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STATE OF MINNESOTA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

In the Matter of the Order to Forfeit a
Fine and for Conditional Status of the
License of LeChresha Spears.

FINDINGS OF FACT,
CONCLUSIONS AND
RECOMMENDATION

This matter came before Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman for an
evidentiary hearing on February 22, 2011. The hearing was held in at the Health
Services Building, in Minneapolis, Minnesota and the hearing record closed on that day.

Frederic S. Stephens, Assistant County Attorney, Hennepin County Attorney’s
Office, appeared on behalf of Hennepin County Human Services and the Minnesota
Department of Human Services (County and Department). The Licensee, LeChresha
Spears, appeared on her own behalf and without counsel.

STATEMENT OF ISSUES

1. Did the Department demonstrate that reasonable cause exists to support
its determination that Licensee should be fined $1000 based on its determination that
she committed maltreatment by neglect under Minn. Stat. § 626.556?

2. Did the Department demonstrate that reasonable cause exists to support
a fine of $200 for failure to submit a background study for a caregiver?

3. Did the Department demonstrate that reasonable cause exists to support
two $200 fines for two instances in which a substitute caregiver had not completed
required training?

4. Did the Department demonstrate that reasonable cause exists to support
the Order of Conditional License for Ms. Spears’ child care license?

5. If the Department demonstrated reasonable cause to support the fines
and conditional license, did Ms. Spears demonstrate by a preponderance of the
evidence that she complied with all applicable laws and rules?

Based upon the hearing record, the Administrative Law Judge makes the
following:
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FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Licensee has been licensed to operate a group family day care in
Hennepin County for approximately eight years. The Licensee’s day care program is
operated out of her home in Richfield, Minnesota.1

2. At all times relevant to these proceedings, the Licensee was licensed as a
group family child care provider.2

Violations of Training and Background Study Requirements

3. On December 14 and15, 2009, Hennepin County Licensing staff received
complaints against the Licensee.3

4. During the investigation of these complaints, the licensing investigator
determined that the Licensee’s helper, Natalie, was providing substitute care for
Licensee and that Natalie had not participated in Shaken Baby Syndrome training as
required by Minn. Stat. § 245A.50, subd. 5.4

5. On December 16, 2009, the County issued a Correction Order to the
Licensee based on her use of a substitute caregiver who lacked required Shaken Baby
Syndrome training.5

6. Ms. Spears did not request reconsideration of the December 16, 2009
Correction Order.6

7. On July 14, 2010, Hennepin County Licensing staff received a report that
Licensee’s mother, Janet Echols, was providing care at Licensee’s child care program
and that Ms. Echols used corporal punishment on a child.7

8. As a result of the investigation that followed, the County issued a
Correction Order on July 21, 2010. The Correction Order determined that: Ms. Echols
used physical punishment in violation of Minn. R. 9502.0395, subp. 2.A.; Ms. Echols
was working in Licensee’s child care program without a required background study as
required by Minn. Stat. § 245C.03, subd. 1 (a)(3); and that Ms. Echols lacked caregiver
training as required by Minn. Stat. § 245A.50, subd. 1 and 5.8

1 Testimony of Tim Hennessey; Exhibit 28 at 1.
2 See, Exs. 1 through 29.
3 Ex. 14 at 1-2.
4 Ex. 14 at 3.
5 Ex. 15.
6 Test. of T. Hennessey.
7 Ex. 17.
8 Ex. 18.
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9. Because these violations were not addressed by mid-August 2010, they
were included in a second Correction Order dated August 17, 2010.9

10. Licensee requested reconsideration of the July 21, 2010 and August 17,
2010 Correction Orders. Ms. Spears’ request for reconsideration was denied in a letter
dated September 30, 2010 from the Department of Human Services.10

Maltreatment by Neglect

11. In July of 2010, Ms. Spears had an arrangement with one of her day care
parents, K.S., to transport K.S.’s children to the home of K.S.’s sister at the end of each
week day. K.S. had five children under care with the Licensee.11

12. In July of 2010, K.S.’s children were 8, 6, 4, 3 and 2 years old.12

13. In July of 2010, K.S.’s sister, T.S., lived in the Cinnamon Ridge
Apartments on Slater Road in Eagan, Minnesota.13

14. On July 28, 2010, some time between 3:30 and 4:00 p.m., the Licensee
drove the five siblings to the Cinnamon Ridge Apartment complex and waited in her
automobile as the children entered, unescorted, into the building. Because the
apartment building has a secure entryway and foyer, the children pressed the buttons
on the outside intercom until one of the residents responded by activating the electronic
entry mechanism.14

15. Consistent with her practice, the Licensee waited in her van for one of the
children’s relatives – either their aunt or another adult – to come down to the building’s
foyer and signal that the children had been safely received.15

16. T.S. was not at home when the children arrived at her apartment.16

17. Approximately 10 minutes after the children had entered the building, an
adult in the foyer waved to the Licensee. The person who waved to Ms. Spears was not

9 Ex. 21.
10 Ex. 27; Test. of T. Hennessey.
11 Ex. 2 at 9; Ex. 5 at 1-8; Testimony of Loretta Huffman.
12 Ex. 1 at 1-4; Test. of L. Huffman.
13 Ex. 1 at 1; Ex. 2 at 9; Ex. 3 at 5.
14 Id; Testimony of LeChresha Spears.
15 Ex. 5 at 2.
16 Ex. 3 at 5-6.
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the children’s aunt and was not otherwise known to Ms. Spears. The Licensee
assumed that the person who waived to her was related to K.S.’s children.17

18. At approximately 4:15 p.m., the children walked, by themselves, from their
aunt’s apartment building to the leasing office of the complex. The route between the
two buildings is approximately one-quarter of a mile along Slater Road, a busy
thoroughfare in Eagan. Additionally, at the time of the children’s journey, Slater Road
included an active construction site for an apartment siding project.18

19. Arriving at the leasing office, the children asked the Rental Agent to
telephone T.S. – explaining that T.S. was not answering her apartment door. The
Rental Agent attempted to telephone T.S. but could not reach her. The children stated
that they would walk back to their aunt’s apartment. The Rental Agent suggested that
they return to her office if they were unable to find their aunt. When none of the children
returned, the Rental Agent assumed that they had found T.S.19

20. Later, the Rental Agent received calls from tenants reporting that there
were unsupervised children in the building. The Rental Agent then called the police.20

21. Shortly after 5:00 p.m., Officer Jenni Wills of the Eagan Police Department
arrived at the Cinnamon Ridge Apartments. The children were sitting outside of the
apartment complex, unsupervised, when she arrived. Officer Wills, Officer Lisa
Francher and the children went upstairs to T.S.’ apartment. The children’s shoes were
outside the apartment door and the apartment door was locked.21

22. While undertaking some errands late in the afternoon, Ms. Spears
retrieved a text message from K.S. The message stated that T.S. was not available that
day to care for K.S.’s children.22

23. After receiving the text message from K.S., the Licensee called T.S., who
verified that she was not with the children.23

24. The Licensee drove back to the Cinnamon Ridge complex where she
found Officers Wills and Francher with K.S.’s children.24

17 Ex. 5 at 3-4.
18 Ex. 2 at 2; Ex. 3 at 7.
19 Ex. 2 at 5.
20 Id.
21 Ex. 3 at 5.
22 Ex. 5 at 4.
23 Ex. 5 at 6.
24 Ex. 5 at 7.
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25. After confirming with K.S. that she wanted her children left in the
Licensee’s care, the police officers left the scene.25

26. The Licensee remained with K.S.’s children until approximately 7:00 p.m.,
when adult relatives arrived to care for them.26

27. Hennepin County Human Services and Public Health Department notified
Licensee in a letter dated August 11, 2010 that it found Licensee was responsible for
neglecting the Children pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 626.556, subd. 2(f).27

28. In a letter dated August 16, 2010, Ms. Spears challenged the neglect
determination.28

29. Hennepin County affirmed the maltreatment determination in a letter to the
Licensee dated August 25, 2010.29

30. On September 15, 2010, Ms. Spears appealed the maltreatment
determination.30

Order to Forfeit a Fine and Order of Conditional License

31. In a letter dated November 30, 2010, the Department of Human Services
Ordered that Licensee forfeit fines of $1,600. The Department imposed a $1,000 fine
following its finding of maltreatment by neglect, imposed two fines of $200 each for
failing to have the substitute caregiver adequately trained, and a $200 fine for a failure
to obtain a background study.31

32. In addition, the November 30, 2010 Order made Licensee’s child care
license subject to a number of conditions for a period of one year. Among those
conditions, the Licensee must: obtain additional training, beyond the annual training
requirements for licensed child care providers; submit a plan for hours of operation
limiting Licensees child care program to no more than 12 hours per day; and submit a
detailed safety and supervision plan, a written background study plan, and procedures
for signing children in and out of the day care home.32

25 Ex.3 at 6-7.
26 Ex. 2 at 10; Ex. 5 at 14..
27 Ex. 6 at 1.
28 Ex. 7.
29 Ex. 26.
30 Hennepin County Ex. A at 1.
31 Ex. 28.
32 Ex. 28 at 11-12.
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33. The Licensee timely appealed the imposition of fines and a conditional
license.33

Based on the Findings of Fact, the Administrative Law Judge makes the
following:

CONCLUSIONS

1. The Administrative Law Judge and the Commissioner of Human Services
have jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Minn. Stat. §§ 14.50 and 245A.08.

2. The County and the Department has complied with all substantive and
procedural requirements of law and rule.

3. Maltreatment of a minor by neglect is defined in relevant part as “failure to
protect a child from conditions or actions that seriously endanger the child’s physical or
mental health when reasonably able to do so” and “failure to provide for necessary
supervision or child care arrangements appropriate for a child after considering factors
as the child’s age, mental ability, physical condition, length of absence, or environment,
when the child is unable to care for the child’s own basic needs or safety.”34

4. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 256.045, subd. 3b, the Department may
demonstrate that “maltreatment has occurred if a preponderance of evidence exists to
support the final disposition ….”

5. The Licensee failed to insure that an authorized, responsible adult was
available to care for K.S.’s children on July 28, 2009. Her failure resulted in the children
being unsupervised, and at risk of serious harm, for an hour or more.

6. With respect to the training and background study violations, pursuant to
Minn. Stat. § 245A.08, subd. 3, the Department may demonstrate reasonable cause for
the proposed licensing sanction by submitting statements, reports, or affidavits to
substantiate the allegations that the license holder failed to comply fully with applicable
law or rule. If the Department demonstrates that reasonable cause existed, the burden
of proof shifts to the license holder to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence
that she was in full compliance with those laws or rules.

7. Minn. Stat. § 245C.03, subd. 1 (a) (3) requires that a background study be
performed on “current or prospective employees or contractors of the applicant who
will have direct contact with persons served by the facility, agency, or program.”

8. Minn. Stat. § 245C.03, subd. 1 (h) requires that such background studies
be complete before the individuals “begin positions allowing direct contact in any
licensed program.”

33 Ex. 29.
34 Minn. Stat. § 626.556, subd. 2(f)(2)-(3).
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9. The Licensee failed to demonstrate that Ms. Echols underwent a
background study prior to having direct contact with children served by the Spears day
care.

10. Minn. Stat. § 245C.03, subd. 1 (a) (3) requires that “licensed child foster
care providers that care for infants or children through five years of age must document
that before staff persons and caregivers assist in the care of infants or children through
five years of age, they are instructed on the standards in section 245A.1435 and receive
training on reducing the risk of sudden infant death syndrome and shaken baby
syndrome for infants and young children.”

11. The Licensee failed to demonstrate that either of her substitute caregivers
had received training on reducing the risk of sudden infant death syndrome and shaken
baby syndrome for infants and young children.

12. The Licensee failed to demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence
that she was in full compliance with the above-cited laws and rules at the time the
Commissioner alleges the violations occurred.

13. The Commissioner may sanction a license if a license holder fails to fully
comply with applicable laws or rules. When applying licensing sanctions, the
Commissioner must “consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or
rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by
the program.”35

14. The record in this proceeding supports the conditioning of Ms. Spears’
license and imposition of fines for her violation of the training and background study
requirements.

Based upon the Conclusions, and for the reasons explained in the accompanying
Memorandum, the Administrative Law Judge makes the following:

RECOMMENDATION

IT IS RECOMMENDED that the Commissioner of the Department of Human
Services AFFIRM the Order to Forfeit a Fine and Order of Conditional License.

Dated: March 22, 2011

__/s/ Eric L. Lipman_____________________
ERIC L. LIPMAN
Administrative Law Judge

Digitally Recorded, No Transcript Prepared

35 Minn. Stat. § 245A.07, subd. 1.
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NOTICE

This Report is a recommendation, not a final decision. The Commissioner of
Human Services will make the final decision after a review of the record and may adopt,
reject or modify these Findings of Fact, Conclusions, and Recommendations. The
parties shall have ten calendar days to submit exceptions to the administrative law
judge's report. The record shall close at the end of the ten-day period for submission of
exceptions. The commissioner's final order shall be issued within ten working days from
the close of the record.36 Parties should contact Lucinda Jesson, Commissioner,
Department of Human Services, P.O. Box 64998, St. Paul, MN 55164-0998, (651) 431-
2907 to learn the procedure for filing exceptions or presenting argument.

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 1, the Commissioner is required to serve
its final decision upon each party and the Administrative Law Judge by first class mail.

MEMORANDUM

Ms. Spears argued at the evidentiary hearing that the imposition of $1,600 in
fines is a disproportionate response to any of the claimed violations in state day care
standards.37 The Administrative Law Judge disagrees.

The fines imposed by the Department were in the amount set by the Legislature
in Minn. § 245A.07, subd. 3 (c)(4).

Moreover, the Department’s response comes against the backdrop of earlier rule
violations, and in this instance, serial violations of the supervision and training
standards.38 The Order to Forfeit a Fine and Order of Conditional License are
appropriate, necessary for the protection of the children under care and should be
affirmed.

E. L. L.

36 Minn. Stat. § 245A.07, subd. 2a(b).
37 See, Testimony of LeChresha Spears.
38 Ex. 28 at 9-11.
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