
September 29, 2015

STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREl\ffi COURT 

ADM09-8008 

ORDER PROMULGATING AMENDMENTS 
TO THE RULES OF THE MINNESOTA STATE BOARD 
OF CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION 
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In June 2015, the court reviewed a recommendation of the Minnesota State Board 

of Continuing Legal Education (CLE) to reduce the fee for certain applications submitted 

for CLE course approval. Specifically, the CLE Board recommended that the fee for 

course-approval applications that are submitted electronically be reduced in order to 

encourage electronic filing and payment, increase efficiency in processing those 

applications, and reduce staff time. After review of the CLE Board's proposal, the court 

approved an annual budget for the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

that reduces the fee for certain course-approval applications. An amendment to Rule 4 of 

the Rules of the CLE Board is therefore needed. 

Pursuant to the inherent authority of this court to regulate the practice of law, 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT: 

1. The attached amendments to the Rules of the Minnesota State Board of 

Continuing Legal Education are promulgated and effective as of January 1, 2016. 

2. The Rules of the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education, as 

amended by this order, shall be posted on the CLE Board's website. 

Dated: September 29, 2015 BY THE COURT: 

4~ 
Lorie S. Gildea 
Chief Justice 



AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF THE MINNESOTA STATE BOARD 
OF CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION 

In the following amendments, deletions are indicated by a line drawn through the words 
and additions by a line drawn under the words. 

* * * 

Rules of the Minnesota 
State Board of 

Continuing Legal Education 

INDEX 

4. Applying for Credit; Fees 
A. Course Approval and Fee Information 
B. Professional Responsibility or Ethics: General Treatment 
C. Sanctions for Failure to Include Ethics 
D. Law and Literature 
E. Notice of Credit 

*** 

Rule 4. Applying for Credit; Fees 

A. Course Approval and Fee Information. No segment of any course shall be 
approved in more than one credit category. In applying for course approval, a 
sponsoring agency or lawyer shall submit to the Board an application for course 
approval (see Appendix I) and include the following: 

* * * 

(8) Fees. 

(a) A tFee in the amount of$35 shall be paid when an application for course 
approval is submitted by means other than through the Board's Online 
Attorney and Sponsor Integrated System (OASIS). 
(b) A fee in the amount of $20 shall be paid when an application for course 
approval is submitted electronically through the Board's Online Attorney and 
Sponsor Integrated System (OASIS). 



!£L~ee§. for course approval may be subject to waiver under the 
provisions ofRule 3D(l). 
!!!l_A fee is not required when submitting an application for either of the 
following types of courses meeting Rule 4 and Rule 5 requirements: 

(ai) a previously approved course that has been recorded and is replayed in 
its entirety with a live moderator present during the scheduled question 
and answer period of the program; or 

(bill a live course 60 minutes or less in duration. 
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