skip to content
Primary navigation


For information on serving on state boards, commissions and councils, please visit the Minnesota Secretary of State's website to view current vacancies and application materials. 

The Governor's Blue Ribbon Council

The Governor’s Blue Ribbon Council on Information Technology will be an advisory group to the Governor and Lieutenant Governor made up of experts on development and implementation of IT in private and public institutions.  The Council will provide advice on how to update and maintain the State’s IT systems to ensure that Minnesota residents and businesses who interact with the State receive the best possible service. Members of the Council will also advise on the most efficient use of taxpayer dollars invested in IT projects, while keeping government data secure and protecting the State against cybersecurity threats. The Council expands the existing Technology Advisory Committee and will include additional members with IT expertise and state legislators.

The six additional members appointed by the Governor and Lieutenant Governor should have private-sector or public-sector IT experience, or experience in academia pertaining to IT. Candidates interested in applying to serve on the council should submit a cover letter and resume to by the close of business on February 21, 2019.

Governor Walz has asked Kathy Tunheim, the Chief Executive Officer of Tunheim Partners, to convene an interview panel of private and public sector IT experts to screen candidates for the appointment of the MNIT Commissioner. Under Tunheim’s leadership the panel will continue to accept application materials and interview candidates over the next month before advancing three finalists to the Governor and Lieutenant Governor for a final appointment decision.

Judicial Appointments

The Commission on Judicial Selection is responsible for soliciting, considering, and recommending candidates to the Governor for vacancies in the District Trial Courts and the Workers’ Compensation Court of Appeals. It is a joint Commission, appointed by the Governor and Supreme Court, and made up of nine at-large members, including the Chair, and four district members from each of the ten Judicial Districts.

back to top