IRRRB Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, March 26, 2025 - 8:30 a.m.

(Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Section 13D.015, board members may participate by interactive technology.)

1. Roll Call

Representative Roger Skraba, Vice Chair, called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. Sara Ferkul took the roll call. Present: Representative Roger Skraba, Senator Robert Farnsworth, Senator Grant Hauschild, Representative Spencer Igo and Representative Cal Warwas. Via ZOOM: Senator Bobby Joe Champion. Excused: Ben Davis. Minute Taker: Sara Ferkul, Executive Assistant. Also present: Ida Rukavina, Commissioner; Stacey Scholz, Legal Counsel; Jason Janisch, Energy & Climate Policy Advisor; Roy Smith, Director of Education and Talent Development; Alison Perry, Communications; DeAnn Stish, IRRR Legislative Liaison; Ailie Clement, Paralegal; Markus Hoche, Information Technology Specialist.

2. Approval of February 25, 2025 Minutes

Senator Farnsworth moved approval of the February 25, 2025 meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Representative Warwas.

Sara Ferkul took a roll call vote.

Voting in Favor of the Motion: Senator Champion, Senator Farnsworth, Senator Hauschild, Representative Igo, Representative Skraba and Representative Warwas.

Voting Against the Motion: None.

Abstain: None.

Excused: Representative Davis.

Motion Carried.

3. Amend procedures to elect advisory board chair – Resolution No. 25-022

Representative Warwas moved that the Board amend the procedures for electing a Board Chair as adopted in Resolution No. 18-001, authorizing another election for either Board Chair or Board Vice Chair after the consummation of the Board and the Boards initial reorganization election of its Board Chair and Board Vice Chair whenever a Board member elected to either position is unable or unwilling to continue serving in such position, as presented in Exhibit A of Resolution No. 25-022. The motion was seconded by Senator Grant Hauschild.

Sara Ferkul took a roll call vote.

Voting in Favor of the Motion: Senator Champion, Senator Farnsworth, Senator Hauschild, Representative Igo, Representative Skraba and Representative Warwas.

Voting Against the Motion: None.

Abstain: None.

Excused: Representative Davis.

Motion Carried.

EXHIBIT A

IRON RANGE RESOURCES AND REHABILITATION ADVISORY BOARD OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA

AMENDED PROCEDURES TO ELECT ADVISORY BOARD CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

Resolution No.: 25-022

WHEREAS, during the 2017 Minnesota legislative session, 2017 Laws of Minnesota, Chapter 94, Article 7, Section 26 was enacted, amending Minnesota Statutes Section 298.22, subd. 1a, by adding paragraph (b), which requires the agency's Advisory Board ("Board") to develop procedures to elect a chair who shall preside over and convene Board meetings as often as necessary to conduct duties prescribed by Minnesota Statutes Chapter 298; and

WHEREAS, the Board adopted Resolution 18-001 at its meeting on October 26, 2017, establishing the basic procedures for electing the Board Chair and Vice Chair; and

WHEREAS, the Board now seeks to amend the procedures to incorporate a process for situations in which a member is no longer able or willing to serve as chair or vice-chair; and

WHEREAS, the Board met in open session at 8:30 a.m. on March 26, 2025, in the Prairie Clover Room of the Centennial Office Building in St. Paul, Minnesota, with some members participating via interactive technology as authorized by Minnesota Statutes Section 13D.015, to consider, among other matters, amending its procedures to elect a chair and vice-chair and has determined that adopting the procedures below for such elections would be in the public interest.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS RESOLVED, that the procedures for electing a Board Chair as adopted in Resolution 18-001 are hereby amended by authorizing another election for either Board Chair or Board Vice-Chair after the consummation of the Board and the Board's initial reorganization election of its Board Chair and Board Vice-Chair whenever a Board member elected to either position is either unable or unwilling to continue serving in such position.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board hereby ratifies and reaffirms the term Representative Roger Skraba as vice-chair for the remainder of the current Legislative Session.

PASSED AND ADOPTED BY VOTE OF THE IRON RANGE RESOURCES AND REHABILITATION ADVISORY BOARD THIS 26th DAY OF MARCH 2025.

| Member | Aye | Nay | Abstain | Excused |
|-----------------------------|-----|-----|---------|---------|
| Senator Bobby Joe Champion | X | | | |
| Senator Robert Farnsworth | X | | | |
| Senator Grant Hauschild | Х | | | |
| Representative Ben Davis | | | | Х |
| Representative Spencer Igo | Х | | | |
| Representative Roger Skraba | Х | | | |
| Representative Cal Warwas | Х | | | |
| TOTAL | 6 | | | 1 |

| Signed: | | | |
|---------|-------|--|--|
| | Chair | | |

4. Election of Board Chair

Representative Spencer Igo made a motion to elect Senator Farnsworth as the chair of the Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation Board. There were no other nominations.

Sara Ferkul took a roll call vote.

Voting in Favor of the Motion: Senator Champion, Senator Farnsworth, Senator Hauschild, Representative Igo, Representative Skraba and Representative Warwas.

Voting Against the Motion: None.

Abstain: None.

Excused: Representative Davis.

Motion Carried.

5. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 8:41 a.m.