
 

 

OAH 82-1905-33190 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

In the Matter of the Penalty Order and 
Order to Comply Issued to Dohmen, Inc. 
d/b/a Little Oscar's Family Restaurant 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT, 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, 
AND RECOMMENDATION 

This matter came before Administrative Law Judge Barbara Case for a hearing 
on May 19, 2016.  The record closed on that date. 

Timothy S. Christensen, Assistant Attorney General, appeared on behalf of the 
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (Department).  Vicky Dohmen appeared 
on behalf of Dohmen, Inc. (Dohmen, Inc. or Respondent). 

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES 

1. Did Dohmen, Inc. violate Minn. Stat. § 181.04, subd. 3 (2014) by allowing 
minors to work before 7:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m.? 

2. Did Dohmen, Inc. violate Minn. Stat. § 181.04, subd. 4 (2014) by allowing 
minors to work for more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period? 

3. Did the Department properly assess penalties in the amount of $3,500 
pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 181A.12 (2014)? 

4. Did the Department properly order that Dohmen, Inc. cease and desist 
from violating Minn. Stat. § 181A.04, subds. 3, 4? 

5. Did the Department properly order that Dohmen, Inc. take affirmative 
steps to comply with all provisions of the Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act, 
Minnesota Statutes chapter 181A (2014)? 

SUMMARY OF RECOMMENDATION 

The Administrative Law Judge finds that Dohmen, Inc. violated the Minnesota 
Child Labor Standards Act and respectfully recommends that the Department’s fine and 
orders be upheld. 
 

Based on the evidence in the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge 
makes the following: 
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FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Respondent is a Minnesota business corporation with its registered office 
at 23570 Main St., Hampton Minnesota, 55031. Respondent owns and operates a 
restaurant located at 23470 Emery Ave., Hampton, Minnesota, under the registered 
assumed name Little Oscar’s Family Restaurant.1 The owner of Little Oscar’s is Vicky 
Dohmen (Ms. Dohmen). 

2. Respondent came to the Department’s attention because of a First Report 
of Injury form that was filed with the Department.2 

3. On April 3, 2015, the Department served an Order to Comply and a 
Demand for the Submission of Records on Respondent, demanding records related to 
any of Respondent’s minor employees who were employed between April 2, 2013 and 
April 3, 2015.3 

4. Respondent provided the Department the requested records which 
included a list of Respondent’s minor employees, job descriptions, calendars, hours of 
work logs and proof of age forms (I-9 forms) for each minor employee.4 

5. The Department reviewed them and found that the records documented 
violations of the Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act for five minors employed by 
Respondent.5 Specifically, the records show that: 

a. An employee who was 14 years old worked before 7:00 a.m. on three 
occasions. On one occasion the employee began at 6:47 a.m., on one 
occasion at 6:54 a.m., and on one occasion at 5:52 a.m. The Department 
issued a $500 fine for this violation.  

b. An employee who was 14 years old worked after 9:00 p.m. and worked 
more than 8 hours in a day. On one occasion the employee worked until 
9:13 p.m., and on another occasion until 9:54 p.m. On one occasion the 
employee worked 9.85 hours, on a different occasion 11.53 hours, and on 
another 9.67 hours. The Department issued a $500 fine for the employee 
working past 9:00 p.m. and a $500 fine for the employee working more 
than 8 hours in a day.  

c. An employee who was 15 years old worked before 7:00 a.m. on 18 days 
and more than 8 hours in a day on four days. The Department issued a 
$500 fine for the employee working before 7:00 a.m., and a $500 fine for 
the employee working more than 8 hours in a day. 

                                            
1 Ex.6. 
2 Ex. 1. 
3 Ex. 2 
4 Ex. 3 
5 Exs. 3, 6. 
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d. An employee who was 14-15 years old worked after 9:00 p.m. on 3 
occasions. The Department issued a $500 fine for this violation.  

e. An employee who was 15 years old worked more than 8 hours in a day on 
two occasions.6 The Department issued a $500 fine for this violation.7  

6. On July 7, 2015, the Department mailed a Notice of Initial Findings to 
Respondent.8 The Notice of Initial Findings alleged that Dohmen, Inc. had allowed three 
minor employees under the age of 16 to work before 7:00 a.m., two minor employees 
under the age of 16 to work after 9:00 p.m. and three minor employees under the age of 
sixteen to work more than eight hours in one day.9 The fine for each violation was $500 
and the total fine was $4,000. 

7. On July 28, 2015, the Department received a request for an Informal 
Conference from Ms. Dohmen.10 On the request form Ms. Dohmen explained that she 
disagreed with the Department’s findings because the number of minutes that the 
minors began earlier than 7:00 a.m. or stayed later than 9:00 p.m. were few. She also 
explained that any days on which the minors worked more than 8 hours were approved 
by their parents.11 

8. The Department held an Informal Conference with Ms. Dohmen. As a 
result of the Informal Conference the Department removed one $500 fine for a minor 
who began work prior to 7:00 a.m. by just a few minutes.12 

9. The Department issued a Penalty Order and Order to Comply to 
Respondent on October 19, 2015. 

10. On October 30, 2015, Respondent appealed the Penalty Order and Order 
to Comply.13 

Based on these Findings of Fact, the Administrative Law Judge makes the 
following: 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1. The Commissioner of Labor and Industry and the Administrative Law Judge 
have jurisdiction in this matter under Minn. Stat. §§ 14.50 and 181A.01-.12 (2014). 

                                            
6 Exs. 3, 6; Testimony (Test.) of Sara Ellstra. 
7 Id. 
8 Ex. 4. 
9 Id. 
10 Id. 
11 Id. 
12 Id.; Test. of S. Ellstra. 
13 Ex. 7. 
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2. The Department of Labor and Industry has complied with all substantive 
and procedural requirements of law or rule and the Notice of Hearing in this matter was 
proper. 

3. The Department bears the burden of proof to show, by a preponderance of 
the evidence, that the Respondent violated Minnesota Statutes Chapter 181A.14 

4. Minn. Stat. § 181A.04, subd. 3, states that no minor under the age of 16 
shall be permitted to work any day before 7:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m. 

5. The Department proved by a preponderance of the evidence that, on 
multiple occasions, Respondent allowed two minor employees under the age of 16 to 
work before 7 a.m. and allowed two minor employees to work after 9:00 p.m. 

6. Minn. Stat. § 181A.04 subd. 4, states that no employer shall be permitted 
to work a minor under the age of 16 more than 40 hours a week or more than eight 
hours in any 24-hour period. 

7. The Department proved by a preponderance of the evidence that on 
multiple occasions the Respondent allowed three minor employees to work more than 
eight hours in a 24-hour period. 

8. Minn. Stat. § 181A.12 requires the Department to assess a fine of $500 
per employee for each of the violations in this case.  

9. The Department’s fine is statutorily mandated and its orders that 
Respondent cease violating and comply with all provisions of Minnesota Chapter 181A 
are reasonable. 

 Based upon these Conclusions of Law, and for the reasons explained in the 
accompanying Memorandum, the Administrative Law Judge makes the following: 

RECOMMENDATION 

The Administrative Law Judge finds that Dohmen, Inc. violated the Minnesota 
Child Labor Standards Act and respectfully recommends that the Department’s $3,500 
fine, Cease and Desist Order, and Compliance Order be UPHELD. 
 

Dated:  May 25, 2016 
 

BARBARA J. CASE 
Administrative Law Judge 

 
Reported: Digitally Recorded 
 No transcript prepared 

                                            
14 Minn. R. 1400.7300, subp. 5 (2015). 
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NOTICE 

This report is a recommendation, not a final decision.  The Commissioner of the 
Department of Labor and Industry will make the final decision after a review of the 
record.  The Commissioner may adopt, reject or modify the Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions, and Recommendations.  Under Minn. Stat. § 14.61 (2014), the final 
decision of the Commissioner shall not be made until this Report has been made 
available to the parties to the proceeding for at least ten days.  An opportunity must be 
afforded to each party adversely affected by this Report to file exceptions and present 
argument to the Commissioner. Parties should contact John Aiken, Director, Division of 
Labor Standards and Apprenticeship, Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette 
Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155, to learn the procedure for filing exceptions or presenting 
argument. 
 

If the Commissioner fails to issue a final decision within 90 days of the close of 
the record, this report will constitute the final agency decision under Minn. Stat. § 14.62, 
subd. 2a (2014). The record closes upon the filing of exceptions to the report and the 
presentation of argument to the Commissioner, or upon the expiration of the deadline 
for doing so.  The Commissioner must notify the parties and the Administrative Law 
Judge of the date on which the record closes. 
 

Under Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 1 (2014), the agency is required to serve its 
final decision upon each party and the Administrative Law Judge by first class mail or as 
otherwise provided by law. 

MEMORANDUM 

Ms. Dohmen does not dispute that she was in violation of the Minnesota Child 
Labor Standards Act. However, she finds the fine burdensome and the application of 
the law overly particular when in some cases the minors who worked for her began 
before 7:00 a.m. or stayed after 9:00 p.m. by just a few minutes.  

 
The Department however, has no discretion regarding the fines. While it did drop 

the fine in the situation where the sole incident was a minor starting a few minutes early, 
in other cases the Department found, for each minor, there were incidents of longer 
periods of time when the minors worked outside of the legal parameters. The fines 
imposed by the Department were supported by the record. 

 
It is worth noting that the Department’s application of only per employee and 

each violation, but not per incident, significantly reduces the fine from what it might be if 
calculated per incident. Also, it was clear at the hearing that Ms. Dohmen wishes to run 
her business in a law abiding manner and now better understands the law as it pertains 
to minor employees. 

B. J. C. 
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