

Minnesota Indian Affairs Council Quarterly Board Meeting Via WebEx Friday, June 26, 2020 9:00 AM—4:00 PM

#### **MEETING MINUTES**

- I. Meeting called to order Vice Chairwoman Buck
- II. Invocation and Prayer offline Chairman Larsen
- III. Roll Call- Shannon Geshick, Executive Director

# **MIAC Executive Board Members:**

Robert L. Larsen, <i>President Lower Sioux Indian Community</i>	PRESENT
Shelley Buck, <i>President Prairie Island Indian Community</i>	PRESENT
Kevin R. DuPuis, Sr., Chairman Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa	PRESENT
Cathy Chavers, Chairwoman Bois Forte Band of Chippewa	PRESENT
Faron Jackson, Sr., Chairman Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe	ABSENT
Beth Drost, Chairwoman Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa	PRESENT
Michael Fairbanks, Chairman White Earth Nation	PRESENT
Sam Strong, Council man, Red Lake Nation	PRESENT
Rebecca Crooks-Stratton, Sec/Treasurer Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community	PRESENT
Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe	PRESENT

### A quorum was present.

# Non-voting members present:

Governor's Office- Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan

State Representative Mary Kunesh-Podein

State Representative Dean Urdahl

Commissioner of Administration—Alice Roberts-Davis

Commission of Corrections—Paul Schnell

Commissioner of Education—Mary Cathryn Ricker

Commissioner of DEED—Steve Grove

Commissioner of Health—Jan Malcolm

Commissioner of Human Service—Jodi Harpstead

Commissioner of Human Rights—Rebecca Lucero

Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation—Mark Phillips

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency—Jennifer Leimaile Ho

Natural Resources—Sarah Strommen

Transportation—Margaret Anderson Kelliher

Veteran Affairs—Larry Herke



### **Visiting Commissioners**

Agriculture – Tom Peterson
Bureau of Mediation Services – Janet Johnson
Commerce – Steve Kelley
Labor and Industry – Nancy Leppink
Management and Budget – Myron Frans
Met Council Chair – Charles Zelle
Military Affairs – Major General Jon Jensen
MnIT – Tarek Tomes
Office of Higher Learning – Dennis Olson
Pollution Control Agency – Laura Bishop
Public Safety – John Harrington
Revenue – Cynthia Bauerly

- IV. Review and Approval of February 18,2020 Meeting minutesMOTION by Bois Forte, Seconded by Prairie Island; Motion carries.
- V. REPORTS—MIAC staff, Cultural Resources, Legislative & Grants Director—bypassed due to Executive Session. Copies of staff reports are available on the MIAC website.
- VI. REPORTS: Urban Indian Advisory Board, Ombudsperson for American Indian Families, and Joint Advisory Council
- VII. BOARD UPDATES: Lt. Governor Flanagan, Rep. Urdahl and Rep. Kunesh-Podein.
- VIII. AGENCY UPDATES: State Agency Commissioners
- IX. CONTINUED UPDATES: Visiting Commissioners
- X. PRESENTATIONS: Reservation Homeless Study; Nicole MartinRogers, Wilder Research; Tammy Moreland, Chair of the Minnesota Tribal Housing Collaborative, Wraparound Coordinator, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe, Voting in Minnesota Elections; Steve Simon, Minnesota Secretary of State, The Falls Initiative; Mark Andrew, President and Kjersti; Monson, Project Director, Friends of the Falls, Community Action Agencies and Tribal Governments; Bill Grant, Executive Director, Minnesota Community Action Partnership; Robert Benes, Executive Director, Lakes and Pines Community Action and MInnCAP board chair, Senior Director American Indian Tribal Nations Relations, Tadd Johnson, University of Minnesota, Apple Trees for Tribal Nations Initiative, Dr. August Hoffman, Metro State University, Tribal Consultation Policy, Leonard Geshick and Susan Mezzenga, Minnesota Board on Aging
- XI. OLD BUSINESS

Executive Board Vote on Tribal Delegate for State of Minnesota Broadband Taskforce Sheldon Boyd – 1 vote Mille Lacs

Walter Frank Reese – 1 vote Leech Lake Band

Jason Hollinday – 4 votes Fond du Lac, Prairie Island, Red Lake Band, and Bois Forte **MOTION by Prairie Island, second by Bois Forte; Motion Carries.** 



### XII. NEW BUSINESS

# Approval of resolutions:

- Resolution #06262020\_01 Rick Smith American Indian Center
   Motion to approve Mille Lacs, Second Prairie Island: 7 For 0 Against 0 Silent Resolution is adopted
- Resolution #06262020\_02 University of Minnesota Repatriation
   Motion to approve Red Lake, Second Prairie Island: 7 For 0 Against 0 Silent
   Resolution is adopted
- Resolution #06262020\_03 University of MN to Fulfill Obligations to the Tribal Nations
   Motion to approve Fond du Lac, Second Prairie Island: 7 For 0 Against 0 Silent

   Resolution is adopted

### XIII. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Next meeting: August 28, 2020 Hybrid meeting with Tribal Leaders at Mille Lacs and Public via WebEx

Respectfully Submitted,

Shannon Geshick, Executive Director