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S Y L L A B U S 

1. An order amending the restitution portion of a sentence constitutes a 

“sentence imposed” within the meaning of Minn. R. Crim. P. 28.04, subd. 1(2), such that 

the State may appeal the amended sentencing order within 90 days after entry of the 

order. 
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2. Because the State filed its notice of appeal within 90 days after the date of 

the entry of the amended sentencing order, the State’s appeal was timely. 

Reversed and remanded. 

O P I N I O N 

PAGE, Justice. 

This appeal by appellant State of Minnesota presents the question of whether the 

State is entitled to appellate review of an order amending the restitution portion of a 

sentence when the notice of appeal is filed more than 90 days after entry of the order 

initially imposing sentence, but within 90 days after the entry of the amended sentencing 

order.  In September 2008, a jury found respondent Brett David Borg guilty of third-

degree criminal sexual conduct.  The trial court sentenced him to 48 months in prison.  

As part of the initial sentencing order, the court required Borg to pay restitution.  Borg 

challenged the restitution amount, and the court issued an order amending the restitution 

portion of Borg’s sentence on July 24, 2009, more than 90 days after entry of the order 

imposing Borg’s initial sentence.  The State appealed the amended sentencing order.  The 

court of appeals dismissed the appeal as untimely because it was not filed within 90 days 

after the initial imposition of Borg’s sentence.  We hold that the issuance of an order 

amending the restitution portion of a sentence constitutes a “sentence imposed” within 

the plain language of Minn. R. Crim. P. 28.04, subd. 1(2), such that the State had 90 days 

to appeal the amended sentencing order from the date it was entered.  Because the State 

appealed the amended sentencing order within 90 days, the appeal was timely.  

Therefore, we reverse and remand. 
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The facts of this case are undisputed.  In September 2008, a jury found Borg guilty of 

third-degree criminal sexual conduct in violation of Minn. Stat. § 609.344, subd. 1(d) 

(2012).  On November 7, 2008, Borg was sentenced to 48 months in prison.  As part of 

the sentence, the trial court ordered restitution, but “[held] open” the amount so the 

parties could present written arguments before it made a final restitution determination. 

On November 12, the State requested $1,601.50 in restitution and $792.50 for 

costs of prosecution.  The court granted the State’s request, but noted that Borg had a 

right to request a hearing to challenge the amount.  Minnesota Statutes § 611A.045, subd. 

3(b) (2012), provides that “[a]n offender may challenge restitution, but must do so by 

requesting a hearing within 30 days of receiving written notification of the amount of 

restitution requested, or within 30 days of sentencing, whichever is later.”  Section 

611A.045, subdivision 3(b), also provides that a “defendant may not challenge restitution 

after the 30-day time period has passed.” 

Borg requested a hearing on December 24, arguing that the court did not have the 

authority to issue restitution to the victim’s parents because they are not considered 

“victims” within the meaning of Minn. Stat. § 611A.04, subd. 1 (2012).  The State 

objected to the request, arguing that Borg had not timely challenged restitution.  The 

court granted Borg’s request, reasoning that he was entitled to the hearing “[d]ue to 

substitution of attorney and delay in assigning a public defender.”
1
 

                                              
1
  In the court of appeals, the State argued that the trial court lacked jurisdiction to 

hear Borg’s challenge because it was made after the 30-day period had expired under 

Minn. Stat. § 611A.045, subd. 3(b).  The court of appeals declined to address the State’s 

(Footnote continued on next page.) 
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A restitution hearing was held and on July 24, 2009, the trial court issued an order 

amending the restitution portion of Borg’s sentence.  More specifically, the court reduced 

Borg’s restitution obligation by $337.10, which represented a portion of the costs that the 

victim’s parents had incurred to attend the trial.  The court reasoned that that these costs 

do not fall within the purview of the criminal-restitution statute.  On October 21, 2009, 

the State appealed the amended sentencing order pursuant to Minn. R. Crim. P. 28.05.
2
 

The court of appeals dismissed the appeal as untimely.  State v. Borg, 823 N.W.2d 

352, 356 (Minn. App. 2012).  The court reasoned that our decision in State v. Hughes, 758 

N.W.2d 577 (Minn. 2008), controlled.  Borg, 823 N.W.2d at 355-56.  The court concluded 

that Hughes stood for the proposition “that a later-issued restitution order does not extend 

the 90-day time period that a defendant has to file a direct appeal from his sentence.”  Id. 

at 355.  Thus, the court determined that the 90-day period for the State to appeal began on 

November 7, 2008, the date on which Borg’s initial sentence was pronounced, without 

regard to the fact that the trial court did not issue the order amending the restitution 

 

(Footnote continued from previous page.) 

jurisdictional claim, State v. Borg, 823 N.W.2d 352, 356 (Minn. App. 2012), and we 

denied the State’s petition for review with respect to that issue.  Therefore, we express no 

opinion as to whether the trial court lacked jurisdiction to grant a restitution hearing and 

reduce the previously ordered restitution amount. 

 
2
 The court of appeals initially stayed the State’s restitution appeal pending our 

review of Borg’s direct appeal.  State v. Borg, No. A09-1921, Order at 2 (Minn. App. 

filed May 24, 2010).  After we issued our decision on Borg’s direct appeal, State v. Borg, 

806 N.W.2d 535 (Minn. 2012), and denied his second petition for review, State v. Borg, 

No. A09-0243, 2012 WL 987273 (Minn. App. Mar. 26, 2012), rev. denied (Minn. June 

19, 2012), the court of appeals reinstated the restitution appeal.  State v. Borg, No. A09-

1921, Order (Minn. App. filed June 26, 2012).   
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portion of Borg’s sentence until July 24, 2009, well after the 90 days had expired.  Id. at 

356.  As a result, the court of appeals held that “the state’s appeal is not allowed as a 

sentencing appeal because it was taken from the restitution order and not from the 

imposition of Borg’s sentence.”  Id.  The court emphasized that it could find “no specific 

rule or statute that allows the state to appeal from a restitution order,” and as a result there 

was no basis for the State to separately appeal the order amending the restitution portion 

of Borg’s sentence more than 90 days after the imposition of Borg’s initial sentence.  Id. 

I. 

Asserting that Minn. R. Crim. P. 28.04 allows the State to appeal an order 

amending the restitution portion of a defendant’s sentence, the State argues that the court 

of appeals erred when it dismissed the appeal as untimely.  We agree. 

“The ability of the State to appeal is limited.”  State v. Rourke, 773 N.W.2d 913, 

923 (Minn. 2009).  In order for the State to appeal, “[t]here must be a statute or court rule 

that permits the appeal, or the issue must ‘arise by necessary implication’ from an issue 

where the State’s right to appeal is expressly provided.”  Id. (quoting In re C.W.S., 267 

N.W.2d 496, 498 (Minn. 1978)).  The restitution statute does not specifically grant either 

the State or the defendant the right to appeal.
3
  We therefore consider whether the rules of 

criminal procedure allow such an appeal. 

                                              
3
  Minnesota Statutes § 611A.045, subd. 3(b), allows a defendant to challenge 

restitution “by requesting a hearing within 30 days of receiving written notification of the 

amount of restitution requested, or within 30 days of sentencing, whichever is later.”  

Once the 30-day time period has passed, “[a] defendant may not challenge restitution.”  

(Footnote continued on next page.) 
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“We interpret procedural rules de novo.”  In re Welfare of S.M.E., 725 N.W.2d 

740, 742 (Minn. 2007).  “When construing procedural rules, we look to the plain 

language of the rule and its purpose.”  Id.  We “strictly construe the rules governing 

appeals by the State in criminal cases because such appeals are not favored.”  Rourke, 

773 N.W.2d at 923. 

The State argues that the plain language of Rule 28.04 allows it to appeal from the 

trial court’s order amending the amount of restitution Borg was required to pay as part of 

his sentence.  Minnesota Rule of Criminal Procedure 28.04, subdivision 1(2), provides 

that the State may appeal to the court of appeals as of right “in felony cases, from any 

sentence imposed or stayed by the district court.”  The State argues that the phrase “any 

sentence” expressly provides that the State may appeal from an order imposing the initial 

sentence as well as any amended sentencing order.  In the alternative, the State argues 

that if Rule 28.04 does not expressly provide the right to appeal an amended sentencing 

order, such a right is implied by necessity.  In response to the State’s argument, Borg 

asserts that court-ordered restitution is not part of a defendant’s sentence. 

A. 

We begin our analysis by considering the threshold issue of whether court-ordered 

restitution is part of a defendant’s sentence.  Contrary to Borg’s assertion, we conclude 

that court-ordered restitution is part of a defendant’s sentence.  Minnesota Statutes 

 

(Footnote continued from previous page.) 

Id.  The restitution statutes, Minn. Stat. §§ 611A.04, 611A.045, however, do not 

expressly permit the State or the defendant to appeal a restitution order. 
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§ 609.10, subd. 1(a)(5) (2012), expressly states that courts are authorized to “sentence the 

defendant . . . to payment of court-ordered restitution in addition to either imprisonment 

or payment of a fine.”  In State v. Gaiovnik, we held that “the district court did not err in 

ordering [the defendant] to pay restitution . . . as part of his sentence.”  794 N.W.2d 643, 

652 (Minn. 2011) (emphasis added).  Moreover, a court may order a defendant to pay 

restitution as part of his sentence at the sentencing hearing, Minn. Stat. § 611A.04, 

subd. 1(a), or “may amend or issue an order of restitution after the sentencing . . . 

hearing” when the extent of the victim’s loss “was not known at the time of the 

sentencing . . . hearing, or hearing on the restitution request,” id., subd. 1(b)(3).  Having 

concluded that court-ordered restitution is part of a defendant’s sentence, we next 

consider whether Minn. R. Crim. P. 28.04 allows the State to appeal in these 

circumstances. 

B. 

We agree with the State’s interpretation of Minn. R. Crim. P. 28.04, subd. 1(2), as 

permitting the State to appeal from an initial sentencing order as well as any amended 

sentencing order.  Of key importance is that Minn. R. Crim. P. 28.04, subd. 1(2), permits 

the State to appeal “from any sentence imposed.”  (Emphasis added.)  That the word 

“sentence” is qualified by the word “any” contemplates circumstances in which, like 

here, different components of a defendant’s sentence are imposed at different times.  

Thus, we construe the phrase “any sentence” to include not only the order imposing the 

initial sentence, but also any subsequent order amending or modifying a component of the 

original sentence. 
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Here, the State seeks to appeal from the amended sentencing order issued on July 

24, 2009, reducing Borg’s restitution obligation by $337.10.  Because restitution is a 

component of a defendant’s sentence, see Minn. Stat. § 609.10, the trial court’s amended 

sentencing order constituted a “sentence imposed,” which, under the plain language of 

Minn. R. Crim. P. 28.04, subd. 1(2), was subject to appeal by the State.  Under Minn. R. 

Crim. P. 28.05, subd. 1(1), the State was required to file a notice of appeal of the 

amended sentencing order “within 90 days after” it was entered.  Because the State filed 

its notice of appeal on October 21, 2009, within 90 days of the date on which the 

amended sentencing order was entered, the State’s appeal was timely. 

We emphasize that the State’s appeal from an amended sentencing order is limited 

to challenges relating to that amended order.  Put differently, if the State fails to file a 

timely appeal from the initial sentencing order, a timely appeal from an order that amends 

a component of the sentence previously imposed does not allow the State to relitigate the 

entirety of the defendant’s sentence.  This limitation flows from the plain language of 

Minn. R. Crim. P. 28.04, subd. 1(2), which allows the State to appeal “from any sentence 

imposed or stayed by the district court.”  Because the July 24 order imposed an amended 

sentence that reduced Borg’s restitution obligation, the State’s appeal from that order 

must be limited to the challenges pertaining to that specific amendment, as opposed to 

challenges to the unmodified components of Borg’s initial sentence. 
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II. 

The court of appeals’ analysis in this case relied heavily on State v. Hughes, 758 

N.W.2d 577 (Minn. 2008).  As discussed in more detail below, we conclude that Hughes 

is not dispositive of the issue before us. 

In Hughes, we considered the question of whether Hughes’ case was “final” for 

the purposes of determining whether he was retroactively entitled to the benefit of the 

United States Supreme Court’s decision in Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 (2004).  

Hughes, 758 N.W.2d at 579.  On March 19, 2004, Hughes pleaded guilty to aggravated 

robbery.  Id.  That day, the district court issued an order imposing a prison sentence and a 

general restitution obligation.  Id.  On June 22, the district court issued an amended 

sentencing order that required Hughes to pay $634.99 in restitution.  Id.  Two days later, 

on June 24, Blakely was decided.  Id.  Hughes filed a petition for postconviction relief, 

asserting that the 90-day time period to appeal his sentence did not begin to run until the 

amount of restitution was determined, and therefore Blakely applied to his case because 

his conviction was not “final” for retroactivity purposes until September 2004 (when the 

time to appeal from the amended sentencing order had expired).  Id. at 579-80. 

We explained that a “conviction is ‘final’ for retroactivity purposes when the time 

to file a direct appeal has expired.”  Id. at 580.  We then rejected Hughes’ argument that 

“his conviction was not accompanied by an imposed sentence until the amount of 

restitution was determined.”  Id.  We acknowledged that “ ‘when [a] sentence is 

imposed,’ ” the court is required to “ ‘state the precise terms of the sentence.’ ”  Id. 

(quoting Minn. R. Crim. P. 27.03, subd. 4(A)).  However, we reasoned that this 
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requirement “does not indicate that a sentence is imposed only when all terms are stated 

precisely” because “Rule 27.03, subd. 4(A) controls the character, not the timing, of 

sentence imposition.”  Id. at 581.  Thus, we concluded that Hughes’ initial sentence was 

imposed “when his sentence of incarceration and general restitution obligation was 

announced, and that his time for direct appeal expired 90 days later on June 17, 2004.”  

Id.  Because Hughes’ time to appeal his conviction and initial sentence expired on June 

17, 2004, we held that he was not entitled to the benefit of Blakely as his case was “final” 

before Blakely was decided.  Id. 

The State contends that Hughes is inapplicable here because it was decided in the 

limited context of determining when a conviction becomes final for the purposes of 

retroactivity.  In contrast, Borg asserts that the timing of when the sentence was imposed 

was central to our decision in Hughes.  Therefore, Borg asserts, Hughes is not limited to 

cases involving issues of retroactivity because the timing of the imposition of the 

sentence should be the same for all purposes. 

We conclude that Hughes is not dispositive of the issue before us.  Hughes sought 

retroactive application of the Blakely rule to a component of his sentence that was not 

modified by the later-issued order that imposed the $634.99 restitution obligation.  

Specifically, Hughes sought the benefit of the Blakely rule with respect to the process 

used to determine disputed facts affecting the length of his term of imprisonment.  See id. 

at 579.  Hughes was not arguing that he should benefit from Blakely with respect to the 

amount of restitution subsequently ordered by the district court.  See id.  As a result, our 

conclusion that Hughes’ sentence was “final” before the Blakely rule was announced 
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reflected the fact that once the 90-day period for filing an appeal from Hughes’ initial 

sentencing order expired, a timely appeal from the amended order modifying the 

restitution amount would not have allowed Hughes to challenge the unmodified 

components of his sentence, including the length of his term of imprisonment.  Here, 

however, the State is challenging the sentencing component that was modified by the 

amended sentencing order.  For that reason, we conclude that Hughes does not control the 

question of whether the State’s appeal of the restitution order in this case was timely. 

III. 

In conclusion, we hold that an order amending the restitution portion of a 

defendant’s sentence constitutes a “sentence imposed” within the meaning of Minn. R. 

Crim. P. 28.04, subd. 1(2), such that the State has 90 days to appeal after the entry of 

such an order.  Because the State filed its notice of appeal on October 21, 2009, within 90 

days after the date on which the July 24 amended sentencing order was entered, we 

conclude that the State’s appeal was timely and reverse the court of appeals’ decision.  

We remand to the court of appeals for consideration of the merits of the State’s appeal. 

Reversed and remanded. 

 

 LILLEHAUG, J., not having been a member of this court at the time of 

submission, took no part in the consideration or decision of this case. 

 


