Ambulatory Health Care Services 
Health Care - Hospitals 
Health Care - Nursing & Residential Care Facilities 
Information (publishing industries except internet) 
Insurance Agents, Brokers, & Related Activities 
Manufacturing - Chemical  
Manufacturing - Food  
Manufacturing - Leather & Allied Product  
Manufacturing - Nonmetallic Mineral Product  
Manufacturing - Other 
Mining 
Motion Picture & Sound Recording 
Museums, Historical Sites, & Similar Institutions 
Performing Arts, Spectator Sports, & Related Industries 
Personal & Laundry Services 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Architectural, Engineering, & Related Services) 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Computer Systems Design & Related Services) 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Legal, Accounting, Payroll, & Tax Preparation Services) 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Specialized Design Services) 
Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services (Other) 
Real Estate 
Religious, Grantmaking, Civic, Professional, & Similar Organizations 
Rental & Leasing Services 
Repair & Maintenance Services 
Retail - Building Material & Garden Equipment & Supplies Dealers 
Retail - Clothing & Accessories Stores 
Retail - Electronic & Appliance Stores 
Retail - Food & Beverage Stores 
Retail - Furniture & Home Furnishing Stores 
Retail - Gasoline Stations 
Retail - General Merchandise Stores 
Retail - Health & Personal Care Stores 
Retail - Motor Vehicle & Parts Dealers 
Retail - Sporting Goods, Hobby, Book, & Music Stores 
Retail - Miscellaneous Store Retailers 
Retail - Nonstore Retailers 
Securities, Commodity Contracts, & Other Financial Investments & Related Activities 
Social Assistance 
Transportation 
Transportation (couriers and messengers) 
Unclassified Establishments (unable to classify) 
Utilities 
Warehousing & Storage Facilities 
Waste Management & Remediation Services 
Wholesale Trade - Merchant Wholesalers (Durable Goods) 
Wholesale Trade - Merchant Wholesalers (Nondurable Goods) 
Wholesale Electronic Markets and Agents & Brokers 



https://www.irs.gov/instructions/i1040sc#idm140495537003200





Agency Job Title Barg Unit


Accounting Date FY SW Cost Sub Acct Agncy Cost 1 Agncy Cost 2 PC BU Sub-Cat Distrib %


B L D Time


Leave Departure


 
Address


Arrive Arrival Arr. Address One Way
Leave Departure


 
Address


Arrive Arrival Arr. Address One Way
Departure


Arrival


Departure


Arrival


Departure


Arrival


Departure


Arrival


Departure


Arrival
Total Miles


           -   


Employee Signature Date Work Phone


Entered By Ann Finseth Scheduled Pay Date


Date Entered By Voucher Number
Supervisor Signature Date Work Phone ** PAID Directly 


Comments: 


Approved:  Based on knowledge of the necessity for travel and expense and on the basis of compliance with all provisions of applicable travel regulations.


TOTALS: Enter subtotal of these 


totals at far right


411601 or 411701


-$        


Total 1 Total 2 Total 3 Total 4 Total 5 Total 6


-$           -$           -$           -$           -$           


411602 or 411702


411603 or 411703


-$           


Total MILE


TRAVEL SUBTOTAL 


State employees and other officials using state funds traveling on state business and using commercial airlines cannot claim frequent flyer mileage as their own.  Employees must certify that 
they have not claimed frequent flyer mileage for personal use when they apply for travel reimbursement.  Any benefits received belong to the state.


I declare under the penalties of perjury that this claim is just and correct and that no part of it has been paid except with respect to those advance amounts shown. 


  $_________________________ (Travel not to exceed this amount)


TRAVEL EXPENSE (parking,airfare,bagage, taxi)


FOR ACCOUNTING AND INPUT USE ONLY


0.00  $   - 
Subtotal


 Public 
Members 
only 


0.00  $   - 


411605 or 411705


LIVING EXPENSE (hotel & meals with lodging)


MEALS W/O OVERNIGHT LODGE I/S


PRIVATE AUTO MILEAGE IN-STATE


0.655


 MN SENTENCING GUIDELINES MEMBER EXPENSE REPORT


Home Address (include City and State) Vendor CodeEmployee NameReason for Travel/Advance (30 char. max)


Total Trip 
and Local 


Miles


Mileage 
Rate


Mileage 
Amount


0.00


Total


0.655
Meeting 
Date


Date Daily Description/Comments


Only for Persons Not on SEMA4


[Insert meeting date(s)] Commission Member 217


0.655


column 5 & 6


column 2 & 3


column 1


-$           


Project Srce Type Category


Monthly Commission Meeting [Insert Date] Last Name, First Name


Same as registered address


Use address you are registered with in SWIFT


OTHER


Amount


 $   - 


 $   - 


0.00


0.655


 TOTAL 
MILES 


 $   - 0.655


PER DIEM SUBTOTAL **


0.655


0.655


CAR/VEHICLE RENTAL IN-STATE 411606 or 411706


0.00  $   - 


0.00  $   - 


0.00


PO NUMBER


SIGN, DATE, AND RETURN TO MSGC


410706


If using private car for out-of-state travel: What would lowest air fare to destination be?


Agency
SWIFT CHART STRING


AccountH7___01-3000000_______


 Meal Tally
Total All Meals W/O 


Lodging
Total All Meals With 


Lodging Lodging Conference Fee Per Diem or  
Other Expenses


ITINERARY


Location
Trip MilesParking 


0.655


LEAVE BLANK


LEAVE BLANK


Commission meeting


Activity


Trip Dates: Start/End Permanent Work Station (include City and State)


Fund Fin DeptID AppropID


DOCUMENT TOTAL


IN-STATE
OUT-STATE


SHORT TERM ADVANCE
ANNUAL ADVANCE


REIMBURSEMENT


FINAL EXPENSE FOR THIS TRIP?


Sample of the Commission member expense report to be used once you have completed the registration for a vendor number. Reimbursements are requested using this form,
which cane be provided to you for online completion. Please email Linda McBrayer at linda.mcbrayer@state.mn.us to receive a copy. 
All mileage must be verified using a mapping system and must reflect the shortest mileage required between the starting point and the meeting location.  







Under Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 4, each member of the Commission shall be reimbursed for mileage, and a per diem of $50 is paid for each 
meeting or Commission activity attended either in person or online by a member designated as a Public Member.   


All Commission members seeking reimbursement for expenses must first complete the registration process on the MN Supplier Portal website 
per the directions provided below.  


Should you have any questions on this process, please reach out directly to the Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) Bidder and Supplier 
Helpline at 651-201-8106.  


Minnesota Supplier Portal Website address: 
https://guest.supplier.systems.state.mn.us/psc/fmssupap/SUPPLIER/ERP/c/NUI_FRAMEWORK.PT_LANDINGPAGE.GBL? 


Select “Register for an Account” to begin process: 


 


Step 1: On the Entity Type line, select “Individual Sole Proprietor (1099 will use SSN)” 


On the TIN Type, select “Social Security Number 


 



https://guest.supplier.systems.state.mn.us/psc/fmssupap/SUPPLIER/ERP/c/NUI_FRAMEWORK.PT_LANDINGPAGE.GBL





 


Step 2: On the Identifying Information page, complete the “Unique ID & Company Profile” with your information and click “Next” when finished


 


 


  


Select “No” for this question 


Complete only a) Social 
Security Number; b) Confirm 
Social Security Number; and c) 
Legal Name using no periods or 
commas – e.g., DOE JAMES Q 







Step 3: Complete Address information 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 







Step 4: Select “Add Contact” and on the next page, fill in with your information checking “Primary Contact.” 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 







Step 5: Check the box for “Click here to Enter EFT/Bank Information” and then complete the required information for direct deposit of check. If this step is 
not completed, you will be provided a paper check via USPS. 


 


 


 







Step 6 can be skipped by selecting the “Next” button. Although Commission members require a Vendor ID Number, this is only required to process 
payments and no additional information on you is required. 


  


 


Step 7: Fill in your Email ID and a password. When you click the button for “Select to accept the Terms of Agreement below” you will activate the “Submit” 
button and the process will be complete. Once completed by MMB, MSGC will have access to your Vendor ID for processing reimbursements. 
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Demographic Impact Statement Policy 
From the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission 


Version:  2.1 
Effective Date:  February 9, 2023 
Approval: MSGC meeting minutes on file 


Reason for the Policy 


The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission (“MSGC” or “the Commission”), from time to time, receives 
requests from members of the Minnesota Legislature to prepare impact statements examining the impact of 
proposed crime bills pending before it. 


Beginning in 2008, MSGC staff voluntarily elected to prepare demographic impact statements on proposed 
crime bills pending before the Legislature. The demographic impact statements prepared by MSGC staff—then 
referred to as “racial impact statements”—generally presented in a table the percentage breakdown by racial 
group: (1) the state general population, (2) the current felony population, and (3) the current prison population. 
Additionally, the statement compared the predicted impact, if any, of the proposed crime bill on the racial 
composition of the new felony offenders and prison beds to the current felony and prison population. The 
purpose of a demographic impact statement was to provide the Legislature with a tool to help it evaluate the 
impact of proposed legislation on demographic groups in the state felony and prison population.  


In 2015, the Commission, at staff’s request, reviewed and approved staff’s criteria and process for preparing 
demographic impact statements (set forth in a letter dated April 9, 2015, from the Executive Director to the 
Commission Chair), a policy the Commission has subsequently updated. 


Although it does not specifically authorize demographic impact statements, Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6, does 
direct the MSGC to serve as a clearinghouse and information center for sentencing practices data, and requires 
it to conduct ongoing research regarding, among other things, the sentencing guidelines, the use of 
imprisonment and alternates to imprisonment, and “other matters relating to the improvement of the criminal 
justice system.” Subdivision 6 further provides that the Commission “shall from time to time make 
recommendations to the legislature regarding changes in the Criminal Code, criminal procedures, and other 
aspects of sentencing.” 


The Legislature has for many years required MSGC staff to participate in the fiscal-note preparation process in 
accordance with Minn. Stat. § 3.98; and, in accordance with that statute, MSGC staff have provided such fiscal 
notes when requested by the chair of the standing committee to which a bill has been referred, or the chair of 
the House of Representatives Ways and Means Committee, and the chair of the Senate Committee on Finance. 
MSGC staff follow a similar procedure in preparing and forwarding demographic impact statements to the 
Legislature. Additionally, MSGC staff have prepared and forwarded unofficial demographic impact statements to 
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members of the Legislature in a manner similar to the procedure of unofficial fiscal notes in accord with Minn. 
Stat. 13.64, subd. 3. 


Minn. Stat. § 3.98, subd. 2, states that the fiscal note, where possible, shall specify “any long-range implication” 
of a proposed crime bill pending before the committee, subd. 2(6). Clearly, the statute is referring to a fiscal 
long-range implication. See Heritage Dictionary at p. 664 (fiscal means “of or relating to government 
expenditures, revenues and debt”). Significantly, subd. 2(b) states that the fiscal note “shall express no opinions 
concerning the merits of the proposal.” Minn. Stat. § 3.98, subd. 2(b). 


Policy Statement 


Authority. The Commission interprets Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6, to provide it with the authority to conduct 
research and make recommendations to the Legislature regarding the potential impact of proposed changes in 
the criminal code on public safety, which shall be “the primary consideration of the commission,” and consistent 
with the state policy of promoting fair and rational sentencing. Id., subd. 5. Additionally, the MSGC has the 
authority under Minn. Stat. § 3.98 and Minn. Stat. § 13.64, subd. 3, to prepare a limited official or unofficial 
demographic impact statement when it is specifically requested by the chairs of the respective committees of 
the House and Senate or other member of the Legislature in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 3.98. 


The Commission believes scientific research conducted in a manner that satisfies Rule 702 of the Rules of 
Evidence regarding the statistical impact of proposed crime bills on the state felony and prison populations may 
aid the Legislature in evaluating whether the proposal promotes fair and rational sentencing and public safety. 
Because statistical data available to the MSGC includes not only race, but also other statistically reliable data, 
such as gender, the MSGC should prepare a demographic impact statement that examines reasonably reliable 
and available statistical data such as race and gender. The MSGC may not, however, prepare a demographic 
impact statement that expresses an opinion regarding the merits of the crime bill. Minn. Stat. § 3.98, subd. 2(b). 


When prepared.  The MSGC therefore will prepare demographic impact statements for crime bills pending 
before the Legislature when specifically requested by the Legislature pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 3.98 or Minn. 
Stat. § 13.64, subd. 3. Additionally, the MSGC will prepare demographic impact statements when the proposed 
crime bill meets one or more of the following significance thresholds: (a) if the policy changes in the bill likely to 
increase the number of people convicted of felonies each year would increase the felony population by 50 or 
more felons annually; (b) if the policy changes in the bill likely to decrease the number of people convicted of 
felonies each year would decrease the felony population by 50 or more felons annually; (c) if the policy changes 
in the bill likely to increase the annual need for prison beds would increase the need by 10 prison beds or more; 
or (d) if the policy changes in the bill likely to decrease the annual need for prison beds would decrease the need 
by 10 prison beds or more. 


Scope. When a demographic impact statement regarding a proposed crime bill is requested by the Legislature or 
MSGC staff becomes aware that a proposed crime bill satisfies the significance threshold described in the prior 
paragraph, then MSGC staff shall prepare a demographic impact statement as follows: (1) the statement shall 
present in a table the percentage breakdown by demographic group over the past 3 to 5 years the state general 
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population, the state felony population, and the state prison population. Additionally, (2) the statement may 
express a limited opinion that estimates the number of offenders and prisoners by demographic group that may 
be convicted and imprisoned under the new crime bill if enacted and percentage change when compared to the 
prior years in the table, provided that the opinion has foundational reliability and the underlying scientific 
evidence is generally accepted in the relevant scientific community within the meaning of Minnesota Rule of 
Evidence 702. 


Put differently, the before-and-after demographic group comparison will compare the numbers and percentage 
by demographic group, as used herein, of the prior felony and prison populations on the one hand, and the new 
felony and prison population estimates on the other hand, provided that such estimates can be calculated in a 
manner that satisfies Rule 702.  Any opinion shall set forth the facts and data upon which the opinion is based. 
Minn. Rule of Evidence 703. The demographic impact statement shall not express any opinions unless the 
criteria of Rules 702 and 703 are satisfied; and shall not express an opinion “concerning the merits of the 
proposal.” Minn. Stat. § 3.98, subd. 2(b). Likewise, the demographic impact statement shall not express an 
opinion about the cause of any potential disparate demographic impact that may be identified within the 
statement, and each statement shall disclaim any intent, on the part of either the MSGC or its staff, to express 
such an opinion. 


Process. At the beginning of each annual legislative session, the Executive Director will remind the Commission 
of this policy and ask if any member of the Commission wishes to review and comment on any demographic 
impact statement prepared during the session. Staff shall attempt to complete each draft demographic impact 
statement and forward it to all requesting member(s) not later than 7 days before the next scheduled or 
anticipated committee hearing or legislative action on the bill or its companion. The requesting member(s) will 
have the right promptly to propose changes, and staff will promptly discuss those proposals with the requesting 
member(s) and seek to resolve them before the statement is submitted to the Legislature. The Executive 
Director may shorten or waive this review process and its timeline if necessary to get the demographic impact 
statement to the Legislature before the next hearing or legislative action. After the review process, the 
completed demographic impact statement will then be submitted to the chairs and ranking minority members 
of the standing committees in the House of Representatives and the Senate with primary jurisdiction over felony 
crime; to the chief House and Senate authors of the bill and its companion; if applicable, to the legislator who 
requested the demographic impact statement; and to the Commission at its next meeting. The issuance of a 
demographic impact statement by MSGC staff is final unless it is withdrawn or changed by majority vote of the 
Commission at its next meeting. 


A demographic impact statement need not be prepared if, in light of legislative deadlines, the bill is no longer 
viable. If a demographic impact statement is not prepared—whether for this reason or because it could not be 
prepared in a manner that satisfied Rule 702—the MSGC Executive Director shall prepare and file in agency 
records a memorandum detailing the reasons why the demographic impact statement was not prepared. If the 
demographic impact statement was requested by the Legislature, the Executive Director shall forward the 
memorandum to the requestor(s). 
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Related Information 


This policy supersedes all prior policy statements of the Commission or statements of MSGC staff. 


History  


Version Description Date 


1.0 Racial Impact Statement Policy   3/12/2015 


1.1 Racial Impact Statement Policy (Presented to the Commission by MSGC 
staff) 


  4/9/2015 


2.0 Demographic Impact Statement Policy (Approved by the Commission) 12/14/2017 


2.1 Demographic Impact Statement Policy (Approved by the Commission) 2/9/2023 


Contact 


sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us 



mailto:sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us
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2023 At-a-Glance Guidelines Reference 


This at-a-glance reference is an overview to the policies outlined in the 2022 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary. This 
reference sheet is not representative of the complete or official guidelines language and should not be referenced in official court 
communications.  
 


 
  Updated: September 22, 2023 


 
Applying Guidelines Policies – Section 2 
Always use the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary in effect when the current offense occurs to determine the 
severity level, policies such as sentence modifiers or mandatory minimums, and to find the presumptive sentence. 
 
CRIMINAL HISTORY CALCULATION 
Following the State v. Robinette decision by the MN Supreme Court in 2021, the policy changes made in 2019 to criminal 
history calculation will be applied to all offenses going forward, regardless of the offense date. 
 
Felony Offenses – Section 2.B.1 
• Must have received an imposed sentence of at least 1 year and 1 day, a Stay of Imposition, or an Extended Jurisdiction 


Juvenile (EJJ) conviction prior to sentencing on the current offense. 
• Must not have decayed. 


o If the prior received a prison sentence: 15 years from expiration of the sentence to the current offense date. 
o If the prior received a stayed sentence that was not revoked: 15 years from the initial sentencing date to the current 


offense date. 
o If still under custody: Not decayed. 


• Weights are assigned based on the severity level of the prior offense in effect when the current offense occurred and the 
Grid that the current offense is being sentenced from – Standard Grid, Drug Grid, or Sex Offense Grid. 


• The policies in sec. 2.B.1.d(1) and (2) cover the application of weights to prior offenses sentenced under a Single Course of 
Conduct/Multiple Sentences or a Single Course of Conduct/Multiple Victims scenario. 


 
Custody Status – Section 2.B.2 
• Custody is assigned when the current offense is committed while the defendant is under an eligible custody status for an 


eligible offense. 
o Assign one-half point* when the custody offense is for a targeted misd. under Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e), a 


non-traffic gross misd., a gross misd. DWI, Refusal to Test, or Reckless Driving, or a felony ranked at a severity level 1, 
2, D1, or D2. 
 *BUT: A partial custody status point must be disregarded when calculating the presumptive sentence. State v. 


Beganovic, 974 N.W.2d 278, 288 (Minn. App. 2022), review granted on other grounds (Minn. June 29, 2022). 
o Assign one full point when the custody offense is for a felony ranked at severity level 3-12, D3-D9, or A-I. 
o Assign a 2nd point when both the custody offense and the current offense are found on the Sex Offender Grid at 


severity level A-H. 
 
Targeted Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offenses – Section 2.B.3 
• Eligible priors included targeted misd. under Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e); all non-traffic gross misd. offenses; gross 


misd. DWI, Refusal to Test, and Reckless Driving. 
• Do not include DWI offenses committed by 16- or 17-year-old defendants. 
• Is not decayed: 10 years from the initial sentencing date to the date the current offense occurred. 
• Assign 1 unit to each prior with 4 units making 1 point, which is the maximum number of points in most cases. 
• Exception: for a current felony DWI or CVH/CVO, eligible prior DWI and CVO offenses are 2 units each, and 2 priors make 


1 point with no limit to points from these types of priors for those specific felonies. 
 
Juvenile Offenses – Section 2.B.4 
• The defendant must be under age 25 when the current offense occurs, and 14 years or older when the juvenile prior is 


committed. 
• Prior offenses must be felonies that are adjudicated delinquent in juvenile court. 
• Two priors make 1 point, which is the maximum number of points in most cases. 
• Additional points can be assigned for offense that meet the above criteria but are also presumptive commits. 
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Multiple Offenses in a Single Sentencing: Hernandizing – Section 2.B.1.e 
Hernandizing is the process of counting criminal history when multiple current offenses are sentenced in the order they 
occurred in the same hearing. There are two exceptions to the standard Hernandizing policy: 
• Single Course of Conduct/Multiple Sentences: When multiple offenses are imposed on the same date for a single course 


of conduct involving a burglary (Minn. Stat. § 609.585), a kidnapping (Minn. Stat. § 609.251, or a meth crime involving a 
child or vulnerable adult (Minn. Stat. § 152.137), offenses are not Hernandized. (2.B.1.e(1)) 


• Single Course of Conduct/Multiple Victims: When offenses involving multiple victims are sentenced, Hernandize only the 
two offenses at the highest severity level. (2.B.1.e(2)) 


 
Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences – Sections 2.C & 2.E 
The disposition for these offenses is a commit and the duration found either on the applicable Grid or the duration from 
statute, applying whichever is longer (minimum duration is noted).  
• The more common scenarios are: 


• 1st Degree Drugs, Minn. Stat. § 152.021, with prior 1st or 2nd degree drug conviction – 48 months 
• 2nd Degree Drugs, Minn. Stat. § 152.022, with prior 1st or 2nd degree drug conviction – 36 months 
• DWI with applicable prior felony DWI or eligible CVO/CVH – Grid time 
• Violation of Registration as a Predatory Offender, Minn. Stat. §243.166, subd. 5(c) – 24 months 
• Weapons Offenses: 


o Dangerous Weapon, Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 4 – Grid time; 36 months subsequent  
o Firearm Offense, Minn. Stat. § 609.11.5(a) – 36 months; 60 months for subsequent  
o Felon in Possession of Firearm or Ammunition, Minn. Stat. § 624.713.1(b) or Unauthorized Persons/Firearm Minn. 


Stat. § 609.165 – 60 months for all offenses (first and subsequent) 
 
Conditional Release – Section 2.E 
• The extended term of supervision for executed sentences such as felony DWI and Criminal Sexual Conduct. 
• Durations are 5 years, 10 years, 15 years, or Life depending on the offense. 


 
Consecutive Sentences – Section 2.F 
• Permissive Consecutive sentencing is applicable when the offense is found on the eligible offense list in Section 6 and the 


disposition for the offense(s) is a commit. 
o The duration imposed is found in the “0” box at the severity level on the applicable Grid.  
o An eligible offense can be sentenced consecutive to a prior eligible offense not expired or discharged. 


• Presumptive Consecutive sentencing applies when the offense is escape from the term of imprisonment portion of an 
executed sentence, or is an offense committed during either the term of imprisonment portion of an executed sentence 
or while on escape from the term of imprisonment portion of an executed sentence. 
o The current offense(s) must be a presumptive commit. 
o The duration imposed is found in the “1” box at the severity level on the applicable Grid. 
o The imposed sentence must be either the presumptive consecutive sentence or the concurrent sentence indicated on 


the appropriate cell of the applicable Grid for the current offense, whichever is longer. 
 
Sentencing Modifiers – Section 2.G 
Sentencing modifiers are statutes or policies that can be used to define the punishment for an underlying offense.  
• Modifiers can affect either, or both, the duration and the disposition found on the applicable Grid. 
• A modifier which reduces the sentence will not calculate the sentence below 1 year and 1 day. 
• A modifier which increases the sentence will not calculate the sentence above the statutory maximum. 
• Any change to the presumptive sentence will also be applied to the upper and lower end of the range. 
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4.A.  Sentencing Guidelines Grid 


Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range within 
which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may 
be subject to local confinement. 


SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 


CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 


0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 
more 


Murder, 2nd Degree (Intentional; 
Drive-By-Shootings) 11 306 


261-367 
326 


278-391 
346 


295-415 
366 


312-439 
386 


329-463 
406 


346-480 ¹ 


426 
363-480 ¹ 


Murder, 2nd Degree (Unintentional) 
Murder, 3rd Degree (Depraved 


Mind) 
10 150 


128-180 
165 


141-198 
180 


153-216 
195 


166-234 
210 


179-252 
225 


192-270 
240 


204-288 


Murder, 3rd Degree (Drugs) 
Assault, 1st Degree (Great Bodily 


Harm) 
9 86 


74-103 
98 


84-117 
110 


94-132 
122 


104-146 
134 


114-160 
146 


125-175 
158 


135-189 


Agg. Robbery, 1st Degree 
Burglary, 1st Degree (w/ Weapon 


or Assault) 
8 48 


41-57 
58 


50-69 
68 


58-81 
78 


67-93 
88 


75-105 
98 


84-117 
108 


92-129 


Felony DWI 
Financial Exploitation of a 


Vulnerable Adult  
7 36 42 48 54 


46-64 
60 


51-72 
66 


57-79 
72 


62-84 ¹,² 


Assault, 2nd Degree 
Burglary, 1st Degree (Occupied 


Dwelling) 
6 21 27 33 39 


34-46 
45 


39-54 
51 


44-61 
57 


49-68 


Residential Burglary 
Simple Robbery 5 18 23 28 33 


29-39 
38 


33-45 
43 


37-51 
48 


41-57 


Nonresidential Burglary 4 12 15 18 21 24 
21-28 


27 
23-32 


30 
26-36 


Theft Crimes (Over $5,000) 3 12 13 15 17 19 
17-22 


21 
18-25 


23 
20-27 


Theft Crimes ($5,000 or less) 
Check Forgery ($251-$2,500) 2 12 12 13 15 17 19 21 


18-25 


Assault, 4th Degree 
Fleeing a Peace Officer 1 12 12 12 13 15 17 19 


17-22 


 


 Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. First-degree murder has a mandatory life sentence and is excluded from 
the Guidelines under Minn. Stat. § 609.185. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law. 


 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to 364 days of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can 
be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a presumptive 
commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 


¹ Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state 
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one 
year and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2.  


² For Severity Level 7 offenses other than Felony DWI, the standard range of 20% higher than the fixed duration applies at CHS 6 or 
more. (The range is 62-86.)  
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Examples of Executed Sentences (Length in Months) Broken Down by:  
Term of Imprisonment and Supervised Release Term  


Under Minn. Stat. § 244.101, offenders committed to the Commissioner of Corrections for crimes committed on or after 
August 1, 1993 will receive an executed sentence pronounced by the court consisting of two parts:  a specified minimum term 
of imprisonment equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence and a supervised release term equal to the remaining 
one-third. The court is required to pronounce the total executed sentence and explain the amount of time the offender will 
serve in prison and the amount of time the offender will serve on supervised release, assuming the offender commits no 
disciplinary offense in prison that results in the imposition of a disciplinary confinement period. The court must also explain 
that the amount of time the offender actually serves in prison may be extended by the Commissioner if the offender violates 
disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of supervised release. This extension period could result in the 
offender's serving the entire executed sentence in prison. 
 


Executed 
Sentence 


Term of 
Imprisonment 


Supervised 
Release Term 


Executed 
Sentence 


Term of 
Imprisonment 


Supervised 
Release Term 


12 8 4 78 52 26 
13 8 ⅔ 4 ⅓ 86 57 ⅓ 28 ⅔ 
15 10 5 88 58 ⅔ 29 ⅓ 
17 11 ⅓ 5 ⅔ 98 65 ⅓ 32 ⅔ 
18 12 6 108 72 36 
19 12 ⅔ 6 ⅓ 110 73 ⅓ 36 ⅔ 
21 14 7 122 81 ⅓ 40 ⅔ 
23 15 ⅓ 7 ⅔ 134 89 ⅓ 44 ⅔ 
24 16 8 146 97 ⅓ 48 ⅔ 
27 18 9 150 100 50 
28 18 ⅔ 9 ⅓ 158 105 ⅓ 52 ⅔ 
30 20 10 165 110 55 
33 22 11 180 120 60 
36 24 12 190 126 ⅔ 63 ⅓ 
38 25 ⅓ 12 ⅔ 195 130 65 
39 26 13 200 133 ⅓ 66 ⅔ 
42 28 14 210 140 70 
43 28 ⅔ 14 ⅓ 220 146 ⅔ 73 ⅓ 
45 30 15 225 150 75 
48 32 16 230 153 ⅓ 76 ⅔ 
51 34 17 240 160 80 
54 36 18 306 204 102 
57 38 19 326 217 ⅓ 108 ⅔ 
58 38 ⅔ 19 ⅓ 346 230 ⅔ 115 ⅓ 
60 40 20 366 244 122 
66 44 22 386 257 ⅓ 128 ⅔ 
68 45 ⅓ 22 ⅔ 406 270 ⅔ 135 ⅓ 
72 48 24 426 284 142 
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4.B.  Sex Offender Grid 


Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range within 
which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may 
be subject to local confinement. 


SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 


CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 


0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 
more 


Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC) 
1st Degree A 144 


144²-172 
156 


144²-187 
168 


144²-201 
180 


153-216 
234 


199-280 
306 


261-360 
360 


306-360³  


CSC 2nd Degree–1(a)(b)(c)(d)(e) 
1a(a)(b)(c)(d)(h)(i) (e.g., contact 
& force with bodily harm) 


B 90 
90²-108 


110 
94-132 


130 
111-156 


150 
128-180 


195 
166-234 


255 
217-306 


300 
255-360 


CSC 3rd Degree–1(a)(b)(c)(d) 
1a(c)(d)(g)(h)(i) (e.g., penetra-
tion & coercion/occupation) 


C 48 
41-57 


62 
53-74 


76 
65-91 


90 
77-108 


117 
100-140 


153 
131-183 


180 
153-216 


CSC 2nd Degree–1a(e)(f)(g) (age) 
CSC 3rd Degree–1a(a)(e)(f) or 


1a(b) with 2(1) (age) 
D 36 48 60 


51-72 
70 


60-84 
91 


78-109 
119 


102-142 
140 


119-168 


CSC 4th Degree–1(a)(b)(c)(d) 
1a(c)(d)(g)(h)(i) (e.g., contact & 
coercion/occupation) 


E 24 36 48 60 
51-72 


78 
67-93 


102 
87-120 


120 
102-120³ 


CSC 4th Degree–1a(a)(b)(e)(f) (age) 
CSC 5th Degree–3(b) (subsequent) F 18 27 36 45 


39-54 
59 


51-70 
77 


66-92 
84 


72-100 


CSC 3rd Degree–1a(b) with 2(2) 
Possession of Child Pornography 
Solicit Child for Sexual Conduct 


G 15 20 25 30 39 
34-46 


51 
44-60 


60 
51-60³ 


CSC 5th Degree–3(a) 
(nonconsensual penetration) H 12 14 16 18 24 24³ 


24-24 
24³ 


24-24 


Failure to Register as a Predatory 
Offender I 12¹  


12 ¹-14 
14 


12 ¹-16 
16 


14-19 
18 


16-21 
24 


21-28 
30 


26-36 
36 


31-43 


¹ 12¹=One year and one day mandatory minimum under Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 5(b). 


 


Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. Sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2, have mandatory life 
sentences and are excluded from the Guidelines. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law, 
including conditional release terms for sex offenders. 


 


Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to 364 days of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can be 
imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenders in the shaded area of the Grid may qualify for a mandatory life 
sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 4. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 


² Sex Trafficking is not subject to a 144- or 90-month minimum statutory presumptive sentence so the standard range of 15% lower and 
20% higher than the fixed duration applies. (For Severity Level A, Criminal History Scores 0, 1, & 2, the ranges are 123–172, 133–187, & 
143–201, respectively. For Severity Level B, Criminal History Score 0, the range is 77–108.) 


³ Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state 
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one 
year and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1–2. For Severity Level H, all displayed 
durations, including the upper and lower ranges, are constrained by the statutory maximum at criminal history scores above 4.  
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Examples of Executed Sentences (Length in Months) Broken Down by:  
Term of Imprisonment and Supervised Release Term  


Under Minn. Stat. § 244.101, offenders committed to the Commissioner of Corrections for crimes committed on or after 
August 1, 1993 will receive an executed sentence pronounced by the court consisting of two parts:  a specified minimum term 
of imprisonment equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence and a supervised release term equal to the remaining 
one-third. The court is required to pronounce the total executed sentence and explain the amount of time the offender will 
serve in prison and the amount of time the offender will serve on supervised release, assuming the offender commits no 
disciplinary offense in prison that results in the imposition of a disciplinary confinement period. The court must also explain 
that the amount of time the offender actually serves in prison may be extended by the Commissioner if the offender violates 
disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of supervised release. This extension period could result in the 
offender's serving the entire executed sentence in prison.   
 


Executed 
Sentence 


Term of 
Imprisonment 


Supervised 
Release Term 


Executed 
Sentence 


Term of 
Imprisonment 


Supervised 
Release Term 


12 and 1 day 8 and 1 day 4 84 56 28 
14 9 ⅓ 4 ⅔ 90 60 30 
15 10 5 91 60 ⅔ 30 ⅓ 
16 10 ⅔ 5 ⅓ 102 68 34 
18 12 6 110 73 ⅓ 36 ⅔ 
20 13 ⅓ 6 ⅔ 117 78 39 
24 16 8 119 79 ⅓ 39 ⅔ 
25 16 ⅔ 8 ⅓ 120 80 40 
27 18 9 130 86 ⅔ 43 ⅓ 
30 20 10 140 93 ⅓ 46 ⅔ 
36 24 12 144 96 48 
39 26 13 150 100 50 
40 26 ⅔ 13 ⅓ 153 102 51 
45 30 15 156 104 52 
48 32 16 168 112 56 
51 34 17 180 120 60 
59 39 ⅓ 19 ⅔ 195 130 65 
60 40 20 234 156 78 
62 41 ⅓ 20 ⅔ 255 170 85 
70 46 ⅔ 23 ⅓ 300 200 100 
76 50 ⅔ 25 ⅓ 306 204 102 
77 51 ⅓ 25 ⅔ 360 240 120 
78 52 26    
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4.C.  Drug Offender Grid 


Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denotes range within which a court may 
sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may be subjected to 
local confinement. 
 


SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Example offenses listed in italics) 


CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 


0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 
more 


Aggravated Controlled 
Substance Crime, 1st Degree 


Manufacture of Any Amt. Meth 
D9 86 


74*-103 
98 


84*-117 
110 


94*-132 
122 


104*-146 
134 


114*-160 
146 


125*-175 
158 


135*-189 


Controlled Substance Crime, 
1st Degree D8 65 


56*-78 
75 


64*-90 
85 


73*-102 
95 


81*-114 
105 


90*-126 
115 


98*-138 
125 


107*-150 


Controlled Substance Crime, 
2nd Degree D7 48 58 68 


58-81 
78 


67-93 
88 


75-105 
98 


84-117 
108 


92-129 


Controlled Substance Crime, 
3rd Degree 


Failure to Affix Stamp 
D6 21 27 33 39 


34-46 
45 


39-54 
51 


44-61 
57 


49-68 


Possess Substances with Intent 
to Manufacture Meth D5 18 23 28 33 


29-39 
38 


33-45 
43 


37-51 
48 


41-57 


Controlled Substance Crime, 
4th Degree 


 
D4 


 
12 15 18 21 24 


21-28 
27 


23-32 
30 


26-36 


Meth Crimes Involving Children 
and Vulnerable Adults D3 12 13 15 17 19 


17-22 
21 


18-25 
23 


20-27 


Controlled Substance Crime, 
5th Degree D2 12 12 13 15 17 19 21 


18-25 


Sale of Simulated Controlled 
Substance D1 12 12 12 13 15 17 19 


17-22 


* Lower range may not apply. See section 2.C.3.c(1) and Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subdivisions 3(c) & 3(d). 


 


 
 
Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  
 


 


 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to 364 days of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can 
be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a presumptive 
commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 
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Examples of Executed Sentences (Length in Months) Broken Down by:  
Term of Imprisonment and Supervised Release Term  


Under Minn. Stat. § 244.101, offenders committed to the Commissioner of Corrections for crimes committed on or after 
August 1, 1993 will receive an executed sentence pronounced by the court consisting of two parts:  a specified minimum term 
of imprisonment equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence and a supervised release term equal to the remaining 
one-third. The court is required to pronounce the total executed sentence and explain the amount of time the offender will 
serve in prison and the amount of time the offender will serve on supervised release, assuming the offender commits no 
disciplinary offense in prison that results in the imposition of a disciplinary confinement period. The court must also explain 
that the amount of time the offender actually serves in prison may be extended by the Commissioner if the offender violates 
disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of supervised release. This extension period could result in the 
offender's serving the entire executed sentence in prison. 
 


Executed 
Sentence 


Term of 
Imprisonment 


Supervised 
Release Term 


Executed 
Sentence 


Term of 
Imprisonment 


Supervised 
Release Term 


12 8 4     58 38 ⅔ 19 ⅓ 
13 8 ⅔ 4 ⅓ 65 43 ⅓ 21 ⅔ 
15 10     5     68 45 ⅓ 22 ⅔ 
17 11 ⅓ 5 ⅔ 75 50     25     
18 12     6     78 52     26     
19 12 ⅔ 6 ⅓ 85 56 ⅔ 28 ⅓ 
21 14     7     86 57 ⅓ 28 ⅔ 
23 15 ⅓ 7 ⅔ 88 58 ⅔ 29 ⅓ 
24 16     8     95 63 ⅓ 31 ⅔ 
27 18     9     98 65 ⅓ 32 ⅔ 
28 18 ⅔ 9 ⅓ 105 70     35     
30 20     10     108 72     36     
33 22     11     110 73 ⅓ 36 ⅔ 
38 25 ⅓ 12 ⅔ 115 76 ⅔ 38 ⅓ 
39 26     13     122 81 ⅓ 40 ⅔ 
43 28 ⅔ 14 ⅓ 125 83 ⅓ 41 ⅔ 
45 30     15     134 89 ⅓ 44 ⅔ 
48 32     16     146 97 ⅓ 48 ⅔ 
51 34     17     158 105 ⅓ 52 ⅔ 
57 38     19        
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