

Quarterly Board Meeting Grand Portage Lodge & Casino & via WebEx 70 Casino Dr, Grand Portage, MN 55605 Tuesday, November 10, 2020 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

MEETING MINUTES

- ١. 9:02am – Meeting called to order – Chairman Larsen
- II. Invocation and Prayer – Grand Portage Councilman John Morrin
- III. Roll Call - Shannon Geshick, Executive Director

MIAC Executive Board Members:

- Board Chair—Robert L. Larsen, President Lower Sioux Indian Community **PRESENT**
- Board Vice-Chair—Shelley Buck, President Prairie Island Indian Community **PRESENT**
- Board Member—Kevin R. DuPuis, Sr., Chairman Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa **PRESENT**
- Board Member—Cathy Chavers, Chairwoman Bois Forte Band of Chippewa PRESENT
- Board Member—Faron Jackson, Sr., Chairman Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe **PRESENT**
- Board Member—Robert Deschampe, Chairman Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa **PRESENT**
- Board Member—Michael Fairbanks, Chairman White Earth Nation **PRESENT**
- Board Member— Samuel Strong, Secretary Red Lake Nation
- **ABSENT**
- Board Member—Rebecca Crooks-Stratton, Secretary/Treasurer Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux **ABSENT**
- Board Member—Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe **PRESENT**

A quorum was present

Non-voting members present:

Governor's Office-Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan State Representative Mary Kunesh-Podein State Representative Dean Urdahl Senator Patricia Torres Ray Commissioner of Administration—Alice Roberts-Davis Commission of Corrections—Paul Schnell

Commissioner of Education—Mary Cathryn Ricker Commissioner of DEED—Steve Grove Commissioner of Health—Jan Malcolm Commissioner of Human Service—Jodi Harpstead Commissioner of Human Rights—Rebecca Lucero Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation—Mark Phillips

via designee: Al Becicka

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency—Jennifer Leimaile Ho

Natural Resources—Sarah Strommen

Transportation—Margaret Anderson Kelliher

Veteran Affairs—Larry Herke

Non-voting members absent:

Senator Gary Dahms

Visiting Commissioners

Agriculture – Thom Peterson

via designee: Patrice Bailey

Bureau of Mediation Services – Janet Johnson

Commerce – Grace Arnold

Management and Budget – Jim Schowalter

via designee: Eric Hallstrom Met Council Chair - Charles Zelle via designee: Robert Liligram

Military Affairs – Major General Shawn Manke

MnIT – Tarek Tomes

Office of Higher Learning – Dennis Olson Pollution Control Agency – Laura Bishop Public Safety – John Harrington Revenue - Robert Doty

- IV. MOTION made by Prairie Island to approve the August 28, 2020 meeting minutes, seconded by Grand Portage: MOTION PASSED 8 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent
- ٧. MIAC STAFF REPORTS – Executive Director, Cultural Resources, Legislative & Grants Director bypassed due to Executive Session. Copies of staff reports are available on the MIAC website

MOTION made by Mille Lacs to approve MIAC staff reports, seconded by Bois Forte: **MOTION PASSED** 8 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent

VI. BOARD UPDATES: Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, Rep. Dean Urdahl, Rep. Mary Kunesh-Podein, Senator Patricia Torres-Ray, Administration/Commissioner Davis, Corrections/Commissioner Schnell, Education/Commissioner Cathryn Ricker, Employment & Economic Development/Hamse Warfe, Health/Jackie Dionne, Human Services/Commissioner Harpstead, Human Rights/Commissioner Lucero, Housing & Finance/Commissioner Leimaile Ho, Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation/Al Becicka, Natural Resources/Commissioner Strommen, Transportation/Commissioner Kelliher, Veterans Affairs/Commissioner Herke

AGENCY UPDATES: Agriculture/Shannon Kesner, Bureau of Mediation Services/Commissioner Johnson, Commerce/Commissioner Arnold, Management & Budget/Deputy Commissioner Hallstrom, Met Council/Robert Liligram, Military Affairs/Lieutenant Colonel Ed Suarez, MnIT/Commissioner Tomes, Office of Higher Learning/Commissioner Olson, Pollution Control Agency/Commissioner Bishop, Public Safety/Nigel Perrote, Revenue/Commissioner Doty

VII. REPORTS:

Ombudsperson for American Indian Families – Jill Esch Tribal Nations Education Committee – Jennifer Murray Joint Advisory Committee – Laurie York/Commissioner Harpstad/Vern LaPlante

VIII. PRESENTATIONS:

Expanding Financial Access and Inclusion across Minnesota's Tribal Nations – Anne Leland Clark, Financial Capability + Learning Director, and Kim Hover, Financial Inclusion Manager

East Phillips Neighborhood Institute (EPNI) – Michelle Shaw, EPNI Communications Coordinator, Cassandra Holmes, EPNI Board Member, and Dean Dovolis, EPNI Board President

Wakan Tipi Center/Lower Phalen Creek Project – Maggie Lorenz, Wakan Tipi Center Director/Lower Phalen Creek Project, Kate Beane, Board Member, Wakan Tipi Center/Lower Phalen Creek Project

Tribal-State Relations Training website, eLearning, virtual training, and lunch & learn – Linda Aitken, Tribal-State Relations Training Manager, Melanie Franks, Tribal-State Relations Coordinator

Boards & Commissions, sharing information on appointments – Madelyn Nelson, Director of Boards & Commissions, Jacqueline Congello, Associate Director of Appointments

IX. OLD BUSINESS:

X. NEW BUSINESS:

Resolution 11102020_01 Tribal Energy

MOTION made by Bois Forte to approve the Tribal Energy Resolution, seconded by Fond du Lac

RESOLUTION ADOPTED 8 For 0 Opposed 0 Silent

XI. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Next meeting: TBD

5:05pm – MOTION to Adjourn made by Bois Forte, seconded by Prairie Island

Meeting Adjourned

Respectfully submitted,

Tanya LaFromboise, MIAC Office Manager