
STATE of MINNESOT~ , 

WHEREAS: 

WHEREAS: 

WHEREAS: 

WHEREAS: 

WHEREAS: 

WHEREAS: 

In the State of Minnesota, it is illegal for drivers to read, compose, or send texts and e­

mails or to access the internet while behind the wheel of a car, even at stop lights, or 
wheri idling in traffic; and 

Texting and driving is one of the most dangerous activities in which a driver can engage, 

taking a driver's eyes off the road for an average of five seconds, the equivalent of 
traveling the length of a football field when traveling at 55 miles per hour; and 

According to the National Safety Council, more than 200,000 car crashes on United 
States roadways each year, including residential and neighborhood streets, involve 
texting while driving, often causing injuries and death; and 

According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, in the State of Minnesota in 

2013, distracted driver-related crashes resulted in 68 deaths and 8,034 injuries; and 

Teenagers are particularly at risk regarding texting and driving, with 75 percent saying 

texting while driving is common among friends, and 4 3 percent admitting to texting 
behind the wheel; and 

This fall, the Toward Zero Deaths Coalition, law enforcement, AT&:T, and the 

Minnesota Safety Council are partnering with high schools around the state to focus 
attention on the real dangers of texting while driving - to drive home the dangers and 
often deadly consequences of texting and driving, and to encourage all drivers to take the 
pledge to never text while behind the wheel of a car. 

NOW, THEREFORE, I, MARK DAYTON, Governor of Minnesota, do hereby proclaim the month of 

September 2014, as: 

DON'T TEXT AND DRIVE AWARENESS MONTH 

in the State of Minnesota. 

SECRETARY OF STATE 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my 
hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of 
Minnesota to be affixed at the State Capitol this 15th 
day of September. 


