

Process for Council Member Business Expense Reimbursement Claims

Updated: April 2025

Contact: Cat Rohde at Catherine.Rohde@state.mn.us

Step 1: Register as a State of MN Vendor

A vendor account is required to pay business expense claims.

To apply for your State of MN Vendor Number, visit: Minnesota Supplier Portal Registration.

Things to note about registering for a State of MN Vendor Account

The vendor portal is known to have accessibility issues. We are strongly advocating for a completely accessible and independent vendor website portal; however, at this time, we understand there may be some accessibility issues for some users. If you have access issues, you will need to directly contact the State of MN Vendor Assistance Help Desk at 651.201.8100, option 1, option 1.

Federal Tax ID or Social Security number required.

Direct Deposit is Strongly Encouraged.

You must maintain an accurate address in the vendor system at all times.

Registering as a vendor is a one-time action. You only need to register once.

Send your vendor number to Cat Rohde at <u>Catherine.Rohde@state.mn.us</u> when your vendor registration process is complete.

Step 2: Understanding Reimbursement Allowances

Advisory Council members can request a per diem and submit for business expense reimbursement payments for traveling to attend Advisory Council meetings.

The items on page two (2) are State of Minnesota approved business expense claim allowances.

Per diem

- The per diem compensation rate is \$55 a day spent on eligible council activities as authorized under Minnesota Statutes Section 15.059.
- Council activities eligible for per diem compensation include:
 - Council meetings convened by the Office of Addiction and Recovery and the Co-Chairs.
 - Sub-group meetings scheduled by the Office of Addiction and Recovery.
 - o Council Co-Chair planning and debrief meetings staffed by the Office of Addiction and Recovery.
- As required under Minnesota Statutes Section 15.059, advisory council members who are state
 employees or employees of political subdivisions cannot receive per diem compensation for council
 activities that occur during working hours for which they are compensated by the state or political
 subdivision. However, a state or political subdivision employee may receive per diem compensation if
 the employee uses vacation time or compensatory time accumulated in accordance with a collective
 bargaining agreement or compensation plan for council activities.
- Council members must submit a Vendor's Invoice Form after each day of advisory council activities for which per diem compensation is being requested. Members must submit the form no later than 14 days after the date the activities occurred to receive the per diem compensation.
- Eligible council members must be in attendance for the entirety of any meeting for which per diem compensation is requested.
- All requests for per diem compensation are subject to review and approval by the Minnesota Management and the Office of Addiction and Recovery.

Travel

- 1. Mileage (documentation required) as of January 1, 2025
 - a. .70 cents per mile for a standard vehicle
 - b. Mileage is calculated with the shortest distance between A&B, no matter the route traveled
 - c. Documentation of mileage between A&B must be provided. Documentation should include a screen shot of MapQuest trip planner showing the shortest route between A&B and the IRS reimbursement.
- 2. Lodging (receipt required)
 - a. Reasonable rates are reimbursed as determined by the State according to standard rates in geographical area
 - b. Ask for Government Discount, if possible
- 3. Meals (no receipt required, flat rate):
 - a. Breakfast \$9. You must be in travel status before 6:00 a.m. to be eligible for a breakfast claim
 - b. Lunch \$11
 - c. Dinner \$16. You must be in travel status after 7:00 p.m. to be eligible for a dinner claim
- 4. Childcare: Must be arranged and approved in advance
 - a. As authorized under Minnesota Statutes Section 15.09, Governor appointed council members who, because of time spent attending council meetings, incur childcare expenses that would not otherwise have been incurred may be reimbursed for those expenses..
 - b. Council members are eligible for reimbursement of childcare expenses for the actual time spent on eligible council activities as well as no more than one hour of travel time per day to transport the child to the care location.
 - c. All requests for reimbursement of childcare expenses are subject to review and approval by the Minnesota Management and Budget.
- 5. PCA Care: Must be arranged and approved in advance

Step 3: Request Reimbursement

Fill out the Vendor Invoice claim form.

- Requests must be made within two weeks (14 days) following the meeting.
- MMB Vendor Invoice forms can be found on the councils SharePoint stie, or members can request
 a copy of the form from <u>Catherine.Rohde@state.mn.us</u>
- Complete and sign the form.
 - Your signature must be either an authenticated digital signature (e.g., DocuSign; Adobe Digital Signature) or a handwritten "wet" signature (scanned copies are acceptable). Typed signatures or images of signatures copied and pasted onto the form will not be accepted.
- Completed forms are emailed to Catherine.Rohde@state.mn.us or mail the completed form to:
 - Minnesota Management and Budget Fiscal Services Unit Attention: Accounts Payable 400
 Centennial Office Building 658 Cedar Street Saint Paul, MN 55155
- Payment is made within 30 days of submission of a completed form.

Additional Information:

If you are a Government Employee

If you work for a government entity, such as the federal government, a state agency, county office, city or municipal agency or any other government entity, you must be in "leave status" to claim a per diem.

Tax Information

- The Minnesota Management and Budget is responsible for sending out 1099 tax documents.
- Taxable income payments are: Per diem and meal reimbursements without an overnight stay.
- Most other reimbursement payments are not taxable (mileage, lodging, meals with overnight stay).
- It's always advisable to consult a tax professional to understand your individual tax situation.