skip to content
Primary navigation


The Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board (EMSRB) was established by the 1995 Minnesota Legislature and began operations on July 1, 1996. The Governor appoints 15 members of the Board: an emergency physician, a representative of a Minnesota hospital, a fire chief, a full-time firefighter, a volunteer firefighter, an active attendant of a licensed ambulance service, an ambulance service director, a representative of sheriffs, a member of a local board of health, two representatives of regional emergency medical services programs, a registered nurse currently practicing in a hospital emergency department, a pediatrician, a family practice physician, and a public member who resides in Minnesota. Additional members are: the commissioner of health, the commissioner of public safety, a state representative, and a state senator.

Mission: "To protect the public's health and safety through regulation and support of the EMS system"

back to top