

Quarterly Board Meeting
Jackpot Junction Lower Sioux/WebEx
39375 County Rd 24, Morton, MN 56270
Tuesday May 21, 2021
9:00 AM – 4:00 PM

MEETING MINUTES

- Meeting called to order Robert Larsen, Board Chair
- II. Invocation and Prayer Lower Sioux Drum Group
- III. Roll Call Robert Larsen, Board Chair

MIAC Executive Board Members:

- Board Chair—Robert L. Larsen, President Lower Sioux Indian Community
 - **PRESENT**
- Board Vice-Chair—Shelley Buck, President Prairie Island Indian Community
 - **PRESENT**
- Board Member—Kevin R. DuPuis, Sr., Chairman Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
 - PRESENT
- Board Member—Cathy Chavers, Chairwoman Bois Forte Band of Chippewa
 - **PRESENT**
- Board Member—Faron Jackson, Sr., Chairman Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe
 - **PRESENT**
- Board Member—Robert Deschampe, Chairwoman Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
 - **PRESENT**
- Board Member—Michael Fairbanks, Chairman White Earth Nation
 - PRESENT
- Board Member Samuel Strong, Secretary Red Lake Nation
 - PRESENT
- Board Member—Rebecca Crooks, Tribal Administrator Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community
 - **ABSENT**
- Board Member—Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
 - ABSENT

A quorum was present

Non-voting members present:

Governor's Office-Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan

Representative Heather Keeler

Representative Dean Urdahl

Senator Mary Kunesh

Commissioner of Administration—Alice Roberts-Davis

Commission of Corrections—Paul Schnell

Commissioner of Education—Heather Mueller

Commissioner of DEED—Steve Grove

Commissioner of Health—Jan Malcolm

Commissioner of Human Service—Jodi Harpstead

Commissioner of Human Rights—Rebecca Lucero

Commissioner of Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation—Mark Phillips

Commissioner of Minnesota Housing Finance Agency—Rachel Robinson for Jennifer Leimaile Ho

Commissioner of Natural Resources—Sarah Strommen

Commissioner of Transportation—Margaret Anderson Kelliher

Commissioner of Veteran Affairs—Larry Herke

Non-voting members absent:

Senator Paul Utke

Visiting Commissioners

Commissioner of Agriculture – Shannon Kesner for Thom Peterson

Commissioner of Bureau of Mediation Services – Janet Johnson

Commissioner of Commerce - Grace Arnold

Commissioner of Labor and Industry –Roslyn Robertson

Chai of Met Council – Charlie Zelle

Commissioner of Military Affairs –Eduardo Suarez General Shawn Manke

Commissioner of MnIT – Tarek Tomes

Commissioner of Office of Higher Learning – Dennis Olson

Commissioner of Pollution Control Agency – Laura Bishop

Commissioner of Public Safety – John Harrington

Commissioner of Revenue – Robert Doty

Visiting Commissioners absent:

Management and Budget – James Schowalter

- IV. MOTION by Prairie Island Indian Community to approve the February 17, 2021 minutes, seconded by Fond du Lac: **MOTION PASSED** 7 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent
- V. MIAC STAFF REPORTS Executive Director, Cultural Resources, Legislative & Grants Director—
 bypassed due to Executive Session. Motion by Prairie Island Indian Community Second by Grand
 Portage. MOTION PASSED
 7 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent
 - Copies of staff reports are available on the MIAC website.
- VI. **BOARD UPDATES:** Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, Rep. Dean Urdahl, Rep. Heather Keeler, Senator Mary Kunesh, DNR Commissioner Strommen, DOC Commissioner Paul Schnell, Commissioner Steve Grove, MDE Commissioner Heather Mueller, Administration Commissioner Alice Roberts-Davis, DHS Commissioner Jodie Harpstead, IIRB Commissioner Phillips, MHFA Rachel Robinson for Commissioner Jennifer Leimaile Ho, MDVA Commissioner Larry Herke, MDH Commissioner Jan Malcolm, IRRR Commissioner Phillips, MDOT Commissioner Anderson-Kelliher, MDHR Commissioner Lucero

AGENCY UPDATES: MPCA Laura Bishop, Met Council Chair Charles Zelle, BMS Commissioner Janet Johnson, MDR Commissioner Robert Doty, MDA Tribal Liaison Shannon Kesner, Commerce Commissioner Grace Arnold, Military Affairs Tribal Liaison Eduardo Suarez, MNIT Tarek Tomes, OHE Commissioner Dennis Olson, DPS Tribal Liaison Randy Goodwin, DLI Commissioner Roslyn Robertson,

VII. REPORTS:

Urban Indian Advisory Board –Bypassed Ombudsperson for American Indian Families – Jill Esch Tribal Nations Education Committee – Maria Burnett Joint Advisory Committee – Laurie York absent

VIII. PRESENTATIONS:

Great River Passage Update: Mary deLaittre, Executive Director, Great River Passage Conservancy

Minnesota Tribal Conservation Collaboration: Nikki Crowe and Reggie DeFoe, Tribal Conservation Collaboration Coordinator for Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior

University of Minnesota Morris Native American Student Educational Equity and Post-Secondary Attainment – An Assessment of Progress and Action Steps for 2020-2030: Michelle Behr, Chancellor; Janet Schrunk Ericksen, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs; Sandra Olson-Loy Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs; Chip Beal, (Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma) Assistant to the Chancellor for Native American Partnerships, Student Success, and Inclusion; Gabriel Desrosiers, (Anishinaabe) Anishinaabe Language/ American Indian Song and Dance Lecturer; Leslie Harper (Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe) American Indian Advisory Committee Chair; Teresa Peterson (Upper Sioux Community)NASNTI Consultant for Native American Student Educational Equity and Attainment/ Tribal Liaison

Northeast Minnesota Office of Job Training Overview and Introduction: Marie Domiano, Executive Director Workforce Development Area #3

Tech for Healthy Aging Partnership: Sue Redepenning, Occupational Therapist and Assistive Technology, LifeLive Therapy Solutions

American Indian Advisory Boards: Tadd Johnson, Senior Director American Indian Tribal Nations Relations; University of Minnesota

MN CAAPB Task Force: Christina Woods, Executive Director Duluth Art Institute

IX. OLD BUSINESS:

X. NEW BUSINESS: Tadd Johnson Esq. nomination for the Board of Regent's open position motion by Bois Forte; seconded by Prairie Island Indian Community.

MOTION PASSED: 7 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent

Request from Chairwoman Chavers to send listings of powwows that will be happening so we can connect as people again. Can send to MIAC and MIAC will post on the website.

XI. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Next meeting August 24th in Bois Forte

Meeting Adjourned

Respectfully submitted,

Shannon Geshick, Executive Director