

Quarterly Board Meeting
Black Bear Casino, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa/WebEx
1785 MN-210, Carlton, MN 55718
Tuesday March 1, 2022
9:00 AM – 4:00 PM

MEETING MINUTES

- Meeting called to order Robert Larsen, Board Chair
- II. Invocation and Prayer Ricky Defoe; The Cedar Creek Drum Group
- III. Roll Call Shannon Geshick, Executive Director

MIAC Executive Board Members:

Board Chair—Robert L. Larsen, President Lower Sioux Indian Community

PRESENT

Board Vice-Chair— Robert (Bobby) Deschampe, Chairman Grand Portage Band of Lake

Superior Chippewa

PRESENT

Board Member—Kevin R. DuPuis, *Sr., Chairman Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa* PRESENT

Board Member—Cathy Chavers, Chairwoman Bois Forte Band of Chippewa

PRESENT

Board Member—Faron Jackson, Sr., Chairman Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

PRESENT

Board Member—Johnny Johnson, Prairie Island Indian Community

PRESENT

Board Member—Michael Fairbanks, Chairman White Earth Nation

PRESENT

Board Member— Samuel Strong, Secretary Red Lake Nation

PRESENT

Board Member—Rebecca Crooks-Stratton, President Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux

Community

PRESENT

Board Member—Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe PRESENT

10 out of 10 present

A quorum was present



Non-voting members present:

Governor's Office-Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan

Representative Heather Keeler

Representative Dean Urdahl

Senator Mary Kunesh

Commissioner of Administration—Alice Roberts-Davis joined by Tribal Liaison Curt Yoakum

Commissioner of Corrections—Paul Schnell (partial time deferred to Carl Reynolds)

Commissioner of Education—Heather Mueller

Commissioner of DEED—Steve Grove

Commissioner of Health—Jan Malcolm

Commissioner of Human Service—Jodi Harpstead

Commissioner of Human Rights—Rebecca Lucero

Commissioner of Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation—Mark Phillips, excused

Commissioner of Minnesota Housing Finance Agency— Jennifer Leimaile Ho

Commissioner of Natural Resources—Sarah Strommen

Commissioner of Transportation— Margaret Anderson Kelliher

Commissioner of Veteran Affairs—Larry Herke

Non-voting members absent:

Senator Paul Utke

Visiting Commissioners:

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission – Chair Katie Sieben

Commissioner of Agriculture – Patrice Baily for Thom Peterson – no update

Commissioner of Bureau of Mediation Services – Johnny Villarreal

Commissioner of Commerce - Grace Arnold

Chair of Met Council - Susan Vento for Charles Zelle

Commissioner of Military Affairs - Major Corey Robinson abd CPT Nicole Wiswell- no update

Commissioner of MnIT – Michelle Klatt for Tarek Tomes

Commissioner of Office of Higher Learning – Dennis Olson

Commissioner of Pollution Control Agency - Katrina Kessler

Commissioner of Public Safety – John Harrington

Commissioner of Revenue – Dawn Blanchard for Robert Doty

Commissioner of Labor and Industry -Roslyn Robertson - no update

Visiting Commissioners absent:

Commissioner of Minnesota Department of Management and Budget – James Schowalter



- MOTION by Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa to approve the November 16, 2021 minutes, seconded by Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa: MOTION PASSED 10 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent
- II. MIAC STAFF REPORTS Executive Director, Cultural Resources, Legislative & Grants Director— bypassed due to Executive Session. Motion by Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Second by Prairie Island Indian Community. MOTION PASSED 10 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent

*Copies of staff reports are available on the MIAC website.

- III. BOARD UPDATES: Rep. Heather Keeler, Senator Mary Kunesh, MHFA Commissioner Jennifer Leimaile Ho, Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, DEED Commissioner Steve Grove, MDVA Commissioner Larry Herke, DOC Commissioner Paul Schnell, DHS Commissioner Jodie Harpstead, MDH Commissioner Jan Malcolm, MDE Commissioner Heather Mueller, Commissioner Alice Roberts-Davis joined by Tribal Liaison Curt Yoakum, MDHR Commissioner Rebecca Lucero, Commissioner of Commerce Grace Arnold, DNR Commissioner Sarah Strommen, MDOT Commissioner Margaret Anderson Kelliher
- IV. AGENCY UPDATES: Met Council Susan Vento for Charles Zelle, MNIT Michelle Klatt for Commissioner Tarek Tomes, OHE Commissioner Dennis Olson, MPCA Commissioner Katrina Kessler, DPS Commissioner John Harrington, MDR Commissioner Dawn Blanchard for Robert Doty

V. REPORTS:

Ombudsperson for American Indian Families - Jill Esch

Urban Indian Advisory Board – Marisa Cummings

Tribal Nations Education Committee – Maria Burnett

Joint Advisory Committee – Gertrude Buckanaga and Laurie York

Tribal Health Directors - Samuel Moose and Pat Butler - no update

I. APPOINTMENTS and RESOLUTIONS

Urban Indian Advisory Board, Bemidji Representative. Mrs. Martera Nelson appointed. Motioned by Bois Forte Band of Chippewa seconded by Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa. **9 for 0 opposed 0 silent**



MN Board on Aging - President Johnson has been appointed by MIAC to serve on the board

MN Board on Aging – Chairwoman Cathy Chavers has been appointed to serve on the Legislative Task Force

Resolution: Minnesota State Colleges American Indian Tuition Waiver. Motioned by Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa seconded by Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe. 9 for 0 opposed 0 silent.

- II. OLD BUSINESS:
- III. NEW BUSINESS:
- IV. Public Comments:
 - a. Noted in WebEx chat

XI. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

MIAC meetings have been scheduled for the remainder of 2022:

MAY 4, 5, and 6 hosted by Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

AUGUST 3, 4, and 5 hosted by Lower Sioux Indian Community

NOVEMBER 14, 15, and 16 hosted by Red Lake Nation

Meeting Adjourned: 5:44PM motioned by Prairie Island Indian Community Seconded by Bois Forte Band of Chippewa 10 for 0 opposed 0 silent

Respectfully submitted,

Shannon Geshick, Executive Director &

Kaytlyn Lundstrom, Executive Assistant