

Quarterly Board Meeting
Grand Portage Lodge & Casino, Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa/WebEx
70 Casino Dr., Grand Portage, MN 55605
Wednesday May 5, 2022
9:00 AM – 4:00 PM

## **MEETING MINUTES**

- I. Meeting called to order Robert Larsen, Board Chair
- II. Invocation and Prayer John Morrin; Stone Bridge Singers
- III. Roll Call Shannon Geshick, Executive Director

MIAC Executive Board Members	
Board Chair—Robert L. Larsen, President Lower Sioux Indian Community	PRESENT
Board Vice-Chair— Robert (Bobby) Deschampe, Chairman Grand Portage	PRESENT
Band of Lake Superior Chippewa	
Board Member—Kevin R. DuPuis, Sr., Chairman Fond du Lac Band of Lake	PRESENT
Superior Chippewa	
Board Member—David Morrison, Sr. for Cathy Chavers, Chairwoman Bois	PRESENT
Forte Band of Chippewa	
Board Member— LeRoy Staples-Fairbanks for Faron Jackson, Sr., Chairman	PRESENT
Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe	
Board Member—Johnny Johnson, President Prairie Island Indian Community	PRESENT
Board Member—Michael Fairbanks, Chairman White Earth Nation	ABSENT
Board Member— Samuel Strong, Secretary Red Lake Nation	PRESENT
Board Member—Rebecca Crooks-Stratton, Secretary/Treasurer Shakopee	ABSENT
Mdewakanton Sioux Community	
Board Member—Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive Mille Lacs Band of	PRESENT
Ojibwe	

## 8 out of 10 present

## A quorum was present

## Non-voting members present:

Governor's Office- Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan Representative Heather Keeler Representative Dean Urdahl Senator Mary Kunesh Commissioner of Administration—Alice Roberts-Davis Commissioner of Corrections—Paul Schnell



Commissioner of Education—Heather Mueller

Commissioner of DEED—Steve Grove

Commissioner of Health— Assistant Commissioner Mary Manning and Tribal Liaison Jackie Dionne for Jan Malcolm

Commissioner of Human Service—Jodi Harpstead

Commissioner of Human Rights— Audel Shokohzadeh for Rebecca Lucero

Commissioner of Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation—Mark Phillips

Commissioner of Minnesota Housing Finance Agency— Corey Strong for Jennifer Leimaile Ho

Commissioner of Natural Resources—Sarah Strommen

Commissioner of Transportation— Interim Commissioner Nancy Daubenberger

Commissioner of Veteran Affairs—Larry Herke

# Non-voting members absent:

Senator Paul Utke

## **Visiting Commissioners:**

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission – Matt Schuerger

Commissioner of Agriculture - Assistant commissioner Patrice Bailey and Tribal Liaison

Shannon Kesner for Thom Peterson for Thom Peterson

Commissioner of Bureau of Mediation Services – Deputy Commissioner Todd Doncavage for Johnny Villarreal

Commissioner of Commerce - Grace Arnold

Chair of Met Council - Charles Zelle

Commissioner of MnIT –Tarek Tomes

Commissioner of Office of Higher Learning – Dennis Olson

Commissioner of Pollution Control Agency – Katrina Kessler

Commissioner of Public Safety – John Harrington

Commissioner of Revenue - Dawn Blanchard for Robert Doty

Commissioner of Labor and Industry –Roslyn Robertson

### **Visiting Commissioners absent:**

Commissioner of Minnesota Department of Management and Budget – James Schowalter Commissioner of Military Affairs – Major Corey Robinson

- MOTION by Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa to approve the March 1, 2022 minutes, seconded by Prairie Island Indian Community: MOTION PASSED 8 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent
- II. MIAC STAFF REPORTS Executive Director, Cultural Resources, Legislative & Grants Director— bypassed due to Executive Session. Motion by Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Second by Prairie Island Indian Community. MOTION PASSED 8



#### For 0 Opposed 0 Silent

\*Copies of staff reports are available on the MIAC website.

- III. BOARD UPDATES: Rep. Heather Keeler, Senator Mary Kunesh; MHFA Commissioner Jennifer Leimaile Ho; Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan; DEED Commissioner Steve Grove; MDVA Commissioner Larry Herke; DOC Commissioner Paul Schnell; DHS Commissioner Jodie Harpstead; MDH Assistant Commissioner Mary Manning and Jackie Dionne for Commissioner Jan Malcolm; MDE Commissioner Heather Mueller; Commissioner Alice Roberts-Davis; MDHR Commissioner Rebecca Lucero; Commissioner of Commerce Grace Arnold; DNR Commissioner Sarah Strommen; MDOT Interim Commissioner Nancy Daubenberger
- IV. AGENCY UPDATES: Met Council Charles Zelle, MNIT Commissioner Tarek Tomes, OHE Commissioner Dennis Olson, MPCA Commissioner Katrina Kessler, DPS Commissioner John Harrington, MDR Commissioner Dawn Blanchard for Robert Doty

### V. REPORTS:

Ombudsperson for American Indian Families - Jill Esch

Urban Indian Advisory Board – Marisa Cummings – no update provided

Tribal Nations Education Committee – Jennifer Murray

Joint Advisory Committee – Bonnie Fairbanks and Virgil Sohm

Tribal Health Directors - Samuel Moose

### I. APPOINTMENTS and RESOLUTIONS

Statewide Emergency Communications Board Recommended appointment - Red Lake Nation Public Safety Director Michael Burns. Motioned by Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe seconded by Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa. 8 for 0 opposed 0 silent

**Department of the Interior Secretary's Tribal Advisory Committee** Letter of support to nominate Chief Executive Melanie Benjamin to the inaugural Department of the Interior Secretaries' Tribal Advisory Committee. Motioned by Prairie Island Indian Community seconded by Bois Forte Band of Chippewa. **8 for 0 opposed 0 silent** 

**Everett BlackThunder for the Dakota cultural resources position** Motion by Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa seconded by Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa. **8 for 0 opposed 0 silent** 



Respectfully submitted,

Shannon Geshick, Executive Director &

Kaytlyn Lundstrom, Executive Assistant

II. OLD BUSINESS: III. NEW BUSINESS:
IV. Public Comments:
a. Noted in WebEx chat
XI. ANNOUNCEMENTS:
Meeting Adjourned: 6:02PM motioned by Prairie Island Indian Community Seconded by Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa 8 for 0 opposed 0 silent