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STATE OF MINNESOTA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

In the Matter of the Proposed Revocation
of the Family Child Care License of Dawn
Maag

FINDINGS OF FACT,
CONCLUSIONS AND
RECOMMENDATION

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing before Administrative Law Judge
(ALJ) Richard C. Luis, on June 5 and June 30, 2000. The hearing was conducted by
video conference, with the Administrative Law Judge appearing on each occasion at the
Department of Human Service’s facility in St. Paul, and all other participants at the Clay
County Human Services Department’s facility in Moorhead.

Michelle C. Winkis, Assistant Clay County Attorney, Clay County Courthouse,
807 11th Street North, PO Box 280, Moorhead, Minnesota 56561-0280, appeared on
behalf of the Clay County Department of Human Services (County). The Licensee,
Dawn Maag, 58 King Street, Moorhead, Minnesota 56560, appeared on her own behalf
on June 5, 2000. On June 30, the Licensee was represented by Craig A. Peterson,
Esq., Peterson Law Office, 100 4th Street South, Suite 412, Fargo, North Dakota 58103.
The record closed on September 1, 2000.

NOTICE

This Report is a recommendation, not a final decision. The Commissioner of the
Minnesota Department of Human Services will make the final decision after a review of
the record. The Commissioner may adopt, reject or modify the Findings of Fact,
Conclusions and Recommendation. Under Minn. Stat. § 14.61 the final decision of the
Commissioner may not be made until this Report has been made available to the
parties to the proceedings for at least 10 days. An opportunity must be afforded to each
party adversely affected by this Report to file exceptions or present argument to the
Commissioner. Parties should contact the office of Michael O’Keefe, Commissioner of
Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155 for information
regarding the filing of exceptions or presentation of argument.

STATEMENT OF ISSUE

Whether the Order of Revocation of the Family Child Care License of Dawn
Maag should be affirmed because of Ms. Maag’s disqualification from performing child
care services at a licensed facility, and because of her failure to request reconsideration
of a disqualification determination issued against her on October 26, 1999, which
disqualification was imposed because of a past forgery charge and for alleged serious
maltreatment of a child in her care in August, 1999.
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Based upon all of the proceedings herein, the Administrative Law Judge makes
the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On September 3, 1999, LW, the mother of one of the Licensee’s day care
children, contacted the Clay County Human Services Department’s Child Protection
Office and reported that her daughter, AW, who was 28 months old at that time, had
come home with scratch marks or bruises on her neck and arms. Another of LW’s
daughters, JG, age 8, had reported to her mother that Ms. Maag had dragged her little
sister around by her arm. On September 9, 1999, JG told a county investigator that Ms.
Maag, on a different occasion than the arm-dragging incident, had grabbed AW around
the neck to get her back inside after breaking up a dispute on “she thought” August 31,
1999. The investigation of LW’s complaint was overseen by Kathleen Cardinal, a
Licensing Specialist in Family Child Care for the County. Ms. Cardinal concluded, after
investigating LW’s complaint, that Ms. Maag had committed acts of recurrent
maltreatment against AW, a child in her care.

2. On September 15, 1999, a 3 month-old baby died of Sudden Infant Death
Syndrome (SIDS) while in the care of Ms. Maag. A police investigation into the incident
exonerated her of any responsibility, but the Licensee was traumatized by the incident.

3. On October 21, 1999 the County notified Ms. Maag in writing that the
Child Protection Specialist assigned to the case, Cindy Fogel, had determined that the
Licensee had abused AW. The notice specified:

“Your rights: If you do not agree with the county’s determination that abuse
occurred, you may ask the county to reconsider its determination. You must
send your request for reconsideration within 15 calendar days of receiving this
letter. If you still do not agree with the county’s final decision after
reconsideration, or if the county fails to respond to your request, you may ask the
Commissioner of Human Services for a hearing. The instructions for seeking an
agency reconsideration and for requesting an appeal hearing are attached.”

Ms. Maag received the notice, but never filed for reconsideration of the determination
that abuse had occurred.

4. On October 26, 1999 the County, by way of a written notice to Ms. Maag
from Kathleen Cardinal, disqualified Ms. Maag from providing further child day care
services. The reasons stated were a “serious maltreatment” determination, based on
the investigation noted in finding 1, and the discovery by the County that Ms. Maag had
been charged with forgery in South Dakota in 1993. Ms. Maag received the notice of
disqualification on September 27, 1999. The notice states, in part:

“You have the right to submit a written request to the Commissioner for
reconsideration of the disqualification. You must initiate the request within 30
days after receiving this notice of the disqualification. ….Your application to
continue as a licensed provided may be denied unless the Commissioner sets
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aside the disqualification. Failure to request reconsideration will be treated by
the Commissioner as acceptance by you of the disqualification.”

Ms. Maag never requested a reconsideration of the determination of disqualification.

5. Ms. Maag, after more than 15 days elapsed from issuance of the October
21, 1999 determination of abuse, contacted by phone the Child Protection Specialist
who wrote the determination and notice of the right to request reconsideration. The
Specialist, Ms. Fogel, informed Ms. Maag that she could still appeal the disqualification
that had been issued on October 26, 1999. The licensee then contacted by telephone
Ms. Cardinal, the Licensing Specialist who issued the disqualification/notice. After their
conversation, during which Cardinal explained to Ms. Maag her right to appeal the
disqualification in writing, Cardinal mailed to Maag forms or instructional material
regarding how to file a request for reconsideration. Maag never filed a request for
reconsideration of the October 26, 1999 disqualification determination.

6. Maag alleges that she did not file requests for reconsideration of either
the October 21 or October 26 determinations because her impaired mental state at the
time (due to the SIDS) left her unable to understand the reconsideration process and
unable to attend to such details. Other then Maag’s testimony, there is no corroborating
evidence or documentation about her mental or emotional states as they may relate to
the competency to understand her legal rights and obligations during the fall of 1999.

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact, the Administrative Law Judge makes
the following:

CONCLUSIONS

1. Any of the above Findings of Fact more properly considered Conclusions
are hereby adopted as such.

2. The Administrative Law Judge and the Commissioner of Human Services
have jurisdiction in this matter under Minn. Stat. §§ 14.50 and 245A.08.

3. The Department of Human Services gave proper and timely notice of the
hearing in this matter.

4. The Department and Clay County have complied with all substantive and
procedural requirements of law and rule.

5. Minn. Stat. § 245A.04, subd. 3b(a) provides, in pertinent part:

“Reconsideration of disqualification. (a) The individual who is the subject
of the disqualification may request a reconsideration of the disqualification.

The individual must submit the request for reconsideration to the
Commissioner in writing…. within 30 calendar days of the disqualified
individual’s receipt of the notice of disqualification. …Removal of a
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disqualified individual from direct contact shall be ordered if the individual
does not request reconsideration within the prescribed time…”

6. By operation of the above-quoted statute, the determination to disqualify
Ms. Maag from contact with day care children has become final due to her failure to
request reconsideration.

7. Minn. Stat. § 256.045, subd. 3(a)(8) provides that state agency hearings
are available for individuals or facilities determined to have maltreated a minor after the
individual or facility has exercised the right to administrative reconsideration. Hearings
for individuals or facilities under clause (8) of the statute are the only administrative
appeals to the final agency determinations specifically.

8. In that connection, Minn. Stat. § 256.045, subd. 3b provides that the
Commissioner’s determination as to maltreatment is conclusive.

9. By operation of the above-noted statute, the determination that Ms. Maag
abused AW has become final due to her failure to request reconsideration.

10. Under Minn. Rule 9502.0335, subpart 6.D, revocation of Dawn Maag’s
License for family child care is mandatory because she is disqualified from any position
allowing direct contact with persons receiving services from her as a license holder for
substantiated serious or recurring maltreatment of a minor within the meaning of Minn.
Stat. § 245A.04, subd. 3d. That statutes refers to Minn. Stat. § 626.556 for the
parameters of what constitutes “substantiated serious or recurring maltreatment”.

Under Minn. Stat. § 626.556 subd. 10e(a)(1), “maltreatment” means physical
abuse as defined at Minn. Stat. § 626.556, subd. 2(d). That subdivision defines
“physical abuse” as any physical injury inflicted by a person responsible for a child’s
care on a child other then by accidental means, or any physical injury that can not
reasonably be explained by the child’s history of injuries.

11. Under Minn. Stat. § 245A.04 subd. 3d, “abuse resulting in serious injury”
falls within the definition of serious maltreatment under that statute. Under that same
statute, bruises are included within the definition of abuse resulting in serious injury.
Also under that subdivision, “recurring maltreatment” means more than one incident of
maltreatment for which there is a preponderance of evidence that the maltreatment
occurred, and that the subject was responsible for the maltreatment. By her failure to
request reconsideration of the determinations that she physically abused AW and that
she was disqualified from providing family child care services, Ms. Maag has allowed to
become final determinations that she engaged in conduct constituting serious and
recurring maltreatment of a minor within the meaning of Minn. Stat. § 245A.04 subd. 3d.

12. The County has established reasonable cause for revocation of Ms.
Maag’s license by showing her failure to request reconsideration of her disqualification
from providing family child care services as an individual, which failure made the
disqualification determination final and provided grounds for revocation of her license
under Minn. Stat. § 245A.04, subd. 3d.
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13. Ms. Maag has failed to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that
her failure to request reconsideration of the disqualification determination against her
within 30 days was due to mental or emotional conditions that operated to toll the 30-
day deadline for requesting reconsideration.

14. Under Minn. Stat. § 245.A.04, subd. 3d, it is appropriate to order
revocation of the child family care license of Dawn Maag.

Based upon the foregoing Conclusions, the Administrative Law Judge makes the
following:

RECOMMENDATION

IT IS RECOMMENDED that the Family Child Care License of Dawn Maag be
REVOKED.

Dated this 15th day of September, 2000.

RICHARD C. LUIS
Administrative Law Judge

Reported: Videotaped (2 Tapes), No Transcript Prepared.

NOTICE

Under Minn. Stat. § 14.62, subd. 1, the agency is required to serve its final
decision upon each party and the Administrative Law Judge by first class mail or as
otherwise provided by law.

MEMORANDUM

It is the opinion of the Administrative Law Judge that the Licensee’s failure to
request reconsideration of the County’s determination that she should be disqualified
has made that determination final. She has not shown sufficient cause to excuse her
failure to seek reconsideration. Her case in that regard is an allegation that she did not
understand her obligations to protect herself during the time after she received the
determination that she should be disqualified for the forgery charge and serious
maltreatment of a child. Without corroborating, independent (preferably from a medical
or psychological professional) evidence indicating that Ms. Maag was incompetent to
understand the significance of a communication that explained clearly that she had 30
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days to request reconsideration and that failure to do so would constitute her
acceptance of the disqualification, the Administrative Law Judge is unable to
recommend that her failure to make the request be excused, or to refer such a
determination to the Commissioner.

Ms. Maag was disqualified for serious maltreatment of a child, which is within
the scope of the Minn. Stat. § 245A.04, subd. 3d. As result, under Minn. Rule
9502.0335, subp. 6D., it is mandatory that her license be revoked.

The merits of Ms. Maag’s defenses on both the “forgery” and the maltreatment
allegations may be worthy, and they are on the record for consideration by the
Commissioner, but the ALJ believes they are immaterial. Since Ms. Maag failed to
request reconsideration of the disqualification based on those factors, the Judge is
persuaded that the Commissioner lacks jurisdiction to review the factual merits of the
bases for disqualification.

If he were to assess the merits of the factual allegations, the Administrative Law
Judge would have serious doubts about Ms. Maag’s credibility. She testified that she
had no other criminal charges relating to checks except for the 1993 incident in South
Dakota which formed one of the bases for the determination of disqualification. Exhibit
19 establishes that the Licensee was arrested and convicted in North Dakota on two
misdemeanor counts of writing insufficient funds (NSF) checks during the fall of 1996,
for which she was ordered to pay restitution over $500.00 and $100.00 in court fees,
with 30 days’ jail time stayed for each offense. The Judge does not believe Ms. Maag
simply forgot about these incidents when she testified that she had no other criminal
charges against her.

The Administrative Law Judge has discounted the fact that Ms. Maag’s failure to
request reconsideration also made final the allegation that she was guilty of forgery of
the type contemplated under Minn. Stat. § 609.631. Exhibit 11 makes clear that her
conviction in South Dakota was for insufficient funds (NSF) at a misdemeanor level.
Minn. Stat. § 245A.04 calls for disqualification for check-related offenses only if the
convictions are for forgeries at a felony or gross misdemeanor level. There was,
however, a sufficient basis to allow the County to believe the allegations of physical
abuse. As of October 1999, the issuance of determinations of abuse and
disqualification on October 21 and October 26, respectively, were not unreasonable.
Ms. Maag lost her opportunity to test the correctness or appropriateness of these
allegations by failing to request reconsideration of either determination.

R.C.L.
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