skip to content
Primary navigation


Welcome to the Office of the Governor Newsroom. This is where you can find our most recent press releases and other information. 

To reach Governor Dayton's Communications Department - please call 651-201-3400.

Governor Dayton Successfully Appeals Denial of Individual Assistance by the Federal Emergency Management Agency

11/29/2016 2:38:52 PM

ST. PAUL, MN – Reversing its original decision, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that it has approved assistance to individuals and households in southern Minnesota seriously impacted by heavy rainstorms and flooding on September 21-22, 2016. Governor Mark Dayton formally appealed FEMA’s original decision to deny individual assistance on November 17, 2016. 
“This aid is critical as Minnesotans work to rebuild their homes and communities after severe weather this fall,” said Governor Mark Dayton. “I thank the Federal Emergency Management Agency for agreeing to my appeal to reverse its decision, and for providing this needed aid to Minnesotans who suffered significant flood and storm damage.”
Governor Dayton originally requested the assistance for communities in southern Minnesota on October 19, 2016. The Governor’s letter followed damage assessments by FEMA, HSEM, and local governments, which found $8.3 million in eligible public infrastructure damage and $10.1 million in estimated individual and household needs.
Types of Assistance Available
President Obama’s original disaster declaration on November 2, 2016, made federal assistance for public infrastructure and hazard mitigation available to affected communities. FEMA’s decision today will make individual assistance available. 
  • Assistance for Public Infrastructure – The disaster declaration will provide assistance to public entities like townships, cities, counties, schools, and certain private not-for-profit organizations for uninsured and eligible storm-related damage to public infrastructure. Examples of eligible expenses include debris removal, emergency protective services, and the repair or replacement of storm-damaged public infrastructure. More information is available here.

  • Hazard Mitigation Grants – The disaster declaration also will make affected Minnesota communities eligible for Hazard Mitigation Grants, which help defray the costs of making repairs necessary to reduce or eliminate long term risks to people and property from natural hazards. Mitigation is a critical tool for breaking the cycle of disaster damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage. More information is available here.

  • Individual Assistance Program – The successful appeal will make financial help and direct services available to eligible individuals with serious needs if they are unable to meet those needs through other means. Individual assistance may include temporary housing, repair and replacement work on damaged structures, and help with some basic expenses. More information is available here.
back to top