If an applicant has never been licensed by the Minnesota Racing Commission (MRC) the applicant will need to complete a paper Vendor/Concessionaire License Application, Individual License Application, request a Fingerprint Card (if applicable), and the Vendor Approval Form (if Horse Products Only).
An applicant must complete all forms. The completed and notarized license applications, forms, fingerprint card, and payment (check should be made payable to the "Minnesota Racing Commission") can be mailed or brought to participating MRC Office.
If applicant was licensed by the MRC previously:
a. Vendor/Concessionaire License Application online:
-Prior to submitting this application applicant must have the participating racetrack pre-authorize their applicant's Vendor/Concessionaire License Application with the MRC Licensing Office.
b. Individual License:
-The Vendor Representative and each of their Vendor Employee(s) must complete the Individual License Application(s).
-Horse Product Vendors must follow and complete the paper Vendor Approval Form
-If it has been more than 5 years since applicant has been fingerprinted, applicant will need to be re-fingerprinted.
-Fingerprints can be done digitally at their participating MRC Office or to request a Fingerprint Card that can be taken to an authorized person at their local police station or another racetrack, then mail or bring applicant's completed fingerprint card to their participating MRC Office.
-The MRC does fingerprint reciprocity with the following states: Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio, and Oklahoma. Prior to submitting a Fingerprint Affidavit, applicant must verify the accuracy of the information by contacting the state where their fingerprints were submitted. Contact participating MRC Office to receive Fingerprint Reciprocity Affidavit pre-authorization.
Applicant must complete all above steps above and all paper applications. The completed and notarized license applications, forms, fingerprint card, and payment (check should be made payable to the "Minnesota Racing Commission") can be mailed or brought to participating MRC Office.
If applicant has been licensed by the MRC previously but did not license last year, applicant must contact the MRC Licensing Office before beginning the renewal process.
GENERAL LICENSING INFORMATION
The Minnesota Racing Commission must license everyone who is employed at a racetrack in Minnesota. Applicants are fingerprinted and authorize the release of personal information to verify application content. The applicants must also complete a notarized Affidavit of Qualification stating that they are not in debt to the State of Minnesota, have never been convicted of a felony, have never been involved in illegal business or fraud, nor have they been convicted of a crime related to horse racing or gambling. View the State of Minnesota Licensing Rules & Fees, Minn. Rules 7877
-All licenses expire December 31st of the calendar year in which they are issued.
-Every individual must be licensed prior to racing.
-Minnesota law prohibits issuing licenses to convicted felons. Fingerprints are required of all applicants ages 18 through 70. Minn. Rules 7877.0120, subpart 2D requires that all applicants who have not previously been licensed by the Commission must submit fingerprints with their initial application. Each set of fingerprints submitted must include a fingerprint processing fee of $21.50. Contact the Licensing Office for a fingerprint card. A fingerprint affidavit will be accepted as described on the reciprocity form.
-All partnerships, corporations, and stable names must be licensed. If you are in a partnership, each individual owner must be licensed as well as the partnership.
-Trainers please note. Workers' Compensation Insurance is required. A current Certificate of Insurance must be on file in the Racing Commission office in order to be eligible for a trainer's license and before any employees may be licensed. Trainers should also note that work authorization documentation is required of and verified for all employees.
-Individuals applying for licensure in certain occupations may be required to obtain approval of the Board of Stewards prior to issuance.
-Applications that have been completely filled out and notarized may be submitted along with the appropriate fees made payable to the Minnesota Racing Commission in person or by mail.
-Confirmation will be mailed after processing.
Vendor/Concessionaire License Application, Individual Application
Application forms are available at Licensing
Vendor - $100
Vendor Employee - $15
Vendor Representative - $15
MN Racing Commission Office Locations
Canterbury Park MRC Office
P.O. Box 630
1100 Canterbury Road
Shakopee, MN 55379
Running Aces Harness Park MRC Office
15201 Zurich Street N.E., Suite 212
Columbus, MN 55025