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Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission 
 

Adopted Modifications to the  
Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary 

Effective Date: August 1, 2013 
 
 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission adopted the following legislative and 
non-legislative modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary, effective 
August 1, 2012. 
 
A. Legislative Modification – Theft of Motor Fuel from Retailer 

(2012 Legislative Session) 
 

Reference:  2012 Minn. Session Laws, Ch. 173, Sec. 6. 
 
The Commission reviewed the following new offense, which took effect August 1, 2012, 
and adopted the following modifications to the Minn. Sentencing Guidelines. 

 

Description: Theft of motor fuel from a retailer under Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 
2(a)(18), went into effect August 1, 2012. The penalties for the offense are found in 
subdivision 3 of the theft statute.  It is a felony if the value is over $1,000.   
 
Adopted Proposal: Modified Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5.B, by ranking the offense 
according to the Theft Offense list; Severity Level 3 for theft over $5,000; and Severity 
Level 2 for theft $5,000 or less. 
 
Adopted Modifications: 

 
  5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 

 * * * 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(18) 

Theft of Motor Fuel from Retailer (Over 
$5,000) 

3 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(18) 

Theft of Motor Fuel from Retailer  ($5,000 
or Less) 

2 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?doctype=Chapter&year=2012&type=0&id=173
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B. Legislative Modification – New and Amended Offenses                                  
(2013 Legislative Session) 

 
The Commission reviewed the following amended offenses and new offenses, which 
were enacted into law by the 2013 Legislature, and adopted the following modifications 
to the Minn. Sentencing Guidelines. 

 
1. Amended Offense – Aggregation of Financial Exploitation of Vulnerable Adults 

(Minn. Stat. § 609.2335). 
 

Reference: 2013 Minn. Session Laws, Ch. 5. 
 
Description: Subdivision 4 was added to the law for financial exploitation of 
vulnerable adult statute (Minn. Stat. § 609.2335) and provides for aggregating the 
value of the money or property or services received by the defendant within a six-
month period.  The defendant is then charged according to the criminal penalties in 
subdivision 3. The Commission ranks financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult 
over $1,000 at Severity Level 4; over $5,000 at Severity Level 5; and over $35,000 at 
Severity Level 7.  The Commission recognized that because the current rankings are 
based on dollar amount, this new aggregation provision may result in an increase in 
the number of people who are charged with felony-level offenses as well as an 
increase in the number of felony offenses sentenced at higher severity levels. 
 
Adopted Proposal: After considering the amendment, the Commission decided to 
maintain the existing Severity Level rankings in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5, 
and to maintain the current list of eligible offenses for permissive consecutive 
sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 
 
 

2. New Offenses. The Commission reviewed the offenses that were newly enacted by 
the 2013 Legislature, and adopted the following Severity Level rankings and 
modifications to the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive sentencing: 

 
a. Emergency Telephone Calls and Communications                                                

(Minn. Stat. § 609.78) 
 
 References:  2013 Minn. Session Laws, Ch. 20.  

 
Description: New offenses were added to the law for emergency telephone calls 
and communications.   

 
1) It is a felony under subdivision 2a, if a person places an emergency call and 

reports a fictitious emergency with the intent of prompting an emergency 
response, and the call triggers an emergency response and, as a result of the 
response, someone suffers great bodily harm or death. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=5&year=2013&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=20&year=2013&type=0
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2) It is a felony under subdivision 2b(2), if a person intentionally uses multiple 
communication devices or electronic means to block, interfere with, 
overload, or otherwise prevent the emergency call center’s system from 
functioning properly, and these actions make the system unavailable to 
someone needing emergency assistance.   

 
3) It is a felony under subdivision 2b(1), if a person commits a third or 

subsequent violation of the misdemeanor offense of making or initiating an 
emergency call, knowing that no emergency exists, and with the intent to 
disrupt, interfere with, or reduce the provision of emergency services or the 
emergency call center’s resources, remaining silent, or making abusive or 
harassing statements to the call recipient.   

 
Adopted Proposal: The Commission adopted the Severity Level rankings 
outlined in the proposed modifications below. 

 
Adopted Modifications: 

  
  5.A.  Offense Severity Reference Table 
  
  * * * 
 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

8 Emergency Telephone Calls and 
Communications (Reporting Fictitious 
Emergency Resulting in Serious Injury 
or Death) 

609.78, subd. 2a 

5 Emergency Telephone Calls and 
Communications (Blocks, Interferes, 
Prevents Using Multiple 
Communication Devices or Electronic 
Means) 

609.78, subd. 2b(2) 

4 Emergency Telephone Calls and 
Communications (3rd or Subsequent, 
Making Calls When No Emergency 
Exists) 

609.78, subd. 2b(1) 

  
  * * * 
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5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
  * * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.78, subd. 2a Emergency Telephone Calls and 
Communications (Reporting Fictitious 
Emergency Resulting in Serious Injury or 
Death) 

8 

609.78, subd. 
2b(1) 

Emergency Telephone Calls and 
Communications (3rd or Subsequent, 
Making Calls When No Emergency Exists) 

4 

609.78, subd. 
2b(2) 

Emergency Telephone Calls and 
Communications (Blocks, Interferes, 
Prevents Using Multiple Communication 
Devices or Electronic Means) 

5 

  
  * * * 

 
Adopted Proposal: The Commission added the offenses outlined in the 
proposed modifications below to the list of eligible offenses for permissive 
consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 
 
Adopted Modifications: 
 

 6.  Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 

 * * * 

Statute 
Number Offense Title 

609.78, subd. 2a 

Emergency Telephone Calls and Communications 
(Reporting Fictitious Emergency Resulting in Serious 
Injury or Death) 
 

609.78, subd. 
2b(2) 

Emergency Telephone Calls and Communications 
(Blocks, Interferes, Prevents Using Multiple 
Communication Devices or Electronic Means) 
 

 
  * * * 
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b. Wildfire Arson (Minn. Stat. § 609.5641) 
 

References:  2013 Minn. Session Laws, Ch. 139. 
 

Description: The existing law of wildfire arson defined as intentionally setting a 
fire to burn out of control on land of another containing timber, underbrush, 
grass, or other vegetative combustible material was amended by adding new 
offenses for which the statutory maximums were based on the number of 
buildings, acres, or size of crop loss that are damaged or threatened with 
damage. The penalty for the existing felony was moved from subdivision 1 to 
subdivision 1a(a). 

 
1) Under subdivision 1a(b), the statutory maximum is ten years when the fire 

damages or threatened to damage in excess of five dwellings, burns 500 or 
more acres, or damages crops in excess of $100,000.   
 

2) Under subdivision 1a(c), the statutory maximum is 20 years when the fire 
damages or threatened to damage in excess of 100 dwellings, burns 1,500 or 
more acres, or damages crops in excess of $250,000.   
 

3) Additionally, subdivision 1a(d) is added for intentionally setting a fire where 
the fire causes another person to suffer demonstrable bodily harm.  The 
statutory maximum is ten years. 

 
Adopted Proposal: The Commission adopted the Severity Level rankings as 
outlined below. 
 
Adopted Modifications: 

  
  5.A.  Offense Severity Reference Table 
  
  * * * 
 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

8 Wildfire Arson (Damage over 100 
Dwellings, Burns 1,500 Acres or More, 
or Crops in Excess of $250,000) 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(c) 

7 Wildfire Arson (Damage over Five 
Dwellings, Burns 500 Acres or More, or 
Crops in Excess of $100,000) 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(b) 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=139&doctype=Chapter&year=2013&type=0
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Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

5 Wildfire Arson (Demonstrable Bodily 
Harm) 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(d) 

2 Wildfire Arson 609.5641 subd. 
1a(a) 

  
  * * * 

 
5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 

 
  * * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(a) 

Wildfire Arson 2 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(b) 

Wildfire Arson (Damage over Five 
Dwellings, Burns 500 Acres or More, or 
Crops in Excess of $100,000) 

7 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(c) 

Wildfire Arson (Damage over 100 
Dwellings, Burns 1,500 Acres or More, or 
Crops in Excess of $250,000) 

8 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(d) 

Wildfire Arson (Demonstrable Bodily 
Harm) 

5 

  
  * * * 
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Commission Proposal: The Commission added the offenses outlined in the 
proposed modifications below to the list of eligible offenses for permissive 
consecutive sentencing in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 6. 
Adopted Modifications: 
 

6.  Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(b) 

Wildfire Arson (Damage over Five Dwellings, Burns 500 
Acres or More, or Crops in Excess of $100,000) 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(c) 

Wildfire Arson (Damage over 100 Dwellings, Burns 
1,500 Acres or More, or Crops in Excess of $250,000) 

609.5641 subd. 
1a(d) 

Wildfire Arson (Demonstrable Bodily Harm) 

  

 * * * 

 

C. Legislative Action – Presumptive Executed Sentences for Repeat Sex Offenders 
(2013 Legislative Session) 
 
References: Chapter 86, Art 3, Sec. 10 - S.F. 671 
 
Description: Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, was amended to provide for presumptive 
executed prison sentences of at least 36 months for offenders sentenced for first- 
through fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct offenses under Minn. Stat. §§ 609.342 to 
345, and criminal sexual predatory conduct under Minn. Stat. § 609.3453, if the 
offender has a previous sex offense conviction.   The court may stay execution of the 
presumptive sentence if it finds that the offender is accepted by and can respond to a 
long-term inpatient treatment program for sex offenders.  If the sentence is stayed, the 
court must include as conditions of probation some term of incarceration in a local 
facility and a requirement that the offender successfully complete the treatment 
program and aftercare. 

 
Adopted Proposal: The Commission modified Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 2.C.3.a to 
address presumptive executed prison sentences of at least 36 months for repeat sex 
offenders, as outlined below: 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=86&doctype=Chapter&year=2013&type=0
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Adopted Modifications: 
 

3. Finding the Presumptive Sentence for Certain Offenses. 

a. Sex Offenses.  Under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, certain sex offenders are subject 

to mandatory life sentences and certain repeat sex offenders are subject to 

presumptive executed prison sentences of at least 36 months.  

(1) Mandatory Life Sentence. The Sentencing Guidelines presumptive 

sentence does not apply to offenders subject to mandatory life without 

the possibility of release under subdivision 2 of that statute. For offenders 

subject to life with the possibility of release under subdivisions 3 and 4 of 

that statute, the court must specify a minimum term of imprisonment, 

based on the Sentencing Guidelines presumptive sentence as determined 

in section 2.C, or any applicable mandatory minimum sentence not 

contained in Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, that must be served before the 

offender may be considered for release. 

(2) Presumptive Executed Prison Sentences of at least 36 Months. Except 

when a life sentence applies, if the current conviction offense is criminal 

sexual conduct in the first, second, third, or fourth degree (Minn. Stat. §§ 

609.342 to 345) or criminal sexual predatory conduct (609.3453) within 

15 years of a previous sex offense conviction, under Minn. Stat. § 

609.3455, subd. 10, the presumptive disposition is commitment.  The 

presumptive duration is at least 36 months, or the fixed duration 

indicated in the appropriate cell on the Grid, whichever is longer. 

 
  * * * 
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D. Non-Legislative Modifications 
 

The following are adopted proposals related to non-legislative modifications to the 
Minn. Sentencing Guidelines. 

 
1. Use of Expunged Convictions in Criminal History Score Calculation 
 

Description: The Guidelines do not address whether an expunged conviction is 
eligible for possible use in future criminal history. Minn. Stat. § 609A.03, states that 
an ex parte order may open an expunged record for sentencing purposes. The 
Commission agrees that the statute is clear on the process required for including an 
expunged offense in criminal history.   

 
Adopted Proposal: The Commission added a comment to Minn. Sentencing 
Guidelines § 2.B, directing practitioners to the governing statute. 

   
Adopted Modifications: 

 

2.B.03.  Minn. Stat. § 609A.03, subd. 7(b) provides that: 

Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order: 

(1) an expunged record may be opened for purposes of a criminal investigation, 
prosecution, or sentencing, upon an ex parte court order; 

.  .  . 

Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, an 
agency or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall inform the requester 
of the existence of a sealed record and of the right to obtain access to it as provided 
by this paragraph. . . . 

 
 
2. Attempts and Conspiracies that Carry Mandatory Minimums 

 
Description: Non-substantive Guidelines revisions that were effective August 1, 
2012, caused them to be unclear about how to determine the appropriate 
presumptive duration of the sentence when the offender is convicted of an attempt 
or conspiracy and the underlying offense carries a mandatory minimum sentence. 

 
Adopted Proposal: The Commission modified Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 2.E 
and 2.G, to clarify that the duration is the mandatory minimum or one-half the 
duration on the appropriate Grid, whichever is longer. 
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Adopted Modifications: 
 

E.  Mandatory Sentences 

1.  In General. When an offender is convicted of an offense with a statutory 

mandatory minimum sentence of one year and one day or more, the 

presumptive disposition is commitment even if the presumptive sentence 

would ordinarily fall within the shaded area on the applicable Grid. The 

presumptive duration of the prison sentence is the mandatory minimum 

sentence in statute or the duration provided in the appropriate cell on the 

applicable Grid, whichever is longer.   When an offender is sentenced for 

an attempted offense under Minn. Stat. § 609.17 or conspiracy to commit 

an offense under Minn. Stat. § 609.175, and the underlying offense has a 

mandatory minimum sentence of a year and a day or more, the 

presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum sentence in statute or 

one-half the duration found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid, 

whichever is longer.  See Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences 

Reference Table in Appendix 1. 

 * * *  

G.  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers 

* * * 

2.   Attempt or Conspiracy.  When an offender is sentenced for an attempted 

offense under Minn. Stat. § 609.17 or for conspiracy to commit an offense 

under Minn. Stat. § 609.175, the presumptive duration is one-half of that 

found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid for the underlying 

offense. When the underlying offense has a mandatory minimum 

sentence of a year and a day or more, the presumptive duration is the 

mandatory minimum sentence in statute or one-half the duration found 

in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid, whichever is longer. 

  * * * 
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3. Add Offense to the Permissive Consecutive Sentencing List –  
Fleeing a Peace Officer in a Motor Vehicle (No Injury) 

 
Description:  Fleeing a peace officer in a motor vehicle without any resulting injury 
under Minn. Stat. § 609.487, subd. 3 is not on the list of offenses eligible for 
permissive consecutive sentencing; however, the acts as described in subd. 4, 
resulting in substantial bodily harm, great bodily harm, or death are on the list.   

 
Adopted Proposal: The Commission proposes added the offense of fleeing a peace 
officer in a motor vehicle without any resulting injury under Minn. Stat. § 609.487, 
subd. 3, to the permissive consecutive sentencing list in Minn. Sentencing Guidelines 
§ 6.  This modification was made to address offenders with high criminal history 
scores who habitually flee but are not currently eligible for additional prison 
confinement.  

   
Adopted Modifications: 

 
  6.  Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 

 

Statute Number Offense Title 

609.487, subd. 3 Fleeing Peace Officer 

609.487, subd. 4(b) Fleeing Peace Officer (Great Bodily Harm) 

609.487, subd. 4(c) Fleeing Peace Officer (Substantial Bodily Harm) 

609.487, subd. 4(c) Fleeing Peace Officer (Substantial Bodily Harm) 

 
 

4. Attempts or Conspiracies and Consecutive Sentencing 
 

Description: The rule for finding the presumptive duration when applying 
consecutive sentencing to an attempt or conspiracy offense is to first locate the 
duration at a Criminal History Score of 0 or 1 (as appropriate), and then to cut that 
duration in half.  This guidance is derived from reading Minn. Sentencing Guidelines 
§§ 2.F and 2.G together. 
 
Adopted Proposal:  The Commission added commentary to Minn. Sentencing 
Guidelines § 2.F, in order to clarify that if the court sentences an attempted offense 
consecutively, the presumptive duration is one-half of the duration found in the 
appropriate cell on the applicable Grid at a Criminal History Score of 1 for 
presumptive consecutive sentences and at a Criminal History Score of 0 for 
permissive consecutive sentences, as follows: 
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Adopted Modifications: 
 

* * * * 
2.F.104. If the offense is an attempt under Minn. Stat. § 609.17, or a conspiracy 
under Minn. Stat. § 609.175, and the court pronounces a presumptive consecutive 
sentence, the presumptive duration for each offense sentenced consecutively to 
another offense is determined by first locating the duration in the appropriate cell on 
the applicable Grid at a Criminal History Score of 1, then applying the rules for 
attempts and conspiracy set forth in section 2.G.2.  For example, for an attempted 
aggravated robbery offense sentenced presumptive consecutive to another offense, 
the duration found at Severity Level 8 and Criminal History Score of 1 (58 months), is 
divided in half – making the presumptive duration 29 months.   
* * * * 

 
 

* * * * 
2F.203. If the offense is an attempt under Minn. Stat. § 609.17, or a conspiracy under 
Minn. Stat. § 609.175, and the court pronounces a permissive consecutive sentence, 
the presumptive duration for each offense sentenced consecutively to another offense 
is determined by first locating the duration in the appropriate cell on the applicable 
Grid at a Criminal History Score of 0, then applying the rules for attempts and 
conspiracy set forth in section 2.G.2.  For example, for an attempted aggravated 
robbery offense sentenced permissive consecutive to another offense,  the duration 
found at Severity Level 8 and Criminal History Score of 0 (48 months), is divided in 
half – making the presumptive sentence 24 months.   
 
2.F.203204 .  The Commission's policies on permissive consecutive sentences outline 
the criteria that are necessary to permit consecutive sentences without the 
requirement to cite reasons for departure . . . .  
 
2.F.204205.  Consecutive sentences are permissive for multiple current felony 
convictions even when the offenses involve one victim and a single course of conduct, 
but only when the presumptive disposition is commitment. . . .  
 
2.F.205206.  An offender given a consecutive sentence for a crime committed while 
using or possessing metal-penetrating bullets under Minn. Stat. § 624.7191, subd. 3, 
can get up to the three-year statutory maximum without departing from the 
Guidelines. 
* * * * 
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E. Technical Modifications  
 

The following are adopted proposals related to technical modifications to the Minn. 
Sentencing Guidelines.  
 

1. Theft Re-codified 
 

Description: To accommodate theft of motor fuel from retailer offense that went 
into effect August 1, 2012 (See section A, above), the theft statute was recodified to 
include paragraph (a) after subdivision 2. This was done to accommodate a new 
paragraph (b), which relates to how it is proven that theft of motor fuel from a 
retailer occurred. The change was made editorially by the Revisor of Statutes, 
effective October 23, 2012. 

 
Adopted Proposal: The Commission corrected references in Minn. Sentencing 
Guidelines §§ 2, 5 and 7, by adding “(a)” after subdivision 2, as follows: 

 
Adopted Modifications: 
 

2.A.05.  For Theft of a Motor Vehicle…, Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 2(a)(1), ….  

 

2.B.703.  When the offense severity level is determined…. Minn. Stat.               

§ 609.52.2(a)(1)…. 

 
5.A.  Offense Severity Reference Table 

 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

6 Theft Over $35,000 609.52, subd. 2(a)(3),(4), 
(15), & (16) with 609.52, 
subd. 3(1) 

4 Theft of Motor Vehicle 609.52, subd. 2(a)(1) 

3 Motor Vehicle Use Without Consent 609.52, subd. 2(a)(17) 

3 Theft of Trade Secret 609.52, subd. 2(a)(8) 

 
 * * * 
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5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 

 * * * 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(1) 

Theft (Over $5,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(1) 

Theft ($5,000 or Less) 2 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(1) 

Theft of a Motor Vehicle 4** 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(2) 

Taking Pledged Property (Over $5,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(2) 

Taking Pledged Property ($5,000 or Less) 2 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(3) with subd. 
3(1) 

Theft by Check/False Representation (Over 
$35,000) 

6 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(3)(i) 

Theft by Check ($5,001 - $35,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(3)(i) 

Theft by Check ($5,000 or Less) 2 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(3)(ii-v) 

Theft by False Representation ($5,001-$35,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(3)(ii-v) 

Theft by False Representation ($5,000 or Less) 2 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(4) with subd. 
3(1) 

Theft by Trick (Over $35,000) 6 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(4) 

Theft by Trick ($5,001-$35,000) 3 

                                                 
** See Comment 2.A.05 for commentary on motor vehicle offense severity levels. 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(4) 

Theft by Trick ($5,000 or Less) 2 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(5) 

Temporary Theft (Over $5,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(5) 

Temporary Theft ($5,000 or Less) 2 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(6) 

Refusing to Return Lost Property (Over $5,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(6) 

Refusing to Return Lost Property ($5,000 or 
Less) 

2 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(7) 

Theft from Coin Operated Machine (Over $5,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(7) 

Theft from Coin Operated Machine ($5,000 or 
Less) 

2 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(8) 

Theft of Trade Secret 3 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(9) 

Theft of Leased Property (Over $5,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(9) 

Theft of Leased Property ($5,000 or Less) 2 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(10)&(11) 

Altering Serial Number (Over $5,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(10)&(11) 

Altering Serial Number ($5,000 or Less) 2 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(12) 

Theft of Cable TV Services (Over $5,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(12) 

Theft of Cable TV Services ($5,000 or Less) 2 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(12) 

Theft of Services (Over $5,000) 3 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(13) 

Theft of Services ($5,000 or Less) 2 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(14) 

Theft of Telecommunication Services (Over 
$5,000) 

3 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(14) 

Theft of Telecommunication Services ($5,000 or 
Less) 

2 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(15)(16) with 
subd. 3(1) 

Diversion of Corporate Property (Over $35,000) 6 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(15)(16) 

Diversion of Corporate Property ($5,001 - 
$35,000) 

3 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(15)(16) 

Diversion of Corporate Property ($5,000, or 
Less) 

2 

609.52 subd. 2(a) 
(17) * 

Motor Vehicle Use Without Consent 3** 

 
 * * * 

 

7.   Theft Offense List 

 * * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title 

609.52 subd. 2(a)(1) Theft 

609.52 subd. 2(a)(2) Taking Pledged Property 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(3)(i) 

Theft By Check 

                                                 
*  Includes offenses sentenced according to Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 3(3)(d). 
** See Comment 2.A.05 for commentary on motor vehicle offense severity levels. 
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Statute Number Offense Title 

609.52 subd. 2(a)(3) 
(ii), (iii), (iv), & (v) 

Theft By False Representation 

609.52 subd. 2(a)(4) Theft by Trick 

609.52 subd. 2(a)(5) Temporary Theft 

609.52 subd. 2(a)(6) Refusing to Return Lost Property 

609.52 subd. 2(a)(7) Theft from Coin Operated Machines 

609.52 subd. 2(a)(9) Theft of Leased Property 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(10) & (11) 

Altering Serial Number 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(12) 

Theft of Cable TV Services 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(13) 

Theft of Services 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(14) 

Theft of Telecommunications Services 

609.52 subd. 
2(a)(15) & (16) 

Diversion of Corporate Property 

 
 * * * 
 
 

2. Guidelines Appendices 
 

Description: Three offenses listed in the appendices refer to the incorrect location 
for the source of the mandatory minimum or presumptive sentence.  The current 
title of Appendix 1 indicates that all of the presumptive sentences are mandatory 
minimums when some are due to Guidelines policy, and are presumptive sentences 
rather than mandatory sentences. 

 
Adopted Proposal: The Commission modified the appendices to correctly show the 
source of the durations found in each appendix by updating the title of Appendix 1 
to indicate that some sentences are found in the Guidelines rather than in statute. 
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Adopted Modifications: 
 

Appendix 1.  Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences Reference Table 
 
* * *  

Statute Offense Prerequisite or 
Conditions 

Minimum 
Duration 

152.023, 
subd. 3(a) 

Controlled Substance 
Crime 3rd Degree 

Prior felony conviction 
under Minn. Stat. § 152 
or finding under Minn. 
Stat. § 152.18  

Grid Time* 

152.023, 
subd. 3(b) 

Controlled Substance 
Crime 3rd Degree 

Prior felony conviction 
per chapter under Minn. 
Stat. § 152 or finding 
under Minn. Stat.               
§ 152.18  

24 months 

609.582, 
subd. 1(a) 

Burglary 1st Degree Prior felony burglary Grid Time* 

   

 * * * 

 * Presumptive commitment per Guidelines section 2.C. 

 

  Appendix 2.  Dangerous Weapons Offense Reference Table 

 * * * 

Dangerous Weapons – Minn. Stat. § 609.11 

Statute Offense Prerequisite or 
Conditions 

Minimum 
Duration 

609.165 or 
624.713.1(2) 
609.11, 
subd. 5(b) 

Certain Persons not to 
have Firearms 

Current conviction under 
Minn. Stat. § 609.165 or 
Minn. Stat. § 624.713 
subd. 1(2) 

60 Months  

 
 

3. Overworking or Mistreating Animals 

 

Description: The 2010 Legislature amended the statute for overworking or 
mistreating animals.  A new gross misdemeanor for harming a service animal that 
renders the service animal unable to perform its duties was inserted as paragraph 
(e); the felony offenses that followed the gross misdemeanor were renumbered. 

 
References:  2010 Minn. Session Laws, Ch. 292, Sec. 2.   

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?doctype=Chapter&year=2010&type=0&id=292
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Adopted Proposal: The Commission made corrections to Minn. Sentencing 
Guidelines § 5, as follows: 

 
 5.A.  Offense Severity Reference Table 
 

 * * * 

Severity Level Offense Title Statute Number 

UNRANKED Service Animal Providing 
Service 

343.21, subd. 9(e)(g) 
(f)(h) 

UNRANKED Torture or Cruelty to Pet or 
Companion Animal 

343.21, subd. 
9(c)(d)(f)(h) (g)(i) 

  
 * * * 
 

  5.B.  Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 

 * * * 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity Level 

343.21, subd. 9(e)(g) 
(f)(h) 

Service Animal Providing Service UNRANKED 

343.21,  

subd. 9(c)(d)(f)(h) (g)(i) 

Torture or Cruelty to Pet or 
Companion Animal 

UNRANKED 

  
 * * * 
 


