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Comprehensive Review Steering Committee Report 
July 30, 2025 

The Comprehensive Review Steering Committee consisted of Commission Chair Kelly Lyn Mitchell, 
Commission Vice-Chair Michelle A. Larkin, and Commission members David Knutson, Kyra Ladd, Cathryn 
Middlebrook, and Latonya Reeves. The Steering Committee met nine times between December 2024 
and July 2025, with Judge Knutson’s retirement occurring before the ninth meeting. The Steering 
Committee’s original timeline is attached as Appendix 1 (p. 35) and a progress update is attached as 
Appendix 2 (p. 37). 

The Steering Committee proposes the following nine* changes to the Sentencing Guidelines. A brief 
rationale for each change is set forth here, with the complete proposed text beginning on page 5. While 
each proposal’s rationale is expressed separately, the Steering Committee makes these proposals as a 
package, and was mindful of the offsetting effects of various proposals when putting them together. 

 

1. Change the felony decay period from 15 to 10 years ................................................................ p. 6 

2. Change the misdemeanor decay period from 10 to 7 years .................................................... p. 13 

These proposals reduce the decay periods—currently 15 years for felony offenses and 10 years for gross 
misdemeanors and misdemeanors—to 10 and 7 years for felonies and misdemeanors, respectively. For 
felonies, the time period will continue to start at expiration of sentence if it was executed, or from the 
date of sentencing if it was stayed. For gross misdemeanors and misdemeanors, the time period will 
continue to start at the time of sentencing. 

These proposals bring Minnesota more in line with other states that use a decay period and focus the 
punishment more on the current offense. Most states that utilize decay periods cap out at 10 years; 
Minnesota is one of three jurisdictions with the longest decay periods. Letting old offenses decay 
focuses the punishment more heavily on the current offense and recognizes that the individual has 
already been punished and completed the sentence for the prior offense. Further, research suggests 

 
* A tenth proposal—to move Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender from the Sex Offender Grid to the 
Standard Grid—was favorably discussed by the Steering Committee, but no definite severity-level ranking(s) had 
been agreed upon by the date of this report. 
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that after 7 to 10 years of being crime-free, a prior offense has less validity in predicting likelihood of 
reoffense; the person’s risk to commit an offense is similar to that of any other individual in society. 

3. Eliminate special rules for counting DWIs in misdemeanor criminal history ................. pp. 14, 21 

This proposal eliminates two special rules related to counting misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor 
DWIs in criminal history. The complexity of these rules is great, and their benefit is slight. The first rule, 
found in 2.B.3.g, doubles the one-unit weight, and removes the one-point cap, for prior misdemeanor 
and gross misdemeanor DWIs when the current offense is felony DWI or CVH. With the advent of felony 
DWI, very few defendants have enough prior misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor DWIs to implicate this 
rule. The second rule, found in 2.B.6.c, is an extension of the general rule that predicate misdemeanors 
and gross misdemeanors are excluded from the criminal history of the offense they enhance: The 
misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor DWIs that enhanced the defendant’s first felony DWI to a felony 
are also excluded from the criminal history of every subsequent DWI that is a felony due to that first 
felony DWI. This, too, is a complex and uncommonly used rule. 

As part of the elimination of 2.B.6.c, this proposal takes advantage of the opportunity to improve the 
organization of the Guidelines: 2.B.6.a—which pertains to the use of predicate misdemeanors and gross 
misdemeanors in criminal history—is moved into section 2.B.3, where it logically belongs; and 2.B.6.b, 
which is now unnecessary, is deleted. 

4. Eliminate juvenile points from the criminal history score ................................................. p. 16–18 

This proposal removes the juvenile-point policy (2.B.4) from the Guidelines, but leaves unchanged the 
policies that count convictions resulting from Extended Jurisdiction Juvenile (EJJ) or adult-certification 
proceedings among the adult felony points. Presently, juvenile adjudications for offenses that, if 
committed by an adult, would have been felonies may contribute up to two points to the criminal 
history score. The policy is meant to identify young adult felons whose criminal careers were preceded 
by felony-type offenses committed as a juvenile. As a result of the policy’s limited application, few 
individuals meet the qualifications for juvenile points. Moreover, Dr. Laskorunsky’s research indicated 
that this component is not significantly predictive of future offending, but its removal will reduce 
sentencing disparity. 

5. Specify state’s burden to prove out-of-state criminal history................................................. p. 18 

The Commission has received feedback indicating that the rule for counting out-of-state criminal history 
needs to be simplified. It is difficult to manage because it requires matching the elements of the out-of-
state offense to a Minnesota equivalent and then assigning proper weight based on the offense level for 
the Minnesota equivalent and the offense imposed. Currently, this burden is often falling on probation 
officers. The Steering Committee considered multiple alternatives, including not counting this type of 
history at all, or only counting felonies. However, there were drawbacks in each approach, such as failing 

https://robinainstitute.umn.edu/sites/robinainstitute.umn.edu/files/2022-02/minnesota_criminal_history_score_recidivism_report.pdf
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to address frequent criminal behavior in areas that border other states, and differences in how states 
define felonies and misdemeanors. Ultimately, the Steering Committee concluded that existing rule 
appropriately balances these interests and should be retained. The difficulty in this rule arises from 
misplacing the burden for proving the existence of out-of-state criminal history on probation officer. 
Case law clearly places this burden on the prosecutor. Thus, the amendments are aimed at clarifying 
that burden so that the work shifts from the probation officer to the prosecutor. 

6. Convert custody status to a durational increase ....................................... pp. 6–12, 23–25, 28–31 

This proposal removes the custody-status point from criminal-history score calculation (section 2.B) and 
replaces it with a new custody-status durational increase (in section 2.C). The amount of the increase is 
determined by a new column on the grids. The result is intended to be identical to the status quo, 
except that (1) custody status will alter only duration, not disposition; (2) for those at maximum criminal 
history, the durational increase will not be limited to three months, but will vary by the severity level of 
the current offense; (3) no waiver is permitted; and (4) the durational increase will be uniform for each 
severity level—something that is not now true of the Sex Offender Grid. Regarding recent appellate 
cases, the proposal explicitly adopts the Minn. Court of Appeals’ rule in Beganovic (no impact from 
custody for a low-level felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor) and implicitly adopts the Minn. 
Supreme Court’s rule in Woolridge Carter (stay-of-adjudication probation may qualify as custody status). 
The Comments associated with this proposal have not yet been drafted. 

7. Add new language focusing courts on logic, rather than factor class, in departure decisions
 ................................................................................................................................................... p. 26  

Currently in case law, durational departures are based upon offense-related factors, while dispositional 
departures are often based on offender-related factors. The Criminal Benchbook explains it this way: 

Offense-related factors support whether the defendant’s conduct was significantly more or less serious 

than that typically involved in the commission of the crime. See State v. Rund, 896 N.W.2d 527 (Minn. 

2017) (finding that terroristic threats made through social media were not less serious than threats made 

by more traditional means). Offender-related factors focus on the individual and whether the presump-

tive sentence would be best for the offender and society (e.g., amenability to probation, remorse). State 
v. Heywood, 338 N.W.2d 243 (Minn. 1983); State v. Allen, 706 N.W.2d 40 (Minn. 2005). 

It is possible that this case law is driving some of the high dispositional departure rates. If the Guidelines 
allowed offender-related factors to also drive durational departures, we might see a shift in departure 
types to allow for prison sentences in some additional cases, with shortened durations. This proposal 
adapts language from from McCarr & Nordby, 9 Minn. Prac., Criminal Law & Procedure § 36:42 (4th ed.), 
directing sentencing courts ultimately to rely on reason and logic in determining whether a departure 
factor supports a particular departure decision. 
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8. Add new mitigated departure factor for first offenders ......................................................... p. 28 

To the nonexclusive list of factors that may be used as a reason for a mitigated departure, this proposal 
adds a new factor: the lack of any prior criminal conviction or stay of adjudication. This proposal 
recognizes research showing that true first-time offenders—as opposed to those at technical scores of 
zero, but with priors—have a substantially lower recividism risk, and are generally considered less 
blameworthy, than repeat offenders. The factor is not proposed to be available if the current offense is 
ranked at severity level 10 or 11 on the Standard Grid or is on the Sex Offender Grid. 

9. Add ranges to shaded grid cells; revamp example offenses ..................................... pp. 22, 29–31 

To reduce confusion, mathematical errors, and durational departures, this proposal places ranges in the 
shaded areas of the grids. This proposal also improves the grids’ example offenses to better reflect 
practice and/or convey the rationality of how the offenses are ranked against each other. 

Key to changes: 

 Added text is red and underlined. 

 Deleted text is red and stricken. 

 Moved text is green and double-underlined. 

 Removed text is green and double-stricken. 

 Deleted text within moved text is green, double-underlined, and stricken. 

 

  

https://robinainstitute.umn.edu/sites/robinainstitute.umn.edu/files/2022-02/minnesota_criminal_history_score_recidivism_report.pdf
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Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary 

* * * 

2. Determining Presumptive Sentences 

* * * 

B. Criminal History 

The horizontal axis on the Sentencing Guidelines Grids is the criminal history score. An 
offender’s criminal history score is the sum of points from eligible: 

 prior felonies; and 
 custody status at the time of the offense;  
 prior misdemeanors and gross misdemeanors; and 
 prior juvenile adjudications. 

This section details the requirements for calculating the criminal history points in each of 
these areas. This section also details the requirements for calculating criminal history points 

for convictions from jurisdictions other than Minnesota and convictions for enhanced 
felonies. 

* * * 

1. Prior Felonies.  Assign a particular weight, as set forth in paragraphs a and b, to each 
extended jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction and each felony conviction, provided 

that a felony sentence was stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or a stay 
of imposition of sentence was given before the current sentencing. 

* * * 

c. Felony Decay Factor.  In computing the criminal history score, a prior felony 
sentence or stay of imposition following a felony conviction must not be used if 

all the following, to the extent applicable, occurred before the date of the current 
offense: 
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(1) the prior felony sentence or stay of imposition expired or was discharged; 

(2) a period of fifteen ten years elapsed after the date of the initial sentence 
following the prior conviction; and 

(3) if the prior felony sentence was executed, a period of fifteen ten years 
elapsed after the date of expiration of the sentence. 

* * * 

Comment 

* * * 

2.B.113.  The Commission established a “decay factor” for the consideration of prior felony 
offenses in computing criminal history scores. The Commission decided it was important to 

consider not just the total number of felony sentences and stays of imposition, but also the age of 
the sentences and stays of imposition. The Commission decided that the presence of old felony 

sentences and stays of imposition should not be considered in computing criminal history scores 
after a significant period of time has elapsed. A prior felony sentence or stay of imposition will not 
be counted in criminal history score computation if fifteen ten years has elapsed from the prior 

sentencing date (or from the date the prison sentence, if executed, expired) to the date of the 
current offense, provided the offender was then no longer on supervision for the prior sentence. If 

the offender received a stay of imposition for the prior offense, that sentencing date marks “the 
date of the initial sentence,” even if a stay of execution subsequently occurred as the result of, e.g., 
a probation violation. While this procedure does not include a measure of the offender’s 

subsequent criminality, it has the overriding advantage of accurate and simple application, while 
also ensuring that prison offenses do not decay before probation offenses. 

* * * 

2. Custody Status at the Time of the Offense.[Reserved.] 

a. One or One-Half Custody Status Point.  Assign one custody status point when 
the conditions in paragraphs (1), (2), and (3)(ii) or (iii) are met. In all other cases 
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when the conditions in paragraphs (1) through (3) are met, assign one-half 
custody status point: 

(1) The offender was under one of the following custody statuses at the time the 
current offense was committed: 

(i) probation; 
(ii) parole; 
(iii) supervised release; 

(iv) conditional release following release from an executed prison 
sentence (see conditional release terms listed in section 2.E.3); 

(v) release pending sentencing; 
(vi) confinement in a jail, workhouse, or prison pending or after 

sentencing; or 

(vii) escape from confinement following an executed sentence. 

(2) The offender was under one of the custody statuses in paragraph (1) after 
entry of a guilty plea, guilty verdict, or conviction. 

(3) The offender was under one of the custody statuses in paragraph (1) for one 
of the following: 

(i) a felony currently assigned a severity level ranking, on the Offense 
Severity Reference Table, of 1 or 2 on the Standard Grid or D1 or D2 

on the Drug Offender Grid, a felony from a jurisdiction other than 
Minnesota equivalent to an offense currently ranked at one of those 

severity levels, or an extended jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction for 
an offense currently ranked at one of those severity levels; 

(ii) any other felony; 

(iii) any other EJJ conviction; 
(iv) a non-traffic gross misdemeanor; 

(v) gross misdemeanor driving while impaired, refusal to submit to a 
chemical test, or reckless driving; or 

(vi) a targeted misdemeanor. 
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(4) Assigning Points to Offenses Committed Over Time.  Assign one or one-half 
custody status point when the offender meets the conditions in paragraphs 

(1) through (3) and the offender was placed under one of the custody 
statuses in paragraph (1) at any point in time during which the offense 

occurred when: 

(i) multiple offenses are an element of the conviction offense; or 
(ii) the conviction offense is an aggregated offense. 

b. Two Custody Status Points.  Assign two custody status points if: 

(1) the current conviction offense is an offense on the Sex Offender Grid other 
than Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender (Minn. Stat. § 243.166); and 

(2) the offender qualifies for one custody status point, as described in section a, 
above, for an offense currently found on the Sex Offender Grid other than 

Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender (Minn. Stat. § 243.166). 

c. Additional Duration.  An additional three months must be added to the 
duration of the appropriate cell time, which then becomes the presumptive 
duration, when: 

(1) at least one-half custody status point is assigned; and 

(2) the offender’s total Criminal History Score exceeds the maximum score on the 
applicable Grid (i.e., 7 or more). 

Three months must also be added to the lower and upper end of the range 
provided in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid. 

If the current conviction is an attempt, conspiracy, or other offense with a 
sentence modifier that reduces the presumptive sentence, the three months must 
be added to the cell duration before the duration is reduced as outlined in 

section 2.G. The presumptive duration, however, cannot be less than one year. 
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d. No Custody Status Points Assigned.  The offender must not be assigned custody 
status points when: 

(1) The offender was committed for treatment or examination under Minn. R. 
Crim. P. 20. 

(2) The offender was on juvenile custody status other than for an extended 
jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction, at the time the adult felony was 
committed. 

(3) The offender was on custody status for a misdemeanor or gross 
misdemeanor DWI committed when the offender was 16 or 17 years old, and 

the DWI was processed in adult court under Minn. Stat. § 260B.225, subds. 3 
and 8. 

e. Waiver.  Subject to the limitations in paragraph (4) below, the court, on its own 
motion or on the motion of a party, may, but is not required to, waive assignment 
of a custody status point or half-point pursuant to section 2.B.2, provided the 

offender establishes that granting a waiver is consistent with public safety. 
Specifically, the court has the discretion, but is not required, to grant a waiver if 
the offender establishes that waiver is consistent with public safety and promotes 

the traditional purposes of sentencing which are retribution, incapacitation, 
deterrence, restitution, and rehabilitation. See Minn. Stat. § 244.09. In considering 

rehabilitation, the court may examine the following: 

(1) Whether the offender has consistently utilized available probation services, 

such as drug, alcohol, and psychological treatment services, and has 
otherwise been in substantial compliance with the conditions of probation, 
parole, or conditional or supervised release, apart from the commission of the 

current offense, for the past twelve months; 

(2) Whether the current offense represents an escalation of criminal activity; and 

(3) Whether the offender has made any progress toward rehabilitation and 
reentry into society, such as additional education and/or vocational training. 
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(4) The court may not, however, waive assignment of a custody status point or 
half-point if either the current offense or a custody status offense is any of 

the following offenses, including an equivalent felony offense from a 
jurisdiction other than Minnesota. As used within this paragraph, “custody 

status offense” means a prior offense resulting in a custody status that caused 
the offender to qualify for a custody status point as described in section a, 
above. 

(i) an offense currently assigned a severity level ranking, on the Offense 
Severity Reference Table, of 8, 9, 10, or 11 on the Standard Grid; 

(ii) an offense on the Sex Offender Grid other than Failure to Register as a 
Predatory Offender (Minn. Stat. § 243.166); 

(iii) an offense currently assigned a severity level ranking, on the Offense 

Severity Reference Table, of D8 or D9 on the Drug Offender Grid; 
(iv) an offense listed in section 8, Severe Violent Offense List; 

(v) Fleeing Peace Officer (Great Bodily Harm) (Minn. Stat. § 609.487, subd. 
4(b)); or 

(vi) an attempt or conspiracy to commit one of these offenses. 

Comment 

2.B.201.  The basic rule assigns offenders one or one-half point if they were under some form of 
eligible criminal justice custody status when they committed the offense for which they are now 
being sentenced. 

2.B.202.  The Commission intended to avoid criminal history scores in which a prior offense’s 

custody status point outweighed the criminal history of the prior offense itself. Accordingly, when 
the criminal history weight of a prior felony is one-half point (but excluding severity level H or I 
offenses; see generally section 2.B.1) or the prior gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor contributes 

one or two misdemeanor units (see section 2.B.3), the custody status from that prior offense results 
in one-half, rather than one, custody status point. 

2.B.203.  In determining whether to grant a waiver in a particular case, the primary consideration 
is public safety. In this context, public safety means protecting the public from crime. The court 

should consider the values of retribution, incapacitation, deterrence, restitution and rehabilitation. 
In doing so, the court should apply a balanced approach in which all five values are examined and 

applied. For rehabilitation, the court may also consider the three factors listed in section 2.B.2.e in 
order to examine the whole person. When custody status is waived, the presumptive sentence will 
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be calculated without the addition of the waived custody status point, or half-point, in the criminal 
history score. Thus, provided the processes of section 2.B.2.e are followed, granting a waiver of 

custody status for the current offense does not, in itself, constitute a departure from the Sentencing 
Guidelines. 

2.B.204.  Commitments under Minn. R. Crim. P. 20, and juvenile custody status are not included 
because, in those situations, there has been no conviction. However, a custody point will be 

assigned if the offender committed the current offense while under some form of custody following 
an extended jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction. 

2.B.205.  The custodial statuses covered by this policy are those occurring after conviction of a 
felony, non-traffic gross misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor driving while impaired or refusal to 

submit to a chemical test, gross misdemeanor reckless driving, or misdemeanor on the targeted 
misdemeanor list provided in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e). Thus, an offender who commits a 

new felony while on pre-trial diversion or pre-trial release on another charge does not get a 
custody status point.  Likewise, offenders serving a misdemeanor sentence for an offense not on 
the targeted misdemeanor list provided in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e), do not receive a 

custody status point, even if the court imposed the misdemeanor sentence upon conviction of a 
gross misdemeanor or felony. 

2.B.206.  As a general rule, the Commission excludes traffic offenses from consideration in 
computing the criminal history score.  Given the increased penalties associated with driving while 

impaired (DWI) offenses and the serious impact on public safety, the Commission determined that 
these offenses should be considered for custody status points in the same manner as non-traffic 

offenses. 

2.B.207.  The most problematic consequence of a Criminal History Score of 7 or more (in excess of 

the maximum points differentiated by the Sentencing Guidelines Grids) is that no additional 
penalty accrues for engaging in felonious behavior while under custody supervision. For example, if 
an offender has a Criminal History Score of 7 and is released pending sentencing for a Severity 

Level 3 offense, and he or she commits another Severity Level 3 offense while awaiting sentencing, 
the presumptive sentence for the most recent offense is the same as for the prior offense. A 

presumption exists against consecutive sentences for most property offenses, and therefore no 
additional penalty results when this situation occurs. The addition of three months to the cell 
duration provides a uniform presumptive standard for dealing with this situation. 
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2.B.208.  While the Commission believes that the impact of the custody status provision should be 
maintained for all cases, incrementing the sanction for each criminal history point above seven is 

deemed inappropriate. The primary determinant of the sentence is the seriousness of the current 
conviction offense. Criminal history is of secondary importance, and the Commission believes that 

proportionality in sentencing is served sufficiently with the criminal history differentiations 
incorporated in the Sentencing Guidelines Grids and with the special provision for maintaining the 
impact of the custody status provision. The Commission deems further differentiation unnecessary 

to achieve proportionality in sentencing. 

2.B.209.  The Commission believes that when multiple offenses are an element of the conviction 
offense or the conviction offense is an aggregated offense, offenders should receive a custody 
status point if they become subject to one of the custody status types listed in 2.B.2.a(1) at any 

point during the time period in which the offenses occurred. While the Commission recognizes that 
its policy for determining the presumptive sentence states that for aggregated offenses, the earliest 

offense date determines the date of offense, it believes that eligibility for a custody status point 
should not be limited to the offender’s status at the time of the earliest date of offense. 

2.B.210.  When offenders on any custody status condition listed in section 2.B.2.b for a sex offense 
commit another sex offense, they are assigned an additional custody status point. The Commission 

believes that offenders who commit a subsequent sex offense pose so significant a risk to public 
safety that their criminal history scores should be enhanced to reflect this risk. This policy does not 
apply to the offense of Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender (Minn. Stat. § 243.166). 

2.B.211.  Assign a custody status point to an offender on any custody status type who absconds 

and commits a new felony offense. The custody status type depends on the form of supervision 
that exists when the offender commits a new offense. For example, assign a custody status point to 
an offender who absconds from supervised release and commits a new felony offense. The custody 

status type would be “supervised release.” 

3. Prior Gross Misdemeanors and Misdemeanors.  Prior gross misdemeanor and 

misdemeanor convictions count as units comprising criminal history points. Four 
units equal one criminal history point; give no partial point for fewer than four units.  
Determine units as specified in this section. 

a. General Assignment of Units.  Except as provided in paragraph g, assign Assign 
the offender one unit for each prior conviction of the following offenses provided 



MSGC Comprehensive Review Steering Committee Report – July 30, 2025 13 
 

the offender received a stayed or imposed sentence or stay of imposition for the 
conviction before the current sentencing: 

(1) targeted misdemeanor, as defined in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e); 

(2) non-traffic gross misdemeanor; 

(3) gross misdemeanor driving while impaired;   

(4) gross misdemeanor refusal to submit to a chemical test; 

(5) gross misdemeanor reckless driving;  

(6) a felony conviction resulting in a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor 
sentence. 

b. Gross Misdemeanors Sentenced as Misdemeanors.  A gross misdemeanor 
conviction resulting in a misdemeanor sentence for an offense not defined as a 
targeted misdemeanor under Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e) must not be used 

to compute units. 

c. Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Sentences.  When multiple sentences for a 
single course of conduct were imposed under Minn. Stat. §§ 152.137, 609.585, or 
609.251, the offender must not be assigned more than one unit.  

d. Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Victims.  When multiple offenses arising 
from a single course of conduct involving multiple victims were sentenced, assign 
only the two most severe offenses units in criminal history. 

e. Decay Factor.  A prior misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence or stay of 
imposition following a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor conviction must not 

be used in computing the criminal history score if ten seven years have elapsed 
between the date of the initial sentence following the prior conviction and the 
date of the current offense. However, misdemeanor sentences that result from 
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the successful completion of a stay of imposition for a felony conviction are 
subject to the felony decay factor in section 2.B.1.c. 

f. Maximum Assignment of Points.  Except as provided in paragraph g, an An 
offender cannot receive more than one point for prior misdemeanor or gross 

misdemeanor convictions. 

g. Assignment of Units for Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation or Felony 
Driving While Impaired (DWI).  If the current conviction is for criminal vehicular 

homicide or operation or felony DWI, assign previous violations of Minn. Stat. 
§§ 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129, 360.0752, 609.2112, 609.2113, 

or 609.2114 two units each. There is no limit to the total number of misdemeanor 
points that can be included in the offender’s criminal history score due to 
criminal vehicular homicide or operation or DWI offenses. For DWI offenses, see 

section 2.B.6 for exceptions to this policy relating to predicate offenses used for 
enhancement purposes. For Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death or Death to an 

Unborn Child, and Qualified Prior Conviction), assign no misdemeanor units to 
the qualified prior driving offense that was used to increase the statutory 
maximum penalty. 

a.g. Enhanced Felonies.  When the current offense is a felony solely because the 
offender has previous convictions for misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor 

offenses, do not assign units for the prior misdemeanor conviction(s) on the 
targeted misdemeanor list provided in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e) or gross 

misdemeanor conviction(s) upon which the enhancement is based may be used 
in determining custody status, but cannot be used in calculating the remaining 
components of the offender’s criminal history score. 

h. Prior Misdemeanor or Gross Misdemeanor Driving While Impaired (DWI) 
Committed by Juvenile Offenders.  Assign no units under this section if the 

offender was 16 or 17 years old when the prior misdemeanor or gross 
misdemeanor DWI was committed, and the DWI was processed in adult court 
under Minn. Stat. § 260B.225, subds. 3 and 8. 
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Comment 

* * * 

2.B.304.  The Commission believes that offenders whose current conviction is for criminal 

vehicular homicide or operation or first-degree (felony) driving while impaired, and who have prior 
violations under Minn. Stat. §§ 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129, 360.0752, 609.2112, 
609.2113, or 609.2114 are also more culpable, and for these offenders there is no limit to the total 

number of misdemeanor points included in the criminal history score due to DWI or criminal 
vehicular homicide or operation (CVO) violations. To determine the total number of misdemeanor 

points under these circumstances, first add together any non DWI/CVO misdemeanor units. If 
there are less than four units, add in any DWI/CVO units. Four or more units would equal one 
point. Only DWI/CVO units can be used in calculating additional points. Each set of four DWI/CVO 

units would equal an additional point. For example, if an offender had two theft units and six 
DWI/CVO units, the theft would be added to the two DWI/CVO units to equal one point. The 

remaining four DWI/CVO units would equal a second point. In a second example, if an offender 
had six theft units and six DWI/CVO units, the first four theft units would equal one point. Four of 
the DWI/CVO units would equal a second point. The remaining two theft units could not be added 

to the remaining two DWI/CVO units for a third point. The total misdemeanor score would be two.  

When the current offense is a conviction under Minn. Stat. § 609.2112, subd. 1(b) (Death, and 
Qualified Prior Conviction), or § 609.2114, subd. 1(b) (Death to an Unborn Child, and Qualified 
Prior Conviction), the Commission excluded consideration of the qualified prior driving offense, if a 

misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor, from the criminal history score because, by virtue of the 
conviction offense, the qualified prior conviction has been accounted for in the enhanced penalty. 

2.B.601.2.B.304.  A number of instances exist in Minnesota law in which misdemeanor or gross 
misdemeanor behavior carries a felony penalty as a result of the offender’s prior record. The 

Commission decided that in the interest of fairness, a prior misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor 
offense that elevated the misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor behavior to a felony should not also 

be used in criminal history points other than custody status. Only one prior offense should be 
excluded from the criminal history score calculation, unless more than one prior was required for 
the offense to be elevated to a felony. For example, Assault in the Fifth Degree is a felony if the 

offender has two or more convictions for assaultive behavior. In those cases, the two related priors 
at the lowest level should be excluded. Similarly, theft crimes of more than $500 but less than 

$1,000 are felonies if the offender has at least one previous conviction for an offense specified in 
that statute. In those cases, the prior related offense at the lowest level should be excluded.  
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* * * 

2.B.306.  The Commission also adopted a “decay” factor for prior misdemeanor and gross 
misdemeanor offenses for the same reasons articulated for felony offenses; however, given that 

these offenses are less serious, the decay period is 10 seven years rather than 15ten. 

* * * 

2.B.308.  When multiple misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentences arose out of a single 
course of conduct in which there were multiple victims, consideration should be given only for the 

two most severe offenses for purposes of computing criminal history. These are the same policies 
that apply to felony convictions and juvenile adjudications. 

4. Prior Juvenile Adjudications.  [Reserved.] 

a. Assignment of Points for Juvenile Adjudications.  Assign an offender one point 
for every two adjudications for felony offenses the offender committed, and for 

which the offender was prosecuted as a juvenile, provided that: 

(1) each adjudication must have been for a separate offense or must have 
involved separate victims in a single course of conduct, except as provided in 

paragraphs c and d below; and 

(2) the juvenile adjudications must have been for offenses committed after the 

offender’s fourteenth birthday; and 

(3) the offender was under the age of twenty-five when the offender committed 
the current felony.  

b. Maximum Points for Juvenile Adjudications.  An offender may receive only one 
point for juvenile adjudications as described in this section, except that the point 

limit does not apply to juvenile adjudications for offenses for which the 
Sentencing Guidelines would presume imprisonment if the offenses had been 
committed by an adult. Make this determination regardless of the criminal history 

score, and include offenses that carry a mandatory minimum prison sentence and 
other presumptive imprisonment offenses described in section 2.C. 
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c. Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Sentences.  When multiple adjudications for 
a single course of conduct were imposed under Minn. Stat.  §§ 152.137, 609.585, 

or 609.251, only one offense may be used in the criminal history calculation. 

d. Single Course of Conduct / Multiple Victims.  When the prior adjudications 
involve multiple offenses arising from a single course of conduct involving 
multiple victims, include only the two most severe offenses in criminal history. 

Comment  
2.B.401.  Juvenile history is included in the criminal history score to identify those young adult 

felons whose criminal careers were preceded by repeated felony-type offenses committed as a 
juvenile. The Commission held several public hearings devoted to the issue of using juvenile 
records in the criminal history score. Those hearings pointed out differences in legal procedures 

and safeguards between adult and juvenile courts, differing availability of juvenile records, and 
differing procedures among juvenile courts. As a result of these issues, the Commission decided to 

establish rigorous standards regulating the consideration of juvenile records in computing the 
criminal history score. 

2.B.402.  Only juvenile adjudications for offenses that are felonies under Minnesota law will be 
considered in computing the criminal history score. Status offenses, dependency and neglect 

proceedings, and misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor-type offenses will be excluded from 
consideration.  

2.B.403.  Consistent with Minn. Stat. § 609.035, which provides for a single sentence for adult 
offenders when multiple convictions arise from a single course of conduct, only juvenile 

adjudications for offenses arising from separate courses of conduct contribute to the juvenile 
point(s), unless multiple victims were involved.  

2.B.404.  The juvenile adjudications must result from offenses committed after the offender's 
fourteenth birthday. The Commission chose the date of the offense rather than the date of 
adjudication to eliminate variability in application based on differing juvenile court practices.  

2.B.405.  Juvenile adjudications will be considered in computing the criminal history score only for 

adult offenders who had not attained the age of 25 when they committed the felony for which they 
are now being sentenced. Again, the Commission chose to examine the age of the offender at the 
time of the offense rather than at time of sentencing to prevent disparities resulting from system 

processing variations.  
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2.B.406.  The Commission decided that it would take two juvenile adjudications to equal 1 point 
on the criminal history score, and generally, an offender may not receive more than 1 point on the 

basis of prior juvenile adjudications. This point limit does not apply to offenses committed and 
prosecuted as a juvenile for which the Guidelines would presume imprisonment, regardless of 

criminal history, if committed by an adult. This includes offenses in the non-shaded portions of the 
applicable Grids at a Criminal History Score of 0 (e.g., Severity Level 8 or I), offenses subject to 
mandatory minimum laws (e.g., Assault in the Second Degree), or any other applicable policies 

under section 2.C. The criminal history record is not used to determine whether the juvenile offense 
carries a presumptive imprisonment sentence because of the difficulty in applying criminal history 

score computations to prior juvenile offenses. Two juvenile adjudications are required for each 
additional point. Again, no partial points are allowed, so an offender with only one juvenile 
adjudication meeting the above criteria would receive no point on the criminal history score.  

2.B.407.  To provide a uniform and equitable method of computing criminal history scores for 

cases of multiple felony offenses with adjudications arising from a single course of conduct when 
single victims are involved, and when the adjudications involved provisions of Minn. Stats.  
§§ 152.137, 609.585 or 609.251, consideration should be given to only the most severe offense with 

an adjudication when computing criminal history.  

When there are multiple felony offenses with adjudications arising out of a single course of 
conduct in which there were multiple victims, consideration should be given only to the two most 
severe felony offenses with adjudications when computing criminal history. These are the same 

policies that apply to felony, gross misdemeanor and misdemeanor convictions for adults.  

The Commission has carefully considered the application of the Hernandez method to sentencing 
in provisions of Minnesota law other than Minn. Stats. §§ 152.137, 609.585 and 609.251. The 
Commission made a deliberate decision not to amend the Sentencing Guidelines. See, State v. 

Williams, 771 N.W.2d 514 (Minn. 2009). 

5. Convictions from Jurisdictions other than Minnesota.   

a. In General.  The state has the burden of proving the facts at sentencing necessary 
to justify consideration of an out-of-state conviction in the criminal history score, 
and the court must make the final determination as to whether and how a prior 

non-Minnesota conviction should be counted in the criminal history score. The 
court should consider, but is not limited to, the factors in paragraphs b through e, 

below. Sections 2.B.1 through 2.B.7 govern the use of these convictions. 
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b. How to Count.  Find the equivalent Minnesota offense based on the elements of 
the prior non-Minnesota offense. The section in which to count the non-

Minnesota offense in criminal history depends on: 

 whether the offense is defined as a felony, gross misdemeanor, or targeted 
misdemeanor in Minnesota; and 

 the sentence imposed.   

An offense may be counted as a felony only if it would both be defined as a 
felony in Minnesota, and the offender received a sentence of 366 days or more, 
which includes the equivalent of a stay of imposition. The offense definitions in 

effect when the current Minnesota offense was committed govern the 
designation of non-Minnesota convictions as felonies, gross misdemeanors, or 
misdemeanors. 

c. Assigning Felony Weights.  Section 2.B.1 governs the weight of a prior felony 
conviction from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota, and must be based on the 

severity level of the equivalent Minnesota felony offense. 

d. Federal Offenses; No Minnesota Equivalent.  Federal felony offenses that received 
a sentence that in Minnesota would be a felony-level sentence, but for which no 

comparable Minnesota offense exists, must receive a weight of one in computing 
the criminal history score.  

e. Juvenile Offenses from other Jurisdictions.  Minnesota law governs the inclusion 
in the criminal history score of a prior felony offense from jurisdictions a 

jurisdiction other than Minnesota committed by an offender who was under 18 
years old in the juvenile section or adult section of the criminal history score. The 
offense should be included in the juvenile history section only if it meets the 

requirements in section 2.B.4. The prior can be included in the adult history 
section only if the factfinder determines that it is an offense for which the 

offender would have been certified to adult court if it had occurred in Minnesota.  
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Comment  
2.B.501.  The Commission concluded that convictions from other jurisdictions must, in fairness, be 

considered in the computation of an offender’s criminal history score. Convictions from 
jurisdictions other than Minnesota include convictions under the laws of any other state, or the 

federal government, including convictions under the Uniform Code of Military Justice, or 
convictions under the law of other nations. The prosecutor is solely responsible to prove the facts at 
sentencing necessary to justify consideration of out-of-state convictions for inclusion in the 

criminal history score, Williams v. State, 910 N.W.2d 736, 743 (Minn. 2018) (citation omitted), and 
the sentencing court is responsible for making the determination of whether and how such 

convictions are to be included. 

2.B.502.  The Commission concluded that convictions from other jurisdictions must, in fairness, be 

considered in the computation of an offender’s criminal history score. No uniform nationwide 
characterization of the terms “felony,” “gross misdemeanor,” and “misdemeanor” exists. Therefore, 

the Commission recognizes that criminal conduct may be characterized differently by the various 
state and federal criminal jurisdictions. Generally, the classification of prior offenses as petty 
misdemeanors, misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies should be determined by current 

Minnesota offense definitions and sentencing policies, except as provided in section 2.B.7. However, 
with respect to out-of-state offenses, the Commission chose not to apply Minnesota’s 2023 

redefinition of “felony,” which now defines a felony as including a 365-day sentence. This is 
consistent with the Commission’s policy before 2023 and with Minn. Stat. § 609.0342(b)’s 
treatment of pre-2023 365-day sentences as gross misdemeanor sentences. 

2.B.503.  For prior non-Minnesota controlled substance convictions, the amount and type of the 

controlled substance should be considered in the determination of the appropriate weight to be 
assigned to a prior felony sentence for a controlled substance offense.  

2.B.504.  A non-Minnesota conviction committed by a juvenile can only be included in the adult 
section of the criminal history score if the offender would have been certified as an adult under 

Minnesota law.  See State v. Marquetti, 322 N.W.2d 316 (Minn. 1982). 

6. Felony Enhancement Due to Prior Misdemeanor or Gross Misdemeanor 
Convictions.[Reserved.] 

a. Enhanced Felonies.  When the current offense is a felony solely because the 
offender has previous convictions for misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor 

offenses, the prior misdemeanor conviction(s) on the targeted misdemeanor list 
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provided in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e) or gross misdemeanor conviction(s) 
upon which the enhancement is based may be used in determining custody 

status, but cannot be used in calculating the remaining components of the 
offender’s criminal history score. 

b. Counting Prior Misdemeanors and Gross Misdemeanors; Future Felony.  Except as 
provide in paragraph c, misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor offenses used to 
enhance the current offense must be used in calculating the offender’s criminal 

history score on future offenses that are not enhanced felonies. Prior felony 
offenses used for enhancement must always be used in calculating the offender’s 

criminal history score. 

c. Counting Prior Misdemeanors and Gross Misdemeanors; Felony Driving While 
Impaired (DWI).  If the current offense is a felony DWI offense and the offender 

has a prior felony DWI offense, the prior felony DWI must be used in computing 
the criminal history score. The prior misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor 

offenses used to enhance the first prior felony DWI cannot be used in the 
offender’s criminal history. Any other misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor DWI 
offenses may be included as provided in section 2.B.3.g. 

Comment  

2.B.601.  A number of instances exist in Minnesota law in which misdemeanor or gross 
misdemeanor behavior carries a felony penalty as a result of the offender’s prior record. The 
Commission decided that in the interest of fairness, a prior misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor 

offense that elevated the misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor behavior to a felony should not also 
be used in criminal history points other than custody status. Only one prior offense should be 

excluded from the criminal history score calculation, unless more than one prior was required for 
the offense to be elevated to a felony. For example, Assault in the Fifth Degree is a felony if the 
offender has two or more convictions for assaultive behavior. In those cases, the two related priors 

at the lowest level should be excluded. Similarly, theft crimes of more than $500 but less than 
$1,000 are felonies if the offender has at least one previous conviction for an offense specified in 

that statute. In those cases, the prior related offense at the lowest level should be excluded.  

2.B.602.  A first-time first-degree (felony) driving while impaired (DWI) offense involves a DWI 

violation within ten years of the first of three or more prior impaired driving incidents. Because the 
DWI priors elevated this offense to the felony level, they should be excluded from the criminal 
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history score. Those predicate misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor offenses should also be 
excluded for a subsequent felony DWI, but any prior felony DWI would be counted as part of the 

felony criminal history score. 

* * * 

C. Presumptive Sentence 

1. Finding the Presumptive Sentence.  The presumptive sentence for a felony conviction 
is found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid located at the intersection of 

the criminal history score (horizontal axis) and the severity level (vertical axis). The 
conviction offense determines the severity level. The offender’s criminal history score 

is computed according to section 2.B above.  

a. Presumptive Disposition. For cases contained in cells outside of the shaded areas, 
the sentence should be executed. For cases contained in cells within the shaded 

areas, the sentence should be stayed unless the conviction offense carries a 
mandatory minimum sentence. Section 3.A governs conditions of stayed 

sentences. 

b. Presumptive Duration. Each cell on the Grids provides a fixed sentence duration. 
If a cell, or other Guidelines policy, provides a fixed sentence duration of 12 

months, a sentence duration of one year and one day is permissible without 
departure. Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for 

sentences that are presumptive commitments. For cells above the solid line, the 
The Guidelines provide both a fixed presumptive duration and a range of time for 

that sentence except as provided in section 2.C.3.c(1). The shaded areas of the 
grids do not display ranges. If the duration for a sentence that is a presumptive 
commitment is found in a shaded area, the standard range – 15 percent lower 

and 20 percent higher than the fixed duration displayed – is permissible without 
departure, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one year, and the 

maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. 

2.c. Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence.  
If the presumptive sentence duration in the appropriate cell on the applicable 
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Grid exceeds the statutory maximum sentence for the conviction offense, the 
statutory maximum is the presumptive sentence. See Presumptive Sentence 

Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence Table in Appendix 3.  

2. Custody Status at the Time of the Offense. 

a. Definitions. As used in this section (2.C.2), the following terms have the meanings 
given: 

(1) “Custody status” means a qualifying status that: 

(i) followed entry of guilty plea, guilty verdict, or conviction for a 
qualifying offense, and 

(ii) was in effect at any time when the person being sentenced committed 
the current offense. 

(2) “Qualifying status” means any of the following: 

(i) probation; 
(ii) parole; 

(iii) supervised release; 
(iv) conditional release following release from an executed prison 

sentence; 

(v) release pending sentencing; 
(vi) confinement in a jail, workhouse, or prison pending or after 

sentencing; and 
(vii) escape from confinement following an executed sentence. 

(3) “Qualifying offense” means: 

(i) a felony offense assigned a severity level of 3 or greater on the 
Standard Grid, a felony offense assigned a severity level of D3 or 

greater on the Drug Offender Grid, or a felony offense on the Sex 
Offender Grid; or 
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(ii) a felony offense equivalent, within the meaning of section 2.B.5, to an 
offense described in clause (i). 

(4) “Sex offense” means: 

(i) a felony offense on the Sex Offender Grid other than failure to register 
as a predatory offender, Minn. Stat. § 243.166; or 

(ii) a felony offense equivalent, within the meaning of section 2.B.5, to an 
offense described in clause (i). 

b. Durational Increase. If the person being sentenced was, at the time of the current 
offense, under a custody status for a qualifying offense, then the presumptive 

duration is increased by the amount shown in the custody status column 
pertaining to the Grid row for the current offense. 

c. Special Durational Increase for Sex Offenses With Sex-Offense Custody Status. 
Notwithstanding paragraph b, if the current offense is a sex offense and the 
person being sentenced was, at the time of the current offense, under a custody 

status for a felony sex offense, then the presumptive duration is increased by 
double the amount shown in the custody status column of the Sex Offender Grid 
pertaining to the Grid row for the current offense. 

d. Ranges; Statutory Maximum. Any change to the presumptive fixed sentence 
under paragraph b or c must also be applied to the upper and lower ends of the 

range found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid. Neither the 
presumptive fixed sentence nor a range may exceed the statutory maximum 

sentence for the current offense. 

e. Exceptions. 

(1) This section (2.C.2) does not apply to either of the following forms of custody 
status: 

(i) commitment for treatment or examination under Minn. R. Crim. P. 20; 

or 



MSGC Comprehensive Review Steering Committee Report – July 30, 2025 25 
 

(ii) juvenile custody status other than for an EJJ conviction. 

(2) A prior felony conviction that resulted in a non-felony sentence 
(misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor) is not a qualifying offense or a sex 
offense within the meaning of this section. 

(3) This section does not apply to a presumptive or permissive consecutive 
sentence pursuant to section 2.F. 

* * * 

D. Departures from the Guidelines 

1. Departures in General.  The sentences provided in the Grids are presumed to be 
appropriate for the crimes to which they apply. The court must pronounce a sentence 
of the applicable disposition and within the applicable prison range unless there exist 

identifiable, substantial, and compelling circumstances to support a departure. 

The court may depart from the presumptive disposition or duration provided in the 
Guidelines, and stay or impose a sentence that is deemed to be more appropriate 
than the presumptive sentence. A pronounced sentence for a felony conviction that 
is outside the appropriate prison range on the applicable Grid, including a stayed or 

imposed gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor sentence, is a departure from the 
Guidelines. A departure is not controlled by the Guidelines, but rather, is an exercise 

of judicial discretion constrained by statute or case law. 

a. Disposition and Duration.  Departures with respect to disposition and duration 
are separate decisions, each requiring written departure reasons. A court may 

depart from the presumptive disposition without departing from the presumptive 
duration, and vice-versa. 

b. Aggravated Departure.  When imposing a sentence that is an aggravated 
departure, it is recommended that the court pronounce a sentence proportional 
to the severity of the crime for which the sentence is imposed and the offender’s 

criminal history, and take into consideration the purposes and underlying 
principles of the Guidelines.  
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c. Departure Report.  In exercising the discretion to depart from a presumptive 
sentence, the court must disclose in writing or on the record the particular 

substantial and compelling circumstances that make the departure more 
appropriate than the presumptive sentence. The reasons must be stated in the 

sentencing order or recorded in the departure report and filed with the 
Commission. 

d. Departure Reasons.   

(1) Because departures are by definition exceptions to the Guidelines, the 
departure factors in this section are advisory, except as otherwise established 

by case law. 

(2) Courts have historically limited the applicability of departure factors classified 
as “offender-related” to dispositional departures. While the sentencing court 

may find such analysis useful to its identification and articulation of 
substantial and compelling reasons to support a departure, its decision to 

depart from the presumptive disposition, duration, or both, should ultimately 
be based on whether the identified departure factor reasonably and logically 
supports such a decision. 

e. Revoked Stay of Adjudication.  When a felony stay of adjudication is vacated and 
conviction is entered, the Guidelines must be applied. To the extent that the 

sentence pronounced immediately following a revocation of a stay of 
adjudication is contrary to the Guidelines presumptive sentence, that sentence is 

a departure. 

f. Offender’s Demand for Execution. A sentence that is executed pursuant to an 
offender’s right to demand execution is not an aggravated dispositional 

departure. 

* * * 

3. Factors that may be used as Reasons for Departure.  The following is a nonexclusive 
list of factors that may be used as reasons for departure: 
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a. Mitigating Factors. 

(1) The victim was an aggressor in the incident. 

(2) The offender played a minor or passive role in the crime or participated under 
circumstances of coercion or duress. 

(3) The offender, because of physical or mental impairment, lacked substantial 
capacity for judgment when the offense was committed. The voluntary use of 
intoxicants (drugs or alcohol) does not fall within the purview of this factor. 

(4) The offender’s presumptive sentence is a commitment but not a mandatory 
minimum sentence, and either of the following exist: 

(a) The current conviction offense is at Severity Level 1 or Severity Level 2 
and the offender received all of his or her prior felony sentences 
during fewer than three separate court appearances; or 

(b) The current conviction offense is at Severity Level 3 or Severity Level 4 
and the offender received all of his or her prior felony sentences 

during one court appearance. 

(5) Other substantial grounds exist that tend to excuse or mitigate the offender’s 
culpability, although not amounting to a defense. 

(6) The court is ordering an alternative placement under Minn. Stat. § 609.1055 
for an offender with a serious and persistent mental illness. 

(7) The offender is particularly amenable to probation. This factor may, but need 
not, be supported by the fact that the offender is particularly amenable to a 

relevant program of individualized treatment in a probationary setting. 

(8) In the case of a controlled substance offense conviction, the offender is found 
by the district court to be particularly amenable to probation based on 

adequate evidence that the offender is chemically dependent and has been 
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accepted by, and can respond to, a treatment program in accordance with 
Minn. Stat. § 152.152. 

(9) In the case of a qualifying United States military service member or veteran, 
the offender is found by the district court to meet the criteria for particular 

amenability to probation found in Minn. Stat. § 609.1056, subd. 4. 

(10) The person being sentenced has no prior criminal conviction or stay of 
adjudication. A criminal history score of zero is not sufficient to qualify for this 

factor. This factor is not available if the current offense is ranked at severity 
level 10 or 11 on the Standard Grid or is on the Sex Offender Grid. 

* * * 

G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers  

* * * 

12. Attempt or Conspiracy to Commit First-Degree Murder.  When an offender is 
sentenced for attempt or conspiracy to commit murder in the first degree under 
Minn. Stat. § 609.185 or murder of an unborn child in the first degree under Minn. 
Stat. § 609.2661, the presumptive disposition is commitment. The presumptive 

durations are as follows: 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE  
Custody 
Status 0 1 2 3 4 5 

6 or 
more 

 

Attempt or conspiracy 
to commit Murder 1st Degree 

180 
153–216 

190 
162–228 

200 
170–240 

210 
179–240¹ 

220 
187–240¹ 

230 
196–240¹ 

240 
204–240¹ 

 +10 

¹ Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive 
commitment to state imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, 
provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one year and the maximum sentence is not more 
than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2. 

* * * 
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4.A.  Sentencing Guidelines Grid 

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary 
range within which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with 
stayed felony sentences may be subject to local confinement. 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 

Example offenses listed in italics 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE  
Custody 
Status 0 1 2 3 4 5 

6 or 
more 

 

Murder 2nd Degree 
(intentional) 11 

306 
261–367 

326 
278–391 

346 
295–415 

366 
312–439 

386 
329–463 

406 
346–480¹ 

426 
363–480¹ 

 +20 

Murder 2nd Degree 
(unintentional) 10 150 

128–180 
165 

141–198 
180 

153–216 
195 

166–234 
210 

179–252 
225 

192–270 
240 

204–288 
 +15 

Murder 3rd Degree (drugs); 
Assault 1st Degree 9 86 

74–103 
98 

84–117 
110 

94–132 
122 

104–146 
134 

114–160 
146 

125–175 
158 

135–189 
 +12 

Agg. Robbery 1st Degree; 
Burglary 1st Deg. (assault) 8 48 

41–57 
58 

50–69 
68 

58–81 
78 

67–93 
88 

75–105 
98 

84–117 
108 

92–129 
 +10 

Driving While Impaired 
1st Degree 7 36 

31–43 
42 

36–50 
48 

41–57 
54 

46–64 
60 

51–72 
66 

57–79 
72 

62–84¹, ² 
 +6 

Assault 2nd Degree; 
Ineligibly Possess Firearm 6 21 

18–25 
27 

23–32 
33 

29–39 
39 

34–46 
45 

39–54 
51 

44–61 
57 

49–68 
 +6 

Burglary 2nd Degree; 
Simple Robbery 5 

18 
16–21 

23 
20–27 

28 
24–33 

33 
29–39 

38 
33–45 

43 
37–51 

48 
41–57 

 +5 

Assault 3rd Degree; 
Felony Domestic Assault 4 12 

12–14 
15 

13–18 
18 

16–21 
21 

18–25 
24 

21–28 
27 

23–32 
30 

26–36 
 +3 

Theft of Over $5,000; 
Vehicle Use w/out Consent 3 12 

12–14 
13 

12–15 
15 

13–18 
17 

15–20 
19 

17–22 
21 

18–25 
23 

20–27 
 +2 

Theft of $5,000 or Less; 
Check Forgery ($251–$2,500) 2 12 

12–14 
12 

12–14 
13 

12–15 
15 

13–18 
17 

15–20 
19 

17–22 
21 

18–25 
 +2 

Assault 4th Degree;  
Fleeing a Peace Officer 1 12 

12–14 
12 

12–14 
12 

12–14 
13 

12–15 
15 

13–18 
17 

15–20 
19 

17–22 
 +2 

 

 
Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. First-degree murder has a mandatory life sentence and is 
excluded from the Guidelines under Minn. Stat. § 609.185. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those 
sentences controlled by law. 

 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to 364 days of confinement and other non-
jail sanctions can be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of 
the Grid always carry a presumptive commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 

¹ Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to 
state imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum 
sentence is not less than one year and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 
2.C.1-2.  

² For Severity Level 7 offenses other than Felony DWI, the standard range of 20% higher than the fixed duration 
applies at CHS 6 or more. (The range is 62-86.) 

* * * 
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4.B.  Sex Offender Grid 

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary 
range within which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with 
stayed felony sentences may be subject to local confinement. 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 

Example offenses listed in italics 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE  
Custody 
Status 0 1 2 3 4 5 

6 or 
more 

 

Criminal Sexual Conduct 
(CSC) 1st Degree A 

144 
144²–172 

156 
144²–187 

168 
144²–201 

180 
153–216 

234 
199–280 

306 
261–360 

360 
306–360³ 

 +18 

CSC 2nd Degree, 
contact by harm/force B 90 

90²–108 
110 

94–132 
130 

111–156 
150 

128–180 
195 

166–234 
255 

217–306 
300 

255–360 
 +15 

CSC 3rd Degree, 
penetration by coercion C 48 

41–57 
62 

53–74 
76 

65–91 
90 

77–108 
117 

100–140 
153 

131–183 
180 

153–216 
 +9 

CSC 3rd Degree, 
penetration of child 14–15 D 36 

31–43 
48 

41–57 
60 

51–72 
70 

60–84 
91 

78–109 
119 

102–142 
140 

119–168 
 +7 

CSC 4th Degree, 
contact by coercion E 

24 
21–28 

36 
31–43 

48 
41–57 

60 
51–72 

78 
67–93 

102 
87–120 

120 
102–120³ 

 +6 

CSC 4th Degree, 
contact of child 14–15 F 

18 
16–21 

27 
23–32 

36 
31–43 

45 
39–54 

59 
51–70 

77 
66–92 

84 
72–100 

 +4 

Possession of Child 
Sexual Abuse Material G 

15 
13–18 

20 
17–24 

25 
22–30 

30 
26–36 

39 
34–46 

51 
44–60 

60 
51–60³ 

 +3 

CSC 4th Degree, 
nonconsensual penetration H 12 

12–14 
14 

12–16 
16 

14–19 
18 

16–21 
24 

21–24³ 
24³ 

24–24 
24³ 

24–24 
 +2 

Failure to Register as a 
Predatory Offender I 12¹ 

12¹–14 
14 

12¹–16 
16 

14–19 
18 

16–21 
24 

21–28 
30 

26–36 
36 

31–43 
 +2 

¹ 12¹=One year and one day mandatory minimum under Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 5(b). 

 
Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. Sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2, have 
mandatory life sentences and are excluded from the Guidelines. See section 2.E, for policies regarding 
those sentences controlled by law, including conditional release terms for sex offenders. 

 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to 364 days of confinement and other non-
jail sanctions can be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenders in the shaded area of 
the Grid may qualify for a mandatory life sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 4. See sections 2.C 
and 2.E. 

² Sex Trafficking is not subject to a 144- or 90-month minimum statutory presumptive sentence so the standard range 
of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration applies. (For Severity Level A, Criminal History Scores 0, 1, & 2, 
the ranges are 123–172, 133–187, & 143–201, respectively. For Severity Level B, Criminal History Score 0, the range is 
77–108.) 

³ Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to 
state imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum 
sentence is not less than one year and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 
2.C.1–2. For Severity Level H, all displayed durations, including the upper and lower ranges, are constrained by the 
statutory maximum at criminal history scores above 4. 

* * * 
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4.C.  Drug Offender Grid 

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denotes range within 
which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed 
felony sentences may be subjected to local confinement. 
 

SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 

Example offenses listed in italics 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE  
Custody 
Status 0 1 2 3 4 5 

6 or 
more 

 

Aggravated Controlled 
Substance Crime 1st Deg. D9 86 

74*–103 
98 

84*–117 
110 

94*–132 
122 

104*–146 
134 

114*–160 
146 

125*–175 
158 

135*–189 
 +12 

Controlled Substance Crime 
1st Degree D8 65 

56*–78 
75 

64*–90 
85 

73*–102 
95 

81*–114 
105 

90*–126 
115 

98*–138 
125 

107*–150 
 +10 

Controlled Substance Crime 
2nd Degree D7 48 

41–57 
58 

50–69 
68 

58–81 
78 

67–93 
88 

75–105 
98 

84–117 
108 

92–129 
 +10 

Controlled Substance Crime 
3rd Degree D6 21 

18–25 
27 

23–32 
33 

29–39 
39 

34–46 
45 

39–54 
51 

44–61 
57 

49–68 
 +6 

Possess Meth Precursors 
with Intent D5 

18 
16–21 

23 
20–27 

28 
24–33 

33 
29–39 

38 
33–45 

43 
37–51 

48 
41–57 

 +5 

Controlled Substance Crime 
4th Degree D4 12 

12–14 
15 

13–18 
18 

16–21 
21 

18–25 
24 

21–28 
27 

23–32 
30 

26–36 
 +3 

Meth/Fentanyl Crimes 
Involving Children D3 

12 
12–14 

13 
12–15 

15 
13–18 

17 
15–20 

19 
17–22 

21 
18–25 

23 
20–27 

 +2 

Controlled Substance Crime 
5th Degree D2 12 

12–14 
12 

12–14 
13 

12–15 
15 

13–18 
17 

15–20 
19 

17–22 
21 

18–25 
 +2 

Sale of Simulated 
Controlled Substance D1 12 

12–14 
12 

12–14 
12 

12–14 
13 

12–15 
15 

13–18 
17 

15–20 
19 

17–22 
 +2 

* Lower range may not apply. See section 2.C.3.c(1) and Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subdivisions 3(c) & 3(d). 

 
Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. 

 
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to 364 days of confinement and other non-
jail sanctions can be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of 
the Grid always carry a presumptive commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E. 

* * * 
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5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 

Offenses subject to a mandatory life sentence, including first-degree murder and certain sex 
offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subdivision 2, are excluded from the Guidelines by law. 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

* * * 

609.221 subd. 4 Assault 1st Degree (Great Bodily Harm Upon Official 
by Dangerous Weapon or Deadly Force) 

11** 

* * * 

609.2231 subd. 4 (b) Assault 4th Degree Motivated by Bias 1** 

* * * 

609.322 subd. 1(a) Sex Trafficking 1st Degree B* 

* * * 

609.343 subd. 
1(a)(b)(c)(d)(e) & 
1a(a)(b)(c)(d)(h)(i) 

Criminal Sexual Conduct 2nd Degree B* 

609.343 subd. 1a(e)(f)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 2nd Degree D 

609.344 subd. 1(a)(b)(c)
(d) & 1a(c)(d)(g)(h)(i) 

Criminal Sexual Conduct 3rd Degree C* 

* * * 

609.4751, subd. 3 Impersonating a Peace Officer 2* 

* * * 

609.485 subd. 4(a)(4) Escape from Civil Commitment 1* 

* * * 

609.595 subd. 1a(a) Damage to Property (Motivated by Bias) 1* 

609.596 subd. 1 Killing or Harming a Public Safety Dog Unranked 

609.597 subd. 3(3) Assaulting or Harming a Police Horse 1* 

 
** See section 2.C.22.C.1.c and Appendix 3 to determine the presumptive duration. Depending on the 
offender’s criminal history score, the presumptive duration may exceed the statutory maximum. 
* See section 2.C.22.C.1.c and Appendix 3 to determine the presumptive duration. Depending on the 
offender’s criminal history score, the presumptive duration may exceed the statutory maximum. 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

* * * 

609.662 subd. 2(b)(2) Duty to Render Aid (Substantial Bodily Harm) 1* 

* * * 

609.713 subd. 3(a) Threats of Violence (Replica Firearm) 1* 

* * * 

609.746 subd. 1(h) Surreptitious Observation Device (Minor Victim and 
Sexual Intent) 

G* 

* * * 

609.776 Interference with Emergency Communications 5* 

* * * 

609.78 subd. 2c Fictitious Emergency Call (Response to Home of 
Official) 

1* 

* * * 

617.246 subd. 2(b) 3(b) 
4(b) 

Use of Minors in Sexual Performance or Child Sexual 
Abuse Material (Subsequent, by Predatory 
Offender, or Child Under 14) 

C* 

617.247 subd. 3(a) Dissemination of Child Sexual Abuse Material  E 

617.247 subd. 3(b) Dissemination of Child Sexual Abuse Material 
(Subsequent, by Predatory Offender, or Child 
Under 14) 

C* 

* * * 

624.7141 subd. 1 Transferring Firearm to Ineligible Person 2* 

* * * 

* * * 

 
* See section 2.C.22.C.1.c and Appendix 3 to determine the presumptive duration. Depending on the 
offender’s criminal history score, the presumptive duration may exceed the statutory maximum. 
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8. Severe Violent Offense List 

Each of the following is a “severe violent offense” within the meaning of sections 2.B.2.e and 
section 2.G.13. Attempt or conspiracy is included, as is an equivalent felony from a jurisdiction 
other than Minnesota. 

* * * 

Appendix 3.  Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum 
Sentence Reference Table 

This table is for convenience when determining if a presumptive duration exceeds the statutory 
maximum sentence as described in section 2.C.22.C.1.c. Offenses identified in the table below 

have presumptive durations that exceed the statutory maximums at the Criminal History Score 
(CHS) indicated on the table. These are offenses for which the applicable grid does not adjust 
the duration or range to be at or below the statutory maximum. The table may not be 

exhaustive. 

* * * 
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MEMORANDUM 
To: Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission 

From: Kelly Lyn Mitchell, Chair 

Hon. Michelle Larkin, Vice-Chair 

Date: December 12, 2024  

Subject: Comprehensive Review Schedule 

In October, the Sentencing Guidelines Commission used stakeholder feedback and research results to 
identify the major components of the comprehensive review. Specifically, the Commission determined that 
the comprehensive review should include proposals that address offense severity rankings, the criminal 
history score, and high departure rates. The Commission also determined that any proposals should aim to  
simplify the Guidelines to the greatest extent possible.  

Subsequently, in December, Minnesota received a budget forecast indicating there may be structural 
imbalances requiring long-term adjustments in state spending. As a result, although the Commission has 
requested additional funds to continue to support the comprehensive review, the Commission may need to 
complete this work using existing resources.  

Given both the clarity the Commission now has regarding the review, and the fiscal outlook, the Chair and 
Vice-Chair believe it is prudent to develop a plan to complete the comprehensive review by the end of 
2025. This memo provides the broad outline for that plan. 

Approach: 

The Commission will proceed on three tracks simultaneously: 
• Track 1: A comprehensive review steering committee will provide guidance to staff on developing a

ranking exercise and develop a criminal history proposal.
o Steering Committee:  Chair Mitchell, Vice-Chair Larkin, Commissioners Knutson, Ladd,

Middlebrook, Reeves.
• Track 2: UMN Research Team and MSGC Research Staff will complete additional research to assist

in proposal development.
• Track 3: The Commission will work on select topics while larger proposals are in development.

Additional subcommittees may be formed as needed. 
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Timeline: 

Track Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 
Track 1: 
Steering 
Committee 
 

Provide guidance to staff on ranking exercise 
 
Develop a wholistic criminal history proposal 

       

Track 2:  
Research 
 
(U of M and 
MSGC Staff) 

Out of State offenses 
 
Hernandizing 
 
High departure rates 

Staff develops impact analyses based on 
proposals 
 
U of M and staff researchers perform 
additional research as needed 

   

Track 3: 
Comm’n 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mtg Times 

Final 
report to 
legislature 
 
 

Purposes 
and 
principles 

Ranking Exercise 
(Mar or Apr) 
 
Additional discrete topics 
 

Review 
and rank 
any new 
offenses 
from 
legislative 
session 

Public 
Hearing 
 
Confirm 
Rankings 

Receive  
and vet 
proposals 

Continue 
to work 
through 
and 
refine 
proposals 

Continue 
to work 
through 
and 
refine 
proposals 

Review 
and vote 
on final 
proposals 
to send 
to public 
hearing 

Public 
Hearing 

3-4:30 p.m. 1-3:30 p.m. 
10 a.m. – 

4 p.m.  
1-4:00 p.m. or  
10 a.m.-4 p.m.  1-3:30 p.m. 

The Commission will hold shorter meetings while the policy proposals are in development. This will allow the advisory subcommittee to use 
that time to work on proposal development. The advisory subcommittee will provide a progress update during regular Commission meetings.  

Research flow: 

• Out of state offenses – research results will inform the criminal history score proposal and then go to the Commission. 
• Hernandizing – research results inform the criminal history score proposal and then go to Commission. 
• High departure rates – research results could inform the rankings exercise if reranking is an option or move directly to the full 

Commission if a legislative solution is needed. 
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Comprehensive Review Topics (2025) 

Goal of Comprehensive Review 
In October 2024, the Sentencing Guidelines Commission used stakeholder feedback and research 
results to identify the major components of the comprehensive review. Specifically, the 
Commission determined that the comprehensive review should include proposals that address 
offense severity rankings, the criminal history score, and high departure rates. The Commission 
also determined that any proposals should aim to simplify the Guidelines to the greatest extent 
possible. 

Progress 
White = not included in draft package 
Light blue = included in draft package 
Light orange = still in discussion; will determine if moving forward at Steering Committee meeting 

Proposal Included in Draft Package? 
Offense Severity Rankings 

Felony Motor Vehicle Ranking (includes DWI, 
criminal vehicular homicide, etc.) 

Yes 

Assaults, Protective Orders, Aggravated 
Robbery 

Yes 

Status Crimes (Felon with a Gun, Failure to 
Register) 

Yes 

Drug Offenses Delayed to 2026 
Motor Vehicle Theft Delayed to 2026 
Offenses Resulting in Death Delayed to 2026 

Criminal History 
Reshape criminal history categories (add true 
zero column, add 7 column) 

No. Discussed extensively, but no consensus 
Proposed adding a departure reason for first-
time offenders instead 

Remove juvenile points from criminal history 
score 

Yes 

Remove custody status from the criminal 
history score 

Steering Committee did not reach consensus 
on removing custody status altogether; 
proposal to move it out of the score and create 
a new column on the grid adding an additional 
penalty is included in the package 

Eliminate (or cap) Hernandizing No. Discussed but no consensus 
Simplify county for misdemeanors/gross 
misdemeanors used to enhance felonies 

Yes 

Eliminate felony upweighting No. Discussed but consensus was not to 
pursue this idea 
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Proposal Included in Draft Package? 
Simplify counting for out-of-state offenses Mixed; steering Committee reached consensus 

on retaining the current rule but shifting the 
burden from probation officers to prosecutors 

Add a departure reason for criminal history 
overstating or understating the person’s record 

No 

Reduce decay time to 10 years for felonies, 7 
years for misdemeanors/gross misdemeanors 

Yes 

Establish a rule regarding stays of imposition 
and stays of execution 

No. Discussed but no consensus  

High Departure Rates 
Focus offense severity rankings review on 
offenses with the highest departure rates 

Yes 

Consider adding border boxes to the standard 
and drug grids 

No. Not much discussion 

Allow mitigated durations departures for 
offender-based factors 

Yes 

Additional Items 
Add ranges to shaded cells on the grid Yes 
Revise the description for offenses at severity 
level 4 on the main grid 

Yes 

Change the numbering system for the 
guidelines to make them easier to navigate 

Delay to 2026 

Review Purposes and Principles section In progress at full Commission  
 




