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Introduction

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission submits this report to the Legislature to fulfill its two
statutory reporting requirements:

e To identify and explain all modifications made during the preceding twelve months and all proposed
modifications that are being submitted to the Legislature in 2020;* and

e To summarize and analyze reports received from county attorneys on criminal cases involving a
firearm.?

The Commission also takes this opportunity to highlight other topics that may be of interest to the Legislature,
including updates on Commission activities, recommendations to the Legislature, staff activities, sentencing
trends, and information regarding the impact of the 2016 Drug Sentencing Reform Act.3

In 1980, Minnesota became the first state to implement a sentencing guidelines structure. The Minnesota
Sentencing Guidelines Commission is a legislatively created body whose purpose is to establish and improve the
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines, evaluate outcomes of changes in sentencing policy, analyze trends, make
appropriate recommendations, and provide education on sentencing law and policy.

When establishing and modifying the Guidelines, the Commission’s primary consideration is public safety.*
Other considerations are current sentencing and release practices, correctional resources—including, but not
limited to, the capacities of local and state correctional facilities—and the long-term negative impact of crime on
the community.®> The Commission has stated that the purpose of the Sentencing Guidelines is to establish
rational and consistent sentencing standards that reduce sentencing disparity and ensure that the sanctions
imposed for felony convictions are proportional to the severity of the conviction offense and the offender’s
criminal history.® The Sentencing Guidelines embody principles including that sentencing should be neutral,
rational, consistent, and uniform, and that departures from the presumptive sentences should be made only
when substantial and compelling circumstances can be identified and articulated.”

1 Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 11.

2 Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 14 (referencing the reports required by Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 10).
3 That is, 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 160; see Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6.

4 Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 5.

51d.

6 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 1.A.

7 1d.
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In all but one of the first 37 years the Guidelines were in effect—from 1980 through 2016—Minnesota ranked
among the states with the three lowest imprisonment rates in the nation.® In 2017, Minnesota was fifth lowest.®
This change was not caused by an increase in Minnesota’s imprisonment rate; at 191 prisoners per 100,000
residents, Minnesota’s rate did not change from 2016 to 2017, although it did remain at its third-highest level
since the Sentencing Guidelines were established (Figure 1).° Instead, the imprisonment rate for 33 other states
fell, causing the U.S. state imprisonment rate to fall by 1.9 percent from 2016 to 2017.! Despite its 2017 change
in ranking, Minnesota’s imprisonment rate remained less than half the national state imprisonment rate.!2

Figure 1. Imprisonment Rate per 100,000 Residents, 1978-2017
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Source: Bureau of Justice Statistics

8 Minnesota had the fourth-lowest imprisonment rate in 2014, and the third-lowest in 2015 and 2016. Carson, E. Ann.
Bureau of Justice Statistics. “Imprisonment Rate of Sentenced Prisoners under the Jurisdiction of State or Federal
Correctional Authorities per 100,000 U.S. Residents, Dec. 31, 1978-2016" (Bureau of Justice Statistics, Oct. 19, 2017).
Retrieved April 25, 2019, at http://www.bjs.gov/nps/resources/documents/QT imprisonment%20rate_total.xlsx.

9 Jennifer Bronson & E. Ann Carson, “Prisoners in 2017” (NCJ 252156) (Bureau of Justice Statistics, April 2019), Table 6.
Retrieved April 25, 2019, at http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/p17.pdf.

10 For purposes of comparison, Minnesota’s imprisonment rate was 49 per 100,000 in 1980. See footnote 8.

11 Bronson & Carson, Table 5.

12 The imprisonment rate for all states was 390 prisoners per 100,000 U.S. residents. Neither rate includes inmates of
federal prisons or local correctional facilities. See footnote 9.
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Executive Summary

The Commission’s Activities in 2019 (p. 5):

One of the fundamental responsibilities of the Commission is to maintain the Guidelines by annually amending
them in response to legislative changes, case law, and issues raised by various parties. The Commission met ten
times in 2019 to fulfill its statutory responsibilities of improving the Sentencing Guidelines and conducting
ongoing research into sentencing practices and other matters relating to the improvement of the criminal justice
system. In addition, the Commission held two public hearings, on July 18 and December 19.

By April 23, 2019, Governor Tim Walz had appointed four new Commission members and designated a new
Chair. At its July meeting, the new Commission prioritized topics for future work. Two topics emerged with the
most interest among Commissioners: A comprehensive review of child pornography sentencing guidelines, and
probation guidelines, including term limits and revocations. (See “Ongoing Commission Activities,” below.)

2019 Guidelines Modifications (p. 7):

The Commission made five amendments to the Sentencing Guidelines resulting from the 2019 Minnesota
Session Laws. In addition, the Commission made several amendments unrelated to legislative action—most of
which were reported to the Legislature last year—and various technical amendments. These amendments took
effect August 1, 2019.

Proposed 2020 Guidelines Modifications (p. 8):

In 2019, the Commission adopted proposals to rank two unranked offenses: Escape from Electronic Monitoring
would be ranked at severity level 3, and Offering Counterfeit Currency would be ranked at severity level 2, 3, or
6, depending on the dollar amount involved. In 2020, the Commission adopted a proposal to place a
presumptive five-year limit on the length of probation for most felonies. Absent legislative intervention, these
modifications will take effect August 1, 2020.

Recommendation to the Legislature: Define Minimum Term of Imprisonment for Murder of Unborn
Child in the First Degree (p. 9):

The Commission unanimously adopted a resolution to recommend that the Legislature statutorily define a
minimum term of imprisonment for Murder of Unborn Child in the First Degree.

Ongoing Commission Activities (p. 9):

The 2019 Legislature directed the Commission to review and consider modifying how the Guidelines address
child pornography and related crimes as compared to similar crimes, including other sex offenses and other
offenses with similar maximum penalties. In July, under the leadership of its new Chair, the Commission
prioritized topics for the remainder of 2019 and for 2020. In addition to the required child pornography review,
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probation guidelines, including term limits and revocations, was a topic of interest. In November, the
Commission moved to public hearing a proposal that would limit the length of most probation terms at five
years. On January 9, 2020, after public hearing, that proposal was adopted with some modifications.

Staff Activities (p. 11):

In 2019, staff provided Sentencing Guidelines guidance to an average of 250 practitioners per month; provided
the Legislature with 50 fiscal impact statements and 7 demographic impact statements for pending crime bills;
compiled and reported sentencing information for over 300 individual data requests; participated in various
criminal justice boards, forums and committees; processed and ensured the accuracy of over 18,000 sentencing
records; worked with the Department of Corrections to generate prison bed projections and revise the
Electronic Worksheet System to meet the requirements of the current Sentencing Guidelines; published the
annual edition of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary; and provided reports on sentencing
practices to the public.

2018 Sentencing Practices Data Summary (p. 14):

Minnesota courts sentenced 18,284 felony offenders in 2018, which is the second-highest case volume on
record. Because this number was slightly lower than the 2017 record-high volume of 18,288, a seven-year run of
annual increases in case volume ended in 2018. None of the offense categories decreased by more than four
percent nor increased by more than eight percent. In 2018, for the first time, males accounted for less than 80
percent of the felony offenders in Minnesota.

In 2018, 91 percent of felony offenders served either local confinement time as part of their stayed sentence
(68%) or state prison time (23%). The average pronounced prison sentence was 47 months.

Statewide, 75 percent of felony offenders received the presumptive Guidelines sentence. The rate varied by
gender, race and ethnicity, judicial district, offense type, and presumptive disposition.

Impact of the 2016 Drug Sentencing Reform Act (p. 37):

The 2016 Drug Sentencing Reform Act (DSRA) made a number of significant changes to the sentencing of
Minnesota drug offenses. Those changes generally took effect August 1, 2016, and applied to over eighty
percent of the drug cases sentenced in 2018. A comparison of cases sentenced before and after the DSRA’s
effective date discloses the act’s impact in reducing prison-bed demand, even in the face of a growing volume of
drug cases sentenced.

County Attorney Firearms Reports (p. 61):

County attorneys must collect and report disposition information for specified crimes for which a defendant is
alleged to have possessed or used a firearm, and the Commission must summarize and analyze that information
in its annual report. In fiscal year 2019, county attorneys disposed of 1,274 firearms cases.
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The Commission’s Activities in 2019

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is an eleven-member body created by the Legislature. Three
members are appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court: The Chief Justice’s designee; a judge of the
Court of Appeals; and a district court judge. Eight members are appointed by the Governor: one public defender;
one county attorney; the Commissioner of Corrections; one peace officer; one probation officer; and three
public members, one of whom must be a felony crime victim. The Governor also designates the Chair.

Effective April 23, 2019, Governor Tim Walz appointed three new public members to the Commission and
designated one of them, Kelly Lyn Mitchell,** as the Commission’s Chair.'* The other public members are Abby
Honold®® and Tonja Honsey.® Governor Walz had previously appointed Paul Schnell as Commissioner of
Corrections on January 7, 2019.

Governor Walz also reappointed four Commission members: the public defender member, Cathryn
Middlebrook, Chief Appellate Public Defender; the county attorney member, Peter Orput, Washington County
Attorney; the peace officer member, Saint Paul Police Sgt. Salim Omari; and the probation officer member,
Valerie Estrada, Corrections Unit Supervisor, Hennepin County Community Corrections & Rehabilitation.

The designee of Chief Justice Lorie S. Gildea is Associate Supreme Court Justice (Retired) Christopher Dietzen.
Effective October 16, 2019, the Chief Justice appointed Judge Michelle A. Larkin as the Commission’s Court of
Appeals judge.” Effective January 6, 2020, the Chief Justice appointed Judge Kevin Mark, First Judicial District, as
the Commission’s district court judge.®®

One of the fundamental responsibilities of the Commission is to maintain the Guidelines by annually amending
them in response to legislative changes, case law, and issues raised by various parties. The Commission met ten
times in 2019 to fulfill its statutory responsibilities of improving the Sentencing Guidelines and conducting
ongoing research into sentencing practices and other matters relating to the improvement of the criminal justice
system. In addition, the Commission held two public hearings, on July 18 and December 19.

In January 2019, the Commission previewed important topics anticipated to be part of the upcoming legislative
session including recommendations from Minnesota Attorney General Lori Swanson’s Working Group on Sexual
Assault to improve responses to sexual assault reports by adult victim-survivors; and discussed the Commission’s
agency oversight responsibilities. In February and March, it discussed unranked offenses, the theft offense list,
and probation, including whether the Guidelines should address conditions of stayed sentences. At its March

13 Succeeding Judge Mark Wernick as a public member.

14 Succeeding Associate Justice (Retired) Christopher Dietzen as Chair.

15 Succeeding Angela Champagne-From.

16 Succeeding Yamy Vang.

17 Succeeding Judge Heidi Schellhas, who was the Commission’s Vice-Chair until immediately before her retirement from
the Court of Appeals on October 15, 2019.

18 Succeeding Judge Caroline Lennon, First Judicial District.
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meeting, the Commission adopted a resolution to recommend the Legislature define a minimum term of
imprisonment for first-degree murder of an unborn child (discussed on page 9).

Before the May meeting, an orientation was held for new Commission members. At its May meeting, the newly
appointed Commission further discussed theft offenses, proposed clarifying amendments to its repeat severe
violent offender policy (discussed on p. 7), proposed other Guidelines amendments (discussed on p. 8); and
proposed ranking escape from electronic monitoring at severity level 3 (discussed on p. 8).

In June, the Commission proposed to rank offering counterfeit currency at severity level 2, 3, or 6, depending on
the dollar amount involved (discussed on p. 8), and proposed Guidelines changes in response to five crimes
created or amended by the Legislature in the preceding session (discussed on p. 7).

At its July meeting, the Commission took final action on proposed Guidelines modifications and, under the
leadership of the new Chair, prioritized topics for the remainder of 2019 and for 2020. In addition to the
legislatively mandated review of child pornography sentencing guidelines, the topic of probation guidelines,
including term limits and revocations, garnered the most interest.

Additionally, at its July meeting, the Commission made appointments to groups established in 2019 Session
Laws. Cathryn Middlebrook was appointed the representative to the Community Competency Restoration Task
Force® and Tonja Honsey was appointed the representative to the Criminal Sexual Conduct Statutory Reform
Working Group.?°

At its September meeting, the Commission welcomed a 13-member delegation from the Kosovo Sentencing
Commission, led by the President of the Supreme Court of Kosovo, the Hon. Enver Peci. After the meeting,
President Peci presented the Commission with a plaque and a first edition of Kosovo’s Sentencing Guidelines.

In the fall, the Commission began its comprehensive review of child pornography sentencing, discussion of
which begins on page 9; and worked on guidelines related to probation—which included a proposal to establish
a five-year probation term limitation—discussion of which begins on page 10.

192019 Minn. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. ch. 9, art. 6, § 77.
202019 Minn. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. ch. 5, art. 4, § 21.
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2019 Guidelines Modifications

Below is a summary of the modifications that the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission made to the
August 1, 2018, edition of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary. Each modification had a
specified effective date of August 1, 2019.%

Changes Relating to Crimes Created or Amended in 2019

On July 25, 2019, after public hearing, the Commission made modifications relating to felony offenses created or
amended by the 2019 Minnesota Session Laws. There were five amendments:

e New third- and fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct offenses where the actor is a peace officer;

e Higher statutory maximums for child pornography and use of minors in sexual performance when
committed by repeat or predatory offenders, or when involving a child under age thirteen;

e A new surreptitious observation device offense where the victim is a minor and there is sexual intent;

e Wage theft; and

e Terminology changes to harassment and stalking statutes.

Each modification is detailed in Appendix 1.1 on page 67.

Changes to Criminal History Score Calculation & Creation of Second or Subsequent Severe Violent
Offense Modifier

On December 20, 2018, after public hearing, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission adopted and
submitted to the Legislature?? several modifications changing the calculation of the criminal history score and
adding a sentencing enhancement for second or subsequent severe violent offenses. As the Legislature did not
intervene, these modifications took effect.

On July 25, 2019, after public hearing, the Commission made a small number of amendments and technical
changes to these modifications. Among other things, these amendments clarified that stays of imposition qualify
as prior severe violent offenses, but sentences within misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor limits do not.

The modifications, as amended, took effect August 1, 2019. They are detailed in Appendix 1.2 on page 80.

Changes to Clarify Effective Dates

On July 25, 2019, after submission to the Legislature and public hearing, the Commission adopted modifications
to clarify that Guidelines modifications generally apply to offenses committed on or after the effective date of

21 See Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 3.G for an explanation of how effective dates are implemented.

22 The Commission submitted these proposed modifications to the Legislature January 11, 2019. Minn. Sentencing
Guidelines Comm’n, Report to the Legislature (Jan. 11, 2019). Retrieved July 26, 2019, at https://go.usa.gov/xysku. The
Legislature took no action to provide that the changes should not take effect. See Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 11.
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the modification. This action was taken in light of State v. Kirby, 899 N.W.2d 485 (Minn. 2017). As the Legislature
did not intervene, these modifications took effect August 1, 2019. They are detailed in Appendix 1.3 on page 90.

Other Non-Legislative Amendments to the Guidelines

On July 25, 2019, after public hearing, the Commission adopted two non-legislative modifications: one
reconciled policy conflicts regarding offenses committed while under sentence; and the other eliminated an
ambiguity when a prior felony resulted in a non-felony sentence. Each modification is detailed in Appendix 1.4
on page 91.

Technical Amendments to the Guidelines

On July 25, 2019, after public hearing, the Commission adopted technical modifications, each of which is
detailed in Appendix 1.5 on page 94.

Proposed 2020 Guidelines Modifications

Below is an explanation of the modifications that the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission proposes to
be made to the August 1, 2019, edition of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary. Each
modification has a specified effective date of August 1, 2020.2% These modifications are now submitted to the
Legislature. Unless the Legislature by law provides otherwise, these modifications will take effect August 1,
2020, and will apply to crimes committed on or after that date.?

Proposed Severity Level Rankings

On July 25, 2019, after public hearing, the Commission adopted proposals to rank Escape from Electronic
Monitoring at severity level 3; and to rank Offering Counterfeit Currency under Minn. Stat. § 609.632, subd. 3, at
severity level 2 (55,000 or Less), severity level 3 ($5,001-535,000), and severity level 6 (Over $35,000). These
offenses are presently unranked.

These modifications are detailed in Appendix 2.1 and Appendix 2.2, beginning on page 98.

Proposed Probation Cap

On January 9, 2020, after public hearing, the Commission adopted a proposal to limit to five years the
presumptive duration of a stay of execution or imposition of sentence for a felony offense, with exceptions for
certain homicide and sex offenses.

A discussion of the Commission’s recent work on guidelines related to probation begins on page 10. The
language of the proposed modification is set forth in Appendix 2.3 on page 101.

23 See Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 3.G for an explanation of how effective dates are implemented.
% see footnote 1.
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Recommendation to the Legislature: Define Minimum Term of
Imprisonment for Murder of Unborn Child in the First Degree

Pursuant to its mandate to make recommendations to the Legislature regarding changes to criminal law,
criminal procedure, and sentencing,? the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission recommends that the
Legislature statutorily define the minimum term of imprisonment that applies to offenders serving mandatory
life sentences for Murder of Unborn Child in the First Degree.?® The specific language of the Commission’s
recommendation, contained in a resolution unanimously adopted by the Commission on March 14, 2019, is
found in Appendix 3 on page 120.

The offense in question had a statutory minimum term of imprisonment when it was established in 1986, but
the offense was apparently overlooked when minimum terms of imprisonment were lengthened in 1989. There
is now no minimum term of imprisonment specified in statute.?” According to MSGC monitoring data, this
offense is rarely committed, and, when it is committed, it is accompanied by the first-degree murder of the
mother. Nevertheless, it is foreseeable that the offense may someday be committed as the primary offense, for
sentencing purposes. By following the Commission’s recommendation, the Legislature could clarify what
minimum term of imprisonment applies before such an event occurs.

The Commission’s recommendation does not include particular advice as to what minimum term of
imprisonment ought to apply to this offense, although the Commission does recommend against life without the
possibility of release for violations of Minn. Stat. § 609.2661, clause (3) (Murder of Unborn Child First Degree —

While Committing Certain Crimes).?®

Ongoing Commission Activities

Comprehensive Review of Child Pornography Sentencing

On May 30, 2019, the Commission received a legislative mandate to conduct a comprehensive review of child
pornography sentencing guidelines:

The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall comprehensively review and consider modifying how the
Sentencing Guidelines and the sex offender grid address the crimes described in Minnesota Statutes,
sections 617.246 and 617.247, as compared to similar crimes, including other sex offenses and other
offenses with similar maximum penalties.?®

25 Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6.

26 Minn. Stat. § 609.2661.

27 |n 2019, the Minnesota Supreme Court, without fully addressing the undefined minimum term of imprisonment, held
that life without the possibility of release does not apply to this offense because it is not listed in the heinous crimes
statute, Minn. Stat. § 609.106. State v. Mouelle, 922 N.W.2d 706, 719 (Minn. 2019).

28 The similar provision in the first-degree murder statute, Minn. Stat. § 609.185(a)(3) (First-Degree Murder — While
Committing Certain Crimes), is not punishable by life without possible release. See Minn. Stat. § 609.106, subd. 2(1).
292019 Minn. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. ch. 5, art. 4, § 22 (enacted May 30, 2019).
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At its July meeting, the Commission prioritized this comprehensive review in its future work plan, and much of
the Commission’s work in the fall was devoted to the first steps of the review:

o At its September meeting, the Commission reviewed the mandate, its legislative history, and the history
and structure of Minnesota’s child pornography laws and the Sex Offender Grid. The Commission also
reviewed the U.S. Sentencing Commission’s 2012 child pornography study and its own sentencing data,
and determined its next steps.

e |n October, the Commission continued its discussion of child pornography sentencing guidelines by
looking at issues related to definitions of child pornography and the production of child pornography.

o At the Commission’s November meeting, experts from the U.S. Attorney’s Office, the Dakota County
Attorney’s Office, and the Minnesota Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force—working with the
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension—answered the Commission’s questions about state and federal child
pornography investigations and prosecutions.

The Commission intends to continue its comprehensive review in 2020.

Guidelines Related to Probation

The Commission’s February meeting included a discussion of possible work plan ideas for the remainder of the
year. At that meeting, the Commission reviewed the geographical differences in pronounced probation
durations and discussed the possibility of returning®® to the topic of changing how the Sentencing Guidelines
address probation.

At its July meeting, the Commission again took up the discussion of its work plan. This discussion included
review of a letter from Minnesota District Court Judge Gail Kulick to Lt. Gov. Flanagan on the subject of racial
disparity in probation revocations.3! The Commission also heard from the Chair of the House crime committee,*?
Rep. Carlos Mariani, who urged the Commission to act on the issue of probation reform. When given an
opportunity to allocate a number of priority votes, Commission members present at the meeting allocated more
priority to the topic of probation than to the other topics presented.3?

In October, the Commission discussed probation guidelines, term limits, and revocations. Chair Kelly Lyn
Mitchell, in her capacity as Executive Director of the Robina Institute of Criminal Law and Criminal Justice,
presented information on racial and regional disparities in probation and sentencing, and how they might be

30 The issue had been discussed most recently at the Commission’s meeting of April 12, 2018. For a historical review of the
Commission’s study of probation guidelines, see Nate Reitz’s April 10, 2018, memorandum to Hon. Christopher J. Dietzen,
Chair (“Has the MSGC ever promulgated probation guidelines or related rules?”), retrieved Dec. 3, 2019, at
http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/meeting%20materials/2018/April/BackgroundMemoChair_ProbationGuidelines.pdf
31 Kulick, Gail T. Letter to Lt. Gov. Flanagan. (April 8, 2019). Retrieved Nov. 18, 2019, at
http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/meeting%20materials/2019/July25/6B_JudgeKulickLetter.pdf.

32 That is, the Public Safety and Criminal Justice Reform Finance and Policy Division of the Minnesota House of
Representatives’ Ways and Means Committee.

33 The comprehensive review of child pornography, being mandatory, was not part of the priority allocation. See MSGC
meeting minutes of July 25, 2019, pp. 5-6, retrieved December 3, 2019, at
http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/meeting%20materials/2019/July25/ApprovedMSGCMinutes25July2019.pdf

10 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission


http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/meeting%20materials/2018/April/BackgroundMemoChair_ProbationGuidelines.pdf
http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/meeting%20materials/2019/July25/6B_JudgeKulickLetter.pdf
http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/meeting%20materials/2019/July25/ApprovedMSGCMinutes25July2019.pdf

reduced.3* The discussion included data on Minnesota’s pronounced probation durations and probation
revocations.

At its November meeting, Commissioner of Corrections Paul Schnell presented a memorandum entitled,
“Proposed Guidelines Modification to Limit Probation Terms,” which contained background, observations, and
conclusions regarding probation terms.* Commissioner Schnell’s memo included a proposal to set five-year
limits on probation terms, with exceptions for certain homicide and sex offenses. The Commission advanced this
proposal to a public hearing on a six-to-five vote.

At the public hearing on December 19, 2019, members of the public provided input to the Commission on
Commissioner Schnell’s proposal. On January 9, 2020, the Commission reviewed the public hearing testimony
and adopted the proposal on an eight-to-three vote, with modifications. These adopted changes to the
Sentencing Guidelines are now submitted to the Legislature; they are set forth in Appendix 2.3, which begins on
page 101. A minority report is set forth in Appendix 2.4, which begins on page 107. Absent legislative
intervention, the adopted modifications will take effect August 1, 2020.

Staff Activities

The following provides a summary of the activities performed by Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission
(MSGC) staff—in addition to providing support and research for the Guidelines modifications detailed in this
report—to further the goals and purposes of the Commission. In particular, staff assist the Commission in
fulfilling its statutory charter3® to serve as a clearinghouse and information center for the collection,
preparation, analysis, and dissemination of information on sentencing practices. This includes information
regarding the impact of statutory changes to the state's criminal laws related to controlled substances, including

the Drug Sentencing Reform Act.?’

Monitoring Sentencing Data

One of the primary functions of the MSGC staff is to monitor sentencing practices. The monitoring system is
designed to maintain data on all offenders convicted of a felony and sentenced under the Guidelines.®® A case is
defined when a sentencing worksheet is received from the probation officer and matched with sentencing data
from the District Court. As part of the agency’s core functions, MSGC staff collected and analyzed data of over

34 Mitchell, K. Robina Institute of Criminal Law and Criminal Justice. University of Minnesota Law School. Presentation to the
Criminal Justice Institute. Reducing Racial & Regional Disparities in Probation and Sentencing. (Sept. 11, 2019). Retrieved on
Nov. 18, 2019 at http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/meeting%20materials/2019/October/CJIProbationPresentation.pdf.
35 Schnell, P. Memorandum to Mr. Nate Reitz, Executive Director, Minn. Sentencing Guidelines Commission. (Nov. 5, 2019).
Retrieved on Dec. 26, 2019, at
http://mn.gov/msgc-stat/documents/meeting%20materials/2019/November/ProposedModificationProbationLength.pdf.
36 Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 6.

37 See “Impact of the 2016 Drug Sentencing Reform Act,” beginning on p. 37.

38 Beginning in 2005 and 2006, MSGC began maintaining data on life sentences, even if not governed by the Guidelines.
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18,000 felony offenders. Additionally, staff published the annual edition of the Sentencing Guidelines and
Commentary and its annual reports on sentencing practices and trends.%

Training & Assistance

The staff provides training and assistance with the Guidelines in a variety of ways: monthly webinars on
individual sentencing topics, website materials, and email and telephone assistance. On average, the staff
fielded over 250 calls and emails per month, the majority of which were questions from judges, attorneys, and
probation officers about the application of the Guidelines to their felony cases.

MSGC staff and Department of Corrections’ Information Technology staff released updates to correspond with
the changes implemented by the Commission in 2019 to the criminal history score calculation. These technology
changes were made to not only assist probation agents with determining eligibility under the new policies, but
enhance the data collected by MSGC staff for prior offenses.

Website & Data Requests

The Commission’s website received 5,266 visits each month in 2019. The majority visited to access the
Sentencing Guidelines. The website includes easily accessible email signup for upcoming trainings, public hearing
notices, and Commission meeting notices. One-click data requests makes getting sentencing information quick
and easy.

One of the important ways in which the Commission’s staff works with fellow agencies and criminal justice
practitioners across the state is researching and compiling statistical data in response to information requests.
MSGC staff responded to over 300 data requests in 2019. These requests are most often made by lawyers or
corrections agents to show evidence of specific sentencing practices to the court. However, the requests are
also made by academics, students, other state agencies, legislative staff, law enforcement, and the press for
other purposes. The topics range from departure data for a single type of offense within a given county to
comparative data on how an offense has been sentenced from one jurisdiction to another.

Collaboration with Criminal Justice Agencies

The staff’s knowledge of felony sentencing and practice makes it a valued contributor to criminal justice policy
discussions. Each year, Commission staff works with the Department of Corrections to generate prison bed
projections. MSGC staff serves on the Criminal and Juvenile Justice Information Advisory Group and the newly
formed Criminal Sexual Conduct Statutory Reform Working Group in addition to providing support to the
Commission’s representative on the Community Competency Restoration Task Force. Staff also participated in
trainings that were arranged by the Minnesota County Attorneys Association and Minnesota Corrections
Association.

39 This information is summarized in this report (“2018 Sentencing Practices Data Summary,” beginning on p. 14). The
detailed reports may be found at https://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports/.
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Fiscal Impact Statements & Demographic Impact Statements

During the 2019 Legislative Sessions, staff provided fiscal impact statements for 50 bills. These impact
statements include details as to any increase or decrease in adult offender populations, the estimated net
increase in state correctional facility beds, and the impact on confinement in local correctional facilities. Staff
provided all requested information within the time requirements set by the Legislature.

In 2008, MSGC staff began providing the Minnesota Legislature demographic impact statements*° on certain
crime bills when such a statement was anticipated to be helpful to the Legislature. When, in the course of
preparing a required fiscal impact statement, MSGC staff identifies a bill that meets its criteria for preparing a
demographic impact statement, it prepares such a statement and sends it to the chairs of the crime committees
in the Senate and the House. This is done separately from the required fiscal-impact statements. The full
demographic impact statements are available on the MSGC web site.*

During the 2019 Legislative Sessions, seven legislative policy proposals met the criteria for preparing a
demographic impact statement:

e SF2445 proposed increases to the presumptive sentence for second-degree criminal sexual conduct
(CSC) offenses;

e SF 111 proposed amendments to CSC, surreptitious intrusion, use of minor in a sexual performance, and
child pornography (CP);

e HF 89 proposed increased penalties for use of minors in a sexual performance and CP offenses, creating
mandatory minimum sentences, and directing the MSGC to modify the Sex Offender Grid;

e HF 480 proposed amending CSC provisions;

e HF 689 proposed capping probation durations at five years except for murder and CSC;

e HF 812 proposed amending the definition of position of authority in Minn. Stat. § 609.341, subd. 10, to
include persons in current or recent positions of authority.

e HF 2013 proposed establishing new thresholds for marijuana offenses and established a new statute for
marijuana offenses with penalties based on marijuana quantities.

40 These had previously been referred to as “racial-impact statements.”
41 Full statements are available at https://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports/#1.
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2018 Sentencing Practices Data Summary

The following data summarize information about sentencing practices and case volume and distribution. The
recommended sentence under the Guidelines is based primarily on the severity of the offense of conviction and
secondarily on the offender’s criminal record. The majority of offenders receive the recommended sentence.

In Minnesota, sentencing of felony offenders is governed by the Sentencing Guidelines. It is important,
therefore, to be aware of the effect of differences in offense severity and criminal history when evaluating
sentencing practices. This is particularly important when comparing groups of offenders (e.g., by gender, race
and ethnicity, and judicial district). For example, if in a particular district the proportion of serious person
offenders is fairly high, the imprisonment rate for that district will likely be higher than for districts with
predominantly lower severity-level offenses.

Case Volume and Distribution

In 2018, 18,284 felony offenders were sentenced, the second-highest volume of cases on record. The 2018
volume was very slightly (0.02%) lower than the 2017 record-high volume of 18,288 cases, ending a seven-year
run of annual increases in case volume (from 2010-2017).

Of the seven offense categories, none decreased by more than four percent nor increased by more than eight
percent.

As a category, drug offenses decreased by 2.4 percent from 2017 to 2018. By contrast, in the eight years from
2010 to 2018, the number of drug offenses grew by 66 percent, accounting for most of the 28-percent overall
growth in felony offenders sentenced over that time. Only the “weapon”#? category surpassed the drug category
in growth from 2010 to 2018 (84% increase). The specific offense that contributed the most to that growth in
the “weapon” category was possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of violence, which increased
from 234 offenders in 2010 to 468 offenders in 2018 —a 100 percent increase.

Person offenses grew by 15.5 percent during these eight years, while property offenses had the smallest growth
rate, at 13.5 percent. Non-CSC sex offenses® grew by 24.5 percent, and “other”** offenses grew by 33 percent.
The only offense category that showed a decline from 2010 to 2018 was felony driving while impaired (DWI),
which fell by 17 percent.

The total volume of felony offenders sentenced over time is illustrated in Figure 2 (p. 15), and changes in growth
rates overall and by offense category are illustrated in Figure 3 (p. 16) and Figure 4 (p. 17). In addition to the
growth from 2010 to 2017, discussed above, significant growth also occurred between 2001 and 2006, when the

42 “Weapon” offenses include: possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of violence, firearm discharge,
possession of teargas and explosive devices, and other weapon related offenses.

43 “Non-CSC sex offenses” are offenses on the sex offender grid other than criminal sexual conduct (chiefly failure to
register as a predatory offender and possession and dissemination of child pornography).

4 “Other” category: Fleeing police, escape, and other offenses of less frequency including crimes against the government
such as tax offenses, failure to appear in court, and aiding an offender.
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total volume of felony offenders sentenced rose by 52 percent. That increase was largely attributable to growth
in the number of drug crimes sentenced, particularly methamphetamine cases, as well as the implementation of

the felony DWI law.

According to Department of Public Safety data, the crime rate has fluctuated over time. Over the past decade,

both the number of “index crimes” and the index crime rate have fallen in every year except 2012 and 2017.
From 2017 to 2018, reports of “violent crimes” fell by 6.7 percent, reports of “property crimes” fell by 8.9

percent, and the population-adjusted index crime rate fell by 9.3 percent. *
Figure 2. Number of Offenders Sentenced for Felony Convictions, 1981-2018
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% “Index crimes” are comprised of “violent crimes” (Murder, Forcible Rape, Robbery, Aggravated Assault, Human

Trafficking — Commercial Sex Acts, and Human Trafficking — Involuntary Servitude) and “property crimes” (Burglary,
Larceny, Motor Vehicle Theft, and Arson). From 2017 to 2018, violent crimes fell from 13,476 to 12,571; property crimes
fell from 122,698 to 111,727; and the index crime rate fell from 2441.9 to 2215.2 per 100,000 in population. 1995 to 2018

Uniform Crime Reports, State of Minnesota, Department of Public Safety, obtained September 2019 at
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/mnjis/Pages/uniform-crime-reports.aspx.
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Figure 3. Percent Change in Number of Offenders Sentenced for Felony Convictions, 1982—2018
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Change in Case Volume by Offense Type

Figure 4 shows the year-to-year percent change, by offense type, in the number of offenders sentenced, and

Figure 5 shows the number of offenders sentenced by offense type from 2003 to 2018.
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Figure 4. Offenders Sentenced, Percent Change from Previous Year, by Offense Type, 2001-2018
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For explanations of the “Non-CSC sex offenses,” “Weapon,” and “Other” categories, see footnotes 46—48. “Other” category
also includes DWI before 2004 and non-CSC sex offenses and weapon offenses before 2010.

46 “Non-CSC sex offenses” are offenses on the Sex Offender Grid other than criminal sexual conduct (chiefly failure to
register as a predatory offender and possession and dissemination of child pornography).

47 “Weapon” category includes: Possession of a firearm by a felon convicted of a crime of violence, discharge of firearm, and
other weapon related offenses.

48 “Other” category includes: Fleeing police, escape, voting violations, tax evasion laws, and other offenses of less
frequency. “Other” category also includes DWI before 2004 and non-CSC sex offenses and weapon offenses before 2010.
 “Index crimes” are comprised of “violent crimes” (Murder, Forcible Rape, Robbery, Aggravated Assault, Human
Trafficking — Commercial Sex Acts, and Human Trafficking — Involuntary Servitude) and “property crimes” (Burglary,
Larceny, Motor Vehicle Theft, and Arson). From 2017 to 2018, violent crimes fell from 13,476 to 12,571; property crimes
fell from 122,698 to 111,727; and the index crime rate fell from 2441.9 to 2215.2 per 100,000 in population. 1995 to 2018
Uniform Crime Reports, State of Minnesota, Department of Public Safety, obtained September 2019 at
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/bca-divisions/mnjis/Pages/uniform-crime-reports.aspx.
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Figure 5. Number of Offenders Sentenced by Offense Type, 2003-2018
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Distribution of Offenders by Gender, Race & Ethnicity, and Judicial District

For the first time, in 2018, males accounted for less than 80 percent of the felony offenders in Minnesota. In
2018, 79.7 percent of the offenders sentenced were male and 20.3 percent were female (Table 1). Figure 6
shows the racial and ethnic composition of the felony offender population from 1981 through 2018. The
percentage of offenders who were white decreased by 25 percentage points between 1981 (81.8%) and 2009
(56.5%). This was largely due to an increase in the percentage of black offenders, although the percentage of
other offenders (particularly Hispanic offenders) also increased. From 2017 to 2018, the percentage of white
offenders decreased from 57.3 percent to 56.6 percent.

The percent of offenders who are black increased from 25.5 percent in 2017 to 26.7 percent in 2018. The
percent who are American Indians decreased, while the percent who are Hispanic and Asian remained similar to
that seen in 2017.

Figure 7 displays the 2018 distribution of the racial and ethnic composition of offender populations by
Minnesota judicial district. The largest populations of black offenders were in the Second Judicial District
(Ramsey County) and the Fourth Judicial District (Hennepin County). These districts include the cities of St. Paul
and Minneapolis, respectively. A map of the judicial districts can be found in Appendix 5 (p. 124).
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Figure 6. Distribution of Felony Offenders by Race & Ethnicity, 1981-2018
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Figure 7. Distribution of Felony Offenders by Race & Ethnicity and Judicial District, 2018
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Table 1 compares, by the categories of sex, race & ethnicity, and judicial district, the population of felony
offenders sentenced in 2018 with the 2018 estimated state population, age 15 and older. Within those
comparison categories, Table 1 also calculates the rate of offenders sentenced in 2018 per 100,000 residents.

Table 1. Offenders Sentenced, 2018, by Gender, Race & Ethnicity, and Judicial District, Compared to 2018
Estimated Population Age 15 Years and Older

2018 Estimated Ol
Offenders Sentenced Pop. Age 15 & Older Senteer:ced
MSGC Category  Number Percent U.S. Census Category Number Percent 102,000
Male 14,566 79.7% Male 2,240,025  49.5% 650
Female 3,717 20.3% Female 2,284,777 50.5% 163
White 10,343 56.6% White* 3,785,189  83.7% 273
= Black 4,880 26.7% Black or African American* 291,296 6.4% 1,675
'_'é American Indian 1,574 8.6% American Indian* 71,013 1.6% 2,216
g Hispanic** 948 5.2% Hispanic** 210,101 4.6% 451
§ Asian 533 2.9% Asian* 238,780 5.3% 223
oc
Other/Unknown 6 0.0% g:z:]‘c’li Eﬁa"r‘igg"’r‘:/ Other 5163 0.1% *k
First 2,484 13.6% First 636,267 14.1% 390
Second 1,813 9.9% Second 441,619 9.8% 411
% | Third 1,361 7.4% Third 388,888 8.6% 350
gﬂ Fourth 4,070 22.3% Fourth 1,025,940  22.7% 397
é Fifth 1,016 5.6% Fifth 232,992 5.1% 436
21 sixth 831 4.5% | Sixth 211,161 4.7% 394
3 | Seventh 1,874 10.2% Seventh 395,773 8.7% 474
2 Eighth 453 2.5% Eighth 128,902 2.8% 351
Ninth 1,755 9.6% Ninth 276,169 6.1% 635
Tenth 2,627 14.4% Tenth 787,091 17.4% 334
Total 18,283 100.0% Total 4,524,802 100.0% 404

Source of July 1, 2018, population estimate: U.S. Census Bureau (August 2019).

*Not Hispanic, alone or in combination with one or more other races. The sum of percentages of residents in each racial or
ethnic category exceeds 100 percent (101.7%) because residents of more than one race are counted in more than one
category.

**Table 1 lists all Hispanic offenders and residents as Hispanic, regardless of race.

***The MSGC category of “Other/Unknown” is not a valid comparison group to the U.S. Census category of “Native
Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander.”

****See Appendix 5 (p. 124) for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.
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Incarceration Rates

Under Minn. Stat. § 609.02, a felony sentence must be at least 366 days long. Sentences of one year or less are
gross misdemeanors or misdemeanors and are served in local correctional facilities (i.e., county jail or
workhouse).

The Guidelines presume who should go to state prison and for how long. Imprisonment rates are related to the
Guidelines recommendations and are based on the seriousness of the offense and the offender’s criminal
history score. In cases in which prison sentences are stayed, the court usually places the offender on probation.
As a condition of probation, the court may impose up to one year of local confinement. Probationers usually
serve time in a local facility (i.e., county jail or workhouse) and are often given intermediate sanctions such as
treatment (residential or nonresidential), restitution, and fines.

Total Incarceration

The total incarceration rate describes the percentage of offenders who received a sentence that included
incarceration in a state prison or local confinement (i.e., county jail, local correctional facility, or workhouse),
following conviction. The 2012-15 imprisonment rates were the highest rates observed since the Guidelines
were implemented. In 2016 and 2017, the imprisonment rate declined to 25.4 percent and 24.3 percent,
respectively. In 2018, the imprisonment rate declined again: 91.1 percent of felony offenders served either local
confinement time or state prison time (Total Incarceration, Figure 8): 68.0 percent served local confinement
time® as part of their stayed sentence (Local Confinement, Figure 8); and 23.1 percent were sentenced to state
prison (State Prison, Figure 8).

50 \When a felony sentence is “stayed,” the court may impose up to one year of confinement in a local correctional facility
such as a county jail or workhouse.
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Figure 8. Total Incarceration Rates: 1978, 1981-2018
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*Offenders who receive “stayed” sentences that include up to one year incarceration in a local correctional facility are
subject to possible future revocation to state prison.

Table 2 (p. 23) provides total incarceration information for offenders sentenced in 2018. “Total Incarceration”
includes all offenders receiving prison sentences or receiving local confinement time as a condition of a stayed
sentence. When comparing imprisonment rates (state prison) across various groups (sex, race and ethnicity, or
judicial district) it is important to note that much of the variation is directly related to the proportion of
offenders in any particular group who are recommended a prison sentence by the Guidelines based on the
severity of the offense and the offender’s criminal history.

Race & Ethnicity

The total incarceration rate varies somewhat across racial groups (ranging from 90.1% for white offenders to
93.4% for Asian offenders) (Figure 9, p. 24). Greater variation by race exists in the separate imprisonment rates
(State Prison) and local confinement. Among five racial groups, white offenders had the lowest actual (19.5%),
whereas black offenders had the highest actual (30.0%) imprisonment rates (Table 2).

Judicial District

Variation was also observed in incarceration rates by judicial district (Figure 10, p. 24). The Second Judicial
District (Ramsey County) had the highest total incarceration rate (96.9%) and the Ninth Judicial District
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(northwest Minnesota) had the lowest total incarceration rate (78.6%). Variation was also seen with respect to
the separate rates for prison and local confinement. The Seventh Judicial District (west-central counties) had the
highest imprisonment rate (27.7%), and the First Judicial District (southern metro counties) had the lowest
imprisonment rate (18.2%). With regard to use of local confinement, the First and Tenth Judicial Districts had
the highest rates (74.7% and 74.6%), and the Ninth Judicial District had the lowest rate (55.3%).

Table 2. Total Incarceration Rates by Gender, Race & Ethnicity, and Judicial District, 2018 and 2014—18 Rate

Total Incarceration | Local Confinement State Prison
MSGC Total 2018 2014-18
Category Number | Number Rate (%) | Number Rate (%) | Number Rate (%) 5-Yr. Rate
Male 14,566 13,398 92.0 9,566 65.7 3,833 26.3 28.1
Female 3,717 3,262 87.8 2,869 77.2 393 10.6 12.0
White 10,343 9,318 90.1 7,301 70.6 2,017 19.5 21.8
| Black 4,880 4,538 93.0 3,075 63.0 1,463 30.0 31.0
:é American 1,574 1,422 90.3 1,049 66.6 373 23.7 26.9
< | Indian
; Hispanic 948 882 93.0 624 65.8 258 27.2 28.8
§ Asian 533 498 93.4 383 71.9 115 21.6 23.3
e« Other/ 6 2 33.3 2 33.3 0 0.0 13.0
Unknown
First 2,484 2,309 93.0 1,856 74.7 453 18.2 20.0
Second 1,813 1,756 96.9 1,311 72.3 445 24.5 26.3
Third 1,361 1,170 86.0 844 62.0 326 24.0 24.9
.g Fourth 4,070 3,678 90.4 2,600 63.9 1,078 26.5 28.6
-g Fifth 1,016 924 90.9 728 71.7 196 19.3 20.9
8| sixth 831 711 85.6 551 66.3 160 19.3 21.9
3 Seventh 1,874 1,808 96.5 1,289 68.8 519 27.7 28.9
Eighth 453 427 94.3 326 72.0 101 22.3 27.3
Ninth 1,755 1,379 78.6 971 55.3 408 23.2 25.6
Tenth 2,627 2,498 95.1 1,958 74.5 540 20.6 224
Total 18,284 16,660 91.1 12,434 68.0 4,226 23.1 25.0

*See Appendix 5 (p. 124) for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.
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Figure 9. Total Incarceration Rates by Gender & Race/Ethnicity, 2018
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Figure 10. Total Incarceration Rates by Judicial District, 2018
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Average Pronounced Prison Sentence and Local Confinement

In 2018, the average pronounced prison sentence was 47 months, a slight increase from 2017 (Figure 11). The
average varied by applicable Grid: 43 months for offenders with presumptive sentences on the Standard Grid,
and 75 months for offenders with presumptive sentences on the Sex Offender Grid.>! The Drug Offender Grid,
which became effective August 1, 2016, had an average pronounced prison sentence of 46 months.

Life Sentences

Sixteen offenders received life sentences (an increase from seven offenders in 2017), all of which were for first-
degree murder. Seven of those life sentences were with no release possible, six of which resulted from
convictions of premeditated first-degree murder.>? Offenders with life sentences are excluded from the average
pronounced prison sentences reported here.

The average amount of local confinement pronounced was 95 days in 2018, the lowest average on record
(Figure 11). The average amount of local confinement was 96 days in 2017, 106 days in 2016, and had remained
in a fairly narrow range—between 103 and 113 days—from 1988 through 2016.

Figure 11. Average Pronounced Prison Sentences and Local Confinement, 1981-2018
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51|n 2018, 10 offenders (0.05%) were sentenced for offenses committed before August 1, 2005, some of which were sex
offenses. The applicable pre-2005 Standard Grid was therefore used to determine the presumptive sentence. The average
pronounced sentence for these offenses was 95.5 months.

52 Life imprisonment without possibility of release has been the mandatory sentence for premeditated murder since 2005.
2005 Minn. Laws ch. 136, art. 2, § 5, & art. 17, § 9.
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Departures from the Sentencing Guidelines

A “departure” is a pronounced sentence other than that recommended in the appropriate cell of the applicable
Guidelines Grid. There are two types of departures — dispositional and durational — as further explained below.
Since the presumptive sentence is based on “the typical case,” the appropriate use of departures by the courts
when substantial and compelling circumstances exist can actually enhance proportionality by varying the
sanction in an atypical case.

While the court ultimately makes the sentencing decision, most sentences pronounced by the court are based
on judicial acceptance of plea agreements between prosecutors and defendants after victim input. Probation
officers make recommendations to the courts regarding whether a departure from the presumptive sentence is
appropriate, and prosecutors and defense attorneys commonly arrive at agreements regarding acceptable
sentences for which an appeal will not be pursued. Prosecutors did not object to at least 57 percent of mitigated
dispositional departures, nor to at least 72 percent of mitigated durational departures.®?

When there is a departure from the presumptive sentence, the court is required to submit reasons for the
departure to the Commission.>* Along with reasons for departure, the court may supply information about the
position of the prosecutor regarding the departure. In 2018, the Commission received departure reasons,
information about the position of the prosecutor, or both, in 99 percent of departure cases, and 97 percent of
felony convictions were settled without a trial. The Commission recognizes the need to balance the importance
of plea agreements with the goals of the Guidelines. In the case of a plea agreement, the Commission asks
courts to explain the underlying reasons for the plea agreement or for the court’s acceptance of it.>®

Total Departures

In 2018, 74.6 percent of the total number of felony offenders (18,284) sentenced received the presumptive
Guidelines sentence. The remaining 25.4 percent received some type of departure; i.e., aggravated, mitigated,
or “mixed,” which includes both dispositional and durational departures (Figure 12).

53 See Figure 15 and Figure 17.

54 Minn. R. Crim. P. 27.03, subd. 4(C).

55 See Minn. Sentencing Guidelines comment 2.D.104 (“Plea agreements are important to our criminal justice system
because it is not possible to support a system where all cases go to trial. However, it is important to have balance in the
criminal justice system where plea agreements are recognized as legitimate and necessary and the goals of the Guidelines
are supported. If a plea agreement involves a sentence departure and no other reasons are provided, there is little
information available to make informed policy decisions or to ensure consistency, proportionality, and rationality in
sentencing. Departures and their reasons highlight both the success and problems of the existing Guidelines. When a plea
agreement involves a departure from the presumptive sentence, the court should cite the reasons that underlie the plea
agreement or explain its reasons for accepting the negotiation.”).
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Figure 12. Total Departure Rates, All Cases, 2018
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Dispositional Departures

While Figure 12, above, reports both the dispositional and durational departure rates among all cases, this
section examines only dispositional departures.

A “dispositional departure” occurs when the court orders a disposition other than that recommended in the
Guidelines. There are two types of dispositional departures: aggravated dispositional departures and mitigated
dispositional departures. An aggravated dispositional departure occurs when the Guidelines recommend a
stayed sentence but the court pronounces an executed prison sentence. A mitigated dispositional departure
occurs when the Guidelines recommend a prison sentence but the court pronounces a stayed sentence.

In 2018, 2,386 offenders (13%) received a dispositional departure from the Guidelines. In 2,284 cases (12.5%),
the offenders received probation when the Guidelines recommended prison (“mitigated dispositional
departure”), and, in 102 cases (0.6%), the offenders received prison when the Guidelines recommended
probation (“aggravated dispositional departure”) (Figure 13).

Most aggravated dispositional departures (54% in 2018) occur when an offender with a presumptive stayed
sentence requests an executed prison sentence or agrees to the departure as part of a plea agreement. This
request is usually made in order for the offender to serve the sentence concurrently with another prison
sentence. The Commission historically included these cases in the departure figures because, for the given
offense, the sentence is not the presumptive Guidelines sentence. If requests for prison are not included in the
analysis, the aggravated dispositional departure rate—as a measure of judicial compliance—is 0.3 percent
(Figure 13, inset).

Effective with the August 1, 2015, amendments to Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines § 2.D.1, a sentence that is
executed pursuant to an offender’s right to demand execution is no longer considered an aggravated
dispositional departure. This change has resulted in a decrease in the aggravated dispositional departure rate
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from previous years. In 2015, the overall aggravated dispositional departure rate was 4.2 percent and the rate
for presumptive stayed sentences was 6.2 percent. The decrease in aggravated dispositional departure rates is
apparent in the 2018 sentencing data.>®

Figure 13. Dispositional Departure Rates with and without Requests for Prison from Defendant, 2018
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Table 3 lists dispositional departure rates by gender, race and ethnicity, and judicial district for presumptive
commitment offenses. The aggravated dispositional departure rate for offenders recommended a stayed
sentence (“Presumptive Stays”) was 0.8 percent. The mitigated dispositional departure rate for offenders who
were recommended prison (“Presumptive Commitments”) was 38.3 percent.

None, 87.0%

The mitigated dispositional departure rate is higher for women (53.6%) than men (36.6%). When examined by
racial and ethnic composition, the mitigated dispositional departure rate ranged from a low of 33.2 percent for
Hispanic offenders and 33.3 percent for American Indian offenders to a high of 42.5 percent for Asians
offenders. There was also variation in the rate by judicial district, ranging from a low of 32.3 percent in the
Seventh Judicial District (includes the City of St. Cloud) to a high of 48.3 percent in the Sixth Judicial District
(includes the City of Duluth).

When reviewing Table 3, note the observed variations may be partly explained by regional differences in case
volume, charging practices, and plea agreement practices, as well as differences in the types of offenses
sentenced, criminal history scores of offenders across racial groups or across regions, and available local
correctional resources. (See Appendix 5 on page 124 for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.)

56 For cases sentenced in 2018, 94.1% of the presumptive stayed cases had an offense date within the scope of the 2015
change. The aggravated dispositional departure rate for those cases was 0.5%, compared to 6.3% for 2018 cases with
offense dates prior to August 1, 2015. There were 448 post-August 1, 2015, presumptive stayed cases where the offender
received a prison sentence that was not counted as a dispositional departure because the sentence was executed pursuant
to the offender’s right to demand execution.
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Table 3. Dispositional Departures by Presumptive Disposition, by Gender, Race and Ethnicity, and Judicial District,
2018 and 2013-17 Rate

Presumptive Stays Presumptive Commitments
Total Aggravated Mitigated
Number Total Dispositional Departure Total Dispositional Departure
2018 2013-17
Number Rate (%) Number Rate (%) 5-Yr. Rate
Male 14,566 9,191 4 0.8 5,375 1,969 36.6 33.8
Female 3,717 3,131 28 0.9 586 314 53.6 54.2
White 10,343 7,442 54 0.7 2,901 1,207 41.6 38.8
>. Black 4,880 2,793 20 0.7 2,087 737 35.3 33.3
Ié American 1,574 1,120 22 2.0 454 151 33.3 29.3
< Indian
0“2 Hispanic 948 602 3 0.5 346 115 33.2 31.8
S Asian 533 359 3 0.8 174 74 42.5 35.9
“  Other/ 6 6 0 0 66.7
Unknown
First 2,484 1,830 18 1.0 654 276 42.2 40.1
Second 1,813 1,057 7 0.7 756 345 45.6 37.9
Third 1,361 880 3 0.3 481 197 41.0 37.9
,‘g Fourth 4,070 2,586 11 0.4 1,484 492 33.2 33.9
-g Fifth 1,016 724 4 0.6 292 117 40.1 42.7
g Sixth 831 535 1 0.2 296 143 48.3 43.8
E Seventh 1,874 1,257 20 1.6 617 199 32.3 28.3
Eighth 453 327 1 0.3 126 43 34.1 28.6
Ninth 1,755 1,286 29 2.3 469 161 34.3 32.6
Tenth 2,627 1,840 8 0.4 764 311 39.5 35.9
Total 18,284 12,322 102 0.8 5,962 2,284 38.3 35.8

See Appendix 5 (p. 124) for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.

Dispositional departure rates vary for the type of offense. Figure 14 displays the offenses with the highest rates
of mitigated dispositional departure compared to the total rate of 38 percent, and Figure 15 displays the
position of the prosecutor as cited by the court.>”

In 57 percent of mitigated dispositional departures, the court stated that the prosecutor agreed to the
departure, recommended the departure, or did not object to the departure. In 19.5 percent of these cases, the
court stated that the prosecutor objected to the departure (Figure 15, “Total”). The court did not supply

57 The offenses were selected based on criteria that there were 50 or more “presumptive commitment” cases and the
mitigated dispositional departure rate of 43% or more.
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information on the prosecutor’s position in 24 percent of these departures. In all offense categories, amenability
to probation and amenability to treatment were the most frequently cited substantial and compelling reasons
for departure recorded.

Figure 14. Mitigated Dispositional Departure Rates for Selected* Offenses Compared to Total Rate, 2018
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*Selected based on criteria that there were 50 or more presumptive commitment cases and the mitigated dispositional
departure rate was 43% or more. “Total” includes all presumptive commitment cases.

Two of the selected®® offenses in Figure 14 and Figure 15, assault in the second degree and failure to register as
a predatory offender, have mandatory minimum sentences specified in statute, with provisions allowing for
departure from those mandatory minimums.

Assault in the second degree, by definition, involves the use of a dangerous weapon and therefore carries a
mandatory minimum prison sentence (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subds. 4, 5 & 9). The second-degree assault statute

proscribes a broad range of misbehavior: Injury to the victim may or may not occur, and the type of dangerous
weapon involved can vary widely, from a pool cue to a knife to a firearm. Circumstances surrounding the offense
can also vary significantly, from barroom brawls to unprovoked confrontations. The mandatory minimum
statute specifically permits the court to sentence without regard to the mandatory minimum, provided that
substantial and compelling reasons are present (Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 8). It is perhaps unsurprising to find
many departures in the sentencing of a crime that can be committed in many different ways.

58 See footnote 57 for selection criteria.
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Failure to register as a predatory offender also has a statutory mandatory minimum sentence, accompanied by a
statutory provision that allows for sentencing without regard to the mandatory minimum (Minn. Stat. § 243.166,
subd. 5(d)).

Figure 15. Court-Cited Position of Prosecutor for Mitigated Dispositional Departures, Selected* Offenses, 2018
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Because departure reports do not always include information on the prosecutor’s position, columns do not add up to 100%.
*Offenses were selected based on criteria that there were 50 or more presumptive commitment cases and the mitigated
dispositional departure rate was 43 percent or more.

Durational Departures

A “durational departure” occurs when the court orders a sentence with a duration that is other than the
presumptive fixed duration or range in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid. There are two types of
durational departures: aggravated durational departures and mitigated durational departures. An aggravated
durational departure occurs when the court pronounces a duration that is more than 20 percent higher than the
fixed duration displayed in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid. A mitigated durational departure occurs
when the court pronounces a sentence that is more than 15 percent lower than the fixed duration displayed in
the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid.

From 2016 to 2017, the mitigated durational departure rate fell from 23.7 percent to 21.9 percent; and it rose
slightly in 2018 to 22.8 percent. The aggravated durational departure rate fell from 2.8 percent to 2.6 percent
from 2016 to 2017; and rose slightly in 2018 to 2.7 percent. The general trend in lower aggravated durational
departure rates since the mid-2000s likely reflects the impact of increased presumptive sentences over the past
years and issues related to the U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 (2004), which
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required a jury to find all facts—other than the fact of a prior conviction or those facts agreed to by the
defendant—used to enhance a sentence under mandatory sentencing guidelines.*®

In response to the Blakely decision, the 2005 Legislature widened the ranges on the Standard Grid to 15 percent
below and 20 percent above the presumptive fixed sentenced, within which the court may sentence without
departure. In 2006, a Sex Offender Grid was adopted. The Sex Offender Grid introduced higher presumptive
sentences for repeat offenders and offenders with prior criminal history records.®

Table 4 illustrates durational departure rates for executed prison sentences by gender, race and ethnicity, and
judicial district. The mitigated durational departure rate was higher for males than females (22.9% vs. 21.9%).
When the departure rate is examined by racial and ethnic composition, the rate varies from a low of 17.8
percent for white offenders to a high of 30.6 percent for black offenders. There is also considerable variation in
the rate by judicial district, ranging from a low of 2.0 percent in the Eighth Judicial District (includes the City of
Willmar) to a high of 40.7 percent in the Second Judicial District (includes the City of St. Paul).

When reviewing the information in Table 4, it is important to note that the observed variations may be partly
explained by regional differences in case volume, charging practices, and plea agreement practices, as well as
differences in the types of offenses sentenced and criminal history scores of offenders across racial groups or
across regions. A map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts can be found in Appendix 5 (p. 124).

Table 4. Durational Departure Rates by Gender, Race and Ethnicity, and Judicial District, Executed Prison
Sentences Only, 2018 and 2013—-17 Rate

T Total Durational Departures, Executed Prison Sentences Only
Executed Durational No Departure Aggravated Mitigated
Prison  Departure 2018 2013-17
Rate (%) Number Rate Number Rate Number Rate 5-Yr.Rate
Male 3,833 25.7 2,848 74.3 107 2.8 878 22.9 25.1
Female 393 23.4 301 76.6 6 1.5 86 21.9 21.0
White 2,017 20.0 1,614 80.0 43 2.1 360 17.8 19.8
> Black 1,463 34.0 965 66.0 51 3.5 447 30.6 34.8
'E ﬁlrgg:ca” 373 23.9 284 76.1 9 24 80 214 167
0“2 Hispanic 258 20.9 204 79.1 7 2.7 47 18.2 21.3
§ Asian 115 28.7 82 71.3 3 2.6 30 26.1 32.7
= Other/ 0 . . . . . . . 111
Unknown '

%9 The Minnesota Supreme Court determined that Blakely’s jury requirements applied to aggravated departures under the
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines. State v. Shattuck, 704 N.W.2d 131 (Minn. 2005).

0 For a deeper examination of the effect of the Blakely decision on sentencing practices, see the MSGC special report:
Impact of Blakely and Expanded Ranges on Sentencing Grid, at: http://mn.gov/sentencing-guidelines/reports/.
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Total Durational Departures, Executed Prison Sentences Only
Number

Executed Durational No Departure Aggravated Mitigated
S Departure 2018 2013-17
Rate (%) Number Rate Number Rate Number Rate 5-Yr.Rate
First 453 21.6 355 78.4 13 2.9 85 18.8 18.7
Second 445 42.0 258 58.0 6 1.3 181 40.7 36.5
Third 326 8.6 298 91.4 5 1.5 23 7.1 9.0
,‘g Fourth 1,078 42.3 622 57.7 40 3.7 416 38.6 47.9
-g Fifth 196 15.8 165 84.2 6 31 25 12.8 21.4
.‘_g Sixth 160 15.0 136 85.0 1 0.6 23 14.4 15.7
g Seventh 519 19.8 416 80.2 14 2.7 89 17.1 18.2
Eighth 101 4.0 97 96.0 2 2.0 2 2.0 6.4
Ninth 408 17.2 338 82.8 10 2.5 60 14.7 10.0
Tenth 540 14.1 464 85.9 16 3.0 60 111 125
Total 4,226 25.5 3,149 74.5 113 2.7 964 22.8 24.7

See Appendix 5 (p. 124) for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.

As with dispositional departures, it may be helpful to look at offenses with higher than average durational
departure rates. Figure 16 displays offenses with high durational departure rates compared to the total
durational departure rate and Figure 17 displays the position of the prosecutor as cited by the court.5!

Aggravated durational departure rates were highest for assault in the third degree and criminal sexual conduct
in the second degree. Mitigated durational departure rates were highest for aggravated robbery in the first
degree; controlled substance crimes in the first and second degrees; predatory offender, failure to register;
threats of violence; violate restraining order; and motor vehicle (MV) theft, no consent (Figure 16).

For both mitigated and aggravated durational departures, plea agreement or recommendation of the prosecutor
were the most frequently cited reasons for departure for all offense types.

61 Selected based on criteria that there were 40 or more executed prison cases, and the aggravated durational departure
rate was 8% or more or the mitigated durational departure rate was 26% or more.
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Figure 16. Durational Departure Rates for Selected* Offenses Compared to the Total Rate, Executed Prison
Sentences Only, 2018
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*Selected based on criteria that there were 40 or more executed prison cases, and the aggravated durational departure rate
was 8 percent or more or the mitigated durational departure rate was 26 percent or more. “Total” includes all executed
prison sentences.

In 72 percent of the mitigated durational departures, the court stated that the prosecutor agreed to the
departure, recommended the departure, or did not object to the departure. In 7.5 percent of these cases, the
court stated that the prosecutor objected to the departure (Figure 17, “Total”). In 21 percent of the mitigated
durational departures, the court did not provide information on the position of the prosecutor. These rates
varied somewhat by offense.

In 57.5 percent of the aggravated durational departures, the court stated that the prosecutor agreed to the
departure, recommended the departure, or did not object to the departure. In 42.5 percent of the aggravated
durational departures, the court did not provide information on the position of the prosecutor. There were no
cases in which the court stated that the prosecutor objected to the aggravated durational departure.

The discussion on page 31 regarding mandatory minimums applies here: The mandatory minimum provisions
applicable to one of the high-durational-departure crimes—failure to register as a predatory offender—allow for
sentencing without regard to the mandatory minimum prison term (Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 5(d)). This fact,
together with the wide variety of ways in which the crime can be committed, may lend this offense to the
application of discretion in prosecutorial or judicial sentencing practice.
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Figure 17. Court-Cited Position of Prosecutor for Mitigated Durational Departures for Offenders Receiving an
Executed Prison Sentence, Selected* Offenses, 2018
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Departure reports do not always include information on the prosecutor’s position, which is why the columns do not add up
to 100 percent.

*Offenses were selected based on criteria that there were 40 or more executed prison cases and the mitigated durational
departure rate was 26 percent or more.

Mitigated Departures: Gender, Race/Ethnicity, & Judicial Districts

Previous sections of this report discussed variations—by gender, race/ethnicity, and judicial district—in
mitigated dispositional departure rates for presumptive commitment offenses (p. 29) and in mitigated
durational departure rates for executed prison sentences (p. 32). Figure 18 and Figure 19 present a combined
illustration of these variations. Among racial and ethnic groups (Figure 18)—

e Sentences for white offenders had a higher mitigated dispositional departure rate than the total rate,
but a lower durational departure rate;

e Sentences for black offenders had a higher mitigated durational departure rate than the total rate, but a
lower dispositional departure rate;

e Sentences for American Indian and Hispanic offenders had lower mitigated durational and dispositional
departure rates than the total rate; and

e Sentences for Asian offenders had higher mitigated and dispositional departure rates than the total rate.

Recall from Figure 7 (p. 19) that the racial and ethnic composition of offender populations varies by judicial
district. When reviewing Figure 18, note that the observed variations may be partly explained by regional
differences in charging, plea agreement, and sentencing practices, as well as by regional differences in case
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volume, the types of offenses sentenced, criminal history scores of offenders across racial groups, and available

local correctional resources. (See p. 124 for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.)

Figure 18. Mitigated Departure Rates by Gender & Race/Ethnicity, 2018
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Figure 19. Mitigated Departure Rates by Minnesota Judicial District, 2018
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Impact of the 2016 Drug Sentencing Reform Act

The 2016 Drug Sentencing Reform Act (DSRA)®? made a number of significant changes to the sentencing of
Minnesota drug offenses. Those changes generally took effect August 1, 2016, and applied to crimes committed
on and after that date. Over eighty percent of the drug cases sentenced in 2018 were subject to the DSRA.%3

In 2018, 5,536 offenders (pre- and post-DSRA) were sentenced for drug offenses (Figure 20), a decline of 2.4
percent from 2017. Because the number of offenders sentenced for drug offenses grew each year from 2011
through 2017, the volume of drug cases sentenced in 2018 was 66.4 percent greater than the 2010 volume. This
seven-year rise followed a four-year decline in drug case volume, by seven or eight percent each year, from
2006 to 2010.

Figure 20. Number of Offenders Sentenced for Felony Drug Convictions, 1993-2018

6,000
5,000
4,000

3,000

Number of Drug Offenders Sentenced

2,000 =
N o
o . — N
o n h
L & o4 o o
1,000 < 9 &9
’ -
0
o < n o ~ 0 [e)] o i o m < wn (o) ~ 0 (o)) o Ll [aV] [90] < [¥p] (o) ~ 0
[e)] [e))] [e)] (o)) [e)] [e)] [e)] o o o o o o o o o o i — — — — — - - -
(o)} (o)} (o)} (o)} (o)} (o)} (o)} o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
i i i i — — — o o o o (o] ('] o o o o o o o o o (9] (9] (9] (']

Post-DSRA Offense Volume

The DSRA’s provisions were effective for all offenses committed after July 31, 2016. Through the end of 2018,
the new provisions have been applicable to 7,327 felony offenders with a first- through fifth-degree drug
offense as the most serious offense sentenced.® The next sections focus on these offenses.

62 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 160.
63 Of the 5,536 drug cases sentenced in 2018, 81 percent were committed after the DSRA took effect.
54 The DSRA applied to 203 cases sentenced in 2016, 2,717 cases sentenced in 2017, and 4,407 cases sentenced in 2018.
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Pre- and Post-DSRA Comparison Groups

To measure the impact of the DSRA, this report compares the post-DSRA cases to comparable pre-DSRA group.
Table 5 displays felony post-DSRA cases committed on or after August 1, 2016, and sentenced through
December 2018, by controlled substance degree, as well as comparable offenses sentenced under the DSRA's
new gross misdemeanor fifth-degree provision. For comparison to this post-DSRA group, Table 5 also displays
the number of cases, by degree, committed and sentenced in a comparable earlier time frame (committed on or
after August 1, 2013 and sentenced through December 2015).

Table 5. Cases with a Drug Offense as the Most Serious Offense Sentenced, Pre- & Post-DSRA Comparison Groups

Felony Gross Misd.

Offense 1% Deg. 2" Deg. 3“Deg. 4" Deg. 5" Deg. 5% Deg.
Compari- Date Sentencing No. & No. & No. & No. & No. & No. &
son Group Range Date Range Percent Percent Percent Percent Percent Percent Total
Pre-DSRA  Aug'l3 - Aug ‘13 - 391 531 854 144 4,443 N/A 6,363
2013-15 Dec’15 Dec’15 6.1% 8.3% 13.4% 2.3% 69.8% 100%
Post-DSRA  Aug’16— Aug ‘16 — 499* 444 844 128 5,412 1,594** 8,921

2016-18 Dec’18 Dec’18 5.6% 5.0% 9.5% 1.4% 60.7% 17.9% 100%

*Includes the DSRA offense of Aggravated Controlled Substance Crime 1st Degree.
**Source of post-DSRA gross misdemeanor case data: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019.) Gross
misdemeanor cases may not necessarily be the most serious offenses sentenced.

Volume of Offenses

First- Through Fourth-Degree Offenses

The provisions of the DSRA raised the thresholds (amounts of drugs necessary for conviction) for some first-
through third-degree offenses. Therefore, it might be expected that the percentage of cases that are first-
through third-degree would decline while the percent that are fourth- and fifth-degree would increase. The
evidence available to date shows an increase in the number of offenses that are first-degree, and a decline in
the number and percentage of offenses that are second-degree offenses (shown by comparison group in Figure
21).
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Figure 21. Case Volume, 1st—4th Degree Drug Offenses, Pre- and Post-DSRA Comparison Groups
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Comparison Groups

Fifth-Degree Offenses

For felony fifth-degree offenses, the number and percentage of offenses compared to the 2013-15 group
increased. When gross misdemeanor fifth-degree offenses are included (for first-time possession of a trace
amount of a controlled substance, a DSRA-created offense discussed in more detail on p. 42), the number of
post-DSRA fifth-degree cases increased from 4,443 cases (69.8% of pre-DSRA cases) to 7,006 (78.5% of post-
DSRA cases) which is a 57.7 percent increase. Likewise, when gross misdemeanor fifth-degree offenses are
included, the total number of drug cases in the post-DSRA group was 40.2 percent greater than the 2013-15
comparison group. (Even if the 1,594 gross misdemeanor cases were excluded from the group, the post-DSRA

total—7,327 cases—would have been larger than the 2015—-16 comparison group.) This is illustrated in Figure
22.
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Figure 22. Case Volume, 5th Degree Drug Offenses, Pre- and Post-DSRA Comparison Groups
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Comparison Groups

Post-DSRA Offense Characteristics

Post-DSRA Aggravated First-Degree Offenses

The DSRA created an aggravated first-degree offense for the most serious offenses. These offenses are ranked at
a severity level of D9 on the Drug Offender Grid (p. 123), and therefore have longer presumptive sentences than
the standard first-degree offenses. In addition, the statutory sentencing minimum is either 86 months or the
presumptive fixed sentence, whichever is longer, which makes the offenders ineligible for a sentence at the low
end of the presumptive range on the Drug Offender Grid. This offense requires the sale or possession of 100 or
more grams, as well as either a firearm or two aggravating factors. Through 2018, eight offenders had been
sentenced for First-Degree Aggravated Controlled Substance Crime under the firearm provision, and another 10
offenders had been sentenced under the provision requiring two aggravating factors. All of the aggravated
offenses received prison sentences. The average pronounced sentence was 115 months.

In addition, the DSRA contains a provision that specifies a minimum sentence of either 65 months or the
presumptive fixed sentence, whichever is longer, for offenses involving the sale or possession of 100 or more
grams without a firearm or aggravating factors, referred to in this report as “100+ gram offenses.” Like other
non-aggravated first-degree offenses, these offenses are ranked at severity level D8 on the Drug Offender Grid
(p. 123), but the statutory sentencing minimum makes the offenders ineligible for a sentence at the low-ends of
the presumptive ranges. Through 2018, 76 first-degree offenders were sentenced for 100+ gram offenses not
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qualifying as aggravated-first degree offenses. The imprisonment rate was 75 percent. The average pronounced
sentence for the offenders receiving prison sentences was 81 months.

Post-DSRA Drug Types

Table 6 provides more detailed information—drawn from an examination of individual complaints—about the
drug types® involved in offenses committed on and after the DSRA’s effective date (August 1, 2016), and
sentenced through 2018. Methamphetamine (“meth”) continues to be the most frequently cited drug type.

Table 6. Distribution of Felony Cases by Drug Class & Drug Type, Post-DSRA Group

Drug Drug Type Drug Class
Drug Class Type Total Percent Total Percent
Cocaine 604 8.2%
Stimulants Meth 4,727 @ 64.5%
Other 88 1.2%
Stimulants Total 5,419 74%
. Heroin 562 7.7%
Narcotics*
Other 278 3.8%
Narcotics* Total 840 11.5%
Depressants 257 3.5%
Hallucinogens 61 0.8%
. . Marijuana 526 7.2%
Marijuana/Cannabis
Other 87 1.2%
Marijuana/Cannabis Total 613 8.4%
Other 39 0.5%
Other/Multiple : 2
Multiple 98 1.3%
Other/Multiple Total 137 1.9%
Total of Drug Classes 7,327  100%

*See footnote 65.

55 Drug types were grouped into drug classes based on the United States Drug Enforcement Administration’s classifications
at https://www.dea.gov/pr/multimedia-library/publications/drug_of abuse.pdf (retrieved Nov. 22, 2017). Consistent with
those classifications, the term “narcotics,” as used here, is synonymous with “opioids,” rather than with the statutory term
“narcotic drug” (Minn. Stat. § 152.01, subd. 10), which includes the non-opioids cocaine and methamphetamine. Fentanyl is
included within “narcotics,” as used here; 20 post-DSRA cases involving fentanyl were observed.
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Post-DSRA Fifth-Degree Offenses with Trace Drug Amounts

Unless the offender has a prior conviction for a drug offense, Minn. Stat. § 152.025, subd. 4(a) establishes post-
DSRA fifth-degree offenses as gross misdemeanors if the person had less than a specified quantity of drugs
(“trace” amounts). There were 5,412 post-DSRA felony fifth-degree offenders. Table 7 displays the number of
those cases with a trace amount. It is assumed that these offenders had prior convictions that disqualified them

from gross misdemeanor convictions. On some criminal complaints, the drug amount was not specified but was
described as residue or a trace amount. There were 965 fifth-degree cases (almost 18%) where either the drug
quantity specified fit within gross misdemeanor limits or the criminal complaint alleged there was residue or a
trace amount. Fourteen percent of those 965 cases received executed prison sentences. There were 790 fifth-
degree cases where the quantity of drugs was not specified on the criminal complaint. Some percentage of
those cases could have been a trace amount.

Table 7. Felony Fifth-Degree Cases by Alleged Drug Amounts, Post-DSRA Group

Drug Type Amount Alleged on Number of Percent of Felony  Percent of All

Criminal Complaint Cases Fifth-Degree Cases Felony Drug
Cases

Cocaine and Less than .25 grams 303 5.6% 4.1%

Methamphetamine

Heroin Less than .05 grams 9 0.2% 0.1%

Dosage Units 1 dosage unit or less 58 1.1% 0.8%

Trace or Residue As stated on complaint 595 11% 8.1%

Total Trace Cases 965 17.8% 13.1%

Quantity of Drug — Not No amount alleged on 790 14.6% 10.8%

Specified criminal complaint

Fifth-Degree — Not a Greater than trace 3,657 67.6% 49.9%

Possible Trace Level amount alleged

Total Post-DSRA Felony 5,412 100.0% 73.8%

Fifth-Degree

Post-DSRA Zone Offenses

The drug statutes provide harsher penalties for offenses committed in specified zones — school, park, public
housing and drug treatment facilities as defined in Minn. Stat. § 152.01. The school, park and public housing
zones include the property as well as the area surrounding the property to a distance of 300 feet or one city
block. Offenses committed in zones are elevated to a more severe degree than other offenses. What would be
third-degree sale offenses are elevated to second-degree offenses and fifth-degree sale of marijuana offenses
are elevated to fourth-degree offenses. Fifth-degree possession offenses are elevated to third-degree offenses.

Zone offenses existed before passage of the DSRA, but the frequency of the use of the zone enhancement has
increased post-DSRA, from 74 cases (4.8% of the 2nd—4th degree offenses in the pre-DSRA group) to 163 cases
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(11.5% of the 2nd—4th degree offenses in the post-DSRA group). This may be attributable to the creation of
gross misdemeanor penalty level for trace amounts. Unless there is a prior conviction, post-DSRA trace-level
cases cannot be prosecuted as felony fifth-degree offenses, but can, if committed in a zone, be prosecuted as
felony third-degree offenses. In 26 percent of the post-DSRA zone cases, trace or residue was the stated drug
guantity. In 17 percent of the zone cases, no amount of drug was specified. None of the post-DSRA zone cases
with unknown or trace amounts had a prior conviction.

Table 8 displays the frequency of zone use for second-, third-, and fourth-degree offenses by judicial district.
Post-DSRA, zone enhancements were used in a higher percentage of cases in all districts except the Second
Judicial District and the Seventh Judicial District. This was particularly noticeable in the Fifth Judicial District and
the Ninth Judicial District. Post-DSRA, 53 percent of all zone cases were found in the Ninth Judicial District;
compared to 45 percent of the pre-DSRA zone cases. In Polk County (the site of 63 of the Ninth Judicial District’s
87 post-DSRA zone offenses), zone enhancements were used in 70 percent of the second- through fourth-
degree post-DSRA cases compared to 42 percent of the pre-DSRA cases.

Table 8. Use of Zone Provisions, Second- Through Fourth-Degree Offenses by Judicial District; Pre- & Post-DSRA
Comparison Groups

Pre-DSRA 2013-15 Comparison Group Post-DSRA 2016-18 Comparison Group

Number of Number of
District Zone Offenses Percent of Cases Zone Offenses Percent of Cases
First 0 0% 7 6.3%
Second 0 0% 0 0%
Third 6 2.7% 17 11.5%
Fourth 4 1.5% 11 4.0%
Fifth 13 11.5% 23 17.8%
Sixth 3 2.3% 6 5.8%
Seventh 13 8.8% 6 3.9%
Eighth 1 1.6% 2 5.3%
Ninth 33 16.5% 87 33.2%
Tenth 1 .6% 4 3.1%
Total 74 4.8% 163 11.5%

Post-DSRA Sentence Uniformity

Presumptive Sentences and Prison Rates

The DSRA restricted mandatory minimums for subsequent offenses to first- and second-degree offenses and
limited the definition of subsequent drug offenses to prior first- and second-degree offenses. This change
eliminated automatic presumptive prison dispositions for third-degree offenders with prior drug convictions. In
addition, before the implementation of the Drug Offender Grid (p. 123), all first- and second-degree offenses
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had presumptive prison sentences regardless of offenders’ criminal history scores (CHS).%® On the Drug Offender
Grid, however, second-degree offenses with CHS of 0 or 1 have presumptive stayed sentences. It was
anticipated that those two changes would result in a decrease in the percent of drug offenders with
presumptive prison dispositions, and, therefore, prison sentences.

Overall, the presumptive and actual imprisonment rates are lower than those for the comparison group. Table 9
displays the presumptive prison rate and actual prison rate by degree for the post-DSRA group and the
comparison group. The post-DSRA imprisonment rate for first-degree offenders is similar to, but slightly higher
than, the rate for the comparison group, perhaps because of the increase in the threshold amounts and the
creation of the aggravated first-degree offenses. The prison rate for the non-aggravated first-degree offenses
was 61 percent, while the rates were 100 percent for aggravated offenses and 75 percent for 100+ gram
offenses.

Table 9. Presumptive and Actual Prison Rates, Pre- and Post-DSRA Comparison Groups

Pre-DSRA 2013-15 Comparison Group Post-DSRA 2016-18 Comparison Group
Presumptive Presumptive
Degree Number Prison Rate Prison Rate Number Prison Rate Prison Rate
First 391 100% 63% 499 100% 65%
Second 531 100% 62% 444 50% 36%
Third 854 49% 37% 844 38% 26%
Fourth 144 25% 22% 128 26% 29%
Fifth* 4,443 9% 15% 5,412 11% 13%
Total 6,363 28% 25% 7,327 23% 20%

*Felony only.

The DSRA provisions reduced the percentage of second- and third-degree offenses that have presumptive prison
dispositions; the actual imprisonment rates for those offenders fell accordingly. The presumptive prison rate for
second-degree offenders fell from 100 percent to 50 percent, while the actual imprisonment rate fell from 62
percent to 36 percent. The presumptive prison rate for third-degree offenders fell from 49 percent to 38
percent, while the actual imprisonment rate fell from 37 percent to 26 percent. Fourth-degree offenders still
represented a small fraction of drug offenders; post-DSRA fourth-degree offenses had similar presumptive
prison rates, but a higher actual imprisonment rate.

There was a slight increase in the presumptive imprisonment rates for fifth-degree offenses, but a slight
decrease in the actual rate. The increase in the presumptive rate may be due, in part, to the creation of a gross

% Prior to the implementation of the Drug Offender Grid, first-degree was ranked at a severity level of 9 on the Standard
Grid (p. 121) and second-degree was ranked at a severity level of 8 on the Standard Grid.
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misdemeanor possession of trace amount offense (discussed in more detail on p. 42), which removed some first-
time drug offenders, with potentially lower criminal history scores, from the pool of felony fifth-degree
offenders.

Departure Rates

A “departure” is a pronounced sentence other than that recommended in the appropriate cell of the applicable
Guidelines Grid. There are two types of departures—dispositional and durational—as further explained on page
26.

It was anticipated that the DSRA would result in more uniformity by lowering departure rates for drug cases, for
several reasons. By raising the thresholds for first- through third-degree offenses, the cases with lower drug
guantities in each degree would drop to a lesser degree and those cases were more likely to receive departures
than the cases with larger drug quantities. The shift of trace cases to gross misdemeanors could also affect
departure rates.®’

Limiting the definition of a subsequent drug offense to first- and second-degree offenses and eliminating
mandatory minimums for all but first- and second-degree offenses could also potentially increase uniformity by
decreasing both mitigated dispositional departures and mitigated durational departures.

Table 10 and Figure 23 display mitigated dispositional departure rates for cases with presumptive prison
dispositions for the post-DSRA group and comparison group. For all offense degrees, the total mitigated
dispositional departure rate was 35 percent for both the pre- and post-DSRA groups.

Mitigated dispositional departure rates fell for first-degree offenders (35.5% post-DSRA) compared to the 37
percent rate in the pre-DSRA group. The mitigated dispositional departure rate for second-degree offenders fell
from 38 percent in the pre-DSRA group to 30 percent for the post-DSRA group. This reduction is due to the
implementation of the Drug Offender Grid, which, as proposed by the Commission and adopted by the DSRA,
reduced the percent of second-degree offenders with presumptive prison sentences.

However, the mitigated dispositional departure rates increased for third and fifth-degree offenses. The rate for
third-degree offenses rose from 27 percent to 35 percent post-DSRA. This may be due to the DSRA’s removal,
for subsequent third-degree offenses, of the mandatory minimum sentence provision, from which mitigated
dispositional departures were not lawful.®® To a lesser degree, the mitigated dispositional departure rate also
appears to have increased for fifth-degree offenses (from 34.5% to 37.5% post-DSRA).

57 A discussion of gross misdemeanor possession of trace amount offenses begins on page 42.
58 See State v. Turck, 728 N.W.2d 544 (Minn. App. 2007), review denied (Minn. May 30, 2007).
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Table 10. Mitigated Dispositional Departure Rates, Presumptive Commitments Only, Pre- & Post-DSRA
Comparison Groups

Pre-DSRA 2013-15 Comparison Group Post-DSRA 2016—18 Comparison Group
Presumptive Presumptive

Commits Mitigated Disposition Commits Mitigated Disposition

Degree Number Number Rate Number Number Rate
First 391 146 37% 499 177 35.5%
Second 531 203 38% 220 66 30%
Third 417 113 27% 318 112 35%
Fourth 36 14 39% 33 6 18%
Fifth 386 133 34.5% 605 227 37.5%
Total 1,761 609 35% 1,675 588 35%

Figure 23. Mitigated Dispositional Departure Rates, Presumptive Commitments Only, Pre- & Post-DSRA
Comparison Groups
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Table 11 and Figure 24 display mitigated durational departure rates for cases that received a prison sentence for
the pre- and post-DSRA comparison groups. Mitigated durational departure rates declined for first- through
third-degree offenses; thus, the overall rate declined. The rate for first-degree offenses declined from 46
percent pre-DSRA, to 26 percent in the post-DSRA group. The rate for second-degree offenses declined from 29
percent pre-DSRA, to 23 percent post-DSRA. The rate for third-degree offenses declined from 30 percent pre-
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DSRA group to 19 percent in the post-DSRA group. The rate for fifth-degree offenders rose slightly from 20
percent to 22 percent. The overall rate declined from 28 percent pre-DSRA to 22 percent post-DSRA.

Among the first-degree post-DSRA offenders who received prison sentences, the mitigated durational departure
rates were 25 percent for the non-aggravated offenses, 22 percent for the aggravated offenses, and 30 percent
for the 100+ gram offenses.

Table 11. Mitigated Durational Departure Rates, Executed Prison Sentences Only, Pre- & Post-DSRA Comparison
Groups

Pre-DSRA 2013-15 Comparison Group Post-DSRA 2016-18 Comparison Group
Received
Prison Mitigated Duration Received Prison Mitigated Duration
Degree Number Number Rate Number Number Rate
First 245 112 46% 322 82 26%
Second 328 96 29% 159 37 23%
Third 317 96 30% 216 42 19%
Fourth 31 2 7% 37 2 5%
Fifth 661 134 20% 722 159 22%
Total 1,582 440 28% 1,456 322 22%

Figure 24. Mitigated Durational Departures, Executed Prison Sentences Only, Pre- & Post-DSRA Comparison
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Estimated Prison Beds Needed Post-DSRA

Because the DSRA adjusted some drug offenses to lesser degrees and moved some to gross misdemeanors, it
was anticipated that the act would result in prison bed savings. That savings has begun; however, it is not as
large as anticipated. The primary reason the anticipated prison bed savings has not been fully realized appears
to be the continuing increases in the number of drug offenses that are sentenced. The DSRA’s originally
estimated bed savings was based on 2014 sentencing data, but the number of felony drug offenses sentenced in
2018 was 27 percent greater than the 2014 case volume (Figure 20).

This section discusses the number of estimated prison beds needed for the pre-DSRA and post-DSRA comparison
groups. “Estimated prison beds” are computed by calculating two-thirds of the sum, in years, of all executed
prison sentences imposed for the relevant category. Because these estimates assume that offenders will serve
two-thirds of the pronounced sentences,®® they do not account for case-specific possibilities that may reduce’
or increase’! the actual prison time to be served. All estimated prison beds are not needed the first year; the
need is, instead, apportioned over time.”?

Despite the increase in the number of drug cases sentenced in recent years, indications of prison bed savings are
appearing (Table 12). While the number of felony offenders in the 2016—-18 post DSRA comparison group (7,327)
was 15 percent greater than the number of offenders in the 2013-15 pre-DSRA comparison group (6,363), the
number receiving a prison sentence (1,582 pre-DSRA and 1,456 post-DSRA) was eight percent lower, and the
number of estimated beds (3,780 pre-DSRA and 3,520 post-DSRA) was seven percent lower.

For first-degree offenders, the estimated prison beds needed rose by 22 percent (from 1,275 beds pre-DSRA to
1,556 beds post-DSRA), despite a post-DSRA decrease in the prison sentence for the average first-degree
offender of six months. Instead, this increase in the need for estimated prison beds was caused by a 31-percent
increase in the number of first-degree offenders receiving prison sentences (from 245 pre-DSRA to 322 in the
post-DSRA group).

On the other hand, the number of estimated prison beds needed for second-degree offenders decreased
markedly (by 43%, from 1,202 pre-DSRA to 691 post-DSRA). The number of estimated prison beds needed for
third-degree offenders also decreased (by 19%, from 657 beds pre-DSRA to 532 post-DSRA). The number of
post-DSRA second-degree offenders receiving prison sentences declined, as anticipated, as did the number of
post-DSRA third-degree offenders. The average pronounced sentences at both degrees increased. These

89 See Minn. Stat. § 244.101, subd. 1 (defining an executed sentence as consisting of two parts: a minimum term of
imprisonment, equal to two-thirds of the executed sentence; and a maximum supervised release term, equal to one-third
of the executed sentence).

70 Prison time might be reduced, for example, because of jail credit (Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 3.C.; Minn. R. Crim. P.
27.03, subd. 4(B)) or early release programs (see, e.g., Minn. Stat. § 244.17 (Challenge Incarceration Program)).

71 Prison time might be increased because of additional time served by supervised release violators (Minn. Stat. § 244.05,
subd. 3(2)) or subsequently revoked sentences of offenders who were originally sentenced to probation, rather than to an
executed prison sentence (Minn. Stat. § 609.14, subd. 3).

72 All beds are not needed in the first year. The total need for the estimated prison beds is, instead, apportioned over a
period of approximately nine years, with each year requiring a smaller share of the total estimated prison beds than the
year before.
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increases in average sentences were due to the elimination of low-duration presumptive prison sentences for
offenders with low criminal history scores. This was accomplished by the Drug Offender Grid’s elimination of
presumptive prison sentences for second-degree offenders at criminal history scores of zero and one, and by the
elimination of mandatory minimums for subsequent third-degree drug offenders, thus reducing the prison rate
at criminal history scores below three.

The estimated prison beds needed for fifth-degree offenders increased by 15 percent (from 604 beds pre-DSRA
to 696 post-DSRA). This is because the number of post-DSRA fifth-degree offenders receiving prison sentences
increased, a reflection of recent years’ increases in the number of offenders sentenced for fifth-degree offenses.
The number of offenders sentenced for fifth-degree offenses increased by 22 percent (from 4,443 in the pre-
DSRA group to 5,412 in the post-DSRA group) while the number receiving prison sentences increased by nine
percent (from 661 to 722).

Table 12. Estimated Prison Beds Needed, Pre- & Post-DSRA Comparison Groups
Pre-DSRA 2013-15 Comparison Group  Post-DSRA 2016—18 Comparison Group Change in

Number Average Number Average Post-DSRA

Receiving Duration Est. Beds Receiving Duration Est. Beds Estimated
Degree Prison (months) Needed Prison (months) Needed Bed Need
First 245 93 1,275 322 87 1,556 +22%
Second 328 66 1,202 159 77 681 -43%
Third 317 37 657 216 44 532 -19%
Fourth 31 25 43 37 26 54 +26%
Fifth 661 16 604 722 17 696 +15%
Total 1,582 43 3,780 1,456 43 3,520 -7%

Because “estimated prison beds” in this table represent more than one year of sentencing data, these numbers should be
used for relative comparison only between the pre-DSRA and post-DSRA groups. In addition, all estimated prison beds are
not needed the first year; the need is, instead, apportioned over time. See footnote 72, above.

Estimated Prison-Bed Demand Avoided Due to DSRA

Like the previous section, this section analyzes the sentences for “post-DSRA” offenses; that is, offenses
committed after July 31, 2016, and sentenced through 2018. Unlike the previous section, however, this section
does not compare the post-DSRA sentences to sentences actually imposed in previous years. Instead, this
section seeks to compare the post-DSRA sentences to the estimated sentences those same cases would have
received if they had been sentenced in 2015, before the DSRA took effect.

The first part of this analysis focuses on possession and sale of two of the three drugs for which the thresholds
and presumptive punishments may have changed at the higher offense degrees: namely, cocaine and
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methamphetamine. Heroin is also included in this analysis. A total of 5,880 post-DSRA cases—all involving the
sale or possession of cocaine, heroin, or methamphetamine sold or possessed on or after August 1, 2016, are
the subject of this part of the analysis.

The thresholds also changed for marijuana; weight thresholds were lowered and plants were added as a unit of
measure for first- and second-degree offenses. Very few cases in the post-DSRA group were above these
thresholds. Beds for these cases were calculated separately.

With respect to drugs other than cocaine, methamphetamine, heroin, and first or second-degree marijuana
offenses, the methodology for calculating prison beds pre- and post-DSRA does not consider drug type and
guantity. Because the DSRA did not change the quantity thresholds for these offenses, it is assumed that the
prison-bed need for these cases would be based on reduced durations for first-degree offenders on the Drug
Offender Grid; stayed dispositions for some second-degree offenders on the Drug Offender Grid; and eliminated
mandatory minimum penalties for third-degree offenders. Instead, the 2015 bed estimate is based on the
average sentence pronounced in 2015 for cases at the same severity levels and criminal history scores.

First, Table 13 (“Estimated Prison Beds Needed Based on Actual Sentences”) displays the estimated prison beds
that will be needed for those post-DSRA offenses based on the executed sentences actually imposed in those
cases. “Estimated prison beds” are calculated in the manner described on page 48, above.

Next, Table 13 (“Estimated Prison Beds Needed if Sentenced in 2015”) displays the estimated prison beds that
would have been needed for the same set of post-DSRA offenses, if those offenses had been sentenced as
similar offenses were sentenced in 2015. These estimates are calculated as follows:

e The first six rows display the estimated prison beds needed and avoided for sale or possession of
cocaine, methamphetamine, heroin, or—in first- and second-degree cases—marijuana. The calculations
are made by replacing the actual penalty received for each post-DSRA offense with the average penalty
given in 2015 to offenders with the same criminal history score for the same act (sale or possession)
involving a similar amount” of the drug in question.

e For the “All other felony cases” row—involving lower-frequency drugs whose thresholds did not change
post-DSRA—this calculation is made by changing the dispositions and durations to reflect applicable pre-
DSRA presumptive penalties; i.e., by applying to those cases the sentencing grid, the mandatory
minimums for repeat offenders, and the sentencing practices as they existed in 2015.

Finally, Table 13 (“Difference”) shows the difference in prison beds needed, over time. A negative number
reflects an estimate that fewer beds were actually needed, post-DSRA, then would have been needed if those
cases had been sentenced in 2015.

73 For purposes of this analysis, the following drug quantities were considered similar. Sale: under 3 grams; 3 to under 10
grams; 10 to under 100 grams; and 100 grams or more. Possession: under 3 grams; 3 to under 6 grams; 6 to under 25
grams; 25 to under 100 grams; and 100 grams or more. Drug quantities were determined by a review of 95 percent of
criminal complaints of cases sentenced in 2015 and all complaints of cases in the post-DSRA group.
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Because the post-DSRA cases were sentenced over a span of years, they represent more than one year of
sentencing data. As a result, the number of estimated prison beds may be misleading. To resolve this, the last
row of Table 13 (“Annualized Total”) reduces the number of post-DSRA cases to a number that more closely
resembles a typical year’s felony drug caseload.

It will be seen that the estimated prison-bed need for the offenses sentenced in the post-DSRA group (2,671
beds, annualized) is 33 percent smaller than the estimated prison-bed need for those same offenses would have
been (4,015 beds, annualized) if each case had been sentenced as a similar case was typically sentenced in
2015.7

Table 13. Estimated Prison-Bed Demand Avoided for Post-DSRA Felony Drug Cases

Post-DSRA (2016-18) Felony Drug Cases

Estimated Prison Beds Estimated Prison
Number Needed Based on Beds Needed if
Degree (Post-DSRA) of Cases Actual Sentences Sentenced in 2015  Difference

First — Heroin, Cocaine, Meth 463 1,461 1,420 +41
Second — Heroin, Cocaine, Meth 387 668 963 -295
Third — Heroin, Cocaine, Meth 748 492 1,000 -508
Fourth — Heroin, Cocaine, Meth 90 50 125 -75
Fifth* — Heroin, Cocaine, Meth 4,192 574 1,464 -890
First & Second — Marijuana 38 23 20 +3
All other felony cases 1,409 252 299 -47
Post-DSRA (2016-18) Total 7,327 3,520 5,291 -1,771
Annualized Total** 5,560 2,671 4,015 -1,344

All estimated prison beds are not needed the first year; the need is, instead, apportioned over time. See footnote 72, above.
*Felony only”™

**“Annualized Total” is the Post-DSRA Total multiplied by 75.8%, which is the ratio of the average annual number of felony
drug cases from 2016—18 (5,560) to the number of felony cases in the Post-DSRA Comparison Group (7,327).

74 All estimated prison beds would not have been needed the first year; the need would, instead, have been apportioned
over time. See footnote 72, above.

7> This analysis does not include gross misdemeanor fifth-degree cases (the subject of the next section). If those cases were
included in Table 13, they would not increase the estimated prison beds needed based on actual post-DSRA sentences
because gross misdemeanor offenses are not sentenced to prison. On the other hand, due to the gross misdemeanor
statute’s eligibility requirements—of no prior drug offenses and low drug quantities—it is assumed that this offense
category’s contribution to the 2015 estimated prison-bed need would not have been large.
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Use of DSRA Gross Misdemeanor Offense

The DSRA created a gross misdemeanor fifth-degree offense for possessing a trace amount of a controlled
substance, effective for offenses committed after July 31, 2016. Before the effective date, this offense would
have been a felony.”® Only offenders with no prior conviction for sale or possession of a controlled substance
offense are eligible for the gross misdemeanor penalty. A “trace” amount is defined as less than 0.25 grams or
one dosage unit for controlled substances that are not heroin; and 0.05 grams for heroin.”’

From August 1, 2016 through December 31, 2018, 1,594 people were convicted of gross misdemeanor
possession of a trace amount of a controlled substance.” Of those, 66.9 percent were male and 32.7 percent
were female. Compared with the rates of females sentenced for felony fifth-degree possession in 2018 (28.5%)
and females in the total 2018 felony population (20.4%), females were sentenced for gross misdemeanor
possession of a trace amount at a higher rate (32.7%) (Figure 25).

Figure 25. Distribution by Gender of Gross Misdemeanor Possession of Trace Amount Cases Sentenced 8/1/2016
to 12/31/2018; Felony Fifth Degree Possession Sentenced 2018; Total Felony Offenders Sentenced 2018; and
Population Age 15 and Older
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Source of Gross Misd. Trace Cases, 2016—18: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019.)

* One corporation omitted from “Total Felony Offenders, 2018.” Six “Gross Misd. Trace, 2016—18” cases (0.4%) not displayed
where the gender was blank; i.e., not reported, “Null.”

**2018 estimated population, age 15 and over, U.S. Census Bureau (August 2019).

76 Unlike a felony sentence, a gross misdemeanor sentence may never include state prison time—even if probation is
revoked and the entire sentence is executed. Cf. Minn. Stat. §§ 609.02, subds. 2 & 4, & 609.03(2) (maximum imprisonment
for gross misdemeanor is one year) with Minn. Stat. § 609.105, subd. 3 (sentence of one year or less to be served locally).
7 The status of possession of a small amount of marijuana as a petty misdemeanor was not altered by the DSRA. Minn.
Stat. § 152.027, subd. 4.

78 Sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 152.025, subd. 4(a), 8/1/2016 to 12/31/2018, according to Judicial Branch data.
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Of those convicted of gross misdemeanor possession of a trace amount of a controlled substance from August 1,
2016 through December 31, 2018, 65.1 percent were white, 6.3 percent were black, 12.9 percent were
American Indian, 5.5 percent were Hispanic, 1.7 percent were Asian, and in 8.5 percent of the cases, the
person’s race or ethnicity was “other” or “unknown.””® Figure 26 also displays rates by race and ethnicity for
felony fifth-degree possession offenders sentenced in 2018, total felony offenders sentenced in 2018, and the
state’s estimated 2018 population, age 15 and older.

Figure 26. Distribution by Race & Ethnicity of Gross Misdemeanor Possession of Trace Amount Cases Sentenced
8/1/2016 to 12/31/2018; Felony Fifth Degree Possession Sentenced 2018; Total Felony Offenders Sentenced
2018; and Population Age 15 and Older
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Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019.)
*Other/Unknown: 3.6% multiracial;.5% Hawaiian/Pacific Islander; 1.4% “Null;” .5% “other;” .5% refused 1.9% unavailable.
**2018 estimated population, age 15 and over, U.S. Census Bureau (August 2019).

The Minnesota judicial district with the most convictions for gross misdemeanor possession of a trace amount of
a controlled substance from August 1, 2016 through December 31, 2018, was the Ninth Judicial District with
21.6 percent. By comparison, the Ninth Judicial District has about six percent of Minnesota’s population age 15
and older. The judicial districts with the fewest convictions were the Eighth Judicial District (4.1% of gross
misdemeanor trace cases and 2.8% of population) and the Fourth Judicial District (Hennepin County) (4.5% of
gross misdemeanor trace cases and 22.7% of population). Figure 27 displays the geographical distribution of
these trace cases together with the geographical distribution of felony fifth-degree possessions sentenced in

7% Other/Unknown: 3.6% multiracial;.5% Hawaiian/Pacific Islander; 1.4% “Null;” .5% “other;” .5% refused 1.9% unavailable.
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2018, total felony offenders sentenced in 2018, and the state’s estimated 2018 population, age 15 and older. A
map of the judicial districts, including counties, can be found in Appendix 1 (p. 67).

Figure 27. Distribution by Judicial District of Gross Misdemeanor Possession of Trace Amount Cases Sentenced
8/1/2016 to 12/31/2018; Felony Fifth Degree Possession Sentenced 2018; Total Felony Offenders Sentenced

2018; and Population Age 15 and Older
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Source of Gross Misd. Trace Cases, 2016—18: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019.)
*See Appendix 5 (p. 124) for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.
**2018 estimated population, age 15 and over, U.S. Census Bureau (August 2019).

Unlike other judicial districts, post-DSRA gross misdemeanor trace offenses committed in the Second Judicial
District (Ramsey County) and Fourth Judicial District (Hennepin County) are prosecuted by the appropriate city
attorney, rather than the county attorney.® This jurisdictional change, which applies only to those two judicial
districts, may account for some of the variation in the data shown in Figure 27.

Table 14 and Table 15 display the number and percentage of gross misdemeanor trace-amount cases by gender,
race, judicial district, and county. These tables begin on page 55.

Most of the gross misdemeanor trace-amount cases involved possession of methamphetamine or
amphetamines (“Meth./Amphet.”) at 73.7 percent (Figure 28). This is consistent with the trend for felony cases

8 There are some exceptions to this rule (e.g., in some municipalities whose population is less than 2,500). Minn. Stat.
§484.87, subd. 2. In all other counties, the county attorney must prosecute. Minn. Stat. § 388.051, subd. 2(d).
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depicted in Table 6. The other drugs were: cocaine at 4.0 percent; marijuana at 3.8 percent; heroin at 3.2

percent; synthetic narcotics at 1.7 percent; Opium at 1.1 percent; and “other” or “unknown” at 13.4 percent.8!

Figure 28. Gross Misdemeanor Possession of Trace Amounts by Drug Type, Sentenced 8/1/2016 to 12/31/2018
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Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019.)
Drug type information is based on Minnesota Offense Codes (MOCs).

Table 14. Gross Misdemeanor Possession of Trace Amount Convictions by Gender and Judicial District, Sentenced
8/1/2016 to 12/31/2018

Number Percent Number Percent
Gender Male 1,067 66.9 Judicial  Fifth 102 6.4
Female 521 32.7 District Sixth 136 8.5
Unknown 6 4 (cont’d)  geyenth 161 10.1
Total 1,594 100.0 Eighth 65 4.1
Judicial  First 212 13.3 Ninth 345 21.6
District®> Second 112 7.0 Tenth 227 14.2
Third 162 10.2 Total 1,594 100.0

Fourth 72 4.5

Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019.)

81 Drug type information is based on Minnesota Offense Codes (MOCs) obtained from the court record.
82 See Appendix 5 (p. 124) for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.
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Table 15. Number and Percent of Gross Misdemeanor Possession of Trace Amounts by County,* Sentenced

8/1/2016 to 12/31/2018

County

1 Aitkin

2 Anoka

3 Becker

4 Beltrami

5 Benton

7 Blue Earth

8 Brown

9 Carlton
10 Carver
11 Cass
12 Chippewa
13 Chisago
14 Clay
15 Clearwater
16 Cook
17 Cottonwood
18 Crow Wing
19 Dakota
20 Dodge
21 Douglas
22 Faribault
23 Fillmore
24 Freeborn
25 Goodhue
26 Grant
27 Hennepin
28 Houston
29 Hubbard
30 Isanti
31 Itasca
33 Kanabec
34 Kandiyohi
36 Koochiching
38 Lake
39 Lake of the Woods
40 Le Sueur
42 Lyon
43 MclLeod
44 Mahnomen
46 Martin

Number
21
45
23
39
10
34
11
17
12
58

8
21
14

3

1

1
81
76

7

3
22

1
18
36

1
72
21

9
22
20
17
18

00O OON N WU,

48
5

Percent
1.3
2.8
1.4
2.4

.6
2.1
7
1.1
.8
3.6
.5
1.3
.9
2
1
il
5.1
4.8
4
2
1.4
i
1.1
2.3
i
4.5
1.3
.6
1.4
1.3
1.1
1.1
3

woukr >k »

County
47 Meeker
48 Mille Lacs
49 Morrison
50 Mower
51 Murray
52 Nicollet
53 Nobles
54 Norman
55 Olmsted
56 Otter Tail
57 Pennington
58 Pine
59 Pipestone
60 Polk
61 Pope
62 Ramsey
63 Red Lake
64 Redwood
65 Renville
66 Rice
68 Roseau
69 St. Louis
70 Scott
71 Sherburne
72 Sibley
73 Stearns
74 Steele
75 Stevens
76 Swift
77 Todd
78 Traverse
79 Wabasha
80 Wadena
82 Washington
83 Watonwan
84 Wilkin
85 Winona
86 Wright
87 Yellow Medicine
Total

*Counties with zero cases omitted. Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019.)

2018 Controlled Substance Offenses Sentencing Practices

Number
7
29
16
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18
27
19
59
30
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25

111

1,594

Percent

A4
1.8
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Pre- and Post-DSRA Stays of Adjudication

A stay of adjudication under Minn. Stat. § 152.18 (“Discharge and Dismissal”) is a type of deferred prosecution
that allows certain first-time drug defendants to be placed on probation and receive conditions of probation

(e.g., drug treatment, educational programming) without judgment of guilt. If the conditions are successfully
met, the defendant is discharged from probation and proceedings are dismissed. Effective for offenses
committed on or after August 1, 2016 (when the DSRA took effect), such a stay of adjudication became
mandatory for first-time fifth-degree controlled substance possession offenders with no felony record and no
previous participation in diversion.® Additionally, such stays of adjudication were expanded to permit their use
for third-degree controlled substance possessions. To measure the impact of the DSRA, this section compares
post-DSRA cases to a comparable pre-DSRA group. This comparison is not limited to felony cases; this section
includes post-DSRA gross misdemeanor cases among fifth-degree case data.

Stays of Adjudication Before and After the DSRA

Table 16 displays two groups: “Pre-DSRA”#: and “Post-DSRA”.2> There were 4,267 pre-DSRA cases and 7,530
post-DSRA cases. Comparing Pre-DSRA and Post-DSRA, the number of stays of adjudications increased by 76.5
percent (from 4,267 to 7,530); this varied by degree (Figure 29).

Table 16. Stay of Adjudication Dispositions under Chapter 152, Pre- & Post-DSRA Comparison Groups

Pre-DSRA 2013—- Post-DSRA 2016— Pre-DSRA to Post-DSRA

Degree 15 Comparison 18 Comparison Percent Change
Group Group
First 2 1 -50.0%
Second 6 7 +16.7%
Third 42 163 +288.1%
Fourth 46 42 -8.7%
Fifth 4,171 7,317 +75.4%
Total 4,267 7,530 +76.5%

Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019 and 12/11/2019.)

83 See Minn. Stat. § 152.18, subd. 1(b), for a complete description of the criteria.

84 Stay of adjudication dispositions, first- through fifth-degree offenses with offense dates and disposition dates between
8/1/2013 and 12/31/2015. Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 12/11/2019.)

85 Stay of adjudication dispositions, first- through fifth-degree offenses with offense dates and disposition dates between
8/1/2016 and 12/31/2018. Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019.)
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Figure 29. Stay of Adjudication Dispositions under Chapter 152 by Degree, Pre- & Post-DSRA Comparison Groups
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Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019 and 12/11/2019.)

As described on page 52, the DSRA created a gross misdemeanor fifth-degree offense for possessing a trace
amount of a controlled substance. Figure 30 shows that gross misdemeanants were receiving almost half of the
post-DSRA stay of adjudication dispositions.

Figure 30. Distribution by Offense Level of Stay of Adjudication Dispositions under Chapter 152, Pre- & Post-DSRA
Comparison Groups
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Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019 and 12/11/2019.)

*Two cases were coded as misdemeanor offenses pre-DSRA. It is assumed that these were data errors, as the law had not
yet taken effect.

**Three cases were coded as misdemeanor offenses post-DSRA. It is assumed that these were data errors.
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Pre-DSRA & Post-DSRA Comparisons

As Figure 31 shows, the distribution by gender of stay of adjudication dispositions was largely the same for the
pre-DSRA and post-DSRA groups. This was generally true of the distribution by judicial district (Figure 32),
although there was some variation in the fourth and sixth districts. Distribution by race and ethnicity was largely
the same for pre-DSRA and post-DSRA groups (Figure 33).

Figure 31. Distribution by Gender of Stay of Adjudication Dispositions under Chapter 152, Pre- & Post-DSRA
Comparison Groups

60%

70% 64.3% 63.9%
50%
34.5% 35.2%

Male Female Unknown

40%

30%

20%

10%
1.3% 0.9%

0%

m Pre-DSRA  m Post-DSRA

Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019 and 12/11/2019.)

Figure 32. Distribution by Judicial District of Stay of Adjudication Dispositions under Chapter 152, Pre- & Post-
DSRA Comparison Groups
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Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019 and 12/11/2019.)
*See Appendix 5 (p. 124 for a map of Minnesota’s ten judicial districts.
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Figure 33. Distribution by Race & Ethnicity of Stay of Adjudication Dispositions under Chapter 152, Pre- & Post-
DSRA Comparison Groups
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Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019 and 12/11/2019.)

*Other/Unknown: 10.3% Pre-DSRA & 9.8% Post-DSRA unknown; 2.7% Pre-DSRA & 1.5% Post-DSRA unavailable; 0.7% Pre-
DSRA & 0.8% Post-DSRA “other;” 2.5 Pre-DSRA & 3.1% Post-DSRA multiracial; 0.5% Pre-DSRA & 0.8% Post-DSRA refused;
and 0.2% Pre-DSRA & 0.3% Post-DSRA Hawaiian/Pacific Islander.

As stated, the DSRA required statutory stays of adjudication for certain first-time fifth-degree possession
defendants, and permitted the use of such stays of adjudication in third-degree possession cases. Figure 34
shows that the use of stays of adjudication for third-degree cases has gone up slightly post-DSRA, but their use
remains most common in fifth-degree cases.%®

Figure 34. Distribution by Controlled Substance Degree of Stay of Adjudication Dispositions under Chapter 152,
Pre- & Post-DSRA Comparison Groups
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60%
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1st Degree 2nd Degree 3rd Degree 4th Degree 5th Degree

W Pre-DSRA Post-DSRA

Source: Minnesota Judicial Branch. (Obtained 9/19/2019 and 12/11/2019.)

86 First- and second-degree possession cases, and sale cases at every degree, are ineligible for disposition under Minn. Stat.
§ 152.18. Nothing in that section, however, explicitly curtails the general authority of the district court to stay adjudication
for such an offense, although the circumstances in which the district court is authorized to “stay[] adjudication of guilt over
the prosecutor’s objection and in the absence of statutory authority” have been described as “unusual,” State v. Foss, 556

N.W.2d 540, 540-41 (Minn. 1996); see also State v. Lee, 706 N.W.2d 491 (Minn. 2005).
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County Attorney Firearms Reports

Current law requires all county attorneys in Minnesota, by July 1 of each year, to submit to the Commission their
data regarding felony cases in which defendants allegedly possessed or used a firearm and committed offenses
listed in Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subdivision 9.8 The Commission is required to include in its annual Report to the

Legislature a summary and analysis of the reports received. Memoranda describing the mandate, along with
report forms, are distributed by MSGC staff to county attorneys. Although MSGC staff clarifies inconsistencies in
the summary data, the information received from the county attorneys is reported directly as provided.

Cases Allegedly Involving a Firearm, 1996 to 2019

Since the mandate began in 1996, the average number of annual cases allegedly involving firearms statewide
has been 842. Between July 1, 2018 and June 30, 2019 (FY 2019), county attorneys report disposing of 1,274
cases allegedly involving a firearm (Figure 35). This was a 2.5 percent increase (up 31 cases) from FY 2018, and
the largest number of such cases on record.

Figure 35. Cases Allegedly Involving a Firearm, FY 1996 to FY 2019
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87 The statute provides a mandatory minimum sentence of 36 months for the first conviction of specified offenses, and 60
months for a second. Designated offenses include murder in the first, second, or third degree; assault in the first, second, or
third degree; burglary; kidnapping; false imprisonment; manslaughter in the first or second degree; aggravated robbery;
simple robbery; first-degree or aggravated first-degree witness tampering; some criminal sexual conduct offenses; escape
from custody; arson in the first, second, or third degree; felony drive-by shooting; aggravated harassment and stalking;
felon in possession of a firearm; and felony controlled substance offenses.
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Cases Charged, 2019

Of the 1,274 cases in which defendants allegedly possessed or used firearms, prosecutors charged 1,166 cases
(91.5%), while 108 cases (8.5%) were not charged (Figure 36, “Charged” and “Not Charged”).

Case Outcomes, 2019

Of the 1,166 cases charged, 851 (73%) were convicted of offenses designated in Minn. Stat. § 609.11; 111 (9.5%)
were convicted of non-designated offenses (not covered by the mandatory minimum (e.g., threats of violence
under Minn. Stat. § 609.713); 144 (12%) had all charges dismissed; 26 (2%) were acquitted on all charges; and 34
(3%) were “other” cases, including federal prosecutions and stays of adjudication (Figure 36).

Cases Convicted of Designated Offense & Firearm Established on the Record, 2019

In 774 (91%) of the 851 cases in which there was a conviction for a designated offense, use or possession of a
firearm was established on the record (Figure 36, “Firearm Established”). The fact-finder, i.e., the judge or jury,
must establish whether the defendant or an accomplice used or possessed a firearm in the commission of the
offense at the time of conviction. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subdivision 7.

In the cases in which the firearm was established on the record, 458 offenders (59%)%® were sentenced to the
mandatory minimum prison term (Figure 36, “Mandatory Minimum Imposed & Executed”). The statute
specifically allows the prosecutor to file a motion to have the defendant sentenced without regard to the
mandatory minimum. The prosecutor must provide a statement as to the reasons for the motion. If the court
finds substantial mitigating factors, with or without a motion by the prosecutor, the defendant may be
sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum. Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subdivision 8.%

88 County attorneys’ data for fiscal year 2019 (ending June 30, 2019). According to MSGC monitoring data from calendar
year 2018, of those offenders whose sentencing worksheets reflected the use or possession of a firearm or prohibited
persons from possessing a firearm (excluding ammunition-only cases) requiring a mandatory prison sentence under Minn.
Stat. § 609.11, 51 percent (378 offenders) received both the mandatory prison disposition and the mandatory minimum
duration or longer. In addition, 11 percent (80 offenders) received the mandatory prison disposition, but less than the
mandatory minimum duration.

8 Although Minn. Stat. § 609.11 uses the term “mandatory minimum” to describe the sentences it prescribes, the term
includes cases in which the court, on the motion of the prosecutor or on its own motion, is statutorily permitted, when
substantial and compelling reasons are present, to sentence a defendant without regard to those prescribed sentences.
Minn. Stat. § 609.11, subd. 8(a); but see subd. 8(b) & 8(c) (the court is not permitted to sentence a defendant without
regard to the mandatory minimum if the defendant was previously convicted of a designated offense in which the
defendant used or possessed a firearm or other dangerous weapon, nor if the defendant or an accomplice used or
personally possessed a firearm in the commission of a first- or second-degree sale of a controlled substance).
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Figure 36. Disposition of Cases, Alleged Designated Offenses Involving Firearms, as Reported by County
Attorneys, Cases Disposed of Between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2019

Cases Allegedly Involving Firearm: 1,274

Charged: 1,166

Convicted, Designated Offense: 842

Firearm Established: 767

*For an explanation of the term “mandatory minimum,” see footnote 89, above.
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Table 17. County Attorney Firearms Reports on Criminal Cases Allegedly Involving a Firearm, by Minn. County,
Cases Disposed of Between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2019

Aitkin

Anoka 40 40 4 13 19 19 9
Becker 30 9 - - 9 9 4
Beltrami 10 8 1 - 7 7 7
Benton 15 12 2 2 8 5 3
Big Stone 1 1 - 1 - - -
Blue Earth 17 17 2 - 15 12 12
Brown 6 6 1 1 3

Carlton 3 3 - - 3 3 2
Carver 0 - - - - - -
Cass 23 14 1 4 9 8 3
Chippewa 7 6 - - 6 1 1
Chisago 5 5 - 1 1 1 -
Clay*

Clearwater 0 - - - - - -
Cook 2 2 - 1 - - -
Cottonwood 1 1 - - - - -
Crow Wing 0 - - - - - -
Dakota 63 63 9 3 50 41 27
Dodge 0 - - - - - -
Douglas 0 - - - - - -
Faribault 1 1 - 1 - - -
Fillmore 6 6 - - 5 - -
Freeborn 7 7 - 3 3 - -
Goodhue 15 15 - 3 6 3 2
Grant 3 3 - - 2 - -
Hennepin 454 454 61 7 374 374 225
Houston 2 2 - - 1 - -
Hubbard 9 2 - 1 - - -

*Not reported as of 1/14/2020.
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Pipestone

Polk

Pope

Ramsey 139
Red Lake 0
Redwood 9
Renville 7
Rice 6
Rock 0
Roseau 3
Scott 8
Sherburne 19
Sibley 2
St. Louis 38
Stearns 21
Steele 3
Stevens 0
Swift 0
Todd 4
Traverse 0
Wabasha 5
Wadena 3
Waseca 2
Washington 17
Watonwan 4
Wilkin 5
Winona 18
Wright 11
Yellow Medicine 2
Total 1,274
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Appendices

Appendix 1. 2019 Guidelines Modifications

This appendix contains modifications that the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission made to the August
1, 2018, edition of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary. Each modification had a specified
effective date of August 1, 2019.%°

Appendix 1.1. Changes Relating to Crimes Created or Amended in 2019

On July 25, 2019, after public hearing, the Commission made changes relating to felony offenses created or
amended by the 2019 Minnesota Session Laws.

1. Criminal Sexual Conduct — Actor is Peace Officer

Legislative Act: 2019 Minn. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. ch. 5, art. 4, §§ 7-8

Description: The act amended third- and fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct (CSC) offenses by adding a
clause whereby a licensed peace officer commits the crime by engaging in sexual penetration (third-degree CSC)
or sexual contact (fourth-degree CSC) with someone who is physically or constructively restrained by the officer,
or who does not reasonably feel free to leave the officer’s presence. Consent to the sexual activity is not a
defense.

Modifications: The Commission ranked the new third- and fourth-degree CSC offenses consistently with the
preexisting third- and fourth-degree CSC offenses that prohibit sexual conduct by offenders in particular
occupational relationships. (By making no changes to the permissive-consecutive list in § 6, the Commission was
including the new offense on the list.)

[STYLE CHANGE TO 2019 SEX OFFENDER GRID: The Commission modified the Sex Offender Grid to
show example offenses only, like the Standard Grid and the Drug Offender Grid. The Commission
also added plain-language examples of criminal sexual conduct to improve comprehension. Those
changes begin on page 75.]

Modifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 4.B, 5.A, & 5.B:
4.B. Sex Offender Grid

[See consolidated modifications on page 75, below.]

* k%

5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table

* k%

%0 See Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 3.G for an explanation of how effective dates are implemented.
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S it
evertty Offense Title Statute Number
Level
609.344, subd.
C Criminal Sexual Conduct 3rd Degree 1(0)(d)(@)(h) ()G (k) ()
(m)(n)(0)(p)
Severity .
Offense Title Statute Number
Level
609.345, subd.
E Criminal Sexual Conduct 4th Degree 1)) (@) (MG k) ()
(m)(n)(0)(p)

* k%

5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation

Statute Number Offense Title Severity
Level

609.344 subd.

1)) (@) (N M) k) () Criminal Sexual Conduct 3rd Degree C

(m)(n)(0)(p)

Statute Number Offense Title Severity
Level

609.345 subd.

1(0)(d)(@)(h) (D)) (k) () Criminal Sexual Conduct 4th Degree E

(m)(n)(0)(p)

* k%

6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences

* k%

Statute Number Offense Title

609.344, subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 3rd Degree

609.345, subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 4th Degree
k sk ok
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2. Child Pornography and Use of Minors in Sexual Performance (Subsequent, by Predatory
Offender, or Child Under 13)

Legislative Act: 2019 Minn. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. ch. 5, art. 4, §§ 12-18

Description: The act amended the maximum penalties applicable to Child Pornography and Use of Minors in
Sexual Performance when committed by repeat or predatory offenders, or when involving children under age
thirteen. Under preexisting law, the maximum imprisonment terms for Child Pornography possession and
dissemination increased when committed by repeat or predatory offenders. The act maintained (with some
revisions) these two factors and added a third: the involvement of a child under age thirteen. The act also
applied these three factors to increase the statutory maximum imprisonment term for Use of Minors in Sexual
Performance. The act adjusted the maximum fines as well. Finally, the act increased, from 10 years to 15 years,
the conditional release term applicable to violators of these offenses who had previously been convicted of one
of these offenses or of a CSC offense.

Modifications: Pending completion of the Commission’s comprehensive review of the rankings of these
offenses,®! the Commission maintained existing rankings for those offenses whose maximum imprisonment
terms were unchanged. For Child Pornography offenses, the Commission treated the new and amended penalty-
increasing factors (now including the involvement of a child under 13) the same as the existing penalty-
increasing factors (when committed by repeat or predatory offenders). The Commission assigned Severity Level
D to Use of Minors in Sexual Performance when the penalty-increasing factors are present, and included the
enhanced offense on the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive sentencing. The Commission made
terminology consistent, and changed statutory references to conform to the new statutory structure.

Modifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 2.E.3, 4.B, 5.A, 5.B, and 6; Comment 2.B.105; and
Appendix 3:

2.B.105. If an offense has been repealed, but the elements of that offense have been incorporated into
another felony statute, determine the appropriate severity level based on the severity level ranking for
the current felony offense containing those similar elements. For example, in 2010, the Legislature
recodified violations of domestic abuse no contact orders from Minn. Stat. § 518B.01, subd. 22(d) into
Minn. Stat. § 629.75, subd. 2(d). This policy also applies to offenses that are currently assigned a severity
level ranking, but were previously unranked and excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table. For
example, possession-of pornographic-work-invelving-minors dissemination of child pornography under
Minn. Stat. § 617.247, subd. 3(a), was unranked until August 1, 2006. It is currently ranked at Severity
Level E, and receives a weight of +% 1% points.

91 See 2019 Minn. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. ch. 5, art. 4, § 22 (requiring the Commission to review and consider modifying how the
Guidelines address these crimes as compared to similar crimes, including other sex offenses and other offenses with similar
maximum penalties.).
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[2.]E. Mandatory Sentences * * *

3. Conditional Release. Several Minnesota statutes provide for mandatory conditional

release terms that must be served by certain offenders once they are released from

prison. The court must pronounce the conditional release term when sentencing for the

following offenses:

e First-degree (felony) driving while impaired. Minn. Stat. § 169A.276, subd. 1(d).
e Predatory offense registration violation committed by certain offenders. Minn. Stat.

§ 243.166, subd. 5a.

e Assault in the fourth degree against secure treatment facility personnel. Minn. Stat.

§ 609.2231, subd. 3a(d).

e First- through fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct and criminal sexual predatory

conduct. Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subds. 6-8.

e Use of minors in=sexual performance. Minn. Stat. § 617.246, subd. 7.

o Possession-of pornegraphicwerlkinvelving-miners: Child pornography. Minn. Stat.

§ 617.247, subd. 9.

4.B. Sex Offender Grid

[See consolidated modifications on page 75, below.]

5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table
Severit
venty Offense Title Statute Number

Level
Dissemination of Child Pornography
(Subsequent, o by Predatory Offender, | 617.247, subd. 3(b)
or Child Under 13)

D
Use of Minors in Sexual Performance 617.246, subd. 2(b), 3(b),
(Subsequent, by Predatory Offender, or 4(b)
Child Under 13)

* k%
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Severity

Offense Title Statute Number
Level
c Dissemination of Child Pornography 617.247, subd. 3(a)
Use of Minors in Sexual Performance S
4(a)
* % %
S it
everity Offense Title Statute Number
Level

Possession of Child Pornography
F (Subsequent, e+ by Predatory Offender, 617.247, subd. 4(b)
or Child Under 13)

* k%

S it

everity Offense Title Statute Number
Level
G Possession of Child Pornography 617.247, subd. 4(a)

5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation

Statute Number Offense Title Severity
Level
617.246 subd. 2(a) 3(a) | Use of Minors in Sexual Performance E
4(a) Prohibited
617.246 subd. 2(b) 3(b) | Use of Minors in Sexual Performance D
4(b) (Subsequent, by Predatory Offender, or
Child Under 13)
£17.247 cubd_3 . .. ¢ Pictorial . ¢ | p
Miners{Subsequent-or-by-Predatory
Offenders)
617.247 subd. 3(a) Dissemination of Rictorial Representationof | E*
Miners Child Pornography
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity
Level
617.247 subd. 3(b) Dissemination of Child Pornography D

(Subsequent, by Predatory Offender, or
Child Under 13)

; . ¢ Pictorial R . : e
Minors (Subsequent or by Predatory
Offenders)

617.247 subd. 4(a)

Possession of Rictorial Representation-of G
Miners Child Pornography

617.247 subd. 4(b)

Possession of Child Pornography
(Subsequent, by Predatory Offender, or
Child Under 13)

I

* * %

6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences

* k%

Statute Number

Offense Title

617.246, subd. 2(a),
3(a), 4(a)

Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prehibited

Aeration/C ¢ Minors in Sexual Perk

Dj e tion ™ S | Py

617.246, subd. 2(b),

3(b), 4(b)

Use of Minors in Sexual Performance (Subsequent, by
Predatory Offender, or Child Under 13)

617.247, subd. 3(a)

Dissemination of Picterial-Representations-of- Minors Child
Pornography

617.247, subd. 3(b)

Dissemination of Child Pornography (Subsequent, by
Predatory Offender,_or Child Under 13)

617.247, subd. 4(a)

Possession of Rictorial-Representations-of Minors Child
Pornography
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Statute Number Offense Title

617.247, subd. 4(b) Possession of Child Pornography (Subsequent, by
Predatory Offender,_or Child Under 13)

* %k

Appendix 3. Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence
Reference Table

Severit Statutory Exceeds
Statute Offense Level Y | Maximum Statutory
(Months) Maximum At:

609.776 Interference with Emergency 5 36 months | CHS 4

Comm.
617.247, subd. Dissemination of Pictoral E 84 months CHS 5
3(a) Representation of Minors Child

Pornography

3. Surreptitious Observation Device (Minor Victim and Sexual Intent)

Legislative Act: 2019 Minn. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. ch. 5, art. 4, § 11

Description: Under preexisting law, the surreptitious installation or use of an observation device, with intent to
intrude upon or interfere with privacy, in a house, hotel room, tanning booth, or other place where a person has
an expectation of privacy and has exposed, or is likely to expose, their intimate parts or underwear, was a gross
misdemeanor. The crime became a felony (ranked at Severity Level 1) if committed against a minor victim when
the offender knew or had reason to know the minor was present. The act created a new felony, with a higher
maximum penalty, when such an offense (using a surreptitious observation device against a minor victim) is
committed with sexual intent by someone more than 36 months older than the minor victim. The new felony
was added to the list of offenses for which persons are required to register as predatory offenders.

Modifications: The Commission assigned the new offense a severity level of G on the Sex Offender Grid, and
included the new offense on the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive sentencing. The Commission
modified Appendix 3 to reflect that the presumptive sentence exceeds the statutory maximum at higher criminal
history scores.

Modifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 4.B, 5.A, 5.B, & 6, and Appendix 3:

4.B. Sex Offender Grid

[This offense is not listed on the Sex Offender Grid (see page 75), because the 2019 Sex
Offender Grid, as modified, displays example offenses only. See page 67 (“Style Change to
2019 Sex Offender Grid”).]
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5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table

* k%

Severity

Offense Title Statute Number
Level

G Surreptitious Observation Device (Minor 609.746, subd. 1(f)

Victim and Sexual Intent)

* % %
5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation
Statute Number Offense Title Severity

Level

Surreptitious Observation Device (Minor
609.746 subd. 1(f) . G*
Victim and Sexual Intent)

* See section 2.C.2 and Appendix 3 to determine the presumptive duration. Depending on the
offender’s criminal history score, the presumptive duration may exceed the statutory maximum.

* k%

6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences

* k%

Statute Number Offense Title

609.746, subd. 1() Surreptitious Observation Device (Minor Victim and
Sexual Intent)

% 3k 3k

Appendix 3. Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence
Reference Table

* % %
Severit Statutory Exceeds
Statute Offense Level Y | Maximum Statutory
(Months) Maximum At:
609.746, subd. Surreptitious Observation G 48 CHS 5
1(H Device (Minor Victim and
Sexual Intent
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4.B. Sex Offender Grid

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range within
which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may
be subject to local confinement.

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE

SEVERITY LEVEL OF
CONVICTION OFFENSE
(Example offenses listed in ita

lics)

4

6 or
more

Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC)
1st Degree

144
144-172

156
144-187

168
144-201

180
153-216

234
199-280

306
261-360

360
306-360°

CSC 2nd Degree-1(c)(d)(e)(H)(h)
(e.g., contact, force, & injury)

D . . ; s I %E‘. ki 3
Ist-Degree—1Ha)

90
903-108

110
94-132

130
111-156

150
128-180

195
166-234

255
217-300

300
255-300?

CSC 3rd Degree—1(c)(d)(g)(h)())
(k) (m)(n)(0)(p) (e.g.. pene-
tration & force/occupation)

prostitution-Sex Trafficking 2nd
Degree—1a

48
41-57

62
53-74

76
65-91

90
77-108

117
100-140

153
131-180

180
153-180°

CSC 2nd Degree-1(a)(b)(g) (e.g.,
contact & victim under 13)

CSC 3rd Degree-1(a)(e)(f) or
1(b) with refte-subd- 2(1)
(e.g., penetration & child
victim)

Di - ¢ Child
Pornography-(Subsequentor
by-Predatory-Offender)

36

48

60
51-72

70
60-84

91
78-109

119
102-142

140
119-168

CSC 4th Degree—1(c)(d)(g)(h)()
(k)(D(m)(n)(o)(p) (e.g..
contact & force/occupation)

Use Mi s !
Performance

Dissemination of Child
Pornography*?

24

36

48

60
51-72

78
67-93

102
87-120

120
102-120°

CSC 4th Degree-1(a)(b)(e)(f)
(e.g., contact & child victim)

CSC 5th Degree

Possession of Child Pornography
(Subseq./Pred. Off./Under 13)
(Subsequent-or-by-Predatory
Offender)

18

27

36

45
39-54

59
51-70

77
66-92

84
72-100

CSC 3rd Degree-1(b) with subd-
2(2) (i.e., penetration & child
victim 24-48 mo. younger)

Indecent-Exposure

Possession of Child Pornography

Solicit Child for Sexual Conduct?

15

20

25

30

39
34-46

51
44-60

60
51-60%

Registration-Of Failure to

Register as a Predatory
Offenders

12"
127-14

14
12'-16

16
14-19

18
16-21

24
21-28

30
26-36

36
37-43
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" 12"=0ne year and one day

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. Sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2, have mandatory life
sentences and are excluded from the Guidelines. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law,
including conditional release terms for sex offenders.

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can be
imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenders in the shaded area of the Grid may qualify for a mandatory life
sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 4. See sections 2.C and 2.E.

2 Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one
year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-=2.

3 Solicits, Promotes, or Receives Profit Derived from Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 1st Degree is not subject to a 90-month minimum stat-
utory presumptive sentence so the standard range of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration applies. (The range is 77—
108.)

* * %

Minn. Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary, Sex Offender Grid — Eff. August 1, 20182019 76


file://EDC1AdminFS01.admin.state.mn.us/MSGC/Intranet/Guidelines/Guidelines2019/Modifications/DRAFTPossibleLegislativeModifications.docx#IIC
file://EDC1AdminFS01.admin.state.mn.us/MSGC/Intranet/Guidelines/Guidelines2019/Modifications/DRAFTPossibleLegislativeModifications.docx#IIE

4. Wage Theft

Legislative Act: 2019 Minn. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. ch. 7, art. 3, §§ 14-16

Description: The act amended the theft statute to include Wage Theft. The new offense was listed among those
select theft offenses whose violators may, if the value of the property stolen exceeds $35,000, be sentenced to a

maximum penalty of 20 years in prison and a fine of $100,000.

Modifications: The Commission ranked Wage Theft at Severity Level 2 ($5,000 or Less), Severity Level 3 (Over
$5,000), and Severity Level 6 (Over $35,000). The Commission added Wage Theft to the Theft Offense List.

Modifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 5.A, 5.B, and 7:

5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table

Severity Offense Title Statute Number
Level
6 Theft Over $35,000 609.52, subd. 2(a)(3),
(4), (15), & (16) & (19)
with 609.52, subd. 3(1)
Severity .
Offense Title Statute Number
Level
3 Theft Crimes — Over $5,000 See section 7:
Theft Offense List
Severity .
Offense Title Statute Number
Level
2 Theft Crimes—$5.000or Less See section 7:
Theft Crimes — $5,000 or Less Theft Offense List

2020 Report to the Legislature
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5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation

* % %
. Severity
Statute Number Offense Title
Level
609.52 subd. 2(a)(19) Wage Theft (Over $35,000) 6
with subd. 3(1)
609.52 subd. 2(a)(19) Wage Theft ($5,001-$35,000) 3
609.52 subd. 2(a)(19) Wage Theft ($5,000 or Less) 2
7. Theft Offense List

Statute Number Offense Title
609.52 subd. 2(a)(19) Wage Theft

* % %

5. Harassment and Stalking Terminology Change

Legislative Act: 2019 Minn. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. ch. 5, art. 2, § 17-21 & 26.

Description: In Minn. Stat. § 609.749 (Stalking), the term “stalking” or “stalks” was changed to “harass,”
“harassment,” or “harasses.” “Pattern of stalking conduct” was changed to “stalking.”

Modifications: The Commission made conforming changes and deleted erroneous references to a second “or
Subsequent” offense (because the offense subsequent to a second offense is a third offense, ranked separately).

Moadifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 5.A, 5.B, § 6, and Comment 2.D.308:

2.D.308. The aggravating factor involving bias motivation under section 2.D.3.b(11) cannot be used
when sentencing an offender for a crime with an increased statutory maximum penalty under Minn.
Stat. § 609.2233 (felony assault motivated by bias), or for a crime that was elevated to a felony offense
because of bias motivation (e.g., Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2231, subd. 4 (fourth-degree assault); 609.595,
subd. 1a(a) (criminal damage to property); 609.749, subd. 3(a)(1) (statking-harassment)). The
Commission intends that a penalty for a bias-motivated offense be subject to enhancement only once.
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5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table

Severity Offense Title Statute Number
Level
5 Staltking Harassment (3rd or Subsequent Violations) 609.749, subd. 4(b)

Stalking {Pattern-of Statking-Conduct)

609.749, subd. 5

Stalking Harassment (Aggravated Violations)

609.749, subd. 3(a),(b)

Stalking Harassment (2nd erSubseguent Violation)

609.749, subd. 4(a)

5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation
. Severity
Statute Number Offense Title
Level
609.749, subd. 3(a)(b) | Statking Harassment (Aggravated Violations)
609.749, subd. 4(a) Stalking Harassment (2nd erSubsequent Violation)
609.749, subd. 4(b) Stalking Harassment (3rd or Subsequent Violations) | 5
609.749, subd. 5 Stalking (Pattern-of Conduct) 5

* k%

6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences

* k%

Statute Number Offense Title

609.749, subd. 3

Stalking Harassment (Aggravated Violations)

609.749, subd. 4

Stalking Harassment (Subsequent Violations)

609.749, subd. 5 Stalking (Patternof Conduct)

2020 Report to the Legislature
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Appendix 1.2. Changes to Criminal History Score Calculation & Creation of Second or Subsequent
Severe Violent Offense Modifier

On December 20, 2018, after public hearing, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission adopted and
submitted to the Legislature®? several modifications to the 2018 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and
Commentary changing the calculation of the criminal history score and adding a sentencing enhancement for
second or subsequent severe violent offenses. On July 25, 2019, after public hearing, the Commission made a
small number of amendments to those modifications. The December 2018 modifications, as amended in July
2019, are shown below; the presence of each July amendment is indicated with a footnote.

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission intends to make the following modifications to the
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary on August 1, 2019, unless the Legislature by law
provides otherwise. Each modification is intended to apply to offenders whose date of offense is on or
after August 1, 2019. See State v. Otto, 899 N.W.2d 501, 503 (Minn. 2017) (describing language
sufficient to abrogate the amelioration doctrine).

[1.]B. Definitions * * *

14. Sentence Modifier. A “sentence modifier” is a statute or policy that aids in defining the

punishment for the underlying offense. A sentence modifier can affect either or both the
duration and the disposition of the presumptive sentence. See section 2.G for policies
relating to determining the presumptive sentence for offenses that include a sentence

modifier. * * *

[2.]B. Criminal History ***

1. Prior Felonies. * * *

c. Felony Decay Factor. In computing the criminal history score, a A prior felony

sentence or stay of imposition following a felony conviction must not be used in

: erinal b ’ od of if has ol | cincet

92 The Commission submitted these proposed modifications to the Legislature January 11, 2019. Minn. Sentencing
Guidelines Comm’n, Report to the Legislature (Jan. 11, 2019). Retrieved July 26, 2019, at https://go.usa.gov/xysku. The
Legislature took no action to provide that the changes should not take effect. See Minn. Stat. § 244.09, subd. 11.
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date-of-dischargefrom-or-expiration-of the sentence-te all of the following, to the

extent applicable, occurred before the date of the current offense;

(1) the prior felony sentence or stay of imposition expired or was discharged;

(2) aperiod of fifteen years elapsed after the date of the initial sentence following

the prior conviction; and

(3) if the prior felony sentence was executed, a period of fifteen years elapsed after

the date of expiration of the sentence. * * *

2.B.113. The Commission established a “decay factor” for the consideration of prior felony offenses in
computing criminal history scores. The Commission decided it was important to consider not just the total
number of felony sentences and stays of imposition, but also the age of the sentences and stays of
imposition. The Commission decided that the presence of old felony sentences and stays of imposition
should not be considered in computing criminal history scores after a significant period of time has

elapsed. A prior felony sentence or stay of imposition will wetdd not be counted in criminal history score

computation if fifteen years has had elapsed from the prior sentencing date (or from the date the prison
sentence, if executed, expired) date-of-discharge-er-expiration-of that-sentence-or-stay-of-imposition to the

date of the current offense, provided the offender was then no longer on supervision for the prior sentence.

If the offender received a stay of imposition for the prior offense, that sentencing date marks “the date of

the initial sentence,” even if a stay of execution subsequently occurred as the result of, e.q., a probation

violation. While this procedure does not include a measure of the offender’s subsequent criminality, it has
the overriding advantage of accurate and simple application, while also ensuring that prison offenses do

not decay before probation offenses. * * *

2. Custody Status at the Time of the Offense.

a. One or One-Half Custody Status Point. Assign one custody status point when the
conditions in paragraphs (1), (2), and (3)(ii) or (iii) are met. In all other cases when the

conditions in paragraphs (1) through (3) are met, assign one-half custody status
point:

(1) The offender was under one of the following custody statuses at the time the

current offense was committed:
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(i) probation;

(i) parole;

(iii) supervised release;

(iv) conditional release following release from an executed prison sentence
(see conditional release terms listed in section 2.E.3);

(v) release pending sentencing;

(vi) confinement in a jail, workhouse, or prison pending or after sentencing; or

(vii)escape from confinement following an executed sentence.

(2) The offender was under one of the custody statuses in paragraph (1) after entry

of a guilty plea, guilty verdict, or conviction. Fhisincludesa-guiltypleaforan

(3) The offender was under one of the custody statuses in paragraph (1) for one of
the following:
(i) afelony currently assigned a severity level ranking, on the Offense Severity
Reference Table, of 1 or 2 on the Standard Grid or D1 or D2 on the Drug

Offender Grid, a felony from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota equivalent to

an offense currently ranked at one of those severity levels, or an extended

jurisdiction juvenile (EJJ) conviction for an offense currently ranked at one of

those severity levels;

(ii) any other felony;

(iii) any other extendedjurisdictionjuvenite{E)J} conviction;

(iv) a non-traffic gross misdemeanor;

(v) gross misdemeanor driving while impaired, refusal to submit to a chemical

test, or reckless driving; or

(vi) a targeted misdemeanor.

(4)65) Assigning Points to Offenses Committed Over Time. Assign & one or one-half

custody status point when the offender meets the conditions in paragraphs (1)

Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission



through (3) and the offender was placed under one of the custody statuses in

paragraph (1) at any point in time during which the offense occurred when:

(i) multiple offenses are an element of the conviction offense; or

(i) the conviction offense is an aggregated offense. * * *

c. Additional Duration. An additional three months must be added to the duration of

the appropriate cell time, which then becomes the presumptive duration, when:

(1) atleast one-half custody status point is assigned; and

(2) the offender’s total Criminal History Score exceeds the maximum score on the

applicable Grid (i.e., 7 or more). * * *

e. _Waiver. Subject to the limitations in paragraph (4) below, the court, on its own

motion or on the motion of a party, may, but is not required to, waive assignment of

a custody status point or half-point pursuant to section 2.B.2, provided the offender

establishes that granting a waiver is consistent with public safety. Specifically, the

court has the discretion, but is not required, to grant a waiver if the offender

establishes that waiver is consistent with public safety and promotes the traditional

purposes of sentencing which are retribution, incapacitation, deterrence, restitution,

and rehabilitation. See Minn. Stat. § 244.09. In considering rehabilitation, the court

may examine the following:

(1) Whether the offender has consistently utilized available probation services, such

as drug, alcohol, and psycholoqical treatment services, and has otherwise been in

substantial compliance with the conditions of probation, parole, or conditional or

supervised release, apart from the commission of the current offense, for the past

twelve months;

(2) Whether the current offense represents an escalation of criminal activity; and

(3) Whether the offender has made any progress toward rehabilitation and reentry

into society, such as additional education and/or vocational training.
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(4) The court may not, however, waive assignment of a custody status point or half-

point if either the current offense or a custody status offense is any of the

following offenses, including an equivalent felony offense from a jurisdiction

other than Minnesota. As used within this paragraph, “custody status offense”

means a prior offense resulting in a custody status that caused the offender to

qualify for a custody status point as described in section a, above.

(i) an offense currently assigned a severity level ranking, on the Offense Severity
Reference Table, of 8, 9, 10, or 11 on the Standard Grid;

(i) an offense on the Sex Offender Grid other than Failure to Reqister as a
Predatory Offender (Minn. Stat. § 243.166);

(iii) an offense currently assigned a severity level ranking, on the Offense Severity
Reference Table, of D8 or D9 on the Drug Offender Grid;

(iv) an offense listed in section® 8, Severe Violent Offense List;

(v) Fleeing Peace Officer (Great Bodily Harm) (Minn. Stat. § 609.487, subd. 4(b));

or

(vi) an attempt or conspiracy to commit one of these offenses.

Comment
2.B.201. The basic rule assigns offenders one or one-half point if they were under some form of eligible

criminal justice custody status when they committed the offense for which they are now being sentenced.

2.B.202. The Commission intended to avoid criminal history scores in which a prior offense’s custody

status point outweighed the criminal history of the prior offense itself. Accordingly, when the criminal

history weight of a prior felony is one-half point (but excluding severity level H offenses; see generally

section 2.B.1) or the prior gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor contributes one or two misdemeanor units

(see section 2.B.3), the custody status from that prior offense results in one-half, rather than one, custody

9 The Commission changed this word to lowercase on July 25, 2019.
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2.B.203. |n determining whether to grant a waiver in a particular case, the primary consideration is

public safety. In this context, public safety means protecting the public from crime. The court should

consider the values of retribution, incapacitation, deterrence, restitution and rehabilitation. In doing so, the

court should apply a balanced approach in which all five values are examined and applied. For

rehabilitation, the court may also consider the three factors listed in section 2.B.2.e in order to examine the

whole person. When custody status is waived, the presumptive sentence will be calculated without the

addition of the waived custody status point, or half-point, in the criminal history score. Thus, provided the

processes of section 2.B.2.e are followed, granting a waiver of custody status for the current offense does

not, in itself, constitute a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines. Prebation-givenfor-an-offense-tnder

3. Prior Gross Misdemeanors and Misdemeanors. Prior gross misdemeanor and

misdemeanor convictions count as units comprising criminal history points. Four units
equal one criminal history point; give no partial point for fewer than four units.

Determine units as specified in this section.

a. General Assignment of Units. Except as provided in paragraph g, H-the-current

felony-driving-while-impaired(BW); assign the offender one unit for each prior

conviction of the following offenses provided the offender received a stayed or
imposed sentence or stay of imposition for the conviction before the current

sentencing:

(1) targeted misdemeanor, as defined in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e);
(2) non-traffic gross misdemeanor;
(3) gross misdemeanor driving while impaired;

(4) gross misdemeanor refusal to submit to a chemical test;
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(5) gross misdemeanor reckless driving;

(6) a felony conviction resulting in a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence.

* * %

e. Decay Factor. A prior misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence or stay of
imposition following a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor conviction must not be
used in computing the criminal history score if ten years has have® elapsed between

the date of* discharge-from-or-expiration-of the initial sentence following the prior

conviction and the date of the current offense. However, misdemeanor sentences

that result from the successful completion of a stay of imposition for a felony

conviction are subject to the felony decay factor in section 2.B.1.c.

* k%

2.B.304. The Commission believes that offenders whose current conviction is for criminal vehicular
homicide or operation or first-degree (felony) driving while impaired, and who have prior violations
under Minn. Stat. Stats: §§ 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129, 360.0752, 609.2112,
609.2113, or 609.2114 are also more culpable, and for these offenders there is no limit to the total
number of misdemeanor points included in the criminal history score due to DWI or criminal vehicular
homicide or operation (CVO) violations. To determine the total number of misdemeanor points under
these circumstances, first add together any non DWI/CVO misdemeanor units. If there are less than four
units, add in any DWI/CVO units. Four or more units would equal one point. Only DWI/CVO units can
be used in calculating additional points. Each set of four DWI/CVO units would equal an additional
point. For example, if an offender had two theft units and six DWI/CVO units, the theft would be added
to the two DWI/CVO units to equal one point. The remaining four DWI/CVO units would equal a second
point. In a second example, if an offender had six theft units and six DWI/CVO units, the first four theft
units would equal one point. Four of the DWI/CVO units would equal a second point. The remaining two
theft units could not be added to the remaining two DWI/CVO units for a third point. The total
misdemeanor score would be two. * * *

[2.]G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers

1. In General. Sentence modifiers are statutes or policies that aid in defining the

punishment for the underlying offense. Modifiers can affect either or both the duration

% To achieve subject-verb agreement, the Commission changed this word on July 25, 2019.
% The Commission restored this inadvertently stricken word on July 25, 2019.
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and the disposition of the presumptive sentence. Any change to the presumptive fixed
sentence under this section must also be applied to the upper and lower ends of the
range found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid, except that the presumptive
sentence cannot be less than one year and one day, nor can it be less than any

applicable mandatory minimum. * * *

14. Second or Subsequent Severe Violent Offense.

b. The following definitions apply to this section:

(1) A "severe violent offense” is an offense listed in section®® 8, Severe Violent

Offense List. “"Severe violent offense” includes attempt or conspiracy, and includes

an equivalent felony from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota, as outlined in

section 2.B.5 (Convictions from Jurisdictions other than Minnesota).?” A current

offense is not a “severe violent offense” if section 2.E.4 (Mandatory Life

Sentences) applies.

(2) "Second or subsequent severe violent offense” means that prior to the

commission of current severe violent offense, the offender has been adjudicated

quilty of one or more severe violent offenses.

(3) A "prior severe violent offense conviction” is an adjudication that qualifies the

current offense as a second or subsequent severe violent offense. A conviction

for an offense excluded from criminal history score computation under section

2.B.1.c (Felony Decay Factor) does not qualify as a “prior severe violent offense

conviction.” A conviction that resulted in a non-felony sentence (see section

2.B.1.h) does not qualify as a “prior severe violent offense conviction” if the non-

felony sentence was imposed before the current offense date.*®

c. If the current offense is a second or subsequent severe violent offense, the

presumptive fixed sentence for the current offense, as determined in section 2.C,

% The Commission changed this word to lowercase on July 25, 2019.
%7 The Commission added a clarifying clause after the preceding comma on July 25, 2019.
% The Commission added this clarifying sentence on July 25, 2019.
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shall increase by the number of months corresponding, in the following table, to the

number of prior severe violent offense convictions, provided that:

(1) If the current severe violent offense is an attempt under Minn. Stat. § 609.17 or

conspiracy under Minn. Stat. § 609.175, the increase shall be one-half the number

of months stated; and

(2) This section shall not apply to a presumptive or permissive consecutive sentence

pursuant to section 2.F.

NUMBER OF PRIOR SEVERE
VIOLENT OFFENSE MONTHS
CONVICTIONS
1 12
2 18
3 or more 24

* k%

2.G.03. While the Commission recognizes the enhanced punishments available in the existing

dangerous offender law (Minn. Stat. § 609.1095, subd. 2 and 3), it is also aware of the limited scope of

those provisions, which, in practice, rarely result in enhanced sentences. It views the establishment of

an automatic sentence modifier applicable to second or subsequent severe violent offenses as being

necessary to protect the public from crime and thereby to promote public safety. The term “second or

subseguent severe violent offense” incorporates the statutory term “second or subsequent offense”

(Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subd. 11).

* k%

8. Severe Violent Offense List

Each of the following is a “severe violent offense” within the meaning of sections 2.B.2.e and

2.G.14. Attempt or conspiracy is included, as is an equivalent felony from a jurisdiction other

than Minnesota.

Statute Number

Offense Title

609.185 Murder 1st Degree
609.19 Murder 2nd Degree
609.195(a) Murder 3rd Degree (Depraved Mind)
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Statute Number Offense Title

609.221 Assault 1st Degree

609.222, subd. 2 Assault 2nd Degree (Dangerous Weapon, Substantial
Bodily Harm)

609.245, subd. 1 Aggravated Robbery 1st Degree

609.25, subd. 2(2) Kidnapping (Great Bodily Harm/Unsafe Release/Victim
Under 16)

609.2661 Murder of an Unborn Child 1st Degree

609.2662 Murder of an Unborn Child 2nd Degree

609.2663 Murder of an Unborn Child 3rd Degree

609.282 Labor Trafficking

609.342, subd. 1(c)(d)(e)(f) | Criminal Sexual Conduct 1st Degree
609.343, subd. 1(c)(d)(e)(f) | Criminal Sexual Conduct 2nd Degree

609.498, subd. 1b Tampering with Witness, Aggravated 1st Degree
609.561, subd. 1 or 2 Arson 1st Degree
609.66, subd. 1e(b) Drive-By Shooting (Toward a Person or Occupied Motor

Vehicle or Building)

Appendix 4. 8: Targeted Misdemeanor List

Directive to MSGC staff: The existing section 8, Targeted Misdemeanor List, shall be restyled as
Appendix 4, Targeted Misdemeanor List, and moved to the end of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines
and Commentary.
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Appendix 1.3. Changes to Clarify Effective Dates

On July 25, 2019, after submission to the Legislature and public hearing,®® the Commission adopted the
following modifications to section the 2018 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to clarify that
Guidelines modifications generally apply to offenses committed on or after the effective date of the
modification. This action was taken in light of State v. Kirby, 899 N.W.2d 485 (Minn. 2017).

Modifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 3.G:

[3.]1G. Modifications

1. Policy Modifications. Modifications to sections 1 through 8 of the Minnesota Sentencing

Guidelines, and associated commentary and appendices, apply to offenders whose date of

offense is on or after the specified modification effective date.

2. Clarifications of Existing Policy. Modifications to €commentary and appendices relating
to existing Guidelines policy apply to offenders sentenced on or after the specified
effective date.

% The Commission adopted these proposed modifications December 20, 2018, and submitted them to the Legislature
January 11, 2019. Minn. Sentencing Guidelines Comm’n, Report to the Legislature (Jan. 11, 2019). Retrieved July 26, 2019,
at https://go.usa.gov/xysku. The Legislature took no action to provide that the changes should not take effect. See Minn.
Stat. § 244.09, subd. 11. The modifications were the subject of a public hearing on July 18, 2019, and were finally adopted
July 25, 2019.
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Appendix 1.4. Other Non-Legislative Amendments to the Guidelines

On July 25, 2019, after public hearing, the Commission adopted the following modifications to the 2018
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary.

1. Reconcile Conflicts Regarding Offenses Committed while Under Sentence

Modifications: The Commission reconciled policy conflicts regarding offenses committed while under sentence,
and, specifically, to clarify the application of consecutive sentencing policy to offenses, such as Escape from
Electronic Monitoring, committed while under sentence.

Modlifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 2.C.3.e, 2.F.1.b, & 2.F.2.a(2)(i); Comment 2.F.102; and
Appendix 1:

[2.]C. Presumptive Sentence * * *

3. Finding the Presumptive Sentence for Certain Offenses. * * *

e. Offenses Committed While Under State Authority. The presumptive disposition for
escape from an executed sentence, felony assault committed by an inmate serving an
executed term of imprisonment, or assault on secure treatment facility personnel is

commitment. # Pursuant to section 2.F.1, it is presumptive for escape from an

executed sentence term of imprisonment and for felony assault committed by an

inmate serving an executed term of imprisonment to be sentenced consecutively to
the offense for which the inmate was confined. The presumptive duration is
determined by the presumptive sentencing consecutive policy (see section 2.F.1,
Presumptive Consecutive Sentences). * * *

[2.]F. Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences * * *

1. Presumptive Consecutive Sentences. * * *

b. Finding the Presumptive Disposition. Fhe-presumptive-disposition-foran-escape

presumptive disposition is determined using the criteria in section 2.C. The

presumptive disposition for an escape from an executed sentence or for a felony

assault committed by an inmate serving an executed term of imprisonment is always

commitment. * * *
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2.F.102. When the court pronounces presumptive consecutive sentences for multiple offenses, each
new offense will be sentenced at a Criminal History Score of 1. The new offenses will run concurrently

to each other, but consecutive to the prior offense.

For example, an offender is convicted of Escape from Custody and First-Degree Burglary of an
Occupied Dwelling following escape from an executed sentence term of imprisonment. The term of

imprisonment remaining on the original offense from which the offender escaped is 18 months. Each
of the new offenses will have a presumptive consecutive sentence duration found at a Criminal History
Score of 1: Escape from Custody (Severity Level 3), 13 months; Burglary (Severity Level 6), 27 months.
The two sentences will run concurrently to each other, and the longer of the two durations will be
added to the time remaining on the original term of imprisonment (here, 27 months will be added to
the time remaining on the original 18-month sentence). Aggregated, the new presumptive consecutive
sentence duration is 45 months.

2. Permissive Consecutive Sentences.

a. Criteria for Imposing a Permissive Consecutive Sentence. Consecutive sentences are

permissive (may be given without departure) only in the situations specified in this
section. * * *

(2) Other Offenses. Consecutive sentences for the following offenses are always

permissive and there is no dispositional departure if the sentences are executed.

(vii) Felony Escape. If the offender is convicted of felony escape from lawful
custody — as defined in Minn. Stat. § 609.485 — and the offender did not
escape from an executed prison-sentence term of imprisonment, disciplinary
confinement, or reimprisonment (see section 2.F.1.a(1)(ii)), the escape may be

sentenced consecutively to the sentence for which the offender was confined.

* k%
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Appendix 1. Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences Reference Table

* * %

from executed sentence

Statute Offense Prerequisite or Conditions Mlnm.|um
Duration
609.485 Escape Offensecommitted-during—Ferm-of | Grid Time
tnprisonment”portion-of Escape

* * %

2. Clarify Prior Felony Resulting in Non-Felony Sentence

Modifications: The Commission eliminated the ambiguity identified in State v. Stewart, 923 N.W.2d 668, 677—-80

(Minn. Ct. App. 2019), review denied (Minn. Apr. 16, 2019), by deleting the first clause of § 2.B.1.h.

Moadifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 2.B.1.h:

[2.]B. Criminal History * * *

1. Prior Felonies. * * *

h. Non-Felony Sentence. Exceptwhen-a-monetarythreshold-determines-theoffense
classification-of the prioroffense{seesection2.B-74,-wWhen a prior felony conviction

resulted in a non-felony sentence (misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor), the

conviction must be counted in the criminal history score as a misdemeanor or gross

misdemeanor conviction as indicated in section 2.B.3.
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Appendix 1.5. Technical Amendments to the Guidelines

On July 25, 2019, the Commission adopted the following technical modifications to the 2018 Minnesota

Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary.

1. Correct Cross-References in Comment

Modifications: The Commission corrected the erroneous cross-reference in Comment 2.B.107.

Modification to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines Comment 2.B.107:

2.B.107. In cases of multiple offenses occurring in a single course of conduct in which state law

prohibits the offender from being sentenced on more than one offense, only the offense at the highest

severity level should be considered. The phrase “before the current sentencing” means that in order for

prior convictions to be used in computing the criminal history score, the felony sentence for the prior

offense must have been stayed or imposed before sentencing for the current offense. When multiple

current offenses are sentenced on the same day before the same court, sentencing must occur in the

order in which the offenses occurred. The dates of the offenses must be determined according to the

procedures in section 2A: 2.

2. Clarify Examples on Standard Sentencing Grid

Modifications: The Commission clarified the Standard Sentencing Grid, adding to the example offense of murder

in the third degree listed at Severity Level 10, “(Depraved Mind)”; listing “Murder, 3rd Degree (Controlled

Substances)” as an example offense at Severity Level 9; and making consistent stylistic changes to example
offenses listed at severity levels 9, 10 and 11.

Modifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 4.A:

4.A. Sentencing Guidelines Grid

SEVERITY LEVEL OF

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE

CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 ) 3 4 5 6 or more
(Example offenses listed in italics)
Murder, 2nd Degree
i dprive- | 11 | 306 326 346 366 386 06 | 426
bgy—sShootinigi i;)‘ o 261-367 | 278-391 | 295-415 | 312-439 | 329-463 | 346-480% | 363-480
M?’;‘Zj%nztggtgi%rfe ) 0| 150 165 180 195 210 225 240
Murdor. 31l Deoroo (ED;’DE;  ed 128-180 | 147-198 | 153-216 | 166-234 | 179-252 | 192-270 | 204-288
Mind)
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Murder, 3rd Degree (Controlled
Assault, st Degree 74-103 | 84-117 | 94-132 | 104-146 | 114-160 | 125-175 135-189
* % %

3. Strike Reference to Specific Statute Year

Modifications: The Commission deleted an unnecessary reference to a particular year’s edition of Minnesota
Statutes, as such references are not consistent with the Guidelines style.

Moadification to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 2.D.3.a(8):

[2.]D. Departures from the Guidelines * * *

[3.a.](8) In the case of a controlled substance offense conviction, the offender is found by

the district court to be particularly amenable to probation based on adequate

evidence that the offender is chemically dependent and has been accepted by,

and can respond to, a treatment program in accordance with Minn. Stat.

§ 152.152+2014).

4. Correct Statute Citation — Theft of Services (Over $5,000)

Modifications: The Commission corrected the citation for “Theft of Services (Over $5,000)” in § 5.B, which listed

the wrong numbered clause.

Moadification to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines § 5.B:

5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation

* % %
. Severity
Statute Number Offense Title
Level
609.52 subd. 2(a)d2)}(13) | Theft of Services (Over $5,000) 3
609.52 subd. 2(a)(13) Theft of Services ($5,000 or Less) 2
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5. Correct Statute Citation — Financial Transaction Card Fraud (Over $35,000)

Modifications: The Commission changed the citation for Financial Transaction Card Fraud (Over $35,000) to

conform to the current statutory structure.®

Modifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 5.A and 5.B:

5.A. Offense Severity

Reference Table

* k %

Severity Offense Title Statute Number
Level
5 Financial Transaction Card Fraud (Over 609.821 subd.
$35,000) 3(@)(1)()
5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation
. Severity
Statute Number Offense Title
Level
609.821 subd. 3(a)(1)(i) Financial Transaction Card Fraud (Over 5
$35,000)
* % %

6. Correct Statute Title — Unlawful Transfers or Sales of Recordings

Modifications: The Commission changed an offense title from “Unlawful Transfer of Sounds” to “Unlawful

Transfers or Sales of Recordings” to conform to the current statutory language.®

Modifications to 2018 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 5.A and 5.B:

5.A. Offense Severity

Reference Table

100 See 1999 Minn. Laws ch. 218,
101 Gee 1993 Minn. Laws ch. 221.
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/1993/0/221

Severity

Offense Title Statute Number
Level
UNRANKED | Unlawful Transfers or Sales of Recordings of | 325E.201
Sounds:-Sales
* % %
5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation
* % %
. Severity
Statute Number Offense Title
Level
325E.201 Unlawful Transfers or Sales of Recordings | Unranked
of Sounds:-Sales
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Appendix 2. Proposed 2020 Guidelines Modifications — Submitted to the
Legislature

Following public hearing on July 18, 2019, the Commission adopted the Guidelines modifications contained in
Appendix 2.1 and Appendix 2.2 on July 25, 2019. Following public hearing on December 19, 2019, the
Commission adopted the Guidelines modifications contained in Appendix 2.3 on January 9, 2020. These
modifications to the 2019 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary will become effective August 1, 2020,
and will apply to crimes committed on or after that date, unless the Legislature by law provides otherwise.

Appendix 2.1. Rank Escape from Electronic Monitoring at Severity Level 3

Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to assign Severity Level 3 to Escape from
Electronic Monitoring under Minn. Stat. § 609.485, subd. 4(f). The offense is now designated as unranked.
Additionally, the Commission adopted a proposal to strike the word “home” from the title to conform to the
statute.

Adopted modifications to 2019 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 5.A and 5.B:

5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table

% % %
Severity Offense Title Statute Number
Level
* % %
Severity Offense Title Statute Number
Level
3 Escape from Electronic Monitoring 609.485, subd. 4(f)
k sk %k

5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation

% %k %
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Statute Number Offense Title

Severity
Level

609.485 subd. 4(f)

Escape from Electronic Heme Monitoring Unranked 3

* % %

Appendix 2.2. Rank Offering Counterfeit Currency

Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to rank Offering Counterfeit Currency under
Minn. Stat. § 609.632, subd. 3, at Severity Level 2 (55,000 or Less), Severity Level 3 (55,001-$35,000), and
Severity Level 6 (Over $35,000). Counterfeiting of Currency is now designated as unranked, and that

designation will continue for Counterfeiting of Currency (Manufacturing or Printing) and Counterfeiting of

Currency (Means for False Reproduction).

Adopted modifications to 2019 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 5.A and 5.B:

5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table

Severity
Level

Offense Title

Statute Number

6

Offering Counterfeit Currency (Over

$35,000)

609.632, subd. 3 with
subd. 4(b)(1)

* k%

Severity
Level

Offense Title

Statute Number

3

Offering Counterfeit Currency ($5,001-

609.632, subd. 3 with

$35,000)

subd. 4(b)(2

* k%

Severity
Level

Offense Title

Statute Number

2

Offering Counterfeit Currency ($5,000 or
Less)

609.632, subd. 3 with
subd. 4(b)(3)
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100

5.B.

Severity
Level

Offense Title

Statute Number

UNRANKED

Counterfeiting of Currency
(Manufacturing or Printing/Means for

609.632, subd. 1 & 2
with subd. 4(a)

False Reproduction)

* % %
Severity Level by Statutory Citation

* % %

. Severity
Statute Number Offense Title

Level
609.632 subd. 3 with Offering Counterfeit Currency (Over 6
subd. 4(b)(1) $35,000)
609.632 subd. 3 with Offering Counterfeit Currency ($5,001- 3
subd. 4(b)(2) $35,000)
609.632 subd. 3 with Offering Counterfeit Currency ($5,000 or | 2
subd. 4(b)(3) Less)
609.632 subd. 1 & 2 with | Counterfeiting of Currency Unranked
subd. 4(a) (Manufacturing or Printing/Means for
False Reproduction)
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Appendix 2.3. Limitation on the Length of Probation

Adopted Modifications: The Commission adopted a proposal to amend 2019 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines
section 3.A (Establishing Conditions of Stayed Sentences) to allow for a presumptive probation term, subject
to departure, of up to five years or the statutory maximum sentence, whichever is less, for most felony
offenses, and to make conforming amendments to sections 1.B (Definitions), 2.C (Presumptive Sentence),
and 2.D (Departures from the Guidelines).

Adopted modifications to 2019 Minn. Sentencing Guidelines §§ 1.B, 2.C, 2.D, and 3.A:

Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary

1. Purpose and Definitions

* * %

B. Definitions

* k%

5. Departure. A "departure” is a pronounced sentence other than that recommended in the
appropriate cell on the applicable Grid, including a stayed or imposed gross misdemeanor or

misdemeanor sentence. A stayed sentence with a length of stay other than as provided in

section 3.A.2 is also a "departure.”

* k%

b. Durational Departure. A “durational departure” occurs when the court orders a sentence

with a prison duration other than the presumptive fixed duration or range in the

appropriate cell on the applicable Grid_or when the court pronounces a length of stay

other than as provided in section 3.A.2.

(1) Aggravated Durational Departure. An “aggravated durational departure” occurs

when the court pronounces a prison duration that is more than 20 percent higher
than the fixed duration displayed in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid_or

when the court pronounces a length of stay longer than provided in section 3.A.2.
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(2) Mitigated Durational Departure. A “mitigated durational departure” occurs when the

court pronounces a prison sentence that is more than 15 percent lower than the fixed

duration displayed in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid.

* k%

13. Presumptive Sentence. "Presumptive sentences” are those sentences provided on the
Sentencing Guidelines Grids_and in section 3.A.2. They are presumptive because they are

presumed to be appropriate for all typical cases sharing criminal history and offense severity

characteristics.

* k%

2. Determining Presumptive Sentences

* k%

C. Presumptive Sentence

1. Finding the Presumptive Sentence. The presumptive sentence for a felony conviction is

found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid located at the intersection of the
criminal history score (horizontal axis) and the severity level (vertical axis). The conviction
offense determines the severity level. The offender’s criminal history score is computed
according to section 2.B above. For cases contained in cells outside of the shaded areas, the
sentence should be executed. For cases contained in cells within the shaded areas, the
sentence should be stayed unless the conviction offense carries a mandatory minimum

sentence. Section 3.A governs conditions of stayed sentences.

* * %

D. Departures from the Guidelines

1. Departures in General. The sentences provided in the Grids are presumed to be appropriate
for the crimes to which they apply. The court must pronounce a sentence of the applicable
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disposition, and-within the applicable prison range, and within the applicable length of stay,

unless there exist identifiable, substantial, and compelling circumstances to support a

departure.

The court may depart from the presumptive disposition or duration provided in the
Guidelines, and stay or impose a sentence that is deemed to be more appropriate than the
presumptive sentence. A pronounced sentence for a felony conviction that is outside the
appropriate prison range on the applicable Grid, including a stayed or imposed gross
misdemeanor or misdemeanor sentence, is a departure from the Guidelines. A stayed
sentence with a length of stay other than as provided in section 3.A.2 is also a departure

from the Guidelines. A departure is not controlled by the Guidelines, but rather, is an

exercise of judicial discretion constrained by statute or case law.

a. Disposition and Duration. Departures with respect to disposition and duration are

separate decisions, each requiring written departure reasons. A court may depart from

the presumptive disposition without departing from the presumptive duration, and vice-

b. Aggravated Departure. When imposing a sentence that is an aggravated departure, it is

recommended that the court pronounce a sentence proportional to the severity of the
crime for which the sentence is imposed and the offender’s criminal history, and take

into consideration the purposes and underlying principles of the Guidelines.

* k%

2. Factors that should not be used as Reasons for Departure. The following factors should not

be used as reasons for-departing-from-thepresumptive sentences-provided-in-the
appropriate cell on the applicable Grid: departure:

* * %
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3. Related Policies

A. Establishing Conditions of Stayed Sentences

1. Method of Granting Stayed Sentences. When the appropriatecel-onthe-applicable Grid

speeifies-court orders a stayed sentence, the court may pronounce a stay of execution or a

stay of imposition. The court must pronounce the length of the stay-which-may-exceed-the
duration-of the presumptive-prison-sentence; as provided in section 3.A.2 and may establish

appropriate conditions_subject to the considerations in section 3.A.3.

a. Stay of Execution. When ordering a stay of execution, the court must pronounce the

prison sentence duration, but its execution is stayed. The presumptive duration is shown

in the appropriate cell.

b. Stay of Imposition. When ordering a stay of imposition, the court must not pronounce a

prison sentence duration, and the imposition of the sentence is stayed.

The Commission recommends that stays of imposition be used for offenders who are
convicted of lower severity offenses and who have low criminal history scores. The
Commission further recommends that convicted felons be given one stay of imposition,

although for very low severity offenses, a second stay of imposition may be appropriate.

* k%

2. _Length of Stay.

a. When the court stays execution or imposition of sentence for a felony offense, including

an attempt or conspiracy, the pronounced length of stay must not exceed five years or

the length of the statutory maximum punishment, whichever is less, unless the court

identifies and articulates substantial and compelling reasons to support a departure from

this rule.

b. Subject to the limitation in section 3.A.2.a, the pronounced length of stay may exceed

the presumptive prison sentence duration provided in the appropriate cell on the

applicable Grid.
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c. _If the court by departure exceeds the limitation in section 3.A.2.a, the length of stay must

not exceed the statutory maximum punishment for the offense.

d. The limitation in section 3.A.2.a does not apply to a sentence for a violation of Minn. Stat.
§ 609.19 (Murder 2nd Degree), 609.195 (Murder 3rd Degree), 609.20 (Manslaughter 1st
Degree), 609.2112 (Criminal Vehicular Homicide), 609.2662 (Murder of an Unborn Child
2nd Degree), 609.2663 (Murder of an Unborn Child 3rd Degree), 609.2664 (Manslaughter
of an Unborn Child 1st Degree), 609.268 (Death or Injury of an Unborn Child in Comm. of
Crime), 609.342 (Criminal Sexual Conduct 1st Degree), 609.343 (Criminal Sexual Conduct
2nd Degree), 609.344 (Criminal Sexual Conduct 3rd Degree), 609.345 (Criminal Sexual
Conduct 4th Degree), or 609.3451 (Criminal Sexual Conduct 5th Degree).

e. Extensions of probation are governed by statute (see Minn. Stat. § 609.135, subd. 2(g)-
(h)).

2.3. Other Conditions of Stayed Sentences. While the Commission has otherwise chosen not to
develop specific guidelines for the conditions of stayed sentences, it recognizes that there
are several penal objectives to be considered in establishing conditions of stayed sentences,

including:

e deterrence;

e public condemnation of criminal conduct;
e public safety;

e rehabilitation;

e restitution;

e retribution; and

e risk reduction.

The Commission also recognizes that the relative importance of these objectives may vary
with both offense and offender characteristics and that multiple objectives may be present in
any given sentence. The Commission urges courts to utilize the least restrictive conditions of
stayed sentences that are consistent with the objectives of the sanction. The Commission
further urges courts to consider the following principles in establishing the conditions of

stayed sentences:

2020 Report to the Legislature 105



* k%

(6) Work Release and Community Based Programs. The Commission has chosen not to

establish specific quidelines relating to work release programs in local facilities or

community-based residential and nonresidential programs.

* % %
[Staff note: To conform to the renumbering of section 3.A.2 as section 3.A.3, staff intends to renumber

comments 3.A.201 and 3.A.202 as comments 3.A.301 and 3.A.302, respectively, in the August 1, 2020, edition of
the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary.]
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Appendix 2.4. Minority Report — Limitation on the Length of Probation

UPDATED MINORITY REPORT

This Minority Report is filed on behalf of Retired Justice Christopher Dietzen,
Minnesota Supreme Court, Judge Michelle A. Larkin, Minnesota Court of Appeals, and
Sergeant Salim Omari, Saint Paul Police Department, who voted against the
Schnell/Mitchell proposal to place five-year caps on probation subject to the existing
departure mechanism in Minn. Sent. Guidelines 2.D (Supp. 2019). Although the minority
supports meaningful probation reform, for the reasons that follow, we are concerned that
the proposal is unworkable and may actually increase Minnesota’s incarceration rate.

At the November 2019 meeting, on a 6-5 vote, the majority approved Commissioner
Schnell’s motion to hold a public hearing in December regarding his proposal for a
mandatory five-year probation cap for the majority of felonies. The minority raised several
concerns regarding the proposal, including whether the Commission had authority to adopt
mandatory probation caps. By letter dated January 8, 2020, the Minnesota Attorney
General issued an opinion regarding the Schnell proposal. See Letter from David S.
Voight, Deputy Attorney Gen., Office of Minn. Attorney Gen. Keith Ellison, to Nathaniel
Reitz, Exec. Dir., Minn. Sent. Guidelines Comm’n (Jan 8, 2020). The attorney general
concluded that the Commission would exceed its legislative authority if it were to impose
a mandatory five-year cap on probation lengths. /d. However, the attorney general also
concluded that a guidelines modification that would allow a sentencing court discretion to
depart from a five-year presumptive probation length up to the statutory maximum would

be within the authority of the Commission. /d.
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On January 2, 2020, Commissioners Schnell and Mitchell forwarded a new proposal
to the Commission. The proposal established a presumptive five-year length of probation
for all but a few felonies and incorporated the existing departure mechanism in paragraph
2.D of the sentencing guidelines. We generally support the idea of a system of presumptive
probation lengths with judicial discretion to depart based on substantial and compelling
circumstances. However, for the reasons that follow, we have ongoing concerns regarding
the proposal.

1. The majority’s proposal is inconsistent with the Minnesota Sentencing
Guidelines.

The purpose of the Sentencing Guidelines is to establish
rational and consistent sentencing standards that promote
public safety, reduce sentencing disparity, and ensure that the
sanctions imposed for felony convictions are proportional to
the severity of the conviction offense and the offender’s
criminal history.

Minn. Sent. Guidelines 1.A (Supp. 2019).

“The severity of the sanction should increase in direct proportion to an increase in
offense severity or the convicted felon’s criminal history, or both. This promotes a rational
and consistent sentencing policy.” Minn. Sent. Guidelines 1.A.3 (Supp. 2019).
“Probation” is defined as “a court-ordered sanction imposed upon an offender for a period
of supervision no greater than that set by statute.” Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subd. 15 (2018).
Because it is a sanction, probation “should increase in direct proportion to an increase in

offense severity or the convicted felony’s criminal history, or both.” Minn. Sent.

Guidelines 1.A.3 (Supp. 2019).
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The majority explains that the five-year length of probation is “presumed to be
appropriate for all typical cases sharing criminal history and offense severity
characteristics.” But the presumptive probation length entirely ignores offense severity and
criminal history in its application. In every case in which the presumption applies, a five-
year length of probation is presumed to be appropriate regardless of offense severity or
criminal history. That approach is the antithesis of the principle that “[t]he severity of the
sanction should increase in direct proportion to an increase in offense severity or the
convicted felon’s criminal history, or both.” Minn. Sent. Guidelines 1.A.3 (Supp. 2019).

The following example illustrates the minority’s concern. Assume an offender with
no criminal history is convicted of first-degree assault, that is, infliction of “bodily injury
which creates a high probability of death, or which causes serious permanent
disfigurement, or which causes a permanent or protracted loss or impairment of the
function of any bodily member or organ or other serious bodily harm.” See Minn. Stat.
§§ 609.221, subd. 1, .02, subd. 8 (2018). The presumptive sentence for this offender is an
executed prison sentence of 86 months. Minn. Sent. Guidelines 4.A (Supp. 2019). If a
judge agrees to give the offender an opportunity on probation, instead of sending the
offender to prison, five years of probation is presumed appropriate for this offender under
the majority’s proposal.

Next, assume that an offender with no criminal history is convicted of fourth-degree
assault, that is, “intentionally throw[ing] or otherwise transfer[ing] bodily fluids or feces at
or onto [a peace] officer.” Minn. Stat. § 609.2231, subd. 1(c)(2) (2018). The presumptive
sentence for this offender is a stayed prison term of one year and one day. Minn. Sent.

3
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Guidelines 4.A (Supp. 2019). Nonetheless, five years of probation is also presumed
appropriate for this offender under the majority’s proposal.

Because the majority has deemed a five-year probation length appropriate for every
offense to which the presumption applies, without making any attempt to distinguish
between offense severity, five years of probation is presumed appropriate for both a fourth-
degree-assault offender who faces a stayed prison term of one year and one day, as well as
a first-degree-assault offender who faces an executed prison term of 86 months. The
minority is concerned that the majority’s proposal does not “ensure that the [probation
lengths] imposed for felony convictions are proportional to the severity of the conviction
offense,” as is required by the sentencing guidelines. Minn. Sent. Guidelines 1.A (Supp.
2019).

In sum, the majority’s proposal replaces one unacceptable disparity with another.
The minority would prefer a system of varying presumptive probation lengths that takes
into account offense severity and criminal history, as is plainly required under the
sentencing guidelines.

2. The majority’s proposal imposes an unprecedented requirement of a 12-member
sentencing jury for imposition of a probation term length greater than five years.

The constitutional rule of Apprendi/Blakely provides that “any fact (other than a
prior conviction) which is necessary to support a sentence exceeding the maximum
authorized by the facts established by a plea of guilty or a jury verdict must be admitted by
the defendant or proved to a jury beyond a reasonable doubt.” Blakely v. Washington, 542
U.S. 296, 301, 124 S. Ct. 2531, 2536 (2004); see Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466,

4

110 Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission



490, 120 S. Ct. 2348, 2362-63 (2000). The sentencing jury trial required under that
constitutional rule of law is known as a Blakely trial. Originally, Blakely trials were thought
to apply only when a judge sought to impose a longer prison term than set forth in the
presumptive guidelines. But in State v. Allen, the Minnesota Supreme Court held that the
Blakely rule applies to probation determinations, that is, the supreme court held that a
defendant has a Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial on the factors used to support a
decision to sentence a defendant to an executed prison term if a term of probation
supervision is presumed to be appropriate under the guidelines. 706 N.W.2d 40, 47 (Minn.
2005). In Allen, the Minnesota Supreme Court emphasized that under United States
Supreme Court precedent, “it is for the jury to make the assessment of facts that increase
the prescribed range of penalties to which a criminal defendant is exposed.” Id. at 46
(quotation omitted); see also Apprendi, 530 U.S. at 490, 120 S. Ct. at 2362-63.

The minority is not aware of any case holding that a decision regarding the length
of probation supervision must be supported by facts admitted by the defendant or proved
to a jury beyond a reasonable doubt. Yet the majority’s proposal uses terminology that
suggests such findings are necessary. Indeed, statements made by the Commission’s chair
prior to the vote on the proposal indicate that the majority intends to require a Blakely trial
(or a waiver and admissions by the defendant) before a judge can impose a length of
probation greater than five years.

Adopting the majority’s proposal for sentencing jury trials regarding the length of
probation will increase costs for all criminal-justice stakeholders. The majority’s creation
of that requirement will obviously divert limited resources from other uses. The judiciary,

5
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local county attorney offices, and the public-defense system will have to hear, prosecute,
and defend the new Blakely trials. And, the public will be obligated to serve as jurors. The
minority is concerned that the unprecedented, cost-increasing Blakely trial requirement
requires more fulsome evaluation, especially when there are alternative ways of restricting
judicial discretion without imposing the constitutional requirement of a Blakely trial.

3. The majority treats probation as a sentence, which is inconsistent with sentencing
statutes.

To impose a jury-trial requirement for decisions regarding probation length, the
majority modified existing language in the sentencing guidelines. For example, the
guidelines define “presumptive sentence” as the sentences provided on the Sentencing
Guidelines Grids, that is, prison terms. Minn. Sent. Guidelines 2.C.1 (Supp. 2019). The
proposal expands that definition to include the new presumptive five-year length of
probation. By defining probation as a “sentence,” the majority brings the presumptive five-
year length of probation within the holdings of Apprendi, Blakely, and Allen.

The majority’s approach is concerning because defining probation as a “sentence”
is inconsistent with the plain language of Minnesota’s sentencing statutes. For example,
Minn. Stat. § 609.10, subd. 1 (2018), entitled “Sentences Available,” lists the sentences
that are available for a convicted felon. It provides, in relevant part,

Subdivision 1. Sentences available. (a) Upon
conviction of a felony and compliance with the other
provisions of this chapter the court, if it imposes sentence, may
sentence the defendant to the extent authorized by law as

follows:

(1) to life imprisonment; or
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(2) to imprisonment for a fixed term of years set by the court;
or

(3) to both imprisonment for a fixed term of years and payment
of a fine; or

(4) to payment of a fine without imprisonment or as an
intermediate sanction on a stayed sentence; or

(5) to payment of court-ordered restitution in addition to either
imprisonment or payment of a fine, or both; or

(6) to payment of a local correctional fee as authorized under
section 609.102 in addition to any other sentence imposed by
the court.

Id. Minn. Stat. § 609.10 unambiguously lists the “sentences” that are available for a felony
conviction, and it does not include “probation” as an available sentence.!

Minn. Stat. § 609.135 (2018) also suggests that probation supervision for a felony
conviction is not a “sentence” that triggers the requirement for a sentencing jury trial under
Apprendi, Blakely, and Allen. Minn. Stat. § 609.135 is entitled “Stay of imposition or

execution of sentence” and provides,

Subdivision 1. Terms and conditions. (a) Except when
a sentence of life imprisonment is required by law, or when a
mandatory minimum sentence is required by section 609.11,
any court may stay imposition or execution of sentence and:

(1) may order intermediate sanctions without placing the
defendant on probation; or

(2) may place the defendant on probation with or without
supervision and on the terms the court prescribes, including
intermediate sanctions when practicable.

"'In Pageau v. State, the Minnesota Court of Appeals rejected an argument that the word
“sentence” refers to “probation and the conditions thereof.” 820 N.W.2d 271, 276 (Minn.
App. 2012) (quotation marks omitted).
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Under that plain language, a court may place a defendant on probation when the
court stays imposition or execution of sentence. Logically, if “probation” is a “sentence,”
it would not be possible to both stay imposition or execution of sentence and
simultaneously place the defendant on probation; placing the defendant on probation would
necessarily result in imposition or execution of sentence.

In sum, the majority’s treatment of “probation” as a “sentence” is inconsistent with
Minnesota’s sentencing statutes. The minority is concerned that this statutory
inconsistency will result in unintended consequences. The minority believes the better
approach is to explore probation reform alternatives that are consistent with Minnesota’s
sentencing statutes.

4. The majority’s proposal fails to provide necessary guidance regarding permissible
departure grounds.

Under the proposal, a length of probation greater than five years is an aggravated
durational departure. A judge may not order such a departure unless the judge articulates
substantial and compelling reasons for doing so. The proposal explains that “Because the
Commission has not discussed specific bases for departure, no attempt was made to add to
the list of permissible departure reasons in [the guidelines].”

The majority acknowledges that a longer period of probation could be appropriate if
an offender needs more than five years of treatment, services, or supervision. The majority
also acknowledges that caselaw clearly establishes that an offender’s individual
circumstances cannot be a basis for an aggravated durational departure. See State v.
Solberg, 882 N.W.2d 618, 625 (Minn. 2016) (“Durational departures must be based on the

8
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nature of the offense, not the individual characteristics of the offender.”). The minority is
concerned that the proposal does not address whether the caselaw proscription against
consideration of offender-related reasons as justification for an aggravated departure
applies when considering an aggravated durational departure from the five-year probation
length.

The minority is also concerned that a majority of the Commission rejected a
proposed amendment that would have allowed an aggravated durational departure from the
five-year probation length based on the agreement of the parties. Recent statistics show
that for 82% of offenders who are placed on probation, the length of probation is five years
or less. Robina Inst., Probation Sentencing In-Depth (2010-2015) 1 (2017). Thus, 18% of
offenders on probation are the subject of this proposal. Of that 18%, we are told that the
majority received an extended probation term as part of a plea agreement in which the
offender received a second chance: no presumptive imprisonment in exchange for a longer
length of probation supervision. Such agreements allow the criminal justice system to
work efficiently—approximately 90% of cases filed are settled—and should be exempted
from the proposal.

The majority rejected the proposed amendment to allow an aggravated durational
departure based on the agreement of the parties, reasoning that caselaw prohibits this
approach. See State v. Misquadace, 644 N.W.2d 65, 66 (Minn. 2002) (“The sentencing
court erred by basing its departures from the presumptive sentences under the Minnesota
Sentencing Guidelines solely on a plea agreement without additional substantial and
compelling justification for departure.”). But the Commission is writing on a clean slate.

9
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Currently, there is no requirement that a judge justify any length of probation. Thus, it is
not necessary to apply law regarding departures in other contexts here.

The proposal’s failure to provide necessary guidance regarding appropriate
departure grounds is a significant concern. Professionals who testified at the public hearing
in support of the original proposal for mandatory probation caps acknowledged that some
offenders need more than five years of probation supervision. And offenders testified that
they agreed to longer probation terms to avoid imprisonment. From our perspective, such
offenders may commit crimes as a result of long-term chemical dependency issues and
untreated mental-health issues. Individuals who suffer from those problems could benefit
from programming and treatment in those areas.

Often times, there are fits and starts as people undergo assessments to determine
their treatment needs, attempt to identify appropriate treatment programs, attempt to gain
admission to an appropriate program, seek funding for the program, and ultimately
complete the program. In addition, people often begin one program, discontinue treatment,
and enter another program. This process is further complicated when multiple treatment
programs are necessary. In such situations, a judge may believe that extended treatment
and supervision is in the best interests of the probationer and public safety. An aggravated
durational departure would seem appropriate. Unfortunately, the departure mechanism in
Minn. Sent. Guidelines 2.D (Supp. 2019), on which the proposal relies, does not include
factors indicating that rehabilitative goals are permissible grounds for an aggravated

durational departure.

10
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In sum, the minority is concerned that although the proposal allows for judicial
departures, departures are unlikely given the lack of guidance regarding permissible
departure grounds. Never before has a judge been required to justify a length of probation
longer than five years. Caselaw provides no guidance regarding durational departures in
this context. Referring judges to the reasons articulated in the guidelines—which apply to
prison-term durations—is inadequate. A term of probation supervision is not a prison term,
and the factors that might influence a decision regarding the latter do not necessarily apply
to the former. Historically, the Commission has identified permissible departure grounds
in the guidelines, and the courts have relied on those grounds when considering departures.
The minority believes that the Commission has a responsibility to provide similar guidance
regarding permissible departure grounds regarding this new form of sentencing departure.

The majority continues to be concerned that in cases in which the guidelines presume
an executed prison sentence, the safer course for a judge will be to impose the presumptive
sentence, thereby denying an offender the opportunity to receive needed assistance. If, on
the other hand, the judge decides to take a chance and order probation instead of a
presumptive prison sentence, the easiest course will be to cap probation at five years
without attempting to identify, as a matter of first impression, appropriate reasons for a
durational departure. In which case, the majority’s proposal may end up being nothing
more than an unconstitutional system of de facto caps. Neither outcome is desirable.

Conclusion

The minority remains committed to meaningful probation reform. But we think the
Commission should work through the concerns described above, instead of forging ahead

11
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with the expectation that the courts will sort it out. The process of developing a well-
defined, workable system of probation reform that is consistent with Minnesota’s
sentencing guidelines, sentencing statutes, and caselaw may not be easy, but it is not
impossible. That is precisely why the task is well-suited to the Commission. See Mistretta
v. United States, 488 U.S. 361, 379, 109 S. Ct. 647, 658 (1989) (“Developing proportionate
penalties for hundreds of different crimes by a virtually limitless array of offenders is
precisely the sort of intricate, labor-intensive task for which delegation to an expert body
is especially appropriate.”). Failure to do so is an abdication of the Commission’s
responsibility.

Some commissioners contend that the Commission must recommend a proposal for
probation reform in its January 15, 2020 report to the legislature, arguing that probation
reform is imperative and that the Commission has been working on probation reform for
over a year. In reality, the Schnell proposal for mandatory probation caps was the first
proposal regarding probation reform, and it was presented at the Commission’s November
2019 meeting. The Commission held a public hearing regarding that proposal in December
2019. Last week, the attorney general advised the Commission that it lacks authority to
impose mandatory probation caps. In response, Commissioners Schnell and Mitchell
drafted the current proposal, which was discussed at the Commission’s meeting on January
9, 2020. In sum, although probation reform has been on the horizon for some time, the
Commission’s efforts to address it through a proposal for change are in the initial stages.

Again, probation reform is important. It is therefore important to do it correctly.
The minority believes that the concerns described herein are legitimate and that failure to

12
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address them will result in uncertainty in sentencing. The better approach is to take a little
more time to resolve the concerns so the Commission’s ultimate proposal for probation

reform will be effective.

13
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Appendix 3. Recommendation to the Legislature: Define Minimum Term of
Imprisonment for Murder of Unborn Child in the First Degree

The following resolution was unanimously adopted by the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission on
March 14, 2019:

120

Whereas the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is statutorily required, from time to time, to
make recommendations to the Legislature regarding changes in the criminal code, criminal procedures,
and other aspects of sentencing;

Whereas a violation of Minn. Stat. § 609.2661, Murder of Unborn Child in the First Degree, carries a
mandatory penalty of life imprisonment;

Whereas Minn. Stat. § 244.05, subd. 4, which defines minimum terms of imprisonment for other mandatory
life sentences, does not define the minimum term of imprisonment for Murder of Unborn Child in the
First Degree;

Whereas Minn. Stat. § 244.05, subd. 5(a), which authorizes the Commissioner of Corrections to give
supervised release to inmates serving mandatory life sentences for certain other offenses, does not
authorize the Commissioner to give such release to an offender serving a mandatory life sentence for
Murder of Unborn Child in the First Degree;

Whereas the Minnesota Supreme Court, in State v. Mouelle, has nevertheless determined life without the
possibility of release to be an unauthorized sentence for Murder of Unborn Child in the First Degree;
and

Whereas a mandatory life sentence for Murder of Unborn Child in the First Degree is absent from the defini-
tion of “mandatory life sentence” contained in Minn. Stat. § 609.115, subd. 2a; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, that the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission does hereby recommend to the Legislature:

(1) that the minimum term of imprisonment for Murder of Unborn Child in the First Degree be
statutorily defined;

(2) that Minn. Stat. § 244.05, subdivisions 4 and 5(a), accordingly be amended to refer to an inmate
serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.2661;

(3) if the Legislature chooses to forbid the possibility of release for an inmate serving a mandatory life
sentence under section 609.2661, clause (1) or (2), that Minn. Stat. § 609.106, subd. 2, be amended
accordingly; provided, however, that the Commission recommends against forbidding the
possibility of release for clause (3) offenses; and

(4) that the definition of “mandatory life sentence” found in Minn. Stat. § 609.115, subd. 2a, be
amended to refer to section 609.2661.
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Appendix 4. Sentencing Guidelines Grids

Appendix 4.1. Standard Sentencing Guidelines Grid — Effective August 1, 2019

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range within
which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may
be subject to local confinement.

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE
SEVERITY LEVEL OF

CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or

(Example offenses listed in italics) more

Murder, 2nd Degree (Intentional; 11 306 326 346 366 386 406 426
Drive-By-Shootings) 261-367 | 278-391 | 295-415 | 312-439 | 329-463 | 346-480% | 363-4802

Murder, 2nd Degree (Unintentional)

150 | 165 | 180 | 195 | 210 225 240
Murder, 3rd Degree (Depraved
e 31a Degree (Depraved 1101 155 180 | 141-198 | 153-216 | 166-234 | 179-252 | 192-270 | 204-288
Murder, 3rd Degree (Controlled 86 08 110 122 134 146 158
Substances) 9
Assault, Tst Degree 74-103 | 84-117 | 94-132 | 104-146 | 114-160 | 125-175 | 135-189
Agg. Robbery, 1st Degree 48 58 68 78 88 08 108

Burglary, Ist Degree (w/Weapon | 8 |, ;| 569 | 5887 | 67-93 | 75-105 | 84-117 | 92-129

or Assault)
Felony DWI
; . L 54 60 66 72
Financial Exploitation of a 7 36 42 48
Vulnerable Adult 46-64 51-72 57-79 62-84%3
Assault, 2nd Degree
’ . 39 45 51 57
Burglary, 1st Degree (Occupied 6 21 27 33
Dwelling) 34-46 39-54 44-61 49-68
Residential Burglary 5 18 73 28 33 38 43 48
Simple Robbery 29-39 33-45 37-51 41-57
. . 24 27 30
N tial Burgl, !
onresidential Burglary 4 12 15 18 21 271-28 5332 26-36
Theft Crimes (Over $5,000) 3| 12 13 15 17 19 21 23

17-22 18-25 20-27

Theft Crimes ($5,000 or less) ] ] 21
Check Forgery ($251-$2,500) 2 12 12 13 15 17 19 18-25
Assault, 4th Degree q 0 0 19
Fleeing a Peace Officer 1 Iz 2 2 18 13 i 17-22

" 12"=0One year and one day

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. First-degree murder has a mandatory life sentence and is excluded from
the Guidelines under Minn. Stat. § 609.185. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law.
Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can
be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a presumptive
commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E.

2 Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one
year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2.

3 The stat. max. for Financial Exploitation of Vulnerable Adult is 240 months; the standard range of 20% higher than the fixed duration
applies at CHS 6 or more. (The range is 62-86.)
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Appendix 4.2. Sex Offender Grid — Effective August 1, 2019

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denote the discretionary range within
which a court may sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may
be subject to local confinement.

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE

SEVERITY LEVEL OF
CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or
(Example offenses listed in italics) more
Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC) A 144 156 168 180 234 306 360
Ist Degree 144-172 | 144-187 | 144-201 | 153-216 | 199-280 | 261-360 | 306-3602
CSC 2nd Degree—1(c)(d)(e)(f)(h) B 90 110 130 150 195 255 300
(e.g., contact, force, & injury) 903-108 | 94-132 | 111-156 | 128-180 | 166-234 | 217-300 | 255-3002
CSC 3rd Degree-1(c)(d)(g)(h)(1)() 48 62 76 90 117 153 180
(W(Om)n)()(p) (€9, penetra- | C | 11 c; | 6374 | 6507 | 77-108 | 100-140 | 131-180 | 153-180°
tion & force/occupation) -5 53 >- ) ) B >3-
CSC 2nd Degree—1(a)(b)(g) (e.g.,
contact & victim under 13)
60 70 91 119 140
CSC 3rd Degree-1(a)(e)(f) or D 36 48
1(b) with 2(1) (e.g., penetration 51-72 60-84 78-109 | 102-142 | 119-168
& child victim)
CSC 4th Degree—1(c)(d)(g)(h)()()
(k)()(m)(n)(o)(p) (e.g., contact
& force/occupation) E 24 36 48 60 ’8 102 120 )
Dissemination of Child 51-72 67-93 87-120 102-120
Pornography*?
CSC 4th Degree—1(a)(b)(e)(f)
(e.g., contact & child victim)
CSC 5th Degree F| 18 27 36 45 > 77 84
Possession of Child Pornography 39-54 51-70 66-92 72-100
(Subseq./Pred. Off/Under 13)
CSC 3rd Degree-1(b) with 2(2)
(i.e., penetration & child victim 39 51 60
24-48 mo. younger) G 15 20 25 30 2
Possession of Child Pornography 34-46 44-60 51-60
Solicit Child for Sexual Conduct?
Failure to Register as a Predatory | | 12" 14 16 18 24 30 36
Offender 127-14 12'-16 14-19 16-21 21-28 26-36 37-43

" 12"=0ne year and one day

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. Sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2, have mandatory life
sentences and are excluded from the Guidelines. See section 2.E, for policies regarding those sentences controlled by law,
including conditional release terms for sex offenders.

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can be
imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenders in the shaded area of the Grid may qualify for a mandatory life
sentence under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 4. See sections 2.C and 2.E.

2 Minn. Stat. § 244.09 requires that the Guidelines provide a range for sentences that are presumptive commitment to state
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one
year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See section 2.C.1-2.

3 Solicits, Promotes, or Receives Profit Derived from Prostitution; Sex Trafficking 1st Degree is not subject to a 90-month minimum stat-
utory presumptive sentence so the standard range of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration applies. (The range is 77-108.)
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Appendix 4.3. Drug Offender Grid — Effective August 1, 2019

Presumptive sentence lengths are in months. Italicized numbers within the grid denotes range within which a court may

sentence without the sentence being deemed a departure. Offenders with stayed felony sentences may be subjected to

local confinement.

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE

SEVERITY LEVEL OF
CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or
(Example offenses listed in italics) more
Aggravated Controlled
Substance Crime, 1st Degree | D9 86 98 110 122 134 146 158
Manufacture of Any Amt. Meth 74*-103 | 84*-117 | 94*-132 | 104*-146 | 114*-160 | 125*-175 | 135*-189
Controlled Substance Crime, DS 65 75 85 95 105 115 125
Tst Degree 56*-78 | 64*90 | 73*102 | 81*114 | 90*-126 | 98*-138 | 107*-150
Controlled Substance Crime, D7 48 58 68 78 88 98 108
2nd Degree 58-81 67-93 75-105 | 84-117 | 92-129
Controlled Substance Crime,
3rd Degree D6 21 27 33 39 45 51 57
Failure to Affix Stamp 34-46 39-54 44-61 49-68
Possess Substances with Intent D5 18 »3 ’8 33 38 43 48
to Manufacture Meth 29-39 33-45 37-51 41-57
Controlled Substance Crime, i 24 27 30
4th Degree b4 12 15 18 1 21-28 23-32 26-36
Meth Crimes Involving Children q 19 21 23
and Vulnerable Adults D3 e 1e c l7 17-22 18-25 20-27
Controlled Substance Crime, q q 21
5th Degree D2 12 12 13 15 17 19 18-25
Sale of Simulated Controlled q q q 19
Substance D1 12 12 12 13 15 17 1720

* Lower range may not apply. See section 2.C.3.c(1) and Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subdivisions 3(c) & 3(d).

" 12"=0One year and one day
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Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the court, up to one year of confinement and other non-jail sanctions can
be imposed as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in the shaded area of the Grid always carry a presumptive
commitment to state prison. See sections 2.C and 2.E.
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Appendix 5. Minnesota Judicial District Map
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Ninth Tenth
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