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STATE OF MINNESOTA 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 
FOR THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES 

 
In the Matter of the Order of Conditional 
License and Order to Forfeit a Fine Imposed 
Against the Family Child Care License of 
Karen Rice 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT, 

CONCLUSIONS, AND 

RECOMMENDATION 

 This matter came on for hearing before Administrative Law Judge Kathleen D. Sheehy 
on January 23, 2012, at the Douglas County Social Services Building, 1073 Conference Room, 
809 Elm Street, Alexandria, Minnesota.  The OAH record closed at the conclusion of the 
hearing that day. 
 
 Daniel C. Lee, Assistant County Attorney, appeared for Douglas County Social Services 
(County) and the Minnesota Department of Human Services (Department).  Karen Rice 
(Licensee) appeared on her own behalf without counsel. 
   

STATEMENT OF ISSUE 
 

 Should the family child care license of Karen Rice be made conditional, and should she 
be fined in the amount of $800 for (1) operating in violation of capacity and age distribution 
limits; (2) failing to submit background studies on two substitute caregivers; and (3) failing to 
ensure that the substitute caregivers received training on Sudden Infant Death Syndrome 
(SIDS) and Shaken Baby Syndrome? 
  
 The Administrative Law Judge concludes that the conditional license and fine are 
appropriate and should be affirmed. 
   
 Based upon all of the proceedings herein, the Administrative Law Judge makes the 
following: 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

 1. Karen Rice has been a licensed family child care provider since 1995.  She lives 
in Alexandria, Minnesota.  She has a C3 license, which means that she can care for 14 
children if two adult caretakers are present; of this total, ten children may be under school age, 
but no more than four may be infants and toddlers, and no more than three may be infants.1  If 
only one adult caretaker is present, she is required to operate as if she had a C2 license, 
which means she can care for 12 children, no more than two of whom can be infants and 
toddlers and no more than one can be an infant.2  When a newborn is in care, and only one 

                                            
1
 Minn. R. 9502.0367 C (3) (2011).  All citations to Minnesota Rules are to the 2011 edition. 

2
 Minn. R. 9502.0367 C (2). 
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adult caregiver is present, the newborn must be the only child under 12 months of age, and the 
provider is not allowed to care for more than two other children at the same time, unless the 
newborn is the provider’s own child.3  Under licensing rules, a newborn is a child between birth 
and six weeks of age; an infant is a child between six and 12 months of age; a toddler is a 
child between 12 and 24 months of age.4  
 
 2. On March 24, 2011, Douglas County Social Services received a complaint that 
the Licensee was operating over her licensed capacity and that substitute caregivers may not 
have been trained or cleared through background studies.5 
   
 3. On March 29, 2011, the child care licensing worker for Douglas County made an 
unannounced visit to investigate the complaint.  At the time, the Licensee had seven children 
in care full-time and two children in care half-time.  During the interview and in subsequent 
conversations, the Licensee confirmed that: 
 

•Six months previously, she had provided care to a newborn for 
approximately one month without having a second adult caregiver or 
changing her capacity to three children total. 

 
•On March 3 and 4, 2011, she had provided care to three infants and one 
toddler without having a second adult present during naptime. 

 
•On March 7, 2011, she had provided care to three infants and one toddler 
with her parents acting as substitute caregivers while the Licensee 
attended a funeral. 

 
•The Licensee had previously submitted a background study request for 
her mother, but it had expired in 2009; the Licensee had never submitted 
a background study request for her father.  
 
•The Licensee’s parents had not received training on Sudden Infant Death 
Syndrome (SIDS) and Shaken Baby Syndrome (SBS). 
 
•The Licensee’s own training on SBS had expired on February 28, 2011.6 
 

 4. On April 1, 2011, the licensing worker issued a correction order to the Licensee 
for violation of Minn. R. 9502.0365, subp. 3 (providing care for newborn without a second 
adult); Minn. R. 9502.0367 C (being overcapacity on March 3 and 4, 2010); Minn. Stat. 
§ 5C.03, subd. 1(3) (failing to have background studies completed for two substitute 
caregivers); Minn. Stat. § 245A.50, subd. 5 (no SIDS or SBS training for two substitutes who 

                                            
3
 Minn. R. 9502.0365, subp. 3. 

4
 Minn. R. 9502.0315, subps. 16 & 20; Minn. Stat. § 245A.02, subd. 19 (2010).  All citations to Minnesota Statutes 

are to the 2010 edition. 
5
 Ex. 1. 

6
 Ex. 1; Ex. 16; Testimony of Barbara Kleinschmidt. 
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were providing care for infants); and Minn. Stat. § 245A.50, subd. 5 (Licensee’s SBS training 
expired).7 
   
 5. The Licensee immediately submitted the background studies for her parents, 
which came back clear.8 
 
 6.  The Licensee completed her SBS training by April 1, 2011, and her parents 
completed the SIDS and SBS training by April 1, 2011.9 
 
 7.   The Licensee had one previous citation for failure to submit a background study 
request.  In June 2010, a correction order was issued citing this violation because the Licensee 
had allowed a day care parent to supervise children outside while the Licensee went inside 
briefly with another child.10 
  
 8. On May 3, 2011, the County recommended that the Commissioner fine the 
Licensee in the amount of $800 for these violations.11 
 
 9. On October 27, 2011, the Commissioner issued an Order to Forfeit a Fine and 
Order of Conditional License.  The Order required a fine in the amount of $400, for the failure 
to submit background studies on two substitute caregivers; a fine in the amount of $400, for 
the failure to ensure that the substitute caregivers received SIDS and Shaken Baby Syndrome 
training before providing care; and an order of conditional licensure.  The order provides: 
 

Due to the serious and chronic nature of the above violations, including repeated 
failure to submit background studies as required; failure to assure substitute 
caregivers completed SIDS/SBS training prior to assisting with the care of 
children; failure to operate within your licensed capacity and age distribution 
limits; and, in order to protect the health, safety, and rights of children receiving 
services in DHS-licensed programs, your family child care license is placed on 
conditional status for one year.12   

 
 15. The terms of the conditional license require the Licensee to follow and comply 
with all applicable laws and rules; have no variances to age distribution or number of children 
in care; complete six hours of additional training, in addition to the annual training 
requirements, in the areas of licensing rule review and children’s health and safety; submit and 
comply with a detailed written plan detailing how she planned to ensure that background 
studies and required training were completed and documented for all caregivers before they 
provide care for children; have parents sign children in and out each day and submit these 
records, along with daily attendance records, to the County on a monthly basis, along with the 
names and hours worked of all caregivers providing care each day.13 

                                            
7
 Ex. 3. 

8
 Testimony of Karen Rice; Test. of B. Kleinschmidt. 

9
 Ex. 3; Ex. 5. 

10
 Ex. 7; Ex. 13. 

11
 Id. 

12
 Ex. 9. 

13
 Ex. 9. 
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 16. The Licensee appealed the fine and the Order of Conditional License.   
 
 Based on the above Findings of Fact, the Administrative Law Judge makes the 
following:        

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

 1. The Commissioner of Human Services and the Office of Administrative Hearings 
have jurisdiction to consider this matter pursuant to Minn. Stat. §§ 14.50 and 245A.07, subd. 
2a. 
 
 2. At a hearing regarding a licensing sanction, the Commissioner has the burden to 
demonstrate reasonable cause for action taken by submitting evidence to substantiate the 
allegations that the license holder failed to comply fully with applicable law or rule.  If the 
commissioner demonstrates that reasonable cause existed, the burden of proof shifts to the 
license holder to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that the license holder was 
in full compliance with those laws or rules that the commissioner alleges the license holder 
violated, at the time the commissioner alleges the violations occurred.14 
 

3. The Commissioner shall conduct a background study on a license holder’s 
prospective employees or contractors who will have direct contact with persons served by the 
program, or volunteers who will have direct contact with persons served by the program and 
are not under continuous, direct supervision of the Licensee or an employee.15 

 
6. The Licensee failed to have current background studies completed for her 

parents before allowing them to be substitute caregivers. 
 
7. License holders must document that before caregivers or helpers assist in the 

care of infants, they receive training on reducing the risk of SIDS.  In addition, license holders 
must document that before caregivers or helpers assist in the care of infants and children 
under school age, they receive training on reducing the risk of SBS.16  The training must be 
completed at least once every five years.17 

 
8. The Licensee failed to renew her SBS training in a timely manner, and she failed 

to ensure that her parents were trained in SIDS/SBS before providing care to infants. 
 
7. A license holder shall forfeit $200 for each occurrence of a violation of law or rule 

governing matters of health, safety, or supervision, including but limited to the failure to submit 
a background study.18 

 

                                            
14

 Minn. Stat. § 245A.08, subd. 3.   
15

 Minn. Stat. § 245C.03, subd. 1(3) & (4). 
16

 Minn. Stat. § 245A.50, subd. 5(a). 
17

 Id., subd. 5(b) & (c). 
18

 Minn. Stat. § 245A.07, subd. 3(c)(4). 



5 
 

8. The commissioner may suspend or revoke a license, or impose a fine if a license 
holder fails to comply fully with applicable laws or rules.19 

 
9. If the commissioner finds that a license holder has failed to comply with an 

applicable law or rule and this failure does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights 
of the persons served by the program, the commissioner may issue a correction order and an 
order of conditional license to the license holder.  When issuing a conditional license, the 
commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or rule and 
the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by the program.20 

 
10. Before issuing, denying, suspending, revoking, or making a license conditional 

the commissioner shall evaluate information gathered under Minn. Stat. § 245A.04 and shall 
consider facts, conditions, or circumstances concerning the program’s operation, the well-
being of persons served by the program, available consumer evaluations of the program, and 
information about the qualifications of the personnel employed by the license holder.21 
 
 11. The Commissioner properly considered all the statutory factors in ordering a fine 
and a conditional license. 
 
 Based upon the foregoing Conclusions of Law, and for the reasons explained in the 
Memorandum attached hereto, the Administrative Law Judge makes the following: 
 

RECOMMENDATION 
 

 IT IS HEREBY RECOMMENDED that the Commissioner of Human Services AFFIRM 
the Order to Forfeit a Fine and the Order of Conditional License. 
 
Dated:  February 22, 2012      s/Kathleen D. Sheehy 
         ___________________ 
         KATHLEEN D. SHEEHY 
         Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
Reported:  Digitally recorded (no transcript prepared) 
 
 

 

NOTICE 
 

 This report is a recommendation, not a final decision.  The Commissioner of Human 
Services will make the final decision after a review of the record.  The Commissioner may 
adopt, reject or modify these Findings of Fact, Conclusions, and Recommendations.  Under 
Minn. Stat. § 14.61, the Commissioner shall not issue a final decision until this Report has 
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 Minn. Stat. § 245A.07, subd. 3(a) (2008).   
20

 Minn. Stat. § 245A.06, subd. 1. 
21

 Minn. Stat. § 245A.04, subd. 6. 
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been made available to the parties to the proceeding for at least ten days.  An opportunity 
must be afforded to each party adversely affected by this Report to file exceptions and present 
argument to the Commissioner.  The record closes upon the filing of exceptions to the report 
and the presentation of argument to the Commissioner, or upon the expiration of the deadline 
for doing so.  The Commissioner must notify the parties and the Administrative Law Judge of 
the date on which the record closes.  Parties should contact Lucinda Jesson, Commissioner, 
Department of Human Services, P.O. Box 64998, St. Paul, MN 55164 (651) 431-2907 to learn 
the procedure for filing exceptions or presenting argument. 

 Under Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 1, the agency is required to serve its final decision 
upon each party and the Administrative Law Judge by first class mail or as otherwise provided 
by law.  If the Commissioner fails to issue a final decision within 90 days of the close of the 
record, this report will constitute the final agency decision under Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 2a. 

 

MEMORANDUM 
 

 The Licensee does not dispute the violations but seeks to have the $400 in fines 
pertaining to her father rescinded.  She has not used her father as a substitute caregiver in the 
past, so had not completed the background study request or required the training on 
SIDS/SBS for him.  She asked him to help her mother on an emergency basis so that two 
adults would be present on March 7, 2012, because the Licensee was attending the funeral of 
a close friend.  She acknowledges the Commissioner’s discretion to impose the fine, but asks 
that the fine be reduced as a measure of compassion. 
 

In addition, she requests that two of the terms of the conditional license be modified.  
She objected to the requirement of six hours of additional training, because it is difficult to 
obtain training in Douglas County, and she would likely have to close the daycare for a day to 
obtain it.  At the hearing, the licensing worker advised the Licensee of an option to obtain the 
required credit by reviewing the licensing rules and taking a test developed by the County, 
which would not require travel outside the County.  The Licensee indicated that this would be 
acceptable to her, but she had not known this option would be available.  In addition, the 
Licensee objected to the requirement that parents sign their children in and out each day, on 
the basis that it is administratively difficult, parents will not take it seriously, and it will require 
her to spend time following up with parents that would be better spent in caring for children.  
Again, the licensing worker testified at the hearing that she had created a form for the Licensee 
to use as a record-keeping tool and that it would not require significant time or effort to 
complete and submit.  The terms of the conditional license are reasonable and should be 
affirmed. 

 
K.D.S. 

 


