Click here to enter a date.
Page 2
[bookmark: _GoBack][image: ]

Office Memorandum
Click here to enter a date.
Page 2

658 Cedar Street  400 Centennial Office Building
Saint Paul, Minnesota  55155  TTY:  1-800-627-3529
An Equal Opportunity Employer
658 Cedar Street  ● 400 Centennial Office Bldg.  ●  Saint Paul, MN  55155
TTY:  1-800-627-3529
	Date:	July 29, 2016
	To:	Human Resource Directors and Designees
	From:	Edwin Hudson, Deputy Commissioner
	Subject:	New Minnesota Minimum Wage in Effect as of August 1, 2016

The minimum wage under Minnesota Law will increase on August 1, 2016 from $9.00 to $9.50 per hour. All state employees must now be paid a minimum of $9.50 per hour effective August 1, 2016. 
You can find the text of the state minimum wage law here:  M.S. 177.24

MMB Role 
MMB will increase the bottom end of the salary ranges of affected job classifications. 

We will also contact affected agencies the week of August 1st, and provide them with a list of all impacted employees so agencies can make the necessary job updates for each of those individuals. Only a few agencies are impacted by these changes so if you do not hear from us, there is nothing further you need to do. 

Agency Role 
If your agency has employees that are paid less than the new Minnesota minimum wage, you must adjust the rate of pay for those employees to $9.50 per hour, effective August 1, 2016. MMB will provide agencies with step by step instructions, along with a list of affected employees.

Contacts 
Please direct processing questions to your SEMA4 HR Services representative. 
Judi Kaper – 651-259-3649 or Judi.Kaper@state.mn.us 
Mary O’Connor – 651-259-3633 or Mary.Oconnor@state.mn.us 
Bill Ziegler – 651-259-3761 or William.K.Ziegler@state.mn.us 

cc:	Tim Quicksell, Acting Asst. Director HRM 
Matthew Henderson, Statewide Compensation Manager
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