

Quarterly Board Meeting
Wednesday February 21, 2024
Fortune Bay Event Center, Pine/Cedar, 1430 Bois Forte Road, Tower, MN 55790
8:30 AM – 5:00 PM

## **MEETING MINUTES**

- I. Meeting called to order Robert Larsen, Board Chair
- II. Invocation and Prayer Chairwoman Cathy Chavers/ Chair President Larsen/ Vernon Adams/ Drum Group: Bois Forte Singers
- III. Roll Call Executive Director Shannon Geshick

MIAC Executive Board Members	
Board Chair—Robert L. Larsen, President Lower Sioux Indian Community	PRESENT
Board Vice-Chair— Robert (Bobby) Deschampe, Chairman Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa	PRESENT
Board Member—Kevin R. DuPuis, Sr., Chairman Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa	PRESENT
Board Member—Cathy Chavers, Chairwoman Bois Forte Band of Chippewa	PRESENT
Board Member—Faron Jackson, Sr., Chairman Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe	PRESENT
Board Member—Grant Johnson, President Prairie Island Indian Community	PRESENT
Board Member—Mike Fairbanks, Chairman White Earth Nation	ABSENT
Board Member—Samuel Strong, Secretary Red Lake Nation	PRESENT
Board Member—Cyndy Milda, for Business Council of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community	ABSENT
Board Member—Melanie Benjamin Chief Executive Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe	PRESENT

# 8 out of 10 present

## A quorum was present

# Non-voting members present:

Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan – Governor's Office Tribal State Relations Patina Park

Representative Bobbie Harder

Representative Liish Kozlowski

Senator Mary Kunesh

Commissioner of Administration – Tamar Gronvall

Commissioner of Corrections - Paul Schnell

Commissioner of Education –Willie Jett

Commissioner of DEED – Tribal Liaison Kirk Crowshoe for Matt Varilek

Commissioner of Health – Brooke Cunningham

Commissioner of Human Services – Jodi Harpstead

Commissioner of Minnesota Housing Finance Agency – Jennifer Leimaile Ho



Commissioner of Natural Resources – Sarah Strommen

Commissioner of Transportation –Nancy Daubenberger

Commissioner of Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation – Ida Rukavina

Commissioner of Veteran Affairs – Ron Quade for Interim Commissioner Brad Lindsay

# Non-voting members absent:

Senator Paul Utke Commissioner of Human Rights – Rebecca Lucero

#### **Visiting Commissioners present:**

Commissioner of Agriculture – Assistant Commissioner Patrice Bailey for Thom Peterson Commissioner of Commerce – Tribal Liaison Jackie Dionne for Grace Arnold

Chair of Met Council - Charles Zelle

Commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget – Erin Campbell

Commissioner of Military Affairs - MG Shawn Manke

Commissioner of MnIT -Tarek Tomes

Commissioner of Office of Higher Education – Dennis Olson

Commissioner of Labor and Industry – Tribal Liaison Helen Waquiu for Nicole Blissenbach Commissioner of Pollution Control Agency – Deputy Commissioner Peter Tester for Katrina Kessler

Commissioner of Revenue – Paul Marquart Commissioner of Bureau of Mediation Services – Johnny Villarreal Chair of Public Utilities Commission – Katie Sieben

## **Visiting Commissioners absent:**

Commissioner of Public Safety – Bob Jacobson (Excused)

- I. MIAC MEETING MINUTES MOTION by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa to approve the August 2023, minutes, SECOND by Gichi-Onigaming / Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa PASSED 8 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent
- II. MIAC STAFF REPORTS Executive Director, Cultural Resources, Grants Manager, Communications Specialist bypassed due to executive session. No motion \*Copies of staff reports are available on the MIAC website.

**BOARD UPDATES**: Governor's Office Patina Park Executive Director Tribal State Relations; Representative Bobbie Harder; Representative Liish Kozlowski; Senator Mary Kunesh Department of Administration – Commissioner Tamar Gronvall; Department of Corrections – Assistant Commissioner Patrice Bailey; Department of Education – Commissioner Willie Jett;



DEED – Tribal Liaison Kirk Crowshoe; Department of Health – Commissioner Brooke Cunningham; Department of Human Services – Commissioner Jodi Harpstead; Department of Minnesota Housing Finance Agency – Commissioner Jennifer Leimaile Ho; Department of Natural Resources – Commissioner Sarah Strommen; Department of Transportation – Commissioner Nancy Daubenberger; Department of Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation – Commissioner Ida Rukavina; Department of Veteran Affairs – Director of Veterans Services Ron Quade

AGENCY UPDATES: Department of Agriculture – Assistant Commissioner Patrice Bailey;
Department of Commerce – Tribal Liaison Jackie Dionne; Met Council – Chair Charles Zelle;
Department of Minnesota Management and Budget – Commissioner Erin Campbell;
Department of Military Affairs – Major General Shawn Manke; MNIT – Commissioner Tarek
Tomes; Department of Office of Higher Education – Commissioner Dennis Olson; Department
of Labor and Industry – Tribal Liaison Helen Waquiu; Department of Pollution Control Agency –
Deputy Commissioner Peter Tester; Department of Revenue – Commissioner Paul Marquart;
Department of Bureau of Mediation Services – Commissioner Johnny Villarreal; Public Utilities
Commission – Chair Katie Sieben

#### III. REPORTS:

Ombudsperson for American Indian Families – Jill Esch Addiction and Recovery Director, Jeremy Drunker Urban Indian Advisory Board – Written Report Tribal Nations Education Committee – Laurie Harper Joint Advisory Committee – Virgil Sohm and Pam Hughes

#### I. APPOINTMENTS and RESOLUTIONS

- 1. Task Force for Pregnancy and Substance Abuse Disorder Margarita Ortega, MOTIONED by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag / Bois Forte Band of Chippewa, SECOND by Misi-zaaga'iganiing/ Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe PASSED 6 For 0 Opposed 1 Silent and Marlena Hanson, MOTIONED by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag / Bois Forte Band of Chippewa, SECONDED by Misi-zaaga'iganiing/ Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe PASSED 6 For 0 Opposed 1 Silent
- 2. Waiver Reimagine Advisory Committee Jennifer Ballinger, Mille Lacs, MOTIONED by Misi-zaaga'iganiing/ Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe, SECOND by Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong/ Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa PASSED 6 For 0 Opposed 1 Silent
- 4. Office of Ombudsman for American Indian Families Stephanie Graves, MOTIONED by Miskwaagamiiwi-Zaagaiganing / Red Lake Nation, SECOND by Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong / Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa



- 5. Resolution for Legislative Changes to MIFPA MOTIONED by Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong / Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, SECOND by Gichi-Onigaming / Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa PASSED 6 For 0 Opposed and 1 Silent
- 6. Resolution for Indian Recovery Act Tabled
- 7. Resolution for PUC MOTIONED by MOTIONED by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag / Bois Forte Band of Chippewa, SECOND by Tinta Wita / Prairie Island Indian Community PASSED 6 For 0 Opposed and 1 Silent
- 8. Resolution to Support Rights of Manoomin MOTIONED by, Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong / Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, SECOND by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag / Bois Forte Band of Chippewa PASSED 6 For 0 Opposed and 1 Silent
- II. OLD BUSINESS:
- III. NEW BUSINESS:
- IV. Public Comments: Office of Ombudsman for American Indian Families Chair appointment; Dawn Goodwin: Hemp growing help, policy regulations, aquafers, MDH Letter, need clarification; IRA.

#### XI. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

**Meeting Adjourned:** 6:05 PM MOTIONED by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa, SECOND by Tinta Wita / Prairie Island Indian Community **PASSED 6 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent** 

Respectfully submitted,

Shannon Geshick, Executive Director Opalina Peralta, Executive Admin. Assistant