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This matter came on for hearing before Administrative Law Judge Kathleen 
D. Sheehy on January 31, 2012.  Frederic S. Stephens, Assistant County Attorney, 
Hennepin County Attorney’s Office, appeared on behalf of the Hennepin County Human 
Services and Public Health Department (County) and the Minnesota Department of 
Human Services (Department).  The Licensee, Lisa Christianson, appeared on her own 
behalf without counsel.   

On March 2, 2012, Judge Sheehy issued her Findings of Fact, Conclusions, and 
Recommendation to the Commissioner of Human Services.  The parties were afforded 
the opportunity to file exceptions by April 2, 2012.  During the 90 days following the April 
2, 2012, close of the record, the Commissioner did not take any further action.   

On July 26, 2012, in accordance with Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 2a,1 the 
Commissioner returned this matter to the Office of Administrative Hearings for 
consideration of disciplinary action.    

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 

The issue presented is what, if any, disciplinary action shall be imposed against 
the Licensee’s family child care license in this matter.   

The Administrative Law Judge concludes that revocation of the Licensee’s family 
child care license is not warranted, but it is appropriate to require as a term of continued 
licensure that the Licensee submit a safety plan to her County licensing worker within 
30 days in which she outlines the steps she will take to keep her son (who has a 
disqualification) from having access to children served by her child care program.  The 
Administrative Law Judge concludes that imposition of a one-year conditional license is 
not appropriate because there has been no showing that the Licensee has violated 
applicable laws or rules.   

                                            
1
 All reference to Minnesota Statutes are to the 2010 edition. 
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Based upon the record in this matter, the Administrative Law Judge makes the 
following: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Administrative Law Judge Kathleen D. Sheehy conducted a hearing in this 
matter on January 31, 2012, and, on March 2, 2012, issued her Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions, and Recommendation (ALJ Report) to the Commissioner of Human 
Services.  Findings of Fact Nos. 1-16 set forth in the ALJ Report are hereby 
incorporated by reference in these Findings. 

2. By letter dated March 13, 2012, Debra D. Schumacher, Administrative 
Law Attorney, notified the parties that any exceptions to the ALJ Report must be 
received by the Commissioner of Human Services by April 2, 2012.   

3. By letter dated March 14, 2012, the Department filed its comments with 
the Commissioner pertaining to the ALJ Report.  The Department indicated that the 
Department did not oppose Judge Sheehy’s recommendation to rescind the revocation 
of the Licensee’s child care license, but urged that the Commissioner place the 
Licensee’s license on a conditional status for a period of one year, subject to certain 
conditions.  The conditions proposed by the Department would (a)  require the Licensee 
to comply with laws and rules governing family child care; (b)  specify that she would not 
be granted any variances during the conditional period; (c)  require the Licensee to 
develop a detailed written safety plan outlining how she will keep her adult son (who has 
been disqualified) from having access to day care children; (d)  specify that she would 
be subject to unannounced monthly visits by County workers; and (e)  require her to 
provide a copy of the Order of Conditional License to the parents of children in care. 

4. The Commissioner did not receive any comments from the Licensee 
regarding the ALJ Report.   

5. During the 90 days following the April 2, 2012, deadline for the submission 
of exceptions, the Commissioner did not take any further action with respect to this 
matter.   

6. By letter dated July 24, 2012, Ms. Schumacher notified the Office of 
Administrative Hearings that, due to an inadvertent oversight, no agency decision had 
been issued during the 90-day period following the April 2, 2012, closing of the record.  
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 2a, the matter was returned to the Office of 
Administrative Hearings for issuance of a final order regarding what, if any, disciplinary 
action should be taken.  
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Based upon the Findings of Fact, the Administrative Law Judge makes the 
following: 

CONCLUSIONS 

1. Conclusions of Law 1-10 contained in the March 2, 2012, ALJ Report and 
the accompanying Memorandum are hereby incorporated by reference in these 
Conclusions. 

2. Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 2a, states, in relevant part:   

Unless otherwise provided by law, the report or order of the Administrative 
Law Judge constitutes the final decision in the case unless the agency 
modifies or rejects it under subdivision 1 within 90 days after the record of 
the proceeding closes under section 14.61.  When the agency fails to act 
within 90 days on a licensing case, the agency must return the record of 
the proceeding to the Administrative Law Judge for consideration of 
disciplinary action.   

3. Because the Commissioner failed to act within 90 days of the close of the 
record of this proceeding, the ALJ Report constitutes the final decision in this case 
under Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 2a.  The Commissioner thereafter properly returned the 
record to the Office of Administrative Hearings for consideration of disciplinary action, in 
accordance with Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 2a.2   

4. For the reasons set forth in the March 2, 2012, ALJ Report, the 
Commissioner lacked reasonable cause to subject the Licensee’s son, C.C., to a 
background study in 2011 and also lacked proper cause to issue, require, or terminate 
the variance for C.C. in 2011 because C.C. no longer resided in the Licensee’s home.    

5. Revocation of the Licensee’s license to provide family child care is not 
warranted under Minn. Stat. § 245A.07, subd. 1.   

6. The imposition of a one-year conditional license is not warranted because 
there has been no demonstration that the Licensee violated applicable laws or rules. 

7. Because C.C. lives in close proximity to the Licensee, has a criminal 
history of burglary and theft, and has had serious chemical dependency issues in the 
recent past, it is appropriate to require the Licensee to develop and provide the County 
with a written safety plan regarding C.C. as a term of continued licensure.  This 
requirement is described in more detail in the Order set forth below.   

 

                                            
2
 Judge Sheehy is no longer with the Office of Administrative Hearings due to her recent appointment to 

the Fourth Judicial District Court bench.  Accordingly, this matter was assigned to the undersigned 
Administrative Law Judge for consideration of disciplinary action.   
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 Based upon these Conclusions, the Administrative Law Judge issues the 
following: 

ORDER REGARDING DISCIPLINARY ACTION 
 
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED as follows: 

1. The Commissioner’s Order of Revocation of the family child care 
license of Lisa Christianson shall be RESCINDED.  

2. As a term of continued licensure, the Licensee shall, within 30 days 
of receiving this Order, develop and provide to the Hennepin County 
Licensing Division a detailed written safety plan outlining how she will 
keep her son, C.C., from having access to children served by her family 
child care program during the hours of operation. 

Dated:  August 9, 2012 

        
s/Barbara L. Neilson 

BARBARA L. NEILSON 
Administrative Law Judge  
 

 
NOTICE 

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 2a, this Order is the final administrative 
decision in this case.  Any person aggrieved by this decision may seek judicial review 
pursuant to Minn. Stat. §§ 14.63 to 14.69. 

 


