Equal Pay Certificates Requirements
The Equal Pay law creates a new obligation for certain state contractors to obtain an equal pay certificate from the Minnesota Department of Human Rights prior to executing a contract. The new equal pay certificate requirement applies to all solicitations likely to exceed $500,000. The law regarding equal pay certificates can be found in the Minnesota Human Rights Act at Minn. Stat. §363A.44.
- Contracts Over $500,000—Minnesota state departments and agencies, the Metropolitan Council, the Minnesota Sports Facility Authority, the Metropolitan Airports Commission and the Metropolitan Mosquito Control Commission, with a few exceptions as discussed in the Frequently Asked Questions, are now obligated to ensure that their large contracting partners have an equal pay certificate prior to executing a contract for goods and services over $500,000.
- Large Contractors—A large contracting partner is a contractor that employs more than 40 full-time employees in Minnesota or in the state of its primary place of business, for at least (Minn. Stat. §363A.44, Subd. 1(a)) one day in the 12 months prior to executing the contract.
- Any business that has a license, certification, registration, provider agreement or provider enrollment contract to provide goods and services to individuals under chapters 43A, 62A, 62C, 62D, 62E, 256B, 256I, 256L and 268A is not required to obtain an equal pay certificate.
- Contracts entered into by the State Board of Investment for investment options under Minn. Stat. 352.965, subdivision 4 are also exempt.
- Read more about the Equal Pay Certificate in our Frequently Asked Questions section.