MINNESOTA
Management Office Memorandum
& Budget

Date: July 29, 2016

To: Human Resource Directors and Designees

From: Edwin Hudson, Deputy Commissioner ﬁ:ﬁ-"

Subject: New Minnesota Minimum Wage in Effect as of August 1, 2016

The minimum wage under Minnesota Law will increase on August 1, 2016 from $9.00 to $9.50 per
hour. All state employees must now be paid a minimum of $9.50 per hour effective August 1, 2016.
You can find the text of the state minimum wage law here: M.S. 177.24

MMB Role
MMB will increase the bottom end of the salary ranges of affected job classifications.

We will also contact affected agencies the week of August 1%, and provide them with a list of all
impacted employees so agencies can make the necessary job updates for each of those individuals.
Only a few agencies are impacted by these changes so if you do not hear from us, there is nothing
further you need to do.

Agency Role

If your agency has employees that are paid less than the new Minnesota minimum wage, you must
adjust the rate of pay for those employees to $9.50 per hour, effective August 1, 2016. MMB will
provide agencies with step by step instructions, along with a list of affected employees.

Contacts

Please direct processing questions to your SEMA4 HR Services representative.
Judi Kaper — 651-259-3649 or Judi.Kaper@state.mn.us

Mary O’Connor — 651-259-3633 or Mary.Oconnor@state.mn.us

Bill Ziegler — 651-259-3761 or William.K.Ziegler@state.mn.us

CcC: Tim Quicksell, Acting Asst. Director HRM
Matthew Henderson, Statewide Compensation Manager
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=177.24

