
 

Guidance for Spring 2020 Candidates Prepared Out-of-State  
Introduction 

The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB) has implemented changes to the licensure 
process due to COVID-19. Because of the challenges with student teaching placements and registering for the 
Minnesota Teacher Licensure Exams (MTLEs), accommodations have been made to help Spring 2020 candidates 
apply for their initial licensure.  Instructions on how to apply for a license using these accommodations are at 
the end of the document.   

Student Teaching Placements 

Minnesota Statue requires that candidates who complete out-of-state teacher preparation programs must have 
equivalent student teaching to that of a Minnesota teacher preparation program to receive a Tier 3 license. 
Typically, this requirement includes 12 weeks of continuous face-to-face student teaching experience. To assist 
Spring 2020 student teachers, the Board enacted three resolutions at their May 8th board meeting. These 
resolutions include the following changes for Spring 2020 student teaching:  

• Student teaching placements can be done face-to-face, through distance learning, or a combination 
thereof  

• Student teaching weeks do not have to be continuous  
• Student teaching weeks have been reduced from a minimum of 12 weeks to 10 weeks  
• For candidates who have less than 10 weeks of student teaching, the board has approved “supplemental 

activities” that can replace student teaching weeks. These supplemental activities must have been 
completed during the Spring 2020 semester. Supplemental activities include: 

o Avatar student teaching simulations 
o Virtual Course 
o Virtual Discussions 
o Case Studies 
o Assessments 
o Observations 
o Individualized Development Plans (IEPs) 

If out-of-state candidates do not meet the requirements listed above, a Tier 2 license may be available. 
Candidates must have a job offer with a Minnesota public or charter school to qualify for a Tier 2 license. 
Information on Tier 2 licensure can be found on PELSB’s Apply for a License webpage. If you still have questions, 
please reach out to PELSB staff at pelsb@state.mn.us.   

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/122A.183
https://mn.gov/pelsb/aspiring-educators/apply/
mailto:pelsb@state.mn.us


Conditional One-Year Tier 3 License  

A conditional one-year Tier 3 license is available to otherwise qualified teacher candidates who were unable to 
take the Minnesota Teacher Licensure Exams (MTLEs) due to COVID-19. The conditional Tier 3 license is valid 
until June 30, 2021 and allows candidates time to take the appropriate MTLEs during the validity of the license. 
If candidates pass all necessary exams during this time, they can renew their Tier 3 license for an additional two 
years. To qualify for the conditional one-year Tier 3 license, a Tier 3 application must be received in PELSB’s 
office by October 31, 2020. For more information on this license, please read our Conditional One-Year Tier 3 
Guidance Document.  

Applying for Licensure 

Candidates applying for either the full (three-year) Tier 3 or the conditional one-year Tier 3 license should use 
the Minnesota Educator Tier 3 License Application to apply for the license. For initial licensure candidates, a 
completed fingerprint card must be completed at part of your application. To request a fingerprint card, please 
email PELSB with your name and address and put “Fingerprint Card Request” in the subject line. Please visit 
PELSB’s COVID-19 FAQ webpage for answers to questions regarding fingerprinting. 

Official transcripts must be submitted as part of your application. PELSB strongly encourages candidates to order 
official transcripts and submit the transcripts in their sealed envelopes as part of your application. If your college 
or university is only offering electronic transcripts, please send them directly from the institution to PELSB at 
pelsb@state.mn.us.  If your transcripts are coming under a previously held name, please make note of this on 
your application.  

Licensure candidates must complete their portion of the application. This includes Sections 1-5 for all 
applications. Sections 7-8 are not required for initial applicants. Licensure candidates applying for the 
conditional license should indicate in Section 4 of the application that they have not yet completed MTLE testing 
and are applying for the conditional one-year Tier 3 license.  

Candidates must work with their teacher preparation provider to complete Section 6 or 6A, “Verification of 
Completion of a State Approved Program”. For candidates who have completed 12 weeks or more of student 
teaching, use Section 6. For candidates who have completed fewer than 12 weeks of student teaching, use 
Section 6A. For candidates who completed less than 10 weeks of student teaching, indicate on Section 6A the 
supplemental activities (if any) used to replace student teaching weeks. Please note: Section 6A requires 
signatures from both the candidate and certifying officer.  

Candidates should only send completed applications to PELSB. Incomplete applications will cause a delay to your 
licensure. Completed applications can be mailed to:  

PELSB 
1021 Bandana Blvd. E, Suite 222 
St. Paul, MN 55108 

 

https://mn.gov/pelsb/assets/Conditional%20Tier%203%20Guidance%20POST_tcm1113-434439.pdf
https://mn.gov/pelsb/assets/Conditional%20Tier%203%20Guidance%20POST_tcm1113-434439.pdf
https://mn.gov/pelsb/assets/Application%20for%20Tier%203%20License%20POST_tcm1113-433634.pdf
https://mn.gov/pelsb/covid19/
mailto:pelsb@state.mn.us
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