

Quarterly Board Meeting Tuesday February 28, 2023 Jackpot Junction Casino Hotel, Cansa'yapi / Lower Sioux Indian Community & WebEx 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM

MEETING MINUTES

- I. Meeting called to order Robert Larsen, Board Chair
- II. Invocation and Prayer Elder Lydia Conito, Red Tree Drum
- III. Roll Call Shannon Geshick, Executive Director
- IV. Chairman Larsen Birthday Honor Song and Blanket Gifting

MIAC Executive Board Members	(
Board Chair—Robert L. Larsen, President Lower Sioux Indian Community	PRESENT
Board Vice-Chair— Robert (Bobby) Deschampe, Chairman Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa	PRESENT
Board Member—Kevin R. DuPuis, Sr., Chairman Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa	PRESENT
Board Member—Cathy Chavers, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa	PRESENT
Board Member—Faron Jackson, Sr., Chairman Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe	PRESENT
Board Member—Johnny Johnson, President Prairie Island Indian Community	PRESENT
Board Member—Mike Fairbanks, for Chairman Fairbanks White Earth Nation	PRESENT
Board Member—Samuel Strong, Secretary Red Lake Nation	PRESENT
Board Member—Cyndy Milda, for Rebecca Crooks Stratton, Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community	PRESENT
Board Member—Melanie Benjamin Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe	ABSENT

9 out of 10 present

A quorum was present

Non-voting members present:

Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan Representative Bobby Harder Representative Heather Keeler Senator Mary Kunesh Commissioner of Administration – Alice Roberts-Davis Commissioner of Corrections – Wendy Spry (Tribal Liaison) for Paul Schnell Commissioner of Education – Willie Jett Commissioner of DEED – Steve Grove Commissioner of Health – Brooke Cunningham Commissioner of Human Service – Jodi Harpstead Commissioner of Minnesota Housing Finance Agency – Jennifer Leimaile Ho

MINNESOTA INDIAN AFFAIRS COUNCIL

Commissioner of Natural Resources –Sarah Strommen Commissioner of Transportation –Nancy Daubenberger Commissioner of Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation – Ida Rukavina Commissioner of Veteran Affairs – Doug Hughes for Larry Herke

Non-voting members absent:

Senator Paul Utke Commissioner of Human Rights – Rebecca Lucero (excused)

Visiting Commissioners present:

Commissioner of Commerce – Grace Arnold Chair of Met Council –Charles Zelle Commissioner of Office of Higher Education – Dennis Olson Commissioner of Pollution Control Agency –Katrina Kessler Commissioner of Public Safety – Bob Jacobson Commissioner of Revenue – Assistant Commissioner Martha Burton for Paul Marquart Commissioner of Labor and Industry –Nicole Blissenbach Commissioner of Military Affairs – Deputy Adjutant General Kruse Commissioner of MnIT –Tarek Tomes Commissioner of Agriculture – Assistant Commissioner Patrice Bailey for Thom Peterson

Visiting Commissioners absent:

Commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget – James Schowalter Commissioner of Bureau of Mediation Services – Johnny Villarreal (excused)

- I. MOTION by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag, Bois Forte Band of Chippewa) to approve the November 2022, minutes, seconded by Miskwaagamiiwi-Zaagaiganing (Red Lake Nation): MOTION **PASSED 9 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent**
- II. MIAC STAFF REPORTS Executive Director, Cultural Resources, Grants Manager bypassed due to executive session. Motion by Gichi-Onigaming (Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa). Second by Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong (Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa). MOTION PASSED 9 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent *Copies of staff reports are available on the MIAC website.

BOARD UPDATES: Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan; Representative Bobby Harder. Representative Heather Keeler; Senator Mary Kunesh; Administration Commissioner Roberts-Davis; Corrections Tribal Liaison Spry for Commissioner Schnell; Education Commissioner Jett; DEED Commissioner Grove; Health Commissioner Cunningham; DHS Commissioner Jodi Harpstead; Housing and Finance Commissioner Jennifer Leimaile Ho; Natural Resources Commissioner Sarah Strommen; Transportation Commissioner Nancy Daubenberger; Iron

MINNESOTA INDIAN AFFAIRS COUNCIL

Range Resources & Rehabilitation Commissioner Ida Rukavina; Veteran's Affairs Deputy Commissioner Doug Hughes for Commissioner Larry Herke

AGENCY UPDATES: Commissioner Grace Arnold; Met Council Charles Zelle; Higher Education Commissioner Dennis Olson; Pollution Control Agency Commissioner Katrina Kessler; Public Safety Commissioner Bob Jacobson; Revenue Assistant Commissioner Martha Burton for Paul Marquart; Labor and Industry Commissioner Nicole Blissenbach; Military Affairs – Deputy Adjutant General Kruse

III. REPORTS:

Ombudsperson for American Indian Families – Jill Esch Urban Indian Advisory Board – None Tribal Nations Education Committee – None Joint Advisory Committee – Arielle Aude Mental Health Advisory Tribal Health Directors – Samuel Moose

I. APPOINTMENTS and RESOLUTIONS

College Waiver Support Letter (Office of Higher Education) motioned by Gaawaabaabiganikaag /White Earth Nation Seconded by Miskwaagamiiwi-Zaagaiganing / Red Lake Nation **8 for 0 opposed 0 silent**

Ombudsman Office for American Indian Families Board Appointment Recommended Chairman Kevin Dupuis. Motioned by Miskwaagamiiwi-Zaagaiganing (Red Lake Nation) seconded by Gichi-Onigaming (Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa). 7 for 0 opposed 0 silent

Ombudsman Office for American Indian Families Appointment motioned by Gaazagaskwaajimekaag / Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe Seconded by Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong /Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa **7 for 0 opposed 0 silent.**

Skills-Based Training Resolution MNDOT motioned by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag / Bois Forte Band of Chippewa Seconded by Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong /Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa **7 for 0 opposed 0 silent.**

Tribal Encounter Rate for Housing Letter motioned by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag / Bois Forte Band of Chippewa Seconded by Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong /Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa **7 for 0 opposed 0 silent.**



MIFPA Resolution motioned by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag / Bois Forte Band of Chippewa Seconded by Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong /Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa **7 for 0 opposed 0 silent.**

- II. OLD BUSINESS:
- III. NEW BUSINESS:
- IV. Public Comments:
 - a. Noted in WebEx chat

XI. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Meeting Adjourned: 5:28 PM motioned by Zagaakwaandagowininiwag / Bois Forte Band of Chippewa Seconded by Gaa-waabaabiganikaag / White Earth Nation

Respectfully submitted,

Shannon Geshick, Executive Director