MINNESOTA INDIAN AFFAIRS COUNCIL

Quarterly Board Meeting Fortune Bay Resort, Bois Forte 1430 Bois Forte Rd, Tower, MN 55790 Tuesday August 24, 2021 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM

MEETING MINUTES

- I. Meeting called to order Robert Larsen, Board Chair
- II. Invocation and Prayer Bois Forte Elder Karen Drift and Bois Forte Drum Group
- III. Roll Call Shannon Geshick, Executive Director

MIAC Executive Board Members:

Board Chair—Robert L. Larsen, President Lower Sioux Indian Community PRESENT Board Vice-Chair—Shelley Buck, President Prairie Island Indian Community PRESENT Board Member-Kevin R. DuPuis, Sr., Chairman Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa PRESENT Board Member—Cathy Chavers, Chairwoman Bois Forte Band of Chippewa PRESENT Board Member—Faron Jackson, Sr., Chairman Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe PRESENT Board Member-Robert Deschampe, Chairman Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa PRESENT Board Member-Michael Fairbanks, Chairman White Earth Nation PRESENT Board Member --- Samuel Strong, Secretary Red Lake Nation PRESENT Board Member-Rebecca Crooks, Tribal Administrator Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community PRESENT via delegate Kelsey Scares The Hawk Board Member-Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe PRESENT

A quorum was present

Non-voting members present:

Governor's Office- Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan Representative Heather Keeler Representative Dean Urdahl Senator Mary Kunesh Commissioner of Administration—Alice Roberts-Davis Commission of Corrections—Paul Schnell Commissioner of Education—Heather Mueller Commissioner of DEED—Kevin McKinnon for Steve Grove Commissioner of Health—Assistant Commissioner Mary Manning for Jan Malcolm Commissioner of Human Service—Jodi Harpstead Commissioner of Human Rights—Rebecca Lucero Commissioner of Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation—Mark Phillips Commissioner of Minnesota Housing Finance Agency—Jennifer Leimaile Ho Commissioner of Natural Resources—Sarah Strommen Commissioner of Transportation— Levi Brown for Margaret Anderson Kelliher Commissioner of Veteran Affairs—Larry Herke

Non-voting members absent:

Senator Paul Utke

Visiting Commissioners

Commissioner of Agriculture – Thom Peterson Commissioner of Bureau of Mediation Services –Tribal Liasan Marshall Thompson for Janet Johnson Commissioner of Commerce – Grace Arnold Chai of Met Council – Susan Vento for Charlie Zelle Commissioner of Military Affairs – Lt. Col. Eduardo Suarez for General Shawn Manke Commissioner of MnIT – Tarek Tomes Commissioner of Office of Higher Learning – Dennis Olson Interim Commissioner of Pollution Control Agency – Peter Tester Commissioner of Public Safety – Tribal Liaison Randy Goodwin for John Harrington Commissioner of Revenue – Tribal Liaison Dawn Blanchard for Robert Doty

Visiting Commissioners absent:

Commissioner of Labor and Industry –Roslyn Robertson

- IV.MOTION by Fond du Lac to approve the May 18, 2021 minutes, seconded by Red Lake Nation:
MOTION PASSED9 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent
- V. **MIAC STAFF REPORTS** Executive Director, Cultural Resources, Grants Manager—bypassed due to Executive Session. No opposition or discussion. MIAC staff reports are posted to the MIAC website for public view.
- VI. BOARD UPDATES: Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, Rep. Dean Urdahl, Rep. Heather Keeler, Senator Mary Kunesh, DNR Commissioner Strommen, DOC Commissioner Paul Schnell, DEED Deputy Commissioner McKinnon for Steve Grove, MDE Commissioner Heather Mueller, Administration Commissioner Alice Roberts-Davis, DHS Commissioner Jodie Harpstead, MHFA Commissioner Jennifer Leimaile Ho, MDVA Commissioner Larry Herke, MDH Commissioner Jan Malcolm, IRRR Commissioner Phillips, MDOT Commissioner Levi Brown for Anderson-Kelliher, MDHR Commissioner Lucero

AGENCY UPDATES: MPCA MPCA Interim commissioner Peter Tester for Laura Bishop, Met Council Susan Vento for Chair Charles Zelle, BMS Tribal Liaison Marshall Thompson for

Commissioner Janet Johnson, MDR Tribal Liaison Dawn Blanchard for Commissioner Robert Doty, MDA Tribal Liaison Thom Peterson, Commerce Commissioner Grace Arnold, Military Affairs Tribal Liaison Eduardo Suarez, MNIT Tarek Tomes, OHE Commissioner Dennis Olson, DPS Tribal Liaison Randy Goodwin, MMB Commissioner James Schowalter

VII. **REPORTS:**

Urban Indian Advisory Board –Bypassed Ombudsperson for American Indian Families – Jill Esch Tribal Nations Education Committee – Jennifer Murray Joint Advisory Committee – Laurie York

VIII. **PRESENTATIONS:**

- 1. Minnesota Youth Sex Trading (MYST) Project, Katie Johnston-Goodstar and Barb McMorris, University of Minnesota
- 2. Tribal State Relations Training Virtual Class Wrap-Up and Next Steps, Linda Aitken, MNDOT
- **3.** National Resource Center on Native American Aging, Leonard Geshick and Collette Adamson, Director, National Resource Center on Native American Aging
- **4.** Improving Transportation Equity for All, Galen Ryan, Research Fellow & Yingling Fan, Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota
- IX. OLD BUSINESS:
- X. NEW BUSINESS: Resolutions and Appointments

Formal vote on the community-specific board for the American Indian Ombudsperson (a brand new agency) tribal leadership voted to move the board forward.

Recommendation for staggered terms Tonya Long (chair), expiration 6/30/22 Stephanie Graves proposed expiration 1/1/23 Jules Edwards proposed expiration 12/31/24 Melissa Fadila proposed expiration 6/30/25 Diana Drift proposed expiration 12/31/25	
Motioned by Bois Forte seconded by Fond du Lac MOTION PASSED	9 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent
Jill Esch act as Ombudsperson for American Indian Families Motioned by Bois Forte seconded by Fond du Lac MOTION PASSED	9 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent
Adjust meeting to take place over three (two?) days vs. a single day. Motioned by Prairie Island seconded by Fond du Lac MOTION PASSED	9 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent

XI. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Next meeting February 16, 2021 in Prairie Island Indian Community

Meeting Adjourned 7:03pm

Respectfully submitted,

Shannon Geshick, Executive Director &

Kaytlyn Lundstrom, Executive Assistant