skip to content
photo of card catalog - no text

Find a license in the A-Z Index

1. Refine the topic list by letter

 

2. Select a topic to view their list of licenses

Title: Licensed Firefighter
Alternate Title: Firefighter
Description: Minnesota is the first state in the nation to license firefighters. The Minnesota Board of Firefighter Training and Education (MBFTE) was designated to be the licensing agency.
Subject: Fire Protection
Creation Date: 12/24/2009 10:56:23 AM
Modification Date: 10/31/2019 3:34:41 PM
Agency Name: Firefighter Training & Education (MBFTE), Minnesota Board of
Agency URL: https://www.mbfte.org/#
Agency Description: The mission of the Minnesota Board of Firefighter Training and Education (MBFTE) is to promote excellence in the fire service by funding standardized training and through the licensing of of firefighters in Minnesota.
Agency Phone: 651-201-7259
Agency Fax: Agency URL: https://www.mbfte.org/#
Agency Address: Steve Flaherty, Executive Director
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 146

St. Paul
MN
55101
Audience: Hold Application URL: https://www.mbfte.org/LicenseApp.aspx?sid=
Renewal URL: https://www.mbfte.org/LicenseRenewal.aspx?sid=
Versa URL:
Requirements:

Any career Firefighters who are currently affiliated with a Minnesota fire department (full-time) must be licensed by the State of Minnesota. Part-time, paid-on-call or volunteer firefighters may choose to be licensed (not mandatory), provided they meet the licensing requirements. Minn. Stat. § 299N.05 and Minn. Stat. § 299N.04

In order to become a licensed firefighter, you must have IFSAC Firefighter II (2002 or newer) certification and must be affiliated with a Minnesota Fire Department. Minn. Stat. § 299N.04 and Minn. Stat. § 299N.05

In order to renew the firefighter license every three years, 72 hours of MBFTE-approved continuing firefighter education is required. Minn. Stat. § 299N.05, subd.6

If you meet the above requirements: 

Go to MBFTE under “Licensing” tab and complete the Online Application (New Firefighters) or complete the Offline New Firefighter Application and mail it in with the appropriate fee.

Verification of your employment is a requirement for all applicants.

The license fee is $75 for a three- year triennial period of a firefighter license.

If the application is in the middle of the board set triennial period, the fee will be pro-rated.

If mailing in application with fee, send to:

MBFTE 
445 Minnesota St., Suite 146 
St. Paul, MN 55101

You may contact the Licensing Coordinator at 651-201-7259 or 888-995-3473 or email the Board at fire-training.board@state.mn.us 

Review: 

License FAQS Continuing

Continuing Education Requirements
 

The Link Between Licensing & Certification


Rules:
Statutes: 299N

Forms:

Online Application (New Firefighters)

Offline New Firefighter Application 

Online Renewal / Reinstatement

Offline Renewal Application

Offline Reinstatement

Applications available at MBFTE, hover over Licensing tab for the Applications.


Fees:

License fee - $75 

Renewal - $75

Pro-rated fee if between triennial period set by the board.


Period of Issuance: Three-year triennial period.
Length of Determination: Three-year triennial period.
Other Info:
Activity: License Detail URL:

Firefighter License Search

Minnesota Board of Firefighter Training & Education


back to top