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SUBJECT: 2014 Amendment to the Vacation Donation to Sick Leave Account (Minn. 
Stat.43A.1815) 

 
During the 2014 legislative session, the Vacation Donation to Sick Leave Account was amended to 
allow a recipient (a state employee who has been approved for the program) who is providing care for a 
spouse or dependent child with a life-threatening ill to use up to 80 donation hours after their spouse or 
child’s death for bereavement.  The amendment becomes effective August 1, 2014.   
 
Previous to the amended language, a recipient caring for their spouse or dependent child would no 
longer be eligible to use program donations after the death of their spouse or dependent child.  
 
Minnesota Statute. 43A.1815, Section 1b. is amended to read:  
 

43A.1815 VACATION DONATION TO SICK LEAVE ACCOUNT. 
 
(b) The recipient employee must receive donations, as available, for a life-threatening  
condition of the employee or spouse or dependent child that prevents the employee from  
working. A recipient may use program donations retroactively to when all forms of  
paid leave are exhausted if the employee has sufficient donations to cover the period of  
retroactivity. A recipient who receives program donations under this section may use up to  
80 hours of program donations after the death of a spouse or dependent child. 
 

Minnesota Management & Budget will be updating the Vacation Donation Administrative Procedure 
18B to address the amended language. Until that time, use the current A.P. 18B for the overall program 
eligibility/responsibilities and the guidelines below for applying the new language.  
 

• The recipients use of the program donation hours must fall within the established program 
guidelines outlined in A.P. 18B. 

• Recipients may not use more donated hours than program eligibility permits. (A full-time 
employee may use up to 1044 hours to care for spouse or child. Recipients who work less than 
full-time will be prorated based on their FTE.) 
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• State agency staff is responsible for monitoring/tracking the program donation hours used for 
bereavement in SEMA4 (the recipient can not exceed 80 hours). 

 
 
Scenario #1: 
 
A full-time state employee has used 1000 donation hours to care for their spouse.  The state employee’s 
spouse dies. The state employee may only use 44 more donation hours because the maximum hours 
allotted number of donation hours is 1044. 
 
Scenario #2:  
 
A full-time state employee has used 500 donation hours to care for their spouse.  The state employee’s 
spouse dies. The state employee may use up to 80 more donation hours.  After the state employee has 
used 80 donation hours for bereavement, the state employee is no longer eligible to be on the program 
and the remaining donation hours in their account will be moved to the general pool. 
 
 

If you have questions about the information in this memo, contact Nancy.Erickson@state.mn.us or 
William.K.Ziegler@state.mn.us.  Link to the relevant session law 
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=166&doctype=Chapter&year=2014&type=0 
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