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STATE OF MINNESOTA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

FOR THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES

In the Matter of the Conditional License
and Order to Forfeit a Fine Against the
License of Rosemary Milton

FINDINGS OF FACT,
CONCLUSIONS, AND
RECOMMENDATIONS

A hearing was held in this matter before Administrative Law Judge Steve M.
Mihalchick on October 21, 2005, at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 100
Washington Square, Suite 1700, Minneapolis, Minnesota. The record was closed upon
adjournment of the hearing that day.

Margaret L. Gustafson, Special Assistant Ramsey County Attorney, 50 W.
Kellogg Blvd., Ste. 560, Saint Paul, MN 55102, appeared on behalf of the Department of
Human Services (“DHS” or “Department”) and Ramsey County Community Human
Services Department (“County”). Rosemary Milton (“Licensee”), 2965 Edward Street,
Maplewood, MN 55109-5505, appeared on her own behalf

NOTICE

This report is a recommendation, not a final decision. The Commissioner of
Human Services will make the final decision after a review of the record. The
Commissioner may adopt, reject or modify the Findings of Fact, Conclusions, and
Recommendations. Under Minn. Stat. § 14.61, the final decision of the Commissioner
shall not be made until this Report has been made available to the parties to the
proceeding for at least ten days. An opportunity must be afforded to each party
adversely affected by this Report to file exceptions and present argument to the
Commissioner. Parties should contact Kevin Goodno, Commissioner, Department of
Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155 to learn the procedure for
filing exceptions or presenting argument.

If the Commissioner fails to issue a final decision within 90 days of the close of
the record, this report will constitute the final agency decision under Minn. Stat. § 14.62,
subd. 2a. The record closes upon the filing of exceptions to the report and the
presentation of argument to the Commissioner, or upon the expiration of the deadline
for doing so. The Commissioner must notify the parties and the Administrative Law
Judge of the date on which the record closes.

Under Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 1, the agency is required to serve its final
decision upon each party and the Administrative Law Judge by first class mail or as
otherwise provided by law.
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STATEMENT OF ISSUES

1. Was Licensee required to submit a background study form for a substitute
caregiver Minn. Stat. §§ 245C.04, subd. 1, and 245C.03, subd. 1(d), and, if so, did she
fail to do so?

2. If so, did the Department properly impose a fine of $200 and order
conditional licensure

Based upon all of the proceedings herein, the Administrative Law Judge makes
the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Licensee has been licensed by DHS to provide family child care for up to
10 children in her home since March 2001. Licensee typically provides care for about
seven or eight children.1

2. Raberta Washington has been a social worker with the County’s Family
Child Care Licensing unit (FCC Licensing) since July 2003. Ms. Washington supervises
128 licensed daycare providers, including Licensee. In Ms. Washington's view,
Licensee has provided exemplary child care.2 Licensee has never been sanctioned.3

3. On May 13, 2004, Licensee was advised that she would need major
surgery that would require six weeks of recuperation during which she could not work as
a child care provider. Licensee was concerned that if she shut down for a six week
period, her clients would find permanent child care elsewhere and she would be out of
business. Licensee was so anxious about the issue that she discussed it with a
psychologist.4

4. Under the Department's day care rules, children in a day care must be
supervised by a “caregiver,” and the licensed provider must be the primary caregiver. A
“substitute” may provide care in place of the licensed provider (when the provider is not
present), but not for more than a total of 30 days in any 12 month period.5 Providers

1 Testimony of Milton.
2 Testimony of Washington.
3 Testimony of Milton.
4 Testimony of Milton; Ex. 5 at 1.
5 Minn. Rule 9502.0315 provides, in part:

Subp. 6. Caregiver. "Caregiver" means the provider, substitute, helper, or another adult
giving care in the residence.

Subp. 14. Helper. "Helper" means a person at least 13 years of age and less than 18 years
of age who assists the provider with the care of children.

Subp. 29. Substitute. "Substitute" means an adult at least 18 years of age who assumes the
responsibility of the provider as specified in part 9502.0365, subpart 5.
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are licensed to provide day care at a particular location. Other caregivers are not
licensed, whether they assist the provider when the provider is present or whether they
act as a substitute when the provider is temporarily absent. A licensed provider must
submit documentation that all adult caregivers who assist with care on a regular basis
have had a physical examination within the prior 12 months and are physically able to
care for children.6

5. Under Minnesota statutes governing background studies, a licensed
provider must submit completed background study forms for all persons living in the
household and all employees or contractors who will have direct contact with the day
care children.7 A completed form must be submitted to the “commissioner,” which for
this purpose is defined as follows:

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services or the
commissioner's designated representative including county agencies and
private agencies.8

6. In addition to licensed child care, there are certain situations that are
excluded from the licensure requirement where the care is being provided by otherwise
qualified organizations or where the amount of child care that is provided is so limited
that a license is not required. The exclusions that apply to child care by individuals are
listed in Minn. Stat. § 245A.03, subd. 2(a)(2004), as follows:

This chapter does not apply to:

(1) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to a person
by an individual who is related unless the residential program is a child

Minn. Rule 9502.0365 provides, in part:

Subp. 4. Helpers. A helper may be used in place of a second adult caregiver when there is
no more than one infant or toddler present.

Subp. 5. Supervision and use of substitutes. A licensed provider must be the primary
provider of care in the residence. Children in care must be supervised by a caregiver. The use
of a substitute caregiver must be limited to a cumulative total of not more than 30 days in any
12-month period.

6 Minn. Rule 9502.0355, subp.2. A.
7 Minn. Stat. §245C.04, subd. 1(d), provides:

Applicants for licensure, license holders, and other entities as provided in this chapter must
submit completed background study forms to the commissioner before individuals specified in
section 245C.03, subdivision 1, begin positions allowing direct contact in any licensed program.

The persons listed in Minn. Stat. § 245C.03, subd. 1, include:

(3) current or prospective employees or contractors of the applicant who will have direct contact
with persons served by the facility, agency, or program;

8 Minn. Stat. §§ 245A.02, subd. 5, and 245C.02, subd. 7.
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foster care placement made by a local social services agency or a
licensed child-placing agency, except as provided in subdivision 2a;

(2) nonresidential programs that are provided by an unrelated individual
to persons from a single related family;

. . .

(15) nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total
of less than 30 days in any 12-month period;9

7. Licensee was not familiar with the rules on the use of substitutes. She
was unaware even that the word “substitute” had a particular meaning in day care
licensure. She understood the word according to its common meaning to mean
anybody that could replace her, including other licensed providers. Licensee had never
used a substitute caregiver to relieve her, even for a few hours. She assumed that all
substitutes had to be licensed providers. She recalls having heard of licensed providers
who did only “substitute work.” Licensee was also unfamiliar with the statute allowing
unlicensed child care in limited situations.10

8. On July 23, 2004, Licensee called her Licensor, Ms. Washington, and
informed her that she would be having surgery in January 2005. She asked if Ms.
Washington knew of any licensed providers who did substitute child care. Ms.
Washington told her that she did not know of any that did “substitute work,” but
suggested that Licensee contact the Adults and Children’s Alliance to obtain a list of
providers who were willing to do “back-up” day care.11

9. Ms. Washington also told Licensee that any “helpers” would need a
completed and cleared criminal background check form prior to starting work and that
she would mail the necessary forms to Licensee that afternoon. Licensee did not
receive any forms from Ms. Washington.12

10. Licensee called the Adults and Children's Alliance. She paid a one-year
membership fee and requested a copy of the list of licensed providers available to do
back-up care. She received that on July 29, 2004. Because she thought it would best
to keep the four youngest children together if possible, she called the providers in the
area to see if they could accommodate all four children. None would agree to do so, at

9 Effective August 1, 2005, clause (15) was amended to read:

programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, and sports and art programs,
and nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in
any 12-month period.

Laws of Minnesota, 2005 1st Spec. Sess., ch. 4, art. 1, § 4. That change merely added the listed groups
to the exclusion and has no impact on this matter.
10 Testimony of Milton; Ex. 5 at 1.
11 Testimony of Milton; Ex. 5 at 1.
12 Testimony of Milton and Washington; Exs. 3 and 5 at 27.
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least not six months in advance. She then decided to look elsewhere. She checked the
newspaper ads. She saw an ad for a person who worked strictly as a substitute. She
called her, but found that she charged $14 per hour, which was more than she was
receiving from her clients already.13

11. On or about August 30, 2004, FCC Licensing mailed a brochure about
adult caregiver and helper training to Licensee. The brochure described co-applicants,
adult caregivers, and helpers. A co-applicant was described as a person whose name
appeared on the license, completed the application and other requirements and signed
a provider agreement and met the same training requirements as the primary licensed
provider. A helper was described as a person 13 up to 18 years old, who had 18 would
be considered an adult assistant. An adult caregiver was described as follows:

ADULT CAREGIVER:

Provides care 30 times a year or more but name is not on the license.
The adult caregiver must provide a BCA, Fact Sheet, Physician’s Report,
and at least 6 hours of training each year which includes CPR and SIDS
training. An Adult Substitute Caregiver can provide care in the absent [sic]
of the provider up to 30 times in one calendar year. Six hours of training
per year is required.14

12. Upon seeing this provision, Licensee realized for the first time that a
substitute caregiver could be unlicensed. However, she did not realize that this was
because the licensed provider remains responsible for the care of the children provided
by a substitute caregiver because she still did not understand the concept of a
substitute in licensing parlance. Instead, she focused on the concept that a caregiver
could be unlicensed, which was new to her.15

13. Licensee reviewed her provider handbook to confirm her understanding
that adult substitutes did not have to be licensed. She found a page describing changes
to the Human Services Licensing Act -- Minnesota Statute 245A. It was on a form
numbered RCW 3239 (8/00) cdr.16 It listed the statutory exclusions from licensure.
Licensee made particular note of the following statement paraphrasing clause (15):

A license is still not required in the following child care situations under
Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, . . . (15) child care
provided to children for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in any 12
month period.

Licensee understood this provision to apply to substitutes, as she used the term, and
now thought that she had another option available. Under this law, she could find

13 Testimony of Milton; Ex. 5 at 11.1.
14 Testimony of Milton; Ex. 5 at 15.1.
15 Testimony of Milton; Ex. 5 at 16.
16 Ramsey County Welfare (RCW) is the former name of the Ramsey County Community Human
Services Department.
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someone to provide child care for her clients for less than a total of 30 days and that
person would not have to be licensed.17

14. On September 3, 2004, Licensee contacted Tammy E. Wayne, the parent
of a child who had formerly received child care from Licensee, and asked if she would
be interested in providing substitute day care in Licensee’s home. After Ms. Wayne
expressed interest, Licensee contacted a tax attorney with some knowledge of day care
laws. The attorney said that it was his understanding that Licensee could use an
unlicensed substitute, but suggested that she contact the Licensor to see what was
required. The attorney also advised Licensee to create an independent contractor
relationship with the Ms. Wayne. He suggested a contract establishing independent
contractor status between Ms. Wayne and Licensee and another set of contracts
between Ms. Wayne and the parents of each of the children receiving child care.
Licensee decided to proceed as her lawyer suggested.18

15. On September 7, 2005, the Licensee spoke to Ms. Washington and
confirmed that she could use an unlicensed substitute caregiver. Ms. Washington told
her that the only requirement was the need for a criminal background check. A few
days later, Ms. Washington called to ask a few more questions and to make sure that
Licensee was going to use Ms. Wayne for no more than 30 days.19

16. Licensee and Ms. Washington misunderstood each other during these
discussions in September. Licensee was talking about Ms. Wayne temporarily
providing unlicensed child care in Licensee's home, while Ms. Washington understood
Licensee to be talking about using Ms. Wayne as a substitute under Licensee's license.

17. One child in Licensee’s care receives daycare subsidy payments from the
County. The County has contracted with Resources for Child Caring (“RCC”) to provide
some administrative services pertaining to the payment of day care subsidies, including
the meals program. RCC also contracts with the County to operate a clearinghouse for
parents seeking available licensed daycare in Ramsey County. Licensee called a social
worker at RCC to see if payments for the one child could be sent directly to the
substitute during her recovery period. The RCC worker informed Licensee that the
substitute would need to be registered with the County to receive the payment. On
about September 17, 2004, Licensee received a packet of forms for Ms. Wayne to
complete, including a Release of Criminal Information form. It is County form number
“RCW 2149A (Rev. 5/02) cdr.” It states that the release of information is being
requested by Ramsey County Community Human Services and authorizes the release
of criminal information by law enforcement agencies to "Ramsey County Human
Services payments.” The Release of Criminal Information form was signed by Ms.
Wayne on October 28, 2004, and returned to RCC. Licensee believed that the form

17 Testimony of Milton; Ex. 5 at 16.
18 Testimony of Milton.
19 Testimony of Milton. Ms. Washington had no record of these conversations.
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was the Release of Criminal Information form that had been referred to by Ms.
Washington and that submitting it to RCC complied with Ms. Washington's directions.20

18. On October 28, 2004, Ms. Wayne and Licensee signed a Substitute
Childcare Provider Agreement that had been drafted by Licensee or her attorney. The
agreement contained the following provisions, among others:

19.From February 7, 2005 to March 18, 2005, Ms. Wayne would be the
“substitute childcare provider in place of” Licensee while Licensee recovered
from surgery.

20.Ms. Wayne would provide the childcare at Licensee's residence.

21.Ms. Wayne would have her own contract with each of the clients so
that they would understand that she was acting as a self-employed provider, not
an employee of Licensee. Licensee would be on the premises recovering from
surgery, but would not be providing care to the children and would not be
supervising Ms. Wayne. She would, however, be available to answer questions
from Ms. Wayne.

22.The clients would pay Ms. Wayne directly and Licensee would receive
no income during the period.

23.Supplies would be provided by Licensee.

24.All curriculum, activities, cooking, etc. were the sole responsibility of
Ms. Wayne.

25.Ms. Wayne would complete and pass a First Aid/CPR course prior to
beginning work, because it was a state requirement.21

26. At various times during November 2004, Licensee's parents each signed
an Enrollment Agreement for Child Care Services. Ms. Wayne signed the agreements
on January 13, 2005. Each Enrollment Agreement stated that the parents understood
that their children were enrolled in child care with Ms. Wayne for the period of February
7, 2005, through March 18, 2005. Each provided that day care would be provided
Monday through Friday and identified the particular days and times each child would be
attending, stated the rates to be paid, and provided for a termination notice of two
weeks. Ms. Wayne signed the document in a space labeled, “Provider's signature.”22

27. The period of February 7, 2005, through March 18, 2005, is almost six
weeks long and has 30 weekdays.

20 Testimony of Milton and Washington; Ex . 5 at 20.1.
21 Testimony of Milton; Exs. 4 and 5 at 18.1.
22 Ex. 5 at 19.1-19.11.
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28. On January 28, 2005, Licensee had surgery. She closed day care
services for one week. On February 7, 2005, Ms. Wayne began caring for Licensee’s
day care children at Licensee’s home. Licensee was present at her home, other than
when she left for medical appointments. She saw Ms. Wayne interact with the children
at various times during the day and did not observe any conduct that would cause
concern. Licensee also had a monitor in her bedroom so she could hear the children in
the event Ms. Wayne needed assistance. Licensee perceived no problems until March
2, 2005, when she observed Ms. Wayne was bleeding from her ear.23

29. On March 3, 2005, the County received a report from Regions Hospital
that Ms. Wayne had been hospitalized for detoxification and had told the hospital that
she had been caring for 10 children in Licensee's home for three weeks while Licensee
recovered from surgery. The hospital also reported that Ms. Wayne stated she had
been drinking only before and after doing the child care.24

30. Ms. Washington and another family child care licensor went to Licensee’s
home on March 3, 2005, to investigate the report. Licensee told the licensors that Ms.
Wayne had contracted with each family to provide child care in Licensee's home
beginning on February 7, 2005, and that Ms. Wayne was not working for Licensee. The
licensors requested the Applicant Background Clearance Study and Physician’s Report
on Ms. Wayne. Licensee stated that she had submitted paperwork, including a release
to the BCA, to RCC. The licensors informed Licensee that these were not the correct
forms and that the licensor had previously told Licensee on two occasions in 2004 that
the forms needed to be completed prior to any substitute caregiver being employed.
Licensee stated that she had been told by the RCC that the forms were fine. Licensee
said that except for follow-up medical appointments, she had been present in the house
and did not note any behavior by Ms. Wayne that would indicate that she was ever
intoxicated.25

31. The form used by FCC Licensing for authorizing background checks of
criminal information is form number RCW 1909 (Rev.7/02) Page 1 [and 2] cdr. There is
no title on the front page of the form, only instructions to, “PLEASE PROVIDE THE
FOLLOWING INFORMATION (Please Print):.” The back of the form has the title,
“Applicant Background Study, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Clearance Check.” It
contains a number of instructions and information that the information requested will be
disclosed to the Department and the local agency responsible for licensing.26

32. Ms. Washington and the County believe that when day care is provided in
a licensee's home, it is being provided under that licensee's day care license.27 In this
case, they did not believe that Ms. Wayne could provide legal unlicensed day care in
Licensee's home.

23 Testimony of Milton.
24 Testimony of Washington; Ex. 5 at 28.1.
25 Testimony of Milton and Washington; Ex. 5 at 28.2.
26 Testimony of Milton; Ex. 6.
27 Testimony of Washington.
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33. Licensee terminated her contract with Ms. Wayne on March 3, 2005. Ms.
Wayne had no contact with the children in day care after March 2, 2005. Ms. Wayne
provided day care in Licensee's home from February 7, 2005, to March 2, 2005, a total
of 24 days.28

34. Ms. Washington contacted DHS to discuss how to handle the situation.
Because Licensee had been such an excellent provider, Ms. Washington found the fact
that she had not turned in the background check to her to be surprising and very out of
character. She recommended to the Department that Licensee be fined, which he
considered an appropriate minimal penalty. Ms. Washington was told to provide the
Department with a written recommendation that Licensee be fined and placed on a one-
year conditional license for failure to provide a criminal background check.29

35. On March 29, 2005, Ms. Washington sent a letter to the DHS on behalf of
the County recommending a fine and a one-year conditional license. The letter cited
the report that had been received from Regions Hospital and the March 3, 2005,
conversations that the licensors had with Licensee and her description of the
arrangements that have been made with Ms. Wayne. The letter went on to state:

FCC licensing informed Mrs. Milton that these were not the correct forms
and that the licensor had previously stated to her (7/23/04 phone call,
1/20/05 relicensing visit) the forms that needed to be completed prior to
any substitute caregiver being employed. In addition, all the forms were to
be submitted and cleared by Ramsey County FCC Licensing as agent for
DHS.

36. There was no relicensing visit on January 20, 2005. There had been a
relicensing visit on January 20, 2004. It could not possibly have happened on that date.
Ms. Washington did not explain why she had used the January 20, 2005, date other
than to call it a mistake as to the year.30 It appears that Ms. Washington recalled having
a second conversation with Licensee, as she had on September 7, 2004, but could not
accurately recall the date and just put something in that was not true. No
contemporaneous notes support the statement in the letter that, “all the forms were to
be submitted and cleared by Ramsey County FCC Licensing as agent for DHS.” It does
not sound like something a licensor would say. It most likely was not said to Licensee.

37. The March 29, 2005, letter stated the County's position on the
arrangement with Ms. Wayne as follows:

The fact that day care services were being provided in the Milton FCC
home meant that care was under the FCC license. As the license holder,
Mrs. Milton was to follow the mandated licensing rules regarding
documentation and qualification of caregivers, and was therefore, in
violation.

28 Testimony of Milton; Ex. 2.
29 Testimony of Washington.
30 Testimony of Washington; Ex. 2.
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38. Ms. Washington signed the letter as Licensing Social Worker from “RCC --
Family Childcare Licensing.31

39. On August 19, 2005, the Department issued an Order to Forfeit a Fine –
Order of Conditional License to Licensee. It stated that it was based upon a
recommendation by the County. It ordered a $200 fine stating the following reason:

On February 8, 2005, you were in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section
245C.04, subdivision 1, which requires license holders to submit a
background study form to DHS before an individual working in the
program has direct contact with children served by the program.

It described the violation as follows:

On March 3, 2005, Ramsey County received a complaint regarding your
childcare home. On March 3, 3005, [sic] two Ramsey County licensing
workers visited your home to investigate the complaint. During the
complaint investigation, the licensing workers determined that from
February 8, 2005, to March 3, 2005, a caregiver who was providing care
for children did not have a background study submitted as required
providing care for children [sic].

40. The Order also placed Licensee's license on conditional status for one
year. The Order cited Minn. Stat. §§ 245A.06, subds. 1 and 3, and 245A.04, subd. 6,
which provide the basis and authority for issuing conditional licenses and other
sanctions, and Minn. Stat. §§ 245C.03, subd. 1, and 245C.04, subd. 1(d), as the
statutes violated. It described the violation as follows:

During the complaint investigation, the licensing workers determined that
from February 8, 2005, to March 3, 2005, a caregiver who was providing
care for children did not have a background study submitted as required.

41. The Order imposed five terms on the conditional license. They included
that she submit a written plan describing how she would ensure that substitute
caregivers have the appropriate training and how she would comply with the
background study requirements for all substitute caregivers, that she notify her licensor
prior to use of any substitute caregiver, and that she provide a copy of the Order of
Conditional License to the parents of her day care children.32

42. Licensee filed a timely appeal. The Notice of and Order for Hearing dated
August 29, 2005, was served by the County by mail on September 20, 2005.

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact, the Administrative Law Judge makes
the following:

31 Testimony of Washington; Ex. 2.
32 Ex. 1. The order stated it was based a recommendation of Ramsey County Human Services
Department.
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CONCLUSIONS

1. The Administrative Law Judge and the Commissioner of Human Services
are authorized to consider the appeal of the fine and conditional child care license,
pursuant to Minn. Stat. §§ 245A.08 and 14.50.

2. The Department may demonstrate reasonable cause for the action taken
by submitting statements, reports, or affidavits to substantiate the allegations that the
license holder failed to comply fully with applicable laws or rules. If the Department
demonstrates reasonable cause, the burden of proof shifts to the license holder to
demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that the license holder was in full
compliance with those laws or rules that the Department alleges were violated.33

3. Licensee has demonstrated by a preponderance of the evidence that Ms.
Wayne was acting as a provider of legal unlicensed day care providing day care in
Licensee's home from February 7, 2005, through March 2, 2005. Licensee was not the
provider of day care during that period and Ms. Wayne was not her “substitute” as that
term is defined in Minn. Rule 9502.0315, subp. 29.

4. Since Ms. Wayne was a legal unlicensed day care provider, Licensee was
not required to submit a completed background study form for her under Minn. Stat. §§
245C.03, subd. 1, and 245C.04, subd. 1. Therefore, Licensee did not violate those
statutes.

5. Even if Ms. Wayne were considered to have been a “substitute” and
Licensee were considered to have been the “provider,” there was no violation of Minn.
Stat. §§ 245C.03, subd. 1, and 245C.04, subd. 1, because a completed background
check form for Ms. Wayne was submitted to RCC before she began providing care.
RCC is a private agency authorized to request and receive the County's Release of
Criminal Information form, RCW 2149A, which by its own terms provides for the release
of information to Ramsey County Community Human Services. Thus, the completed
background check form was provided to the County as required by the statutes.

Based upon the foregoing Conclusions, and for the reasons set forth in the
accompanying Memorandum, the Administrative Law Judge makes the following:

33 Minn. Stat. § 240A.08, subd. 3(a).
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RECOMMENDATION

IT IS RESPECTFULLY RECOMMENDED that the Order to Forfeit a Fine - Order of
Conditional License be REVERSED.

Dated: December 9, 2005

/s/ Steve M. Mihalchick
__________________________
STEVE M. MIHALCHICK
Administrative Law Judge

Tape recorded (two tapes) not transcribed

MEMORANDUM

The purpose of a background study in the day care setting is to determine
whether persons who will have direct contact with day care children have committed
any acts that would disqualify them from having that direct contact. The Department
maintains that Licensee violated the plain language of the statute when she failed to
submit a background study form before her substitute caregiver began work. The
Department seeks sanctions consisting of a $200 fine and the imposition of a one-year
conditional license.

Licensee has an exemplary record of providing quality child care. It is apparent
that the County and Licensee have experienced significant miscommunications, some
of which are not the fault of either Licensee or Ms. Washington, that have resulted in
misunderstandings and hard feelings.

There are some conflicts in the testimony of Licensee and Ms. Washington and it
is necessary to assess their credibility. Licensee was very precise, kept detailed and
accurate records, and testified very credibly. She is an excellent day care provider.
She sought information from the County and others as to how she could arrange to
cover the care of her clients during her surgery and recovery. She looked at the
statutes, rules, and other materials she had been provided and attempted to comply
with them in every way. She suffered from a lack of knowledge of the jargon used by
the County, and so did not ask the right questions and misunderstood the answers
received.

Ms. Washington was less precise, kept less detailed and less accurate records,
and testified slightly less credibly. She has many clients, and it appears that some of
her testimony about what happened was not from actual memory of what happened or
from contemporaneous notes. Rather they appear to be statements of what she most
likely would have said in similar situations. Likewise, it appears that some of the
records of her conversations with Licensee were reconstructed after the fact and
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contained some content or keyboarding errors. Her letter to DHS recommending
sanctions suffered from the same errors.

It is most clear that Ms. Washington never understood that Licensee was
contemplating using Ms. Wayne to provide legal unlicensed day care in her home. That
was probably because of confusion over the use of the term “substitute.” Ms.
Washington failed to recognize that and failed to clear up the confusion.

The County has provided no support for its statement that day care provided
Licensee’s home “meant that care was under the FCC license.” Nothing in the licensing
statutes or rules says that. On the contrary, Ms. Wayne met every requirement set by
Minn. Stat. § 245A.03, subd. 2, to be excluded from licensure. Thus, the statutes the
Department alleges have been violated did not apply in this situation.

Licensee was not intentionally attempting to circumvent the rules governing
substitute caregivers. Rather, Licensee made great efforts to comply with the law and
honestly believed that submitting the completed background check form to RCC was
what was required in these unique circumstances. She appears to have been correct,
but if she was wrong, her mistake is understandable. The form was submitted and the
County presumably completed the background check. The children were cared for
without incident. It is not appropriate that Licensee be penalized in this situation.

S.M.M.
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