skip to content
Primary navigation


Chair of the Metropolitan Council

The Metropolitan Council is the regional policy-making body, planning agency, and provider of essential services for the Twin Cities metropolitan region. The Council’s mission is to foster efficient and economic growth for a prosperous region. The Council’s work is performed by three primary organizational divisions: community development, environmental services, and the transportation division that includes Metro Transit and the Metropolitan Transportation Services. For more than 50 years, the Metropolitan Council has played a key role in coordinating regional growth and planning, providing essential services such as transit and wastewater treatment, and convening partners to accomplish ambitious goals unrealistic for a single community, but possible as a region.

The Metropolitan Council’s governing board has 17 members who are appointed by the Governor: 16 members represent geographic districts of roughly equal population across the region and the Chair, the 17th member, serves at large.

Individuals seeking appointment to be the Chair of the Metropolitan Council should email a resume and cover letter to by November 30, 2019.

back to top