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Minnesota General Education Teacher Licensure Testing
Information

Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations (http://www.mtle.nesinc.com/)

Introduction:

The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB) is responsible for overseeing the teacher
testing requirements set forth in Minnesota statute and is continually monitoring and analyzing the testing
program.

Teachers in Minnesota are required to demonstrate competency on a series of tests in basic skills: reading,
writing, and math, along with pedagogy, and licensure field specific content area knowledge. The testing
requirements vary between tiers, licensure field(s), and initial versus additional licensure field(s).

Although there may be other requirements that must be met for licensure, this document contains only the
testing requirements. All testing requirements for pedagogy and field specific content must be fulfilled through
Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examination (MTLE). Minnesota accepts alternative means of demonstrating basic
skills knowledge other than MTLE. Alternative tests, minimum scores, and acceptable dates can be found in the
basic skills section.

Licensure Fields Not Subject to Testing:

e School Counselor
e School Psychologist
e Speech Language Pathologist

e School Administrator
e School Nurse
e School Social Worker

Minnesota Testing Requirements:
Tier 1: Attempt of field specific MTLE content area tests required for first renewal.

Tier 2: Passing scores on MTLE pedagogy tests aligned with area AND MTLE field specific content area tests may
be used to fulfill one of the options provided for licensure. All tests must be passed and official results
posted before the application is submitted.

Tier 3: Passing scores on MTLE pedagogy tests aligned with area AND MTLE field specific content area tests are
required. All tests must be passed and official results posted before the application is submitted.

Tier 4: Passing scores on MTLE pedagogy tests aligned with area AND MTLE field specific content area tests AND
basic skills tests are required. All tests must be passed and official results posted before the application is
submitted.

Testing Format:

The testing format is multiple choice (MC), constructed response (CR), or both (MC/CR).
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Pedagogy Tests:

Required for all initial Tier 3 and Tier 4 licenses, or can be used along with the
associated content tests as an option for a Tier 2 license.

Each pedagogy test has two required subtests. All pedagogy subtests require minimum passing scores of 240 on

a scale of 200-300.

e The pedagogy test is aligned to the licensure field sought.

o Ifalicense for grades K-12 is being sought, the applicant must choose either the elementary or
secondary pedagogy test, both are not required.

e Ifalicense for both early childhood education and elementary education are being sought, the applicant
must choose either the early childhood or the elementary pedagogy tests, both are not required.

These licensure fields do NOT have a required pedagogy test; however, individuals
with these licenses must pass a pedagogy test to add another license field:

e Adult Basic Education

e American Indian Language, History, and Culture

e Parent and Family Education

Test Name Subtest | Test Code | Test Length | Test Fee Test Format
1 010 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Early Childhood Pedagogy

2 011 60 minutes $47.50 MC

1 012 60 minutes S47.50 MC
Elementary Pedagogy

2 013 60 minutes $47.50 MC

1 209 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Secondary Pedagogy

2 210 60 minutes $47.50 MC
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Content Area Tests:

Required for Tier 1 renewal and all initial Tier 3 and Tier 4 licenses, or can be used with

the associated pedagogy tests as an option for a Tier 2 license.

Each content area test has two required subtests, with the exception of elementary education which has three
content area tests. All content area tests require a minimum passing score of 240 on a scale of 200-300.

These licensure fields do NOT have a required content area test:

e  Adult Basic Education

e American Indian Language, History, and Culture
e Bilingual Education

e Career and Technical Education

e Driver and Traffic Safety

e Parent and Family Education

e Teacher Coordinators of Work Based Learning

These licensure fields have a required content area test.

ALL SUBTESTS ARE REQUIRED.

. . Sub Test Test
Licensure Field Test Name Test | Code | Testlength  TestFee
Agricultural Education Agricultural Education 1 086 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Grades 5-12 . . .
Agricultural Education 2 087 60 minutes $47.50 MC
. Business 1 082 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Business
Grades 5-12 ) .
Business 2 083 60 minutes $47.50 MC
. Chemistry 1 058 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Chemistry
Grades 9-12 . .
Chemistry 2 059 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Middle Level:
o Communication Arts and 1 196 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Communication Arts and Literature
Literature Endorsement
Grades 5-8 Middle Level:
Communication Arts and 2 197 60 minutes S47.50 MC
Literature
.. Communication Arts and .
Commurflcatlon Arts and Literature 1 202 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Literature Communication Arts and
Grades 5-12 ) 2 203 60 minutes S47.50 MC
Literature
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. . Sub Test Test
Licensure Field Test Name Test | Code | Testlength  TestFee
Computer, Keyboarding, C°m'i’”te(;' Ke{]boel"d'”g' 1 130 | 60minutes | $47.50 MC
and Related Technology Related Technology
Endorsement
Grade level matches current | Computer, Keyboarding, ’ 131 60 minutes $47.50 MC
license Related Technology
Dance 1 110 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Dance
Grades K-12 .
Dance 2 111 60 minutes $47.50 MC
, , Early Childhood 1 204 60minutes = $47.50 | MC
Early Childhood Education Education
Grades Birth-3" grade i
& Early Childhood 2 205 = 60minutes | $47.50 MC
Education
. Earth and Space Science 1 060 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Earth and Space Science
Grades 9-12 ) .
Earth and Space Science 2 061 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Elementary Education 1 191 60 minutes S32 MC
Elementary Education Elementary Education 2 192 60 minutes $32 MC
Grades K-6
Elementary Education 3 193 60 minutes S31 MC
English as a Second .
English as a Second Language 1 194 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Language .
Grades K-12 English as a Second 2 195 | 60minutes | $47.50 MC
Language
Family and Consumer .
Family and Consumer Science 1 084 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Science S
Grades 5-12 amily and Lonsumer 2 085 | 60minutes | $47.50 MC
Science
. Middle Level: Science 1 036 60 minutes $47.50 MC
General Science
Grades 5-8 . . .
Middle Level: Science 2 037 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Health 1 056 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Health
Grades 5-12 .
Health 2 057 60 minutes $47.50 MC
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. . Sub Test Test
Licensure Field Test Name Test | Code | Testlength  TestFee
'nStCrlu mental a,\r;ld vocal 106 | 60minutes = $47.50 = MC
Instrumental Music assroom Music
Grades K-12
Instrumental Classroom 206 | 60minutes = $47.50 = MC
Music
. . Lo Library Media Specialist 1 102 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Library Media Specialist
Grades K-12 . . - :
Library Media Specialist 2 103 60 minutes $47.50 MC
. . Life Science 1 062 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Life Science
Grades 9-12 . . ;
Life Science 2 063 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Middle Level: .
Mathematics Mathematics 1 034 75 minutes $47.50 MC
Endorsement _
Grades 5-8 Middle Level: 2 035 | 75minutes | $47.50 | MC
Mathematics
. Mathematics 1 207 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Mathematics
Grades 5-12
Mathematics 2 208 60 minutes $47.50 MC
. . Physical Education 1 112 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Physical Education
Grades K-12 ) ) .
Physical Education 2 113 60 minutes $47.50 MC
. Physics 1 064 75 minutes $47.50 MC
Physics
Grades 9-12 ) .
Physics 2 065 75 minutes $47.50 MC
Pre-Primary Endorsement Preprimary 1 198 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Age 3-pre-K Preprimary 2 199 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Reading Teacher Reading Teacher 1 211 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Endorsement
Grades K-12 Reading Teacher 2 212 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Social Studies 1 052 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Social Studies
Grades 5-12
Social Studies 2 053 60 minutes $47.50 MC
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. . Sub Test Test
Licensure Field Test Name Test | Code | Testlength  TestFee
Social Studies M'dd':tﬁj"iis“'a' 1 032 | 60minutes | $47.50 MC
Endorsement Mo Tavel Social

Grades 5-8 ladie tevel ~ocia 2 033 | 60minutes | $47.50 MC
Studies
Special Education Core .
Special Education: All P Skills 1 200 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Fields P
Birth-12 pecia SEIc”aS lon tore 2 201 = 60minutes | $47.50 MC
Technolo 1 080 60 minutes 47.50 MC
Technology & ! 2
Grades 5-12 .
Technology 2 081 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Theater 1 108 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Theater
Grades K-12 Theater 2 109 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Instrumental and Vocal 1 106 = 60minutes = $47.50 MC
Vocal Music Classroom Music
Grades K-12
Vocal Classroom Music 2 185 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Visual Arts Visual Arts 1 104 60 minutes $47.50 MC
Grades K-12 ) .
Visual Arts 2 105 60 minutes $47.50 MC
World Language and .
World Langua'ge and Culture: Chinese 1 158 120 minutes $47.50 CR
Culture: Chinese Wor T ]
Grades K-12 orid Language an 2 159 | 120 minutes | $47.50 CR
Culture: Chinese
World Language and .
World Language and Culture: French 1 160 120 minutes $47.50 MC
Culture: French Wl g
Grades K-12 orid Language an 2 161 | 120 minutes = $47.50 CR
Culture: French
World Language and .
World Language and Culture: German 1 162 120 minutes $47.50 MC
Culture: German Wor T ]
Grades K-12 orid Language an 2 163 | 120 minutes | $47.50 CR
Culture: German
World Language and .
World Language. and Culture: Spanish 1 164 120 minutes $47.50 MC
Culture: Spanish Wors T ]
Grades K-12 or anguagg an 2 165 90 minutes S47.50 CR
Culture: Spanish
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Basic Skills Tests:

Reading, Writing, and Math: Required for all initial Tier 4 licenses.

All applicants for an initial Tier 4 license must provide evidence of competency in reading, writing, and math. All
Minnesota NES Essential Academic Skills (EAS) subtests require a minimum passing score of 520 on a scale of
400-600.

Minnesota NES Essential Academic Skills: Required for all initial Tier 4 licenses

Individual
Test Name Subtest Test Code Test Length Test Format
Test Fee
Reading 1 188 75 minutes S50 MC
Writing 2 189 90 minutes S50 MC/CR
Mathematics 3 190 75 minutes S50 MC

NES test fees are S50 for one test, $75 for any two tests and $100 for three tests. The basic skills testing
requirement may also be fulfilled through a variety of options.

Alternative options for demonstration of proficiency for basic skills are shown below:

Multi-state NES Essential Academic Skills

Reading: 205
Writing: 214
Math: 213
MTLE Basic Skills Test (this test was discontinued June 8, 2016)
Reading: 240
Writing: 240
Math: 240

ACT Plus Writing
Taken February 2005 to present
Composite Score: 22
Combined English/Writing or ELA: 21

1600 SAT (New Version)

Taken March 1, 2016 to present
Reading + Writing: 550
Math: 570

GRE

Taken 2001 to August 11, 2011
Verbal Reasoning: 450
Analytical Writing: 3
Quantitative Reasoning: 540

Praxis |

Taken prior to September 1, 2014
Reading: 173
Writing: 172
Math: 171

February 2020

2400 SAT (Old version)
Taken March 12, 2005 - February 28, 2016

Reading: 510
Writing: 510
Math: 520

Taken after August 11, 2011
Verbal reasoning: 150
Analytical Writing: 3
Quantitative Reasoning: 145
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Praxis CORE
Taken September 1, 2014 to present

Reading: 156
Writing: 162
Math: 150

For more information on specific tests visit the MTLE Testing Website:
(http://www.mtle.nesinc.com/PageView.aspx?f=GEN_Tests.html)

ACT/SAT/GRE Tests

The ACT Plus Writing, SAT, and GRE must be taken as a complete exam. Those who have previously taken the
standard version of the ACT must take the new ACT Plus Writing in its entirety, should they choose this option.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ):

What is the contact information for PELSB?

Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board
1021 Bandana Boulevard East, Suite 222
Saint Paul, MN 55108-5111

Phone: 651-539-4200

What tests should | take?

It is best to check with the institution where your teacher preparation program was completed to determine the
exact program completed or where the program aligns with Minnesota programs.

What content tests do | take for a specific special education field, such as ABS?

All special education fields must take the special education core skills test, which includes two subtests. Both
subtests are required.

Are there any alternative options for special education teachers that have been trained out of state?

Please refer to the Minnesota Special Education Licensing Testing Information document for additional
information about special education licensure in Minnesota.

What are the testing requirements if | am deaf?

Minnesota Rule 8710.0500 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=8710.0500) states that applicants of a first
professional teaching license must provide evidence of completing the skills examinations in reading, writing,
and mathematics using the examinations adopted by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.

Subpart 1(a) also states that an applicant who is deaf must complete the skills examination in mathematics
adopted by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board. The reading and writing skills
requirements can be completed by either passing the examinations adopted by the Professional Educator
Licensing and Standards Board or by an evaluation completed by board approved colleges and universities of
demonstrated proficiency in the expressive and receptive use of alternative communication systems, including
sign language and finger spelling as measured by the Sign Communications Proficiency Inventory (SCPI).

If you would like to request that the reading and writing examinations be waived, please submit evidence of
deafness (a copy of your audiogram) and a copy of the SLPI at the Intermediate Plus or higher (if the SLPI is not
already in your licensure file). These documents should be submitted as soon as possible to Professional
Educator Licensing and Standards Board for review.
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What if one or more of the Content or Pedagogy tests are not yet passed?

e Ateacher applying for an initial Tier 2 license must have taken and passed the content area test in the
licensure field they are requesting before applying if used to fulfill one of the options provided for
licensure.

e Ateacher applying for an initial Tier 3 license must have taken and passed the pedagogy test and
content area test in the licensure field they are requesting before applying.

e Ateacher applying for an initial Tier 4 licenses must have taken and passed the pedagogy test and
content area test in the licensure field they are requesting before applying. A Tier 4 teacher applying to
add an additional field will be required to take only the content area test in the field that they are
adding.

e Please note that there is a 45 day waiting period between test attempts.

Do | have to pay for the Content and/or Pedagogy subtest(s) again if | do not pass?

Examinees who do not pass a subtest may retake that subtest until it is passed. Each subtest requires a payment
and must be attempted a minimum of three times. After three or more failed attempts of a specific subtest
(noted by individual code), an examinee may be eligible for a fee voucher to take the same test at no cost. The
retake policy can be found under Testing Policies - Retake Policy. A retake fee voucher request can be made by
contacting Evaluation Systems BEFORE registering to take the test.

What if | haven’t passed the Basic Skills Tests?

For a teacher applying for a Tier 1, 2, or 3 license, passing the basic skills exams is not required. Anyone who has
completed a licensure program, has three years of teaching experience in Minnesota schools, and is applying for
a Tier 4 license must pass basic skills exams. Note: Pedagogy and content testing must have also been passed.

How should the score reports be submitted?

Praxis/ACT/SAT/GRE: Official Praxis, ACT, SAT, or GRE score reports or copies for tests taken should be sent
to PELSB with the complete application or emailed to scorereports.pelsb@state.mn.us.

MTLE/NES: Official MTLE score reports do not need to be sent; PELSB staff have secure, read-only access to
the official scores. Applicants will be notified if additional information is needed.

Where can | find information about the ACT plus writing test or scores?

Register for the ACT Plus Writing (http://www.actstudent.org/regist/)

Request a score report for the ACT Plus Writing (http://www.actstudent.org/scores/send/)

Access ACT Frequently Asked Questions (http://www.actstudent.org/faqg/)

Where can | find information about the SAT test or scores?

Register for the SAT (http://sat.collegeboard.org/register/sat-us-dates)

Request a score report for the SAT (http://sat.collegeboard.org/register/us-services-fees)

Access SAT Frequently Asked Questions (http://sat.collegeboard.org/about-tests/sat/faq)

Are there any testing accommodations provided?

Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.185 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/122A.185) allows an
individual to produce documentation of a disability in the form of an evaluation, 504 plan, or an individual
education program (IEP) in order to receive the same testing accommodations on the teacher licensing
examinations that were received during their secondary or post-secondary education.
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To request accommodations for any of the exams, please visit the Alternative Testing Arrangements website.
(https://www.mtle.nesinc.com/PageView.aspx?f=HTML_FRAG/GENRB_AlternativeArrangements.html)

Candidates may also register for extended testing sessions through the MTLE website.

Testing Information Located on the MTLE Website:

How can someone register for a required test?

Once registered for a test through the MTLE website the candidate is able to immediately schedule a test date
and test site. (https://www.mtle.nesinc.com/App/SigninForm.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2fApp%2fRegister%2fldentityConfirmation.aspx)

How can someone prepare for an MTLE test?

The MTLE website has a series of designated pages for each test field. On these pages you will find a breakdown
of content by subtest, a link to specific objectives and descriptive statements about the content on each subtest,
along with a set of sample questions and answers.

Additional preparation materials are available on the MTLE website.
(http://www.mtle.nesinc.com/PageView.aspx?f=HTML_FRAG/GENRB_PreparationMaterials.html)

When are the computer-based MTLE tests offered in Minnesota?

Computer-based tests are available by appointment, year round, Monday through Saturday (excluding holidays)
at test centers across the state and nationwide. Test appointments may be scheduled on a first-come, first-
served basis.

Check on data and seat availability on the MTLE website.
http://www.mtle.nesinc.com/PageView.aspx?f=HTML_FRAG/GENRB_TestDatesAndSites.html

Contact Information

Contact information for the MTLE Program can be found on the MTLE website.

(http://www.mtle.nesinc.com/Contacts.aspx)
Phone: (413)256-2887
(800) 557-3759
Available 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Central time, Monday-Friday, excluding holidays

TTY: (413) 256-8032
Available 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Central time, Monday-Friday, excluding holidays

General questions about the MTLE or about score reports may be referred to the Professional Educator
Licensing and Standards Board.

The Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board will always have the most up-to-date testing
information. (https://mn.gov/pelsb)
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