State of Minnesota
Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities

Civil Commitment Training and Resource Center

The Civil Commitment Process

Minn. Stat. 88 253B.07 — 253B.09 and 253B.17

This fact sheet explains the civil commitment process. It is important to point out that the Minnesota
Commitment and Treatment Act, 253B, makes it clear that voluntary admission is preferred over
commitments.253B.04 allows any person over the age of 16 years to request voluntary admission for treatment
of chemical dependency, mental illness and developmental disabilities. Children under 16 years may be
admitted voluntarily by a parent or legal guardian after an independent evaluation.

Effective Aug. 1, 2003, the law states a person who is voluntarily participating in treatment for mental illness is
not subject to commitment if:

1. The person has given informed consent or someone with the legal authority to do so has consented, and,

2. s participating in medically appropriate treatment including neuroleptic medications or ECT.

3. This does not apply if the court finds it unlikely that the person will remain in treatment or cooperate
with treatment unless the person is committed.

4. Persons legally authorized to consent may be a health care directive proxy, a guardian or conservator or
a substitute decision maker appointed by the court for this purpose.

5. This does not apply to person’s under Rule 20 or to persons being committed as mentally ill and
dangerous.

1. The Pre-petition Screening

Any person may request that the county conduct an investigation into whether you should be committed. Before
any petition is filed, a county pre-petition screening team must review it. The screening team will gather
information about your condition and decide whether they think you meet the requirements for commitment.
This process must include:

1. personally interviewing you;

2. identifying and investigating the alleged behavior that justifies commitment;

3. identifying and exploring alternatives to commitment and explaining why they are being rejected,;

4. gathering other information related to taking medications, your capacity to consent, whether you have an
advance directive, and effectiveness of past treatment;

5. contacting any insurer for information on payment for cost of care and authorized providers;

6. Provide you with a notice that explains your rights, the commitment process and the legal effects of

commitment.

The person who visits you from the screening team for the personal interview must identify him or herself and
explain why s/he is talking to you. This person must also explain that anything you say may be used in the
report and in court. This person should not be the same person trying to commit you. No member of the pre-
petition screening team is allowed to file a petition for civil commitment. This team may also ask questions of
your family, hospital staff, insurance company and others. The law allows the team to do this without your
permission. It is always a good idea to write down the person’s name and other information to help you
remember it.
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If you do not have an interview with the pre-petition screening team but a commitment petition is filed, inform
your attorney. When the pre-petition screening team recommends commitment, a written report will be sent to
the county attorney. If the pre-petition screening team does not recommend commitment, the petitioner may
ask the county attorney to proceed with the petition anyway.

2. Filing a Petition

Any person may file a petition for commitment. The petition may be filed in the district court in the county of
financial responsibility or where you are currently present. You have a right to see the petition that is filed.

3. Your Preliminary Hearing (Also called the “Probable Cause” hearing.)

After a commitment petition is filed, the court may order that you be placed on a “judicial hold.” (See:
Emergency Holds and Judicial Holds Fact Sheet.) You may already be on an emergency hold at this time, but
the court may extend your confinement with the judicial hold. Within 72 hours of being placed on the judicial
hold, a preliminary hearing must be held to determine whether the judicial hold should continue. Weekends and
legal holidays are not counted in the 72 hour period. You have the right to meet with your court-appointed
attorney prior to this hearing. You may submit a request for your preliminary hearing to be held in the district
court where you live if the county where you currently live is different from your county of financial
responsibility.

The court may continue the judicial hold if the court believes you may cause serious physical harm to yourself
or others if you are not confined. The court may also appoint a substitute decision-maker at the preliminary
hearing to consent to neuroleptic medications.

Before the full commitment hearing, a doctor or PhD psychologist must give you an examination. The court
will appoint the examiner. You also have a right to a second examination by a doctor of your choice. The
county will pay for both examinations.

4. Your Commitment Hearing

Time and Place

The commitment hearing is held in a courtroom setting and follows formal court procedures in order to protect
your rights. The hearing may be held at a hospital if allowed by local rule. The commitment hearing must be
held within 14 days from when the petition was filed, but the hearing may be extended an additional 30 days.
You can demand an immediate hearing to be held within 5 business days, but the court may grant an extension
of up to 10 additional days for good cause.

Rights

You have the right to attend the hearing, to testify and to present evidence during the hearing. You should talk
to your attorney regarding the best way to put a good case together. (See: What to Expect of Your Attorney Fact
Sheet.) You may choose not to attend the hearing. A court may exclude you if it feels you are seriously
disruptive or incapable of comprehending or participating in the proceeding.
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Your ability to participate in the hearing must not be hampered by medication. You have the right to not be on
the medications during the hearing. If you are taking medications, the court must be given a list of medications
taken in the last 48 hours.

Findings
The court may order commitment if it makes findings based on clear and convincing evidence that:

1. You are mentally ill, chemically dependent or developmentally disabled,;
2. There is a substantial likelihood you will physically harm yourself or others as demonstrated by:
a] afailure to obtain food, clothing, shelter or medical care as a result of the impairment,
b] arecent attempt or threat to physically harm self or others,
c] inability to provide food, clothing, shelter or medical care or,
d] volitional conduct involving significant damage to substantial property.
3. There is no less restrictive treatment program that will meet your treatment needs.

The length of the initial commitment cannot exceed six months. At six months, another court order is necessary
for further commitment. This does not mean that you must stay in the hospital for the entire six months. If the
hospital staff feels you are ready for discharge, they may do so before the commitment period ends.

The commitment may be appealed to the court of appeals. Talk to your attorney if you want to appeal your
commitment.

5. Alternative Outcomes for Your Commitment

Release before Commitment

Two less-restrictive alternatives to commitment are a “continuance for dismissal” and a “stayed commitment
order.” The court may continue a case for dismissal for up to 90 days after which the petition is dismissed. A
court may also stay a commitment order for up to 6 months, which continues so long as the patient complies
with the conditions of the stay. A stayed commitment may be renewed for an additional 12 months if
necessary.

If the commitment order is stayed for more than 14 days, the court must issue an order that includes:

1. awritten plan for services with which you agree;

2. afinding that the treatment is available;

3. there is money to pay for it, and

4. the conditions you must meet to avoid revocation of the stay.

A case manager will be assigned to you to report your progress to the court. If you “substantially” fail to
comply with the conditions, the case manager must report this failure to the court. If the case manager or court
wants to revoke your release, a hearing must be held on the proposed revocation.

Community-based Treatment

It is possible for you to be committed to a community-based program, whether a live-in program or not. If the
court finds that community-based commitment is appropriate, a written plan of services must be developed with
conditions you must comply with and consequences for non-compliance. The consequences for non-
compliance may include commitment to a more restrictive setting. In order to commit you to community-based
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treatment, the court must find that the treatment you need is available and that it can be paid for. This may
involve the question of whether you can pay for the treatment. Some insurance plans may pay for this type of
treatment. If your insurance covers this type of treatment, it must pay the cost of care per your policy. Medical
Assistance or the county may also have an obligation to pay for this treatment.

6. Continuing your Commitment

If the hospital does not feel you are ready to be discharged at the end of six months, the court will schedule
another hearing to extend the commitment. You have the same rights as in the first proceeding, including the
right to a second examiner. If the court determines you need continued treatment, you will be committed for no
longer than 12 months. Again, if the hospital staff feels you are ready, they may release you at any time.

7. Reviewing Your Commitment

If you believe treatment is no longer necessary or you are no longer mentally ill, you have the right to request
that the court discharge you from your commitment. You can ask the court to review your case at anytime.
Contact your attorney to help you file the petition to review your case.

Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities

Suite 420, Metro Square Building, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2117
Voice: 651-757-1800  Toll Free: 1-800-657-3506  TTY/voice — Minnesota Relay Service: 711
E-mail: Ombudsman.mhdd@state.mn.us  Website: http://www.ombudmhdd.state.mn.us
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